The Garda Strike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

All I took from it was a personal story from a frustrated poster on how a career he put so much into let him down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I'll go back to my "rant" word so.

Noirin, is that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

The driver of these pay demands is the high cost of living in urban areas, in particular housing.

In most counties in Ireland property is still very cheap, usually below the cost of construction. There are not many countries in the world where apartments in many areas can be bought for less than a years average gross police-persons salary. Or indeed 2 apartments for the average 18 month tax free gratuity on retirement, after 30 years service.

"Gardaí are retiring with average lump sums of €100,000 on top of their pensions, which shows taxpayers are paying “over the odds” to fund generous packages."

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/isme-chief-criticises-over-the-odds-garda-pensions-389871.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

maryishere wrote: »
    In most counties in Ireland property is still very cheap, usually below the cost of construction. There are not many countries in the world where apartments in many areas can be bought for less than a years average gross police-persons salary. Or indeed 2 apartments for the average 18 month tax free gratuity on retirement, after 30 years service.

"Gardaí are retiring with average lump sums of €100,000 on top of their pensions, which shows taxpayers are paying “over the odds” to fund generous packages."

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/isme-chief-criticises-over-the-odds-garda-pensions-389871.html
    Mrs Average is back again :pac:

Oh Mary Mary, always about the pension and gratuity.
    Members are not happy with their wages. The wages they receive for the job they do now.
    It's not about pensions.
    I personally would prefer more money now, not when I retire and don't need it.
    Do you think a young 20something year old guard, or a 30something year old with kids, childcare, mortgage, bills, school and college fees etc etc etc, really thinks at least they will have money when they are retired?
    It's now that matters.
    That's why they want pay restoration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

bubblypop wrote: »
    Members are not happy with their wages. The wages they receive for the job they do now.
    It's not about pensions.
    Do you think a young 20something year old guard, or a 30something year old with kids, childcare, mortgage, bills, school and college fees etc etc etc, really thinks at least they will have money when they are retired?
    It's now that matters.

Why don't they offer to relinquish some of their pension entitlement's in exchange for better salary so?!

Remove the index linking, smaller lump sum or take a smaller percentage of salary?!

They won't do that though, they have a gold-plated pension and now they want gold-plated salaries too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Why don't they offer to relinquish some of their pension entitlement's so?!

Remove the index linking, lump sum or take a smaller percentage of salary?!

They won't do that though, they have a gold-plated pension and now they want gold-plated salaries too.

I thought it was just pay restoration they wanted??

Why don't they offer to relinquish some of their pension entitlement's in exchange for better salary so?!

Remove the index linking, smaller lump sum or take a smaller percentage of salary?!

It's never come up, members have never been asked.
    I for one would have no problem getting a little less on retirement for a little more now.
    I suspect most members would be similar.

[/B]
    I thought it was just pay restoration they wanted??

It's not "just" any one thing. They want more money.

The starting pay for London Police is 18,000stg, the starting pay for a Garda is 23,000eur.

Gardai are already paid enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

It's not about pensions.
    It's now that matters.

Hmm, how about working for 40 yrs instead of 30yrs before being able to accrue full pension entitlements.

The guards claim they are different to other public servants and should be treated differently. I guess being allowed to retire 10 yrs before other public servants isn't enough 'different' treatment for them...

It's never come up, members have never been asked.
    I for one would have no problem getting a little less on retirement for a little more now.
    I suspect most members would be similar.

This supposed majority of members should make their wishes known to the their unions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,297 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The posters giving out about Unions are obviously very young.
    Had they the experience of working in places where there were no Unions in times gone by then they would have an entirely different attitude. They would have seen how the workers were abused and exploited by unscrupulous bosses. The working conditions many have now were earned for them by the very Unions they complain about today. Sad really that they don't know this.

Oh I'd say a fair few of the younger workers know this alright. The problem is that unions across many professions and industries sacrificed new entrants to maintain the status quo for older members.

