The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

Two shot dead near my home in the last few years for a start.

Very rare. I have never heard of a guard shot in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Boggy Turf wrote: »
    Shure nothing ever happens in Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

Shure nothing ever happens in Galway.

Must be. Grew up in Clare and don't recall any Garda shootings.

Are you from Louth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Very very few of them have to deal with the "dregs of society" or find themselves in any danger whatsoever.

Yeah, most criminals are grand lads and are a pleasure to deal with, especially if you are the one trying to catch them, everyone knows that.

Seriously, what planet are you living on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The Gardaí would be way better off trying to repair their awful reputation than being greedy. They have been exposed as corrupt on many occasions in recent years, from the top down, and their treatment of whistleblowers was and continues to be a disgrace.
    Tbh, the two aren't mutually exclusive.

When you bring new entrants in on very low pay rates, you're creating a gap for nod-and-wink cultures to proliferate.

The Gardai are continually getting better at fighting corruption, but it's incredibly difficult to improve morale and pride in the force (which are essential for combatting corruption), when you treat the members badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Must be. Grew up in Clare and don't recall any Garda shootings.

Are you from Louth?
    Yep. North Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Murder is murder. You should know that. I wouldn't do their job and I bet you wouldn't either.

"Thats two fine lines between giving cheek and murder"

Dead is dead
    Ham sandwich is Ham Sandwich
    Gardaing is not the most dangerous profession in the country.

Nothing but the facts Ma'am, as they say on the telly

I wouldnt want to be a garda. Or a farmer. Or a fisherman. What that has to do with anything is zero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Zzippy wrote: »
    My experience of other sectors of the public sector is that some can, some cannot. Public servants born after 1961 do not qualify for the OAP until 68 now. I know public sector workers who have been told they will not reveive a top up and will have to sign on or find alternative employment between 65 and 68. They have not been offered the choice of working until 68 but are exploring that option.

No relevance to Gardai pensions!
    Zzippy wrote: »
    My point stands, you are including the OAP in the garda pension, at least post age 66. That is not a valid point, as the gardai have paid their PRSI contributions the same as all employees, and the OAP is rolled into their pension, unlike the private sector worker, who receives it as a separate payment to their own pension. There is only one reason to do that and that is to make the garda pension appear inflated by comparison, or "gold-plated" as you like to call it.

All public service pensions are already too generous.

Gardai pension gold plating includes;

Overtime included in calculations
    Allowances included in calculations
    Full pension available after 30 years service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

There was a video very recently from galway of someone threatening a guards family remember? He was saying he knew where he lived etc...it was on the news.
    Granted not the same as being shot of course but having your family threatened because of the job you do is despicable.

Bambi wrote: »
    "Thats two fine lines between giving cheek and murder"

Dead is dead
    Ham sandwich is Ham Sandwich
    Gardaing is not the most dangerous profession in the country.

Nothing but the facts Ma'am, as they say on the telly

I wouldnt want to be a garda. Or a farmer. Or a fisherman. What that has to do with anything is zero.
    Thank God you're not a garda if you can't see the difference between a wilful act and an accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Very very few of them have to deal with the "dregs of society" or find themselves in any danger whatsoever.

What do you base this on?

All public service pensions are already too generous.

Allowances included in calculations
    Full pension available after 30 years service.

Aren't pension entitlements calculated based on the average of the last three years before retirement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

Ted111 wrote: »

Or why isn't everyone entitled to an equal share of the earths resources as proposed by the crazy lefties?
    Four legs good, two legs bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

I am starting to think the same. They have disappeared from rural areas. They are very hard to get a hold of - for example when there is a minor car accident. Their crime solving abilities seem to be very poor - they'll admit that themselves. They also seem to waste a lot of time for VIPs and events. They are good at shooting fish in a barrel in pointless speed checks i.e. places where the limit is stupidly low and there are never accidents.

Do you think it's the rank and file Gardai that are calling the shots here to close rural stations?

Do you think when a regular Garda goes into work they get to do what they want? Do you think they say to themselves "I think I'll do a beat today". They don't. They are told what they are detailed to work at that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Are gardai not public servants too?

