Stranger giving kind advice - oh fcuk off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

OP your ageism is sickening.

You'll know about it someday. You make me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

She told you you'd go far. She didn't tell you you're James Bond.

Such notions of yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

paralysed wrote: »
    Would James Bond let someone wear his ears out? .
    There's something undignified about having a loyalty card on your car keys. I couldn't exactly picture James Bond carrying one!

Your hero James would have been polite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

This was posted by a bus driver on the internet.

And old person gave him a bag of cough sweets cos he was coughing. Awwwww.

https://scontent-amt2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/fr/cp0/e15/q65/15037190_10209227094408359_576886380554737295_n.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&oh=acfe21e9600ed791395829453225e9e7&oe=58BE753B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

This was posted by a bus driver on the internet.

And old person gave him a bag of cough sweets cos he was coughing. Awwwww.

https://scontent-amt2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/fr/cp0/e15/q65/15037190_10209227094408359_576886380554737295_n.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&oh=acfe21e9600ed791395829453225e9e7&oe=58BE753B

What a b*tch!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

JeffKenna wrote: »
    What a b*tch!!

I know!

Cheek of some old people.

Do you know what I learned from her? How not to just sit there and let her wear my ears out. Would James Bond let someone wear his ears out? No, nothing sexy about doing that.

I knew your name rang a bell. You were going to refuse to shake hands at your conferral because James Bond or Jon Bon Jovi something something reasons.

Do you know what gets you far in life? Manners, kindness, and a little humility. That may not be edgy enough for you, but it's still true. Treat people the way you'd want to be treated yourself, if the roles were reversed.

As for elderly people and insight, well I've two grandparents still with me and between them they have over 170 years of life experience. That's hard to beat. They're the best advisors anyone could wish for, having lived and experienced things you'd never get your head around in your 20's, and I treasure their pearls of wisdom. At 29, I ask their advice on everything important going on in my life, and when they go I'll be a much poorer person without them.

Try to be more tolerant and kinder, OP. James Bond is not a real person, and fictional characters make bad role models.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 250 ✭✭Clarebelly

• Site Banned Posts: 391 ✭✭paralysed

Ted111 wrote: »
    OP your ageism is sickening.
    You don't even know what age she was, nor can you explain how my comments showed I was treating her differently based on her age. The question is whether she was treating me differently due to my age!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

You don't even know what age she was, nor can you explain how my comments showed I was treating her differently based on her age. The question is whether she was treating me differently due to my age!

Well the first line was "this older lady"

You're right maybe you weren't being ageist just a complete arsehole. You seem to be nondiscriminatory in being an arsehole, fair play to you for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

Irrespective of whether she was old or not ,you actually didnt give an age,it was very rude of you to "take her on" . I think its even more worrying as your own mum has early dementia which will progress in time,and I hope you dont have to experience some 26 year old taking her on,when she will get confused in a coffee shop or think this 26 year old is even her son or husband. I feel very sorry for you tbh and what is in store for you if you can't even carry on a general chit chat now, how will you manage your mum at all,someday you could be very glad to have a nice woman chat with your mum just to give you a few minutes break .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

How tall are you OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

OP is obviously stressed and distressed with his/her situation at the moment. There's nothing, nothing more terrible than seeing someone you love disappearing into the tunnel of dementia. Under normal circumstances, no one would be terribly bothered at the damply intrusive stranger, but when you're stressed as it is, this is the kind of thing that just adds the last ounce to your load of grief and anger. The OP shouldn't have been unmannerly, I suppose, but I can completely understand it.

Candie wrote: »
    Treat people the way you'd want to be treated yourself, if the roles were reversed.

If the roles were reversed I would like someone to point out my cliches so that I could get better at giving encouragement. And if I was old, with all my wisdom, I should be able to take it, as well as knowing how to handle it!! as opposed to somebody letting me win just because I'm old.

Was this lady good at giving advice, or was she just behaving in the way society expects her to behave?

If the roles were reversed I would like someone to point out my cliches so that I could get better at giving encouragement. And if I was old, I should be able to take it, as well as knowing how to handle it due to all my wisdom!! As opposed to letting me win because I'm old. Was she good at giving advice, or was she just behaving in the way society expects her to behave?

I refuse to believe you're 26.

Well the first line was "this older lady"
    I'm 26, so that could mean anywhere from 40 upwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I could never understand why Irish girls react so badly to compliments. When I asked female friends they said that it was the shock, they weren't used to them :pac: Clearly some men feel the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

People, I think we all need to give the OP a break. They are obviously not fully baked yet. There's a lot of maturing still to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

I'm 26, so that could mean anywhere from 40 to 80

You're a bit meh at maths too.

snowbabe wrote: »
    I hope you dont have to experience some 26 year old taking her on,when she will get confused in a coffee shop or think this 26 year old is even her son or husband.
    That is an unfair comparison, and a low blow of you. To well constructed an insult for me to try reporting your comment.

As said repeatedly, this woman was not senile. She was about 60, and was sharper than me. When I said 'take her on', it was only all banter after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Edups

God OP really didn't get the reaction he expected he he he.

Oh don't be a dick OP. It was just someone trying to have a friendly chat, honestly you'd swear she was up trying to get you to bring her home or asking for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Chuchote wrote: »
    OP is obviously stressed and distressed with his/her situation at the moment. There's nothing, nothing more terrible than seeing someone you love disappearing into the tunnel of dementia. Under normal circumstances, no one would be terribly bothered at the damply intrusive stranger, but when you're stressed as it is, this is the kind of thing that just adds the last ounce to your load of grief and anger. The OP shouldn't have been unmannerly, I suppose, but I can completely understand it.

OP ...''My mother (who has early dementia)''
    That's about as far as I got in OP
    I have a 26 year old son. I am younger mother so thankfully not showing signs of dementia (yet!!). If my son was having to deal with me slipping away into that dreadful illness, I reckon he would be feeling pretty rotten. I'd say you could do with some back up and kindness OP...it's nice of you to spend that time with your Mam. Take care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

If the roles were reversed I would like someone to point out my cliches so that I could get better at giving encouragement. And if I was old, I should be able to take it, as well as knowing how to handle it due to all my wisdom!! As opposed to letting me win because I'm old. Was she good at giving advice, or was she just behaving in the way society expects her to behave?

I thought you said she wasn't old?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Edups

As said repeatedly, this woman was not senile. She was about 60, and was sharper than me.

60? And you justify that? She was an elderly woman who was probably just a bit lonely. You're trying to portray her as some sort of evil yoke, what a bitch, complementing me, look at this oul **** speaking to MY mother and I, in a public place???????? Nah nah nah ima drop kick this bitch nah nah nah

op you were a dick. Just stop.

Candie wrote: »
    I refuse to believe you're 26.
    That's a bit of an ambiguous thing to say. Elaborate if want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

The last time I saw anyone lose so bad, was Hilary Clinton.

Close your account OP....youre done here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

Maybe we are being a little harsh on OP but he needs to learn that the day his mother wanders up to one of us, confused or not, she will be shown kindness and civility and not cheek or lip. Save the "bants" for the lads down the local.

Good luck with your Mam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Why don't you pack all your fancy arguments away. Your clever
    justifications. And just leave the poor old woman alone.
    Leave her alone. You bastard.

You're a bit meh at maths too.

Keep working on the insults kid.