The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It'd be easy to find a better paid force then, I can't?

Have you tried? I don't even need to use Google as off hand I know LAPD are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Bambi wrote: »
    I grew up in a council flat in the 80's.. family were stony broke and I never went hungry. Because food for the kids was the first consideration when it came to money

I hope the social services follow this up and investigate the bollox for child neglect. Of course, he'll sing a different song then of course. :rolleyes:

I'm guessing he was speaking anonymously? It's what they tend to do when playing the downtrodden poor-mouth on national airwaves. Either that or have their long suffering wives speak for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Kirby wrote: »
    You can't make a comment like that without repercussions. If people knew that when they lied about their children going hungry there would be a social services investigation, they would stop using the lie as a weapon in pay disputes.

Its always a lie and its disgusting to use your children as cry for public support..

Well on reflection I agree and it's true that it was a pretty serious thing to say.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Have you tried? I don't even need to use Google as off hand I know LAPD are.

Good call.
    The total salary cost of the employees in 2010 was $1,132,468,697.00, which is an average of $88,322 per employee.

After the pay increase ours will only be on around $75k (with a weak euro). Yer gettin reamed!

This is disgraceful. Rents increase in Dublin by 16% in the past year and these dirty communists in the public sector think they should have a rent allowance and an increment increase of a few percent. Bastard gardaí and teachers! Why can't they work hard like property owners do in Dublin - all of whom at least worked 16% harder in the past year, of course? This idea that ordinary people should have increases in salary to reflect the greater cost of gouging by landlords and the like is dangerous left-wing nonsense, our beloved "free press" will tell us.

Meanwhile we are privileged to have learned people like Edward Walsh, formerly head of the University of Limerick, paid by RTÉ with our TV license money to come on television and to write in papers to tell us that gardaí, teachers and all are overpaid. I especially love that our glorious free press, the heroic defenders of democracy that are journalists, never, ever mention that this is the same Ed Walsh who received well over €300,000 tax free (€275,000 in 1997 money) from public funds upon his retirement from UL, and each year for the past 19 years he has been in receipt of well over €100,000 per year as a pension. A pension. And this is the person RTÉ brings out to tell us teachers, gardaí and other lower-paid public servants are overpaid. Vomit-inducing stuff.(Source)
    As a consequence Walsh would have received, in 1997, a final lump sum of £225,000 (or €285,750) in addition to an annual pension top up of approximately €100,000 since 1997.

PS: Great to see our fantastically rightwing Blueshirt government (with loving support from the mé féiner guttersnipes in Fianna Fáil, Labour and Sinn Féin - all of whom could unite and kick them out if they so chose) continues to do sweet fúck all in Dublin to upset the property developers/housebuilders/banks by - perish the thought - engaging in a massive program of public house building just as Irish governments used to do - in five years of the depression of the 1930s Fianna Fáil built over 100,000 houses for Irish families, for instance - before these rightwing Thatcherite "no such thing as society" fúcktards got this society by the balls and made spending public money on public housing a bad thing. But spending money on reducing apartment sizes, VAT and other taxes on builders, and handing money to first-time buyers so that the money will go straight into the pocket of said developers (and their offshore accounts, as usual - but shhhh that only happened in the 1990s; Irish business people don't do that anymore!) who will increase price of said houses by precisely the same amount as this new Fine Gael "grant" is all par for the course in this brave new Irish society. Start supplying houses in Dublin at affordable prices, and numerous pressures on wages and the like dissipate almost immediately. The vested interests do not want that, so we hear groans from the public sectors and others who have the sense to be unionised against these powerful vested interests.

If you're determined to find a public sector target, go after the pensions of all senior public servants - all of which comes out of the state's current expenditure. For instance, John Bruton has been on a pension each year - last year alone worth €135,000 - since he was 34 years old in 1983. 33 years on an enormous pension. 33 fúcking years (he also has other massive pensions, such as his EU one). Refúcking read that! And these arseholes and the vacuous shít-for-brains who defend them in the media and in online fora think it's fair game to attack public servants like gardaí and teachers who could only dream of such a gravy train. Look at the salary of a garda/teacher/nurse and look at the price of houses in Dublin - they'll be renting here forever unless an Irish government decides to tackle all the vested interests that are keeping housing supply constrained in Dublin. Man up, and get stronger targets in society for your rage. Hypocritical, elitist shítehawking from a media which is breathtakingly hypocritical and in the service of an elite. Poorer public servants should follow the lead of senior public servants like our former government ministers and demand increases in everything. More examples of elitist hypocrisy on public servants pay.

