The Garda Strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

There's plenty of new Gardai on Family Income Supplement.

Family Income Supplement

It's not that hard to see why when you look at the qualifying bands, and take into account base take home pay is currently in the region of €330 per week (it takes a fair bit of allowances and overtime to push you over the threshold depending on the number of kids you have).

If you have: And your weekly family income is less than:
    One child €511
    Two children €612
    Three children €713
    Four children €834
    Five children €960
    Six children €1,076
    Seven children €1,212
    Eight children €1,308

330 P/W is less than minimum wage, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

fizzypish wrote: »
    Sucks to be a guard or nurse if you joined up in the last 10 (?) years. They should be getting more money but is the money even there?

That's what they signed up for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

cursai wrote: »
    Are you drunk.....at 12midday?

He's sore :pac:

Rightwing wrote: »
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardaiacute-sleeping-in-cars-due-to-pay-cuts-327600.html

We have a good headline here. Garda sleeping in car and has to make a poo...what I had to do.

The Sun would be interested. Sell your story Garda, sell your story, even if no one believes you it's entertainment,

Seriously, you are loosing your mind here! Time to take some time out....
    No more internet for you today........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

He's sore :pac:

Its not from overusing his brain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

Did you just quote AVERAGES.....AGAIN???? Are you taking the mick or do you actually think they are smart figures to be using? LOL
    Well the problem then isn't that the government isn't putting enough money into AGS wages. So why don't they campaign for better pay equality throughout the force?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

What about those on 'average' pay. Surely if they were on that they wouldn't qualify.

I'm not taking about average pay for well established members, I'm far more concerned about the starting salary of new recruits. They are nowhere near the 'average' figure being bandied about here and they never will either due to the two tier pay scale that was put in place for new entrants (which applies right across the public sector).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ben Gadot wrote: »

And that's why they have to be paid a proper good wage. Just like all frontline staff should get. FG are beginning to realise this at last.

Ben Gadot wrote: »

No, no its not.
    Gardai pay was cut, pension levy was introduced.
    All in all they reckon Garda pay is down 16%.
    So, no one signed up for that.

Well the problem then isn't that the government isn't putting enough money into AGS wages. So why don't they campaign for better pay equality throughout the force?

Maybe you have a point. But wouldnt it take a lot of money for you to take the soup like Yer wan O Sullivan has done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Are you drunk.....at 12midday?

No Garda here has still explained the 'sleeping in the car story'......and somehow I don't think they will. ;)

No Garda here has still explained the 'sleeping the car story'......and somehow I don't think they will. ;)

What's to explain?
    Some members obviously didn't have enough money to put petrol in their car to get home.
    So they had to sleep in their cars.
    Don't know how you couldn't work that out......

I'm not taking about average pay for well established members, I'm far more concerned about the starting salary of new recruits. They are nowhere near the 'average' figure being bandied about here and they never will either due to the two tier pay scale that was put in place for new entrants (which applies right across the public sector).

Sierra.....im taking the piss. I taking the mick out of the use of averages. The use of which is totally misconstrued.

No Garda here has still explained the 'sleeping in the car story'......and somehow I don't think they will. ;)

Where did YOU sleep last night?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

A neighbour of mine has slept in his car on a few occasions to bridge the gap between shifts. It's just cheaper and easier for him to sleep in the car rather than travelling 90 mins home, sleep for a few hours and then hop in the car and drive 90 mins back to the station to start his shift again. It usually happens when he's required to work a shift he was not originally rostered to work.

He used to be able to grab some kip in the station but the Chief Super put an end to that as there were some health and safety concerns, and it just looked plain bad for an officer to be sleeping on a makeshift bed on a station floor.

There used to be accommodation provided in many stations across the country to prevent problems like this but they were done away with over the last couple of decades. The rent allowance was phased in as a replacement but that was done away with for new entrants.

Also this officer has been moved to at least three different stations within his division over the last 18 months. It doesn't exactly make for stable living.

bubblypop wrote: »
    What's to explain?
    Some members obviously didn't have enough money to put petrol in their car to get home.
    So they had to sleep in their cars.
    Don't know how you couldn't work that out......

Do they bring toilet paper and poo cleaner with them? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thomasdylan

The gardai have gotten a very good offer. They should take it. I'm sure they will.

Does any garda posting on here think that the Govt offer will not be accepted?
    According to RTE a lot of garda officers are not happy with the offer.

Sleep in cars.
    Sleep.
    Not sh1t.
    Do you use your bed as a toilet?

YOu keep referencing toilets........did you sleep in the pub urinal again last night.

The gardai have gotten a very good offer. They should take it. I'm sure they will.

What good offer is that?
    Honestly, what do you think they have been offered?

Maybe you have a point. But wouldnt it take a lot of money for you to take the soup like Yer wan O Sullivan has done.
    Wha?

What good offer is that?

Exactly!

YOu keep referencing toilets........did you sleep in the pub urinal again last night.
    One of my little grandsons is at the toilet talk too. He's 4 years old.

A neighbour of mine has slept in his car on a few occasions to bridge the gap between shifts. It's just cheaper and easier for him to sleep in the car rather than travelling 90 mins home, sleep for a few hours and then hop in the car and drive 90 mins back to the station to start his shift again. It usually happens when he's required to work a shift he was not originally rostered to work.
    Then you will agree that all other public servants doing shifts should get the same allowance?

Wha?

Noirin O Sullivan, the commissioner of An Garda Siochana! She is a high ranking officer, whos pay, along with others, would completely swell the averages. Has, according to many, taken the proverbial soup in relation to her handling of her colleagues in this matter. 'This matter' is the one we are discussing.

He used to be able to grab some kip in the station but the Chief Super put an end to that as there were some health and safety concerns, and it just looked plain bad for an officer to be sleeping on a makeshift bed on a station floor.

There used to be accommodation provided in many stations across the country to prevent problems like this but they were done away with over the last couple of decades.

Also this officer has been moved to at least three different stations within his division over the last 18 months. It doesn't exactly make for stable living.

Seems most extraordinary to me. That chap is clearly a danger to other road users.
    Sleep in cars.
    Sleep.
    Not sh1t.
    Do you use your bed as a toilet?

Well I'd go to a toilet, but if I were sleeping in a car and had to go, but....maybe they have scoop the poop bags for that nowadays in the gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thomasdylan

What good offer is that?

Rent allowance restoration of 4000 for the newer guards is a good boost. 500e increase in it for everyone else too, then the parading pay and 15e for holiday days. Thats what I've seen reported, I might be a bit off on some figures though. I think that's pretty good, should provide a big boost to the newer guards who are relatively underpaid. I think that's a realistic and reasonable offer tbh.

Then you will agree that all other public servants doing shifts should get the same allowance?

If they are being forced to sleep in cars, then yes.

Although it's important to point out that most other public servants can't be forced to change their place of work willy-nilly. Decentralisation clearly showed this. The Government wanted to move certain departments away from Dublin which required personnel to change their place of work. There was a dispute and in the end the compromise was that the workers would get collected at their old place of work at the start of their working day, then they would be bussed out of the capital to the new workplace. The same applied for the end of the working day - they had to be dropped back off at their old place of work before they were scheduled to finish work. The dispute was eventually settled by introducing new premium payments.

A Garda doesn't have such options. I could be based in Dublin and my superiors could order me to report to a station in Galway within a few days.