The Garda Strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

maryishere wrote: »
    Gardai are already paid more than police are in the UK, even though Lidl in Ireland is not much dearer than Lidl in The UK. Property taxes in London I bet are more than in Dublin.
    The government here should be trying to help everyone in the economy by reducing our vat rates to match those of the UK etc.

Antway why are you comparing the Garda to British police? They are going to Brexit :D
    Have a look at the average wage in Germany.

http://www.salaryexplorer.com/salary-survey.php?job=504&jobtype=3&size=10000&super=0&loctype=1&loc=81

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Antway why are you comparing the Garda to British police? They are going to Brexit :D
    Have a look at the average wage in Germany.

http://www.salaryexplorer.com/salary-survey.php?job=504&jobtype=3&size=10000&super=0&loctype=1&loc=81

I thought you said averages were "rubbish"?!! :rolleyes:

What's the average monthly salary for a Garda here?
    Do Police in Germany get allowances?
    What pension entitlements do German police get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Antway why are you comparing the Garda to British police?
    You brought it up (post no 196 ) before I did, this evening. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

I think the gards are paid a perfectly good wage for what they do. I'd gladly swap my factory job for theirs. Sick of hearing this crap about having to wear stab vests every day. Rubbish. Where i live they are barely visible anyway, let alone wear stab vests. Only see them collecting revenue for the same government that they are at war with now. Any burglaries are barely investigated and you could be waiting over an hour for someone to call to your house. If you don't like the job, leave. Apparently the competition to get into the guards is fierce so you won't be long being replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

FG are going to bring the country into major civil unrest in the next two years, probably by the end of next year with their absolute cluelessness and general nonchalance towards tons of issues. They are kings of kicking the can down the road.

Well done lads and ladies of FG. Bet they wish they kept 'the country ****ed' narrative going now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

There is no way London is cheaper than Dublin now.

Also have a Google of new car prices in the UK and here in Ireland, that should be an eye opener for you.

A Ford Focus starts around 20,000stg in UK.
    A Ford Focus starts around 20,000eur in Ireland.

It's no wonder your complaining about your poor pay if you spend it so unwisely by paying 20K Stg for a Folcus. Here's the real prices for ya -:pac:

http://www.cars2buy.co.uk/new-cars/Ford/Focus+Hatchback/?gclid=CjwKEAjwnebABRCjpvr13dHL8DsSJABB-ILJvcTSQArKDRRZnqbJMGqP-47w8NVA0q31HlhMK9zlhhoCDQLw_wcB

I worked there for years in the 1970's/80's. My flat was not as expensive as one in Dublin at the time. Don't know how much it is presently.

You are badly out of touch. London has 2nd Most Expensive Price per Square Meter to Buy Apartment in City Centre in the World (out of 610 cities).
    https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/in/London
    ChikiChiki wrote: »
    FG are going to bring the country into major civil unrest in the next two years
    no, their employees in unions are if they carry on the way they are, with strikes etc.

I thought you said averages were "rubbish"?!! :rolleyes:
    That's why I bolded it just for mary.:D

You are badly out of touch. London has 2nd Most Expensive Price per Square Meter to Buy Apartment in City Centre in the World (out of 610 cities).
    Maybe that's why they now have such high allowances.
    Wasn't too expensive when I was working there.

I think the gards are paid a perfectly good wage for what they do. I'd gladly swap my factory job for theirs. Sick of hearing this crap about having to wear stab vests every day. Rubbish. Where i live they are barely visible anyway, let alone wear stab vests. Only see them collecting revenue for the same government that they are at war with now. Any burglaries are barely investigated and you could be waiting over an hour for someone to call to your house. If you don't like the job, leave. Apparently the competition to get into the guards is fierce so you won't be long being replaced.

Well maybe if the government allowed proper recruitment, then we wouldn't be short gardai on the street.
    I'm not sure why you would blame the guards because there isn't enough guards??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,099 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Saw two guards on the beat, so to speak, round my way the other day............probably a few year since I saw a similar sight. It really is a rare treat in this country.

In all fairness to them, they looked lost and didn't appear to know where they were going. Quite funny at the time I have to say.

Met police receive allowance for living in the expensive city London.
    They also provide housing and cheaper houses for police, there's no such allowance for cities in Ireland. Gardai in rural areas receive the same money as members in urban areas.
    In fact, members in Gaeltacht areas receive 7 % more than members in non Gaeltacht areas.

It's no wonder your complaining about your poor pay if you spend it so unwisely by paying 20K Stg for a Folcus. Here's the real prices for ya -:pac:

http://www.cars2buy.co.uk/new-cars/Ford/Focus+Hatchback/?gclid=CjwKEAjwnebABRCjpvr13dHL8DsSJABB-ILJvcTSQArKDRRZnqbJMGqP-47w8NVA0q31HlhMK9zlhhoCDQLw_wcB

Are you drunk?!!
    I'm not complaining about my poor pay!?!
    You do know we're talking about Garda pay don't you?

bubblypop wrote: »
    Well maybe if the government allowed proper recruitment, then we wouldn't be short gardai on the street.
    I'm not sure why you would blame the guards because there isn't enough guards??