Time to make a stand against the well-connected getting richer and using the media to reject all claims from poorer workers for increases. Long past it, actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

To be fair i think the risk associated with being a los Angeles police officer is multiple times greater than a guard in this country. The ad which the GRA ran in today's papers was a disgrace too. Selecting one single violent incident as a way to justify inflating their earnings. Everyone acknowledges that being a guard involves a certain element of danger. However, you know that before you enter templemore and you know what the rates of pay are. If it's such a terrible job why aren't they leaving in their droves? They've lost a lot of credibility after this imo.....potentially endangering our citizens just to line their pockets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Good call.

After the pay increase ours will only be on around $75k (with a weak euro). Yer gettin reamed!

You enter the academy there starting on around $60,000, up a few grand upon graduation.

Edit: Yes, the risk is absolutely a multitude higher, and I think they're paid by the city as opposed to the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I completely agree on the point about kids going hungry. While I can understand a lot of other things falling by the wayside when people are genuinely hard up the children should be able to eat, at least. And I don't think it should be an issue on a garda's wages.

I don't think he should be investigated for what was probably an ill thought out comment designed to sway people towards sympathising with him. It was probably a lie.

But can we have coppers lying and blaggarding on the national airwaves? I mean perjury in court is one thing, sure divil a guard that hasn't told a few fibs in front of a beak, but lying to Sean O'Rourke? The previous commisioner was run out of town for less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

fryup wrote: »
    i heard some gaurd on the sean o'rourke show yesterday saying his kids "go hungry"

give me a f*cking break will ya:rolleyes: its not like he's on the dole living in a council flat

Others 'have to sleep in their cars' !

Yet, we have over 16,000 applying for just 600 positions. The GRA are at a loss as to why ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

To be fair i think the risk associated with being a los Angeles police officer is multiple times greater than a guard in this country. The ad which the GRA ran in today's papers was a disgrace too. Selecting one single violent incident as a way to justify inflating their earnings. Everyone acknowledges that being a guard involves a certain element of danger. However, you know that before you enter templemore and you know what the rates of pay are. If it's such a terrible job why aren't they leaving in their droves? They've lost a lot of credibility after this imo.....potentially endangering our citizens just to line their pockets

hardly one violent incident no is it ?

1000 a year .

ten time the national average injury

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/injury-rate-for-gardai-10-times-higher-than-for-average-worker-392309.html

http://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-assaulted-1437973-Apr2014/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

And those rates of pay went down 15%

......and yet the applications keep flooding in. I wonder why?

mynamejeff wrote: »

So what? When you join the guards or the armed forces you surely expect a bit of rough and tumble no? Again there must something extremely gratifying or rewarding about the job cos it's over subscribed substantially every time the government open the doors to templemore. Anyway, they constantly refuse to be armed so there is no deterrent to the fella who thinks it's ok to box a guard (or any person for that matter). As it stands they are now one of the best rewarded police forces in the world. And as i stated earlier, they aren't improving as a force. Poor response times, poor investigative returns, and all being blamed on lack of resources. But a pay rise will sort that?? Of course it won't. ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

......and yet the applications keep flooding in. I wonder why?

Naivety.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

So on social welfare you probably get the bulk of your rent paid?

No. None of my rent is paid and you're not automatically entitled to it either.

Tbh they couldn't all be naive. People applied in their thousands! !

the thing is, people do want to be guards. lots of people do. It's a childhood dream for some, to join the police.
    However, many people who would be very good Gardai don't join because they can get more money for less sacrifice elsewhere.
    There are lots of new recruits that are resigning because they can't manage on the wages. Those people really wanted to be guards, they really wanted to make a difference, they wanted it to work & tried for as long as they could, before leaving to go back to work in molloys off licence or wherever!
    The point is, there are lots of applicants but this doesn't necessarily mean that they will all go through with the application, or even if they do, that they will stay in the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Naivety.

The very opposite.

A bouncer would do well to become a Garda. You don't exactly need to be a genius to join the force, hence we have over 16,000 applications. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

and these dirty communists in the public sector think they should have a rent allowance and an increment increase of a few percent. Bastard gardaí and teachers! Why can't they work hard like property owners do in Dublin - all of whom at least worked 16% harder in the past year, of course? This idea that ordinary people should have increases in salary to reflect the greater cost of gouging by landlords and the like is dangerous left-wing nonsense, our beloved "free press" will tell us.

