The Garda Strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I presume union spokesman ingrid miley will announce an end to this on the six one news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I presume union spokesman ingrid miley will announce an end to this on the six one news

Have they come to an agreement?

Just listening to this now

18 units asked to work

There will no protection for ordinary citizens against low level crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bambi wrote: »
    Property crash of 2008

Lot of the lads lost their bollix in that I'd say. :(
    an awful lot of gardai became landlords during the boom

Gardai were always landlords with multiple properties

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

There will no protection for ordinary citizens against low level crime

Let's be realistic, that's no different than any other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What a ****ing country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

It's an absolute joke An Garda playing the poor mouth. They are well paid for what they do, plus allowances for this and that. Overhaul they whole force and see exactly what each individual does or does not do. Then pay according to merit and ability. Do their jobs and be glad to have one.

Good thing I haven't returned my Batman costume just yet. Somebody has to take up the slack.

wonder how they managed that on their low pay?

CatFromHue wrote: »

You can ring 999 but they won't respond unless you are an ex president or a leading actor in the Hutch Kinehan fued

No traffic cops either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Anyone interested in forming a vigilante mob.

We'll need a name. And maybe a costume. Or should we be undercover?

wonder how they managed that on their low pay?

I'm a local garda Mr local bank manager

How much do you need guard?

Many of the Gardai in our town,when I was growing up, had 2-3 properties as well as their own house. There is no such thing as a poor Garda.

CatFromHue wrote: »

Nobody will notice. They will probably miss playing cards and pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

pah wrote: »
    Never met a rich one either.

I know plenty of people with multiple properties, not just guards.

Facts are that rates of pay have been reduced by at least 15 % due to pension levies, USC and a direct paycut.

Everybody had to take pay cuts and has to pay the USC, may people lost their jobs and businesses went to the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You weren't far off.

Never met a rich one either.

I know plenty of people with multiple properties, not just guards.

Facts are that rates of pay have been reduced by at least 15 % due to pension levies, USC and a direct paycut.

this wasn't done for a laugh though, there was a serious recession on which we've only just come out of and which we could be plunged back into any minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,887 ✭✭✭Allinall

Everybody had to take pay cuts and has to pay the USC, may people lost their jobs and businesses went to the wall.

Not everyone had to take pay cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Spiro66

Don'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Guards must feel like their pissing against the wind.
    Doing their jobs putting criminals infront of a judge 60plus times only to catch them and put them back in front of the same judge for the same crime 61 plus times.
    They deserve more money just for dealing with that sh#te alone.

There's definitely a couple of housing estates around my way that could be very dicey after the sun goes down tomorrow evening. Not that they're all that great even at the best of times - but knowing that there wont be any squad cars being called out will embolden quite a few.

Edit: Anyone know the exact beginning and end time for the strike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Ted111 wrote: »
    Anyone interested in forming a vigilante mob.

We'll need a name. And maybe a costume. Or should we be undercover?

'Petty vandalism such as graffiti is down 80%, while heavy sack beatings are up a shocking 900%.' The Simpsons

People can come up with statistics to prove anything. Forty percent of all people know that.

I hear a lot of "They knew what they signed up for" Fair enough they did and they expected to be paid X for it. Now they are being paid X- 15% for the last four years
    Do they not have cause to air their grievances?

So back then the average pay for a Garda was €70k?? 15% my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,300 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Many of the Gardai in our town,when I was growing up, had 2-3 properties as well as their own house. There is no such thing as a poor Garda.

That was then, this is now.

It takes 8 years as a Garda before you hit €40,000 (considerably less than the average industrial wage*). They start on €24,000 - that's an impossibly small amount of money to support any kind of family with. A receptionist worth his or her salt earns more. That's not taking into account the fact that 10% of the force is assaulted every year.

*2013 source

sdanseo wrote: »
    That was then, this is now.

It takes 8 years as a Garda before you hit €40,000 (considerably less than the average industrial wage*). That's not taking into account the fact that 10% of the force is assaulted every year.

*2013 source

The average industrial wage is above 40k? Lie.

€40k plus allowances equals...? Why just give the base rate when such a large amount is made up of allowances? Do you lose your rent allowance after 8 years? No? Then why not include it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,887 ✭✭✭Allinall

So back then the average pay for a Garda was €70k?? 15% my hole.

I'd love to see your calculations for that one.

Allinall wrote: »
    I'd love to see your calculations for that one.

Indo today, CSO - Avg pay today is 62k. +15% =?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I was bored so I worked out the average earnings of a Garda with 10 years experience excluding overtime assuming they take all days leave and work 7 public holidays during the year.

Salary 42,138
    Rent Allowance 4153.30
    Uniform allowance 380
    Night and weekend allowance 9193
    Public holiday allowance 1134

Total = 57k

Pension Levy = 3,841

Total = 53k

Hope that helps. For those trying to compare the old pay to the new pay, you would have to take into account the new roster which includes much more night and weekend shifts than the old one so the shift allowances would have been lower in the old roster. Also Gardaí work an extra 2 hours every public holiday now compared to the old roster so the old public allowance payment would have been lower too.