The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

They do - it's an illegal act for a start. They have already lost the respect of many people because of corruption and treatment of whistleblowers. They will suffer more reputational damage if they strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Amanda.ie wrote: »
    If the government got rid of the pension levy that only public servants are paying it would be great, this was brought in when the country was in need and wasn't meant to stay.
    While everyone is paying USC not everyone is paying the pension levy.

For all the posters who are saying the guards wont be missed, we never see them etc tomorrow might just be the one time you do need them, but it's like when the power goes, it's the one time you want to boil the kettle but you can't.

Fair play to them, all the public service should go out with them to support them.

go and ****e. The horror of a pension levy. Oh no.. the poor dears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Boggy Turf wrote: »
    I don't think it matters anymore, their reputation is damaged, even further.
    Reputation won't pay your bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Donal55 wrote: »
    I look forward to ICTU putting the boot in for everyone else when this is resolved.
    Yes. Support your local union.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

Reputation won't pay your bills.

That doesn't make sense.

Why are you defending Gardaí so blindly? What is your link?

Different to being killed in the line of duty

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Garda%C3%AD_killed_in_the_line_of_duty

And different again to being murdered (1 every 6 years since 1930 on average)
    Is it too low for you? Seems like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Amanda.ie

go and ****e. The horror of a pension levy. Oh no.. the poor dears.

Are you paying it? have you any idea how much it is?

If you answer yes to both you can have an opinion on it.

That doesn't make sense.

Why are you defending Gardaí so blindly? What is your link?

I always support my gardai, nurses and teachers. I want the best. You have to pay to get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭wpd

I always support my gardai, nurses and teachers. I want the best. You have to pay to get them.

we have the worlds most expensive politicians so applying your logic you think they are the best!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Not buying the whole death thing, there was 18 people killed in Farming last year 30 the year before. It's far from the most dangerous job other there. Not trying to make little of the guys who died in the line but I just don't buy it's that dangerous a job in comparison to a lot of others that are a lot less paid.

Do guards in Dublin get extra than guards in rural areas?

I'm guessing they do with the cost of living etc?

anyone who considers the garda underpaid should review some of the complaints against them
    http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/publications/investigationreports.html

Not buying the whole death thing, there was 18 people killed in Farming last year 30 the year before. It's far from the most dangerous job other there. Not trying to make little of the guys who died in the line but I just don't buy it's that dangerous a job in comparison to a lot of others that are a lot less paid.

Farming is dangerous but many accidents can be prevented.

If a guard stops a car he/she has no idea who the driver is or if they are armed, same if they attend a house they have no idea who is inside.
    They cant just stand back and think about things, it's a different type of danger.

wpd wrote: »
    we have the worlds most expensive politicians so applying your logic you think they are the best!!!

I don't want to see the cream of the country's youth leaving for foreign shores and nursing, teaching etc in Canada, Australia etc. We had enough of that.
    I don't give a damn about politicians of any colour or hue or what they get tbh. I care about the people i will need if I go into hospital, have a burglary or a fire.

anyone who considers the garda underpaid should review some of the complaints against them
    http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/publications/investigationreports.html

1+1 = banana

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

RoboKlopp wrote: »

No they don't, there are no talks of introducing one at the moment either. Wouldn't surprise me if it's revisited down the line though.

All London Metropolitan Police officers receive a London weighting payment and London allowance top-up.

RoboKlopp wrote: »

NO.

Guards in rural areas can be busier as they don't have as many members as Dublin for eg.
    Gardai in rural areas deal with everything, city guards might only deal with drugs, shop lifting. Not saying city guards only do this btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭zeroliner

All the scally wags will be out tomorrow.

a british soldier sent to afganistan was on stg£17,000, do you think the garda checking passports at dublin airport deserve any incremental pay for the dangerous nature of their work

zeroliner wrote: »

they are out every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It's some pantomime

I have my gun beside my bed every night.
    Come in at your peril scallywag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The_A wrote: »
    I'll be Batman who's Robin then?

Everyone else?

Not your ornery onager

they are out every day

they'll probably have more play time tomorrow

God only knows what's in store.

I have my gun beside my bed every night.
    Come in at your peril scallywag.

ah jaysus taytos. hope it isn't loaded

You bet it's loaded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Police in the UK and other countries are not paid as much as the Gardai, but they are not striking?
    As a foreigner said the other day, why do police not strike elsewhere?

You bet it's loaded.

I'm the Padraig Nally of North Louth.

maryishere wrote: »
    Police in the UK and other countries are not paid as much as the Gardai, but they are not striking?
    As a foreigner said the other day, why do police not strike elsewhere?

Why do people go on about other countries? This is Ireland and our cost of living is way higher than those other countries mentioned.