Plenty of Gardai are landlords. A quick Google also shows they may not always make the best landlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Fair play to the garda GRA.
    They played this very well and put the wind up the Govt.
    They showed balls too in standing up to the Govt Commissioner as she's not a Garda Commissioner at all. She's a lackey.

Well played all round and it's a lesson to the whingers and begrudgers. Get up of your arses and fight your corner for once.

Fair play to the garda GRA.
    They played this very well and put the wind up the Govt.
    They showed balls too in standing up to the Govt Commissioner as she's not a Garda Commissioner at all. She's a lackey.

Well played all round and it's a lesson to the whingers and begrudgers. Get up of your arses and fight your corner for once.

It's very easy to stand up and fight your corner when you can essentially hold a whole nation to ransom. The GRA know this very well. For the rest of us in the private sector we will inevitably be told that "the company will pull out of the country" in the event of industrial action. Public sector unions have it easy. Even siptu are having big problems trying to fight for private sector employees. The public sector and the rich will thrive in enda's recovery. .....the rest of us will be left behind. ...

That's bollix. Where have the GRA publicly shown themselves to 'stand up to' or criticise her (or any management) in any real sense?

The GRA are as bad as garda management are. They don't want to see improvements made to management or how the force is run. Just more money and resources given to them so that it can be wasted more easilly.

They pay their wives €200 every christmas. Like ffs. They want to be seen as a proper 'union'. Which other union board pays their fcuking wives in that way? Gimme a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

That's bollix. Where have the GRA publicly shown themselves to 'stand up to' or criticise her (or any management) in any real sense?

The GRA are as bad as garda management are. They don't want to see improvements made to management or how the force is run. Just more money and resources given to them so that it can be wasted more easilly.

They pay their wives €200 every christmas. Like ffs. They want to be seen as a proper 'union'. Which other union board pays their fcuking wives in that way? Gimme a break
    Didn't she send them all out a personal note to turn up for work which they ignored. That's balls. I haven't seen anything about the 200 euro anywhere.
    Give over the whinging lads and fight your corner for a change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

It's very easy to stand up and fight your corner when you can essentially golf a whole nation to ransom. The GRA know this very well. For the rest of us in the private sector we will inevitably be told that "the company will pull out of the country" in the event of industrial action. Public sector unions have it easy. Even siptu ate having big problems trying to fight for private sector employees. The public sector and the rich will thrive in enda's recovery. .....the rest of us will be left behind. ...

....... So get on the public sector gravy train then.

Seems the obvious choice if the private sector is such a terrifying wasteland.

It's very easy to stand up and fight your corner when you can essentially hold a whole nation to ransom. The GRA know this very well. For the rest of us in the private sector we will inevitably be told that "the company will pull out of the country" in the event of industrial action. Public sector unions have it easy. Even siptu are having big problems trying to fight for private sector employees. The public sector and the rich will thrive in enda's recovery. .....the rest of us will be left behind. ...
    Luas are looking for drivers.

Didn't she send them all out a personal note to turn up for work which they ignored. That's balls. I haven't seen anything about the 200 euro anywhere.

That's balls alright.

There was no personalised letters sent out. She said publicly that gardai should attend for duties, and there was a suggestion made (by media afaik) that the next option for her would be to send letters to individuals. She told them not to strike on Tuesday.

The GRA told them not to strike 8 hours before they were supposed to, with no consultation with members, and they followed that order like the good little goose-steppers that they are.

Partners of Garda officials paid €200 Christmas bonus

Luas are looking for drivers.

So? ?? Do we all have to relocate to Dublin for decent pay? Is that the new thing now is it?

That's balls alright.

There was no personalised letters sent out. She said publicly that gardai should attend for duties, and there was a suggestion made (by media afaik) that the next option for her would be to send letters to individuals. She told them not to strike on Tuesday.

The GRA told them not to strike 8 hours before they were supposed to, with no consultation with members, and they followed that order like the good little goose-steppers that they are.

Partners of Garda officials paid €200 Christmas bonus

Again fair play to them.
    A lot of Private Sector jobs give Christmas Boxes FFS.

Some lads would rather see nobody get a rise if they couldn't get one which is begrudgery.

lawlolawl wrote: »
    ....... So get on the public sector gravy train then.

Seems the obvious choice if the private sector is such a terrifying wasteland.

We can't all get in the public sector gravy train now can we? Silly argument

So? ?? Do we all have to relocate to Dublin for decent pay? Is that the new thing now is it?

Nope but fight your corner. Meek = nil.