Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

El Presidente Trump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

People need to understand the reasons for the vote - its simplistic and wrong to attack his supporters

When you marginalise the white working classes things like this happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

mansize wrote: »
    People need to understand the reasons for the vote - its simplistic and wrong to attack his supporters

Your first mistake was thinking the irish electorate dont make bad political decisions or make protest votes

Dempsey wrote: »
    Your first mistake was thinking the irish electorate dont make bad political decisions or make protest votes

When did I say that? The SF vote is the same type of vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,447 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Even the simplistic and wrong ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I want to see this sign on the White House
    TRUMP WHITE HOUSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

When did I say that? The SF vote is the same type of vote

I was agreeing with you. The majority of the irish electorate dont understand why Trump was elected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,849 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Before he's in it though?

That's just idiotic.

By that standard, never stand for election in a country whose system you want to change.

Think about what you're suggesting.

No, he can't change it before he has power to do so. And he should think it through. Consult the foremost constitutional experts. Then put forward a plan to institute a system whereby - radical notion - the candidate where the most votes always wins.

Think about what I'm suggesting? I'm suggesting an overhaul of a 200 year old system based on the notion that it was not possible to tally a popular national vote. America dwindles into irrelevance if its political system continues to elect the 2nd most popular candidate to the presidency.

When you have the presidency and the run of both Houses, there is nothing stopping you creating a more accurate, fairer political system. Unless it advantages you and you don't want to change it for reasons of naked political gain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

ligerdub wrote: »
    Unfortunate of you to use such misogynist language.

Yeah, you definitely seem like the kind of person who opposes misogyny...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

It's a pity that Trump looks like a washed up bloated corpse in a wig.

You know, for us ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Trump or Clinton? Does it really matter? George Carlin summed it up best in terms of politics....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭_Jamie_

Gutted Trump won but an American girl I know posted numbers to suicide hotlines on her Facebook wall today in response to the election results. That is just daft and histrionic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

RayM wrote: »
    Trump voters aren't all idiots. Many of them are just cunts.

I suspect youd find both sides had a sprinkling of those - interesting choice of words by the way, srems somewhat misaligned with the Clinton message.

For the most part voters on both sides were just ordinary people looking for a candidate who understood them. It says a lot for Clintons campaign that they decided a billionaire reality tv star with plenty of baggage represrnted ordinary people better than Hillary did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭vetinari

It's quite valid to attack his supporters. It's the lack of challenging his supporters that's helped cause this. A lot of working class white men who are annoyed that the country is not as white as it used to be. They try to dress that up as nostalgia but it's clear what they mean. They don't expect Trump to bring back manufacturing jobs, no president can, they just want to feel like the white men are on top again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

A lot of Trump Supporters are idiots.

Nothing wrong with calling idiots idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

What a beautiful ring she has on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

wes wrote: »
    You would have a point, if Trump had any :D.

Amazing, how quick some of ye lads, drop the whole not pc, tell like it is tone, and are now demanding everyone be pc. You couldn't make it up.

There's a HUGE difference between manners and political correctness. He suggested some manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

diomed wrote: »
    I want to see this sign on the White House
    TRUMP WHITE HOUSE, BROUGHT TO YOU IN ASSOCIATION WITH COCA COLA
    I like that better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

vetinari wrote: »
    It's quite valid to attack his supporters. It's the lack of challenging his supporters that's helped cause this. A lot of working class white men who are annoyed that the country is not as white as it used to be. They try to dress that up as nostalgia but it's clear what they mean. They don't expect Trump to bring back manufacturing jobs, no president can, they just want to feel like the white men are on top again.

Yep they are all racists.

But could you please explain how Mid West rust belt states (Michigan, Wisconsin, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Iowa) that actually backed a black man for president, twice even, are now racist because they backed Trump ?

Feckin hell I guess you would say they are, you know, slow and thick :rolleyes:

It took over 8 years to sink in that they were racists.
    They mustn't have noticed Obama was actually black when they voted for him twice :eek:

If the only answer some people can find for why people voted for Trump is white man racism, then really it does reinforce how idiotic and myopic one side has become.

I suppose it is the same answer as to why 20% of black people voted for him or 20% of Latinos voted for him.
    They must be racists like the 42% of women are sexist.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,196 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The AAA aren't happy with the result it seems, well anything that pisses off Coppinger makes my evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,339 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

My god there are a lot of sore winners and losers on this thread. I mean Trump and Clinton were more gracious. Her running mate was very sore when introducing her also. Lets not mention some of the contributors in CNN. If he acts half the way he did on his acceptance speech he might not be as bad as we fear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

sabat wrote: »
    She's also essentially a prostitute.

Classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

The AAA aren't happy with the result it seems, well anything that pisses off Coppinger makes my evening.

Tbf it doesn't take much to piss off Ruth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Classy.

She has sex with him for money and no other reason. Why shouldn't I point out the truth?

Classy.

Based on your gloating posts throughout the day, I wouldn't be calling anyone else out on their classiness or lack thereof if I were you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

sabat wrote: »
    She has sex with him for money and no other reason. Why shouldn't I point out the truth?

Usually you'd need some sort of evidence to back up such a claim.

If you have it, please proffer it.

And spiteful conjecture and "Just Look at Him" are not evidence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

_Jamie_ wrote: »
    Based on your gloating posts throughout the day, I wouldn't be calling anyone else out on their classiness or lack thereof if I were you.

Why would i gloat, i didn't win.

Donald J Trump did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,072 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Why would i gloat, i didn't win.

No idea, you tell me. ;) You're the one mashing your keyboard.