AFAIK overtime is not pensionable. Can you provide a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Conmc88

I'll say it again for those hard of reading, Being a Garda is not the most dangerous job "statistically" so for them to say they have to get paid due to the dangerous job they have is irrelevant. And yes they deal with scum every day, but they applied for the job, i didn't make any gard apply to be a gard, they new what the job entailed. why become a garda and then complain about it!!!! and everyone is sidestepping the fact that what the gardai are doing tomorrow is completely illegal!! RULE MAKERS CANNOT BE THE RULE BREAKERS i have lost complete confidence in the "Force"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Hobby farmer

Hold on. What are they for?
    Tax insurance and nct, and tyres?
    Or something else altogether?
    I've driven up to many of them and they have only ever looked at the discs. I've heard of people being asked where they are from and where they are going and license checks too but that's to do with the learner driver rules rather than them looking out for someone in particular, otherwise they'd be going on a description.

They are for whatever comes. Drive up with three or four known criminals in your car and see what happens.

Conmc88 wrote: »
    I'll say it again for those hard of reading, Being a Garda is not the most dangerous job "statistically" so for them to say they have to get paid due to the dangerous job they have is irrelevant. And yes they deal with scum every day, but they applied for the job, i didn't make any gard apply to be a gard, they new what the job entailed. why become a garda and then complain about it!!!! and everyone is sidestepping the fact that what the gardai are doing tomorrow is completely illegal!! RULE MAKERS CANNOT BE THE RULE BREAKERS i have lost complete confidence in the "Force"
    You should make a poster and go and march up and down.
    #I'm sure when they see it they'll go back to work. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Hobby farmer

Are you living in the real world? How do you know what they deal with? Just because you're not there to see it doesn't mean it isn't true. Every city/town/village in the country has an element of the "dregs of society" within it. Trust me every frontline Garda deals with it every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

For your information AGS are NOT rule makers..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Joshua J wrote: »
    Four legs good, two legs bad.

Just to clear my (very)good name, I am not an adherent of Trotsky myself. Just listening to people trying to tease out like an algorithm what the exact wage any given occupation is entitled to caused me to move from the specific to the general and ponder how we have no clear definition or process. There is a vague idea in capitalist society that the market will find the value of labour. But then we bring in these ideas of who DESERVES(?) what amount of money. And if only we could feed all this information into a matrix - propensity to be shot at work etc we could discover the exact amount you should be paid. You could actually have a book of tables, logarthims to cross check what any worker is supposed to be getting.

Or is it just you take what you can take. Deserving doesn't come into it. If you're a Luas driver of a factory worker or an actuary you will strive through industrial action, negotiation and any means fair or foul to maximise your own self interest. Which is a very human and natural behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

WHERE IS THE MONEY GOING TO COME FROM

You should make a poster and go and march up and down.
    #I'm sure when they see it they'll go back to work. :D
    be pointless they would prob be drunk with power as usual and arrest me for disturbing the peace. they were well able to stand idly by when this country refused the water charges, and protect the rule makes, but wait ....now that the rule makes are effecting there wages and there job they break the law like a common criminal and strike, ha ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

From a tax on capital letters.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Yeah, well it happens.

Tipperary Gardaí Survive Shoot-Out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

same place the politicials get their raises from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I guess the govt of the day will do up a budget of proposed or predicted revenue and expenditure for the year ahead factoring in states wage bill. Mostly done once a year (although not always)

be pointless they would prob be drunk with power as usual and arrest me for disturbing the peace. they were well able to stand idly by when this country refused the water charges, and protect the rule makes, but wait ....now that the rule makes are effecting there wages and there job they break the law like a common criminal and strike, ha ha ha

Believe it or not but I saw garda members on the water protests I was on and a few nurses and teachers too.

It has already been established that they have a right to strike like any citizen so they're not breaking any laws. I hope they get their money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭strawberryb0y

You do know the Gards don't make the law right?

Strawberryboy, apologies the ruleUPHOLDERS cannot be the rule breakers.....................na it rhymes the other way i prefer the other way.

Believe it or not but I saw garda members on the water protests I was on and a few nurses and teachers too.

It has already been established that they have a right to strike like any citizen so they're not breaking any laws. I hope they get their money.
    [font=Georgia, Arial, Verdana, sans-serif]It is illegal for anyone to encourage a garda to withdraw their labour, so it would be illegal for the GRA, AGSI or any other association or union to organise a strike.[/font]Under industrial relations legislation, garda are excluded from protections for striking workers.