The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

It's not relevant London Police get paid in pounds, Gardai get paid in euro.

Do you not understand how currency works? If the pound value of the London police is the same as the euro value of the Garda pay then they are paid the same. This was the situation before the recent fluctuations in the sterling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Won't make the slightest bit of difference if you are in rural area if they strike for a day or a month.
    I haven't seen a guard in over 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Paulzx

maryishere wrote: »

I asked you already the following question : "Perhaps if the people retiring gave some of their over €100,000 windfall to those starting off, it would help those starting off?"

Don't forget the apartments Mary. Apartments, apartment, apartments. Leitrim, leitrim, leitrim

Ginger83 wrote: »
    Won't make the slightest bit of difference if you are in rural area if they strike for a day or a month.

Is that not a good thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

maryishere wrote: »
    But you said "pay peanuts, get monkey". You are implying that police starting off in London must be monkeys, because they are worse paid that Gardai starting off in Dublin, even though the cost of living is higher in London, according to the link I gave you.

I am implying that if you want the best then you have to pay them.

I did not make little of two murdered garda : you must have taken some other comment out of context. I have full sympathy for murdered Police / Gardai / all workers who may die , and their families.

I don't believe I got you wrong at all. You mentioned N.Irl policemen having to check under their cars compared to garda members in Dundalk who had it easy yet you omitted to mention that two garda had been murdered in Dundalk.

I asked you already the following question : "Perhaps if the people retiring gave some of their over €100,000 windfall to those starting off, it would help those starting off?"
    You are asking the wrong person. You need to ask a garda that.

Jaysus!!!!

Even the Black Rhino isn't as endangered as that. Get onto the World Wildlife Fund quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Paulzx wrote: »
    The London weighting is an integral part of a London police officers salary. The fact it's on their salary scale proves that.

It just suits you to discount it.

You really should be known just as "Enda" and lose the last bit of your username.

Your nose must be hitting your laptop screen at this stage:D

Google Garda allowances. When they're all included the difference is even greater.

Night allowance.
    Saturday allowances.
    Sunday allowances.
    Uniform allowances.
    Boot allowances.
    Premium payments.
    The list goes on...

Vizzy wrote: »
    I presume you believe that this holds true for everyone who bought a house etc during the boom ?

" You should have known better, now p**s off and give me my money or my house"

The Original OP post that LOR commented on concerned a loan for a car, not a house- so let's keep things in perspective here.

This thread concerns AGS- not the governance of the financial services, who runs the media etc.

But the OP that LOR was commenting on decided that it wasn't enough to criticise AGS- they decided to criticise the world around them- pretty much "It's everyone elses' fault but myself" was the essence of their post.

No-one is saying it's the OP's fault- but neither should other wider issues be drawn into this particular discussion, especially when so many others experienced the same circumstance.

If AGS is not a good position to hold today, then let's hear from you. But let's not get distracted by the 1/2 dozen other issues people have a gripe with

Is that not a good thing?

Why would it be a good thing? People driving around with no tax/ insurance, using green diesel. Who's to stop them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Were you in prison?

Google Garda allowances. When they're all included the difference is even greater.

Night allowance.
    Saturday allowances.
    Sunday allowances.
    Uniform allowances.
    Boot allowances.
    Premium payments.
    The list goes on...

Actually that's all of them. For a new entrant anyway.

Do you not understand how currency works? If the pound value of the London police is the same as the euro value of the Garda pay then they are paid the same. This was the situation before the recent fluctuations in the sterling.

It's not relevant but the fact that they are on par in currency terms confirms that Gardai are already paid enough.

Jaysus!!!!

Even the Black Rhino isn't as endangered as that. Get onto the World Wildlife Fund quickly

Honestly haven't seen 1, must have cover 40k miles.
    Last 3 weekends went to Galway & Waterford, not 1 seen.

Were you in prison?

Just live in rural area.

Jaysus!!!!

lol :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Will I be the Bruce Willis or Ving Rhames. Like.... That's the most important question I must ask.

A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti.

Why would it be a good thing? People driving around with no tax/ insurance, using green diesel. Who's to stop them?

If you live in the country and haven't seen one then you haven't had to call one which means you haven't been a victim of crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,308 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Quite correct. The only Gardai you ever see in rural areas are the odd sporadic checkpoint for road tax. The nearest station that is manned round the clock is 14 miles away.
    I had occasion to phone them in early summer about a suspicious car, and was told "The squad car is out somewhere else".

I had walked down to get the number, with the gun under my arm, and it suddenly sped off, out onto the road without looking.

Turned out the car was on false plates.

They never came back. (yet)

Actually that's all of them. For a new entrant anyway.

AND how much do all these allowances add to new entrants annual salary? 10, 15, 20%?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭thoker

They took an oath of their own freewill to uphold the law not break it by going on strike, simple really.

It's not relevant but the fact that they are on par in currency terms confirms that Gardai are already paid enough.

Or that UK police are also low paid.

thoker wrote: »
    They took an oath of their own freewill to uphold the law not break it by going on strike, simple really.

No law being broken by a Garda going on strike.

Night allowance.
    Saturday allowances.
    Sunday allowances.
    Uniform allowances.
    Boot allowances.
    Premium payments.
    The list goes on...

Read back through the thread. Shift allownace for unsocial hours has been discussed already. Funnily enough the multinationals see fit to pay their staff shift pay for working nights. London police officers do as well.

I'll concede the 2 euro a week boot allowance to you...........just so you don't feel bad

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Quite correct. The only Gardai you ever see in rural areas are the odd sporadic checkpoint for road tax. The nearest station that is manned round the clock is 14 miles away.
    I had occasion to phone them in early summer about a suspicious car, and was told "The squad car is out somewhere else".

I had walked down to get the number, with the gun under my arm, and it suddenly sped off, out onto the road without looking.

Turned out the car was on false plates.

They never came back. (yet)
    FFS did you expect them to go out to a car that was no longer there and the number of which you hadn't got or got wrong? Madness and would be a waste of their time.

thoker wrote: »

And by breaking the law to go on strike they lose the moral authority to uphold the law afterwards.

It's ludicrous that they are even considering it!

AND how much do all these allowances add to new entrants annual salary? 10, 15, 20%?

Brings them up to 67 grand

And by breaking the law to go on strike they lose the moral authority to uphold the law afterwards.

It's ludicrous that they are even considering it!
    Except that they are not breaking the law by striking as was confirmed on RTE Radio today.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,839 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

So only 16,700 people applied for 600 places and 23,000 applied for the previous 550 places.

Point still stands.

The number of people applying has been falling steadily.

The latest saw 5,000 apply for 800 positions.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2016/1005/ireland/more-than-5000-apply-for-garda-trainee-positions-424212.html
    Just over 5,000 people have applied as garda trainees, according to the Public Appointments Service. It is a significant drop on the last two competitions, with 16,700 applications last January and 23,000-plus applications in September 2014.

The drop coincided with greater public awareness of the poor pay for new entrant Gardai.

No law being broken by a Garda going on strike.

But all of them going on strike together in an organised action is against the law.

Also the have all been given a direct order by the commanding officer to report for duty on Friday.

If you live in the country and haven't seen one then you haven't had to call one which means you haven't been a victim of crime.

Apart from that, i have not come across a checkpoint in over 2 years nor seen any gardai patrolling local towns. Its as if they've vanished since the recession, more chance of meeting Santa Claus.