Very few around N. Louth before the garda murders. We have more now but the cross-border gangs seem to have grown too. We could do with more. I feel a lot safer when they're around.

It's no wonder your complaining about your poor pay if you spend it so unwisely by paying 20K Stg for a Folcus.

Most young police people starting out in London, on their annual salary there of only £18,000 , would not buy a new car, I bet.

Our Gardai are better paid as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

I'm not blaming the guards as such. Just commenting that imo their wages are perfectly acceptable for what they do day to day.

Are you drunk?!!
    I'm not complaining about my poor pay!?!
    You do know we're talking about Garda pay don't you?

And the price of cars in London ...... the prices of which you didn't seem to realise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

c_meth wrote: »
    Know very little about this but I'm learning more this evening. Thanks Google.

I see that guards also thought that public sector sick leave changes shouldn't apply to them:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0202/764751-gardai-appeal-sick-leave/

And also that they get 34 days annual leave that should have been reduced when they changed how they work to 10 hr days. They were never reduced:

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-will-have-almost-half-year-off-under-deal-26808958.html

http://www.gra.cc/information.html

It's good that you are learning. Let me supplement your learning. The 34 days was retained on condition that Gardaí were responsible for ensuring they were not working hours which would prevent them attending any court above district court. So if a Garda was working the night before attending the circuit court or high court they would be obliged to take leave that night. This meant the government would not have to pay overnight overtime bills and provide rest periods for members who would be working from 9pm to 5pm the following day.

Derogation was requested from the sick regulations because of the effects of injuries sustained on duty. Technically a member should not have an injury on duty count towards their sick days. In practice, the procedure for having an injury certified as occurring on duty is long and arduous, especially when it is a recurring injury, and relies on certification not by your own doctor but by a doctor who is employed by the state. In practice, members who have been injured on duty for more than a few weeks have had their wages cut while waiting the 6 to 8 weeks for an appointment with the Garda doctor and many have had conflicting decisions from the Garda doctor and their own specialists. In the past this was not an issue because a Garda would only worry about being certified if they were going to be out long term. They would get their salary regardless and simply forego their shift allowance. Now, even a day out of work due to a minor injury requires this certification because it could cost you over a hundred euro. The whole thing is a mess and members who have been badly injured are being put under massive pressure jumping through hoops going weeks with no pay.

Most young police people starting out in London, on their annual salary there of only £18,000 , would not buy a new car, I bet.

Why not? I had a car at 18.
    Pay peanuts, get monkeys.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Met police receive allowance for living in the expensive city London.
    They also provide housing and cheaper houses for police, there's no such allowance for cities in Ireland. Gardai in rural areas receive the same money as members in urban areas.
    In fact, members in Gaeltacht areas receive 7 % more than members in non Gaeltacht areas.

Yes and Gardai get paid more money than London Police.

Do you think Gardai should get paid more money AND also get allowances?

Gardai here get paid enough already.

And the price of cars in London ......

From the link I gave you, it shows the cost of living is higher in London than in Dublin. This despite the fact the Gardai are already higher paid than the UK police.

Most young policemen in London would have a Met allowance too.
    Do the garda get a Dublin allowance? I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Paulzx

It's not "just" any one thing. They want more money.

The starting pay for London Police is 18,000stg, the starting pay for a Garda is 23,000eur.

Gardai are already paid enough.

Ehhhh.........

http://www.mpfs.org.uk/standalone/policepay

Why not? I had a car at 18.
    Pay peanuts, get monkeys.

Gardai are not paid peanuts.

34,000 people applied for the last 600 places.

Yes and Gardai get paid more money than London Police.

Do you think Gardai should get paid more money AND also get allowances?

Gardai here get paid enough already.

Well if they're going to be buying Ford Focuses off you they do :pac:

23K staring off is a total disgrace. I wouldn't get up out of bed for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Another ehhhhhhhhhhhh.....

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/16700-apply-for-600-trainee-garda-positions-375304.html

Stop making stuff up

Paulzx wrote: »

He's prone to the auld mistakes with numbers. He got the price of cars in London wrong too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

The good times are not back. Any fool that believes that need their head examined.

Even though politicians pay is a total red herring, and completely unrelated to the garda, teacher or any other action I'll still address it: Politicians pay is linked to senior civil service pay, this was to avoid the situation where they would be seen only to award themselves pay rises. Lansdowne road was negotiated by unions (who only now seem to have discovered the young low paid in their ranks) with a focus on increasing pay for more senior staff back closer to 2008 levels. That is the truth - but doesn't fit your agenda.

My agenda? Does everyone who posts something that doesn't fit your world view have an agenda? I was just making an observation.

Also, if the good times aren't back, how is it ok for politicians and senior civil servants to get "pay restoration" but not ok for gardai and other public servants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Hobby farmer

I'm not blaming the guards as such. Just commenting that imo their wages are perfectly acceptable for what they do day to day.

Do you know what the guards do day to day?