If Donald Trump were Irish...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Ugh, do we have to not only admit but advertise that at some point some of their DNA came from an inhabitant of this island? I know it's tradition and all, but srsly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Muahahaha wrote: »
    ...what would he do?

1. Build a big wall along our southern border, aka Cork
    2.Get all the people of Cork to pay for that fine Great Wall. And if they refuse to then impose 35% tarrifs on Mitchelstown cheese and Rachel Allen, plus her open secrets
    3. Put Corkonians through X-rays to gain entry to the Rest of Ireland (ROI)

Stay unclassy AH, I wouldn't want it any other way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Muahahaha wrote: »
    ...what would he do?

1. Build a big wall along our southern border, aka Cork
    2.Get all the people of Cork to pay for that fine Great Wall. And if they refuse to then impose 35% tarrifs on Mitchelstown cheese and Rachel Allen, plus her open secrets
    3. Put Corkonians through X-rays to gain entry to the Rest of Ireland (ROI)

Stay unclassy AH, I wouldn't want it any other way

Why all the hate for cork on after hours?Im a true blue dub,Gussy Bismark once described me as being 'as Dublin as Rashers Tierney eating a bowl of coddle' Corkonians are great craic,razor sharp wit,beautiful county and extremely sexy women.Whats not to like?
    PS: Trump is president elect now,which automatically makes him Irish.Give it a year and he'll be in some kip of of a pub in the middle of nowhere grimacing in front of a pint of Guinness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

I'm pretty sure he'd be running for the DUP and denying he's Irish.
    He'd fit right in up there! He's even orange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 joe_three_pack

a number of things i could see being on or off the table

1. no more sell outs to public sector unions

2. no more talk about granting ethnic status to particular groups

3. lower taxes for the squeezed middle

4. no indefinite right to dole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 joe_three_pack

a number of things i could see being on or off the table

1. no more sell outs to public sector unions

2. no more talk about granting ethnic status to particular groups

3. lower taxes for the squeezed middle

4. no indefinite right to dole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

So let's think, a billionaire, no experience of public office, controversial, confrontational......dare I say it? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Alas, he would have been scuppered by our bankruptcy laws.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

In Ireland some wealthy charismatic(in an egotistical sort of way) business man would be viewed as a great alternative to the standard teacher politician, nobody would bring up experience, it's different for us though, governments in countries like Ireland appear to be facilitators more than anything nowadays.

It's a *very* different culture. Ireland (in common with our neighbours in England and France) is a nation of begrudgers and we don't like ostentatious displays of wealth.

Trump would have been taken down several pegs and laughed at.

If you got up on stage here and went on about how much money you had most people would need a bucket or would fall over laughing.

It would be: "would you look at yer man with his fecking helicopter.?" "who the feck does he think he is?"

Whereas a % of Americans worship money and wealth.

Trump could only exist in America imo, Could you imagine Michael O Leary or Sean Quinn or whoever rich male characters there are in Ireland standing up talking about how he wants to help Wacker and Christie get their jobs back wearing a green baseball hat with whatever out "make ameica great again" equivalent of would be. America is more nuanced than Ireland(whatever that means) but it's a country where a billionaire can legitimately be perceived as being outside the elite and speak on behalf of the working man in industrial Pennsylvania.
    Ireland's society and culture would never create a person like Trump

I actually think America is far less nuanced. It's a very simplistic and quite crude kind of politics that reduces it to a binary choice vs a complicated, very nuanced proportional representation system with multi parties that requires complicated consensus positions to be reached.

Literally it was like "look at me: I have a big pile of money. I am successful. I should be president"
    Policies schmolicies .. Look at my big shiny tower with my name on the top. Vote for me! Vote for success. I'm so successful.
    If you vote for me you can maybe feel successful too.
    Look at my hair! It's real hair!
    Crooked Hillary .. Crooked Hillary .. Emails Emails Emails... Locker her Up Emails Hillary Nasty ..
    Of course I'll release my tax returns...

An episode of Peppa Pig would be more nuanced!

Say what you like about Irish politics, but in most recent elections there have been informed electors having complicated discussions about economics and fiscal spaces and all sorts of complicated issues around state ownership of assets, banking crisis, relations with the EU, gay marriage, abortion etc.

Can you imagine having the Marriage Referendum we had in the US?!?
    I know we had one or two minor nasty incidents of nasty letters and so on, but for the most part that debate was phenomenally mature and sensibly conduced and people listened and engaged and discussed and voted.

When it comes to stability, informed electorates and engagement I think Ireland is in a completely different league to the US. It's a very, very different kind of politics, different structures, different mechanics of election, different style of media.

I know we have problems with local issues being over dominant and pure clientelism in constituency politics, but it's still a fairly sane and functional system.

Also the Irish claiming US presidents is cringed as ****, it was cool with JFK because the Irish narrative was so different back to then, they were probably only becoming part of the status quo in America by then but now who gives a **** unless they happen to be first generation. Im conscious of the Irish diaspora, we are an island and thus we have a close lineage and some of our brothers and sisters had to flea in days gone by for a better life but come on Obama was a ****ing joke, he had Russian, English and other ancestry as well.

Meh, Ireland wields enormous soft power through stuff like that. For the sake of a few days of cringing, it is probably worth it.

As a nation, we network the feck out of stuff and it works.

Why do you think there are about 5 Irish bars ringing the European Commission ...

Our soccer fans even unleashed a charm offensive on the French and it has paid off in spades in terms of Ireland's reputation in France vs the post Brexit UK...