Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 205: Alvarez v McGregor (Event Discussion) - FAQ's in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Axwell wrote: »
    Right thats a wrap! Time to get some bloody sleep.

Great night of fights and great craic on the thread.

How can anyone actually sleep after that? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

McGregor via Decision
    Panthro wrote: »
    Smart phones... smart phones everywhere!

Isn't it ridiculous!? You have the opportunity to watch something like this live and yet you're staring through a screen, recording footage that will obviously be worse than the official.

The only good thing about the UFC's broadcasting change - this event will be available for Fight Pass subscribers to watch from Monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

Bit anti climatic really - just looked so easy....Maybe I was expecting too much after Diaz? Is Diaz just a freak the way he can take so much punishment? Or is Alvarez just crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

kippy wrote: »
    He's dead right to try do what he is planning to do. He has serious leverage now and the timing is right to make a play for some longer term cash with less risk!

Absolutely, and that type of strategic thinking is what has him where he is now.

The new owners have paid an awful lot for the company, and without him revenue massively drops, so really they have to seriously consider a deeper level of revenue share.

Sports stars are rich, but sports franchise owners are wealthy. There's a big difference and he wants to make a partial transition into the latter class.

Really happy for him - you can see the real guy in the post fight pressers, sharp, grateful and astute - not the cartoon villain some like to hate on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Isn't it ridiculous!? You have the opportunity to watch something like this live and yet you're staring through a screen, recording footage that will obviously be worse than the official.
    They were taking pictures of him with his belts when he was finished speaking, what's wrong with the journalistsmall who work the sport wanting their own memento?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭eurokev

Pac1Man wrote:

Can't understand, drives me mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

daRobot wrote: »
    Absolutely, and that type of strategic thinking is what has him where he is now.

The new owners have paid an awful lot for the company, and without him revenue massively drops, so really they have to seriously consider a deeper level of revenue share.

Sports stars are rich, but sports franchise owners are wealthy. There's a big difference and he wants to make a partial transition into the latter class.

Really happy for him - you can see the real guy in the post fight pressers, sharp, grateful and astute - not the cartoon villain some like to hate on.

The thing is, they dont. he's under contract, he will get more money but not a hope of a share in the company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

McGregor via Decision

gotta feel for eddie a bit here...absolutely gutted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Tim Kennedy
    Tim KennedyVerified account ‏@TimKennedyMMA 2h2 hours ago
    I think that @TheNotoriousMMA has officially taken over the sport of MMA. His performance at MSG was nothing short of brilliant #ufc205

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭clever user name

Still buzzing. 5pm here and I haven't got dressed yet.

He made Alvarez look like Denis Siver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Depp wrote: »

Jaysus he absolutely crushed about it. Understandably so.

Depp wrote: »

Definitely. It's the same as when Aldo was crying in his dressing room after the McGregor fight. People laughing at him and while I would always want Conor to win his fights, there's no pleasure to be taken from that. He's not a bad guy at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

McGregor via Decision
    The thing about the "Red Panty Night"......

I know money isn't everything and i've no doubt Eddie is heartbroken right now. But when the dust settles, he's projected to have cleared $3 million for this fight.

To put that into some context that's more than his last 26 fights combined.

When he gets home to his family and reflects on the whole experience, he'll be very glad he took the fight (despite the loss).

Wish him well for the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Alvarez via Submission
    Jesus couldnt train Eddie to beat Conor but this is further proof of what I been saying about Mark Henry, hes an overated glorified ex army pad man none of his fighters showed any great game plans tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

McGregor via Decision
    Just home from MSG now. Oh what a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

He almost seems disappointed with the pregnancy

Cant believe I missed it. Anyone know where I can see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

py2006 wrote: »

Aye, understandably scared of how a kid will grow up in the spotlight and at the pinnacle of it, when its so far from what he thought made him the person he is.

His gf keeps out if limelight so I'm sure they will be able do same with baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭ooter

Was Dee wearing the Gucci mink tonight, looked like she was holding it in the octagon after the fight?
    Why didn't Joe Rogan interview Alvarez after the fight?
    Anyone else notice Joe Rogan getting a little dig in at Conor not defending his 145 belt before the fight, sounded very bitter to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

py2006 wrote: »

Couldn't agree less. I think with everything he's been through, his fame confidence, ability and titles, he sounds like every other first time parent. Nervous, excited and not knowing what to expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,991 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

He's some boy!!

The one thing about CMG is he intimidates his opponents in the ring. He takes the centre of the ring and dictates the fight on his terms. The long arms keep his opponents constantly on the back foot and he goes at his pace.

The power of his punching must unnerve his opponent and that has to play on their mind.

Alvarez looked like a guy making his debut in the UFC and a lot of the reasons for this lay with Conor. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

McGregor via Decision
    Anybody else pick up on Rogan saying to Conor that it's been an honour to call his fights, he only EVER says this when a fighter is retiring, I'm guessing he'll be parting ways with UFC soon and that this was his last Conor fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

McGregor via Decision
    Rogan says that to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

i think what happens to the guys that Conor fights (diaz aside), is they all, inadvertently get caught up in hating conor and actually trying to hurt him.

so that way when they do lose, its so heart breaking for them, it seems to break them. I dont think any fighter he's stopped has looked the same ever since

Mendes is done, Aldo isnt much better. Poierer is done. Do i see Alvarez making another run for the title? I doubt it.

we all know he's good, but i think its safe to say he's more than good, he's actually special

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

ooter wrote: »
    Why didn't Joe Rogan interview Alvarez after the fight?

Didn't they make a decision to stop interviewing fighters after suffering knock outs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Wow. Had my little nap after the fight and just can't believe with this little kid from crumbling has managed to do. Am I dreaming? He was in fine form tonight, both inside and outside, loved all the irishisms in the post fight conference.

What's up with Eddie? No interview after the fight, no sign of him at post press conference? Is he too injured or a sore loser type thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

.ak wrote: »
    Wow. Had my little nap after the fight and just can't believe with this little kid from crumbling has managed to do. Am I dreaming? He was in fine form tonight, both inside and outside, loved all the irishisms in the post fight conference.

What's up with Eddie? No interview after the fight, no sign of him at post press conference? Is he too injured or a sore loser type thing?

They don't to octagon interviews with people who get knocked out anymore, new policy.
    Lots of people didn't attend the conference, I could have been getting a medical examination to see if he was fit to leave or need hospitalisation, he did interviews after the fight, so none of your reasoning makes sense.