The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Well if they're going to be buying Ford Focuses off you they do :pac:

That literally makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I'm not blaming the guards as such. Just commenting that imo their wages are perfectly acceptable for what they do day to day.

And what exactly do you think that is. Honestly, what do you actually know about what a Garda does day to day?

Paulzx wrote: »

So my figures were out a bit.

London Police start at 19,700.
    Gardai start at 23,750.

Point still stands.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=12252

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

23K staring off is a total disgrace.
    There is no shortage of people wanting to start off in the Gardai for that.

Perhaps if the people retiring gave some of their over €100,000 windfall to those starting off, it would help those starting off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

That literally makes no sense.

Did you intentionally exaggerate the price of cars in London or were your figures " a bit out " there too?

So only 16,700 people applied for 600 places and 23,000 applied for the previous 550 places.

Point still stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Wouldn't say that Half of committing a crime is getting off-side just after the doing the act. As it stands garda can only do so much when reviewing cctv and the criminal is covered up head to toe. Take away the fact that garda won't be able to respond to a crime on the day makes it a hell of a lot easier and more enticing for criminals.

I say you'd **** a plank and hand yourself in begging forgiveness a hour afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So only 16,700 people applied for 600 places and 23,000 applied for the previous 550 places.

Point still stands.
    The interest seems to be waning. I wonder if it's the paltry wages??

Why not? I had a car at 18.
    Pay peanuts, get monkeys.

So do you think the police in London are all monkeys?
    And what do you think the traffic situation in London would be like if every 18 year old public servant had a car?

Did you intentionally exaggerate the price of cars in London or were your figures " a bit out " there too?

I gave RRP's from manufacturers websites. REAL verifiable prices.

Your "deals" may or may not be available to all people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

maryishere wrote: »
    Perhaps if the people retiring gave some of their over €100,000 windfall to those starting off, it would help those starting off?

Are you going to retire from your job with any reminder of what you did in your job? Gardai leave with countless images that could possibly stay with them till the grave.

I gave RRP's from manufacturers websites. REAL verifiable prices.

Your "deals" may or not be available to all people.

I wonder why they're advertising them all over the place then??
    Really you're losing the run of yourself here but it's funny.:pac:

This is why serving members don't come on here and admit it. They get every little detail tore asunder. I've said my bit. I'm not going to say anymore. I'm not here to defend my life choices or explain why.

Well you gave us everything you were dissatisfied about including whistleblowers, your superiors, the financial services industry, the media etc
    The Job obviously wasn't for you, but it is for 1000's of others. They're just looking for more pay/better conditions.

I don't see anything wrong with looking for those things but i also don't see them criticising the world, like you're doing.

Boaty wrote: »
    Gardai leave with countless images that could possibly stay with them till the grave.
    Many people in different jobs leave with different images if they ever retire, but few can retire after only 30 years with an average pension pot of over a million.

maryishere wrote:
    So do you think the police in London are all monkeys? And what do you think the traffic situation in London would be like if every 18 year old public servant had a car?

What do you work at Mary and how much do you get paid? I might have an opinion, surely you'll share it seeing are your so sure of yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I say you'd **** a plank and hand yourself in begging forgiveness a hour afterwards

Might I ask where you live and do you have an alarm currently installed? Any broken windows or locks I should know about? :pac:

Entice me... Haha.

So do you think the police in London are all monkeys?
    And what do you think the traffic situation in London would be like if every 18 year old public servant had a car?

No. I have respect for the police wherever they work.
    I didn't make little of two murdered garda either unlike you on the other thread.

Might I ask where you live and do you have an alarm currently installed? Any broken windows or locks I should know about?

Entice me... Haha.

I've loads of cash, a shotgun and a gimp suit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Paulzx

but few can retire after only 30 years with an average pension pot of over a million.

Please do tell us again how many apartments that money can buy in Leitrim (the fact no one lives there is irrellevant of course)

Gardai start at 23,750.

Point still stands.

Ah here, taking advantage of Brexit fallout a bit aren't you. Before the very recent massive dip in the pound where those to figures not on par?

Gardai start at 23,750.

Point still stands.

http://www.mpfs.org.uk/standalone/policepay

You're still wrong. Go again.

Surely you're not being inacurate on purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Vizzy

I have a lot of respect for the gardai, and the work they do. I do agree it's a thankless job and i think they should have the publics full support for better pay and better resources. However, ignorance of something because you find it boring is no excuse. I'm sorry life has shat on you like that and you're back at home and stressed out with debts but a 24 year olds no child. It was your responsibility to find out what you were getting yourself into, and cutting your cloth according to your measure. "They gave me more than what I wanted", surely you realised it would be paid back and wasn't actually free money?

Still, best of luck in the future going forward

I presume you believe that this holds true for everyone who bought a house etc during the boom ?

" You should have known better, now p**s off and give me my money or my house"

Ah here, taking advantage of Brexit fallout a bit aren't you. Before the very recent massive dip in the pound where those to figures not on par?

I didn't mention currency differences as it's not relevant.

http://www.mpfs.org.uk/standalone/policepay

You're still wrong. Go again.

Surely you're not being inacurate on purpose?

I'm not wrong. I'm not including allowances.

Gardai get allowances too.

I didn't mention currency differences as it's not relevant.

It is though. If your claim that the Garda pay is higher is true only because of the recent dip in the sterling then it's a disingenuous argument at best and not really relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I've loads of cash, a shotgun and a gimp suit!

Will I be the Bruce Willis or Ving Rhames.
    Like.... That's the most important question I must ask.

It is though. If your claim that the Garda pay is higher is true only because of the recent dip in the sterling then it's a disingenuous argument at best and not really relevant.

It's not relevant London Police get paid in pounds, Gardai get paid in euro.

I was in London in the summer and one pound Stg was worth 1.40 euro. Big difference.

No.
    But you said "pay peanuts, get monkey". You are implying that police starting off in London must be monkeys, because they are worse paid that Gardai starting off in Dublin, even though the cost of living is higher in London, according to the link I gave you.

I have respect for the police wherever they work.
    So do I. Most are very decent people, I'm sure.

I didn't make little of two murdered garda either unlike you on the other thread.
    I did not make little of two murdered garda : you must have taken some other comment out of context. I have full sympathy for murdered Police / Gardai / all workers who may die , and their families.

I asked you already the following question : "Perhaps if the people retiring gave some of their over €100,000 windfall to those starting off, it would help those starting off?"

I'm not wrong. I'm not including allowances.

Gardai get allowances too.

The London weighting is an integral part of a London police officers salary. The fact it's on their salary scale proves that.

It just suits you to discount it.

You really should be known just as "Enda" and lose the last bit of your username.

Your nose must be hitting your laptop screen at this stage:D