You didn't need to be a Nostradamus to figure that unions would not be getting new members joining up. Sure why would they? It was made abundantly clear to them that they didn't matter to the unions or existing members.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

The starting pay for London Police is 18,000stg the starting pay for a Garda is 23,000eur.

And average finishing pay for the years sample was €67,000, according to the link above, if their 18 month tax free gratuity was over 100k.

The starting pay for London Police is 18,000stg the starting pay for a Garda is 23,000eur.

+Allowances.

Rent allowance (circa 4k) and, according to minister statement in Dail, an additional 25% to 30% of salary due to working a shift roster (circa 6k).

The starting pay for London Police is 18,000stg, the starting pay for a Garda is 23,000eur.

The price of a car in London is thousands cheaper than the price of a car here. Your argument doesn't make any sense. It's like the other posters "averages" rubbish.

c_meth wrote: »
    Hmm, how about working for 40 yrs instead of 30yrs before being able to accrue full pension entitlements.

The guards claim they are different to other public servants and should be treated differently. I guess being allowed to retire 10 yrs before other public servants isn't enough 'different' treatment for them...

Or take the overtime hours out of how their pensions are calculated...

The price of a car in London is thousands cheaper than the price of a car here. Your argument doesn't make any sense. It's like the other posters "averages" rubbish.

Bringing up the price of cars doesn't make any sense.

The price of a car in London is thousands cheaper than the price of a car here.

Cops starting out in their careers in central London I imagine would use public transport (its efficient there) like many other people.
    But everyone needs accomodation. It would be a lot cheaper to rent ( or even buy) an apartment in Cavan than Chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Edups wrote: »
    A one day strike... you realise they'll just find you the day after?

Wouldn't say that :pac:
    Half of committing a crime is getting off-side just after the doing the act.
    As it stands garda can only do so much when reviewing cctv and the criminal is covered up head to toe. Take away the fact that garda won't be able to respond to a crime on the day makes it a hell of a lot easier and more enticing for criminals.

c_meth wrote: »
    +Allowances.

Rent allowance (circa 4k) and, according to minister statement in Dail, an additional 25% to 30% of salary due to working a shift roster (circa 6k).

London Police have allowances too so for clarity I didn't mention them.

Cops starting out in their careers in central London I imagine would use public transport (its efficient there) like many other people.
    But everyone needs accomodation. It would be a lot cheaper to rent ( or even buy) an apartment in Cavan than Chelsea
    Food, doctors, cars are a lot cheaper in London than they are in Cavan. And the Met all work in London, all the garda can't work in Cavan.

Bringing up the price of cars doesn't make any sense.
    It does if you need one to get to work. Surprised you didn't know that.

Food, doctors, cars are a lot cheaper in London than they are in Cavan. And the Met all work in London, all the garda can't work in Cavan.

How much cheaper do you estimate it is to live in London compared to Dublin?

It does if you need one to get to work. Surprised you didn't know that.

How much cheaper are cars in London?

Gardai are already paid more than police are in the UK, even though Lidl in Ireland is not much dearer than Lidl in The UK. Property taxes in London I bet are more than in Dublin.
    The government here should be trying to help everyone in the economy by reducing our vat rates to match those of the UK etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Well things have gotten dirtier. Probationers receiving their cheques tonight have been deducted hundreds of euros in "overpayments". Government will be lucky if the probationers show up for work now,

How much cheaper do you estimate it is to live in London compared to Dublin?
    I worked there for years in the 1970's/80's. My flat was not as expensive as one in Dublin at the time. Don't know how much it is presently.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

One thing I haven't seen yet here (...) and it will be the next thing to fall.

A very interesting post.

All I will say is, the Gardaí lost a good one in you. If the organisation is not serving those those like yourself who took on their duties with pride and for the love of the job, then there really are major problems with the internal structure if it drives away people who want to do the job.

Glad to hear you are having a better time in the new job.

Know very little about this but I'm learning more this evening. Thanks Google.

I see that guards also thought that public sector sick leave changes shouldn't apply to them:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0202/764751-gardai-appeal-sick-leave/

And also that they get 34 days annual leave that should have been reduced when they changed how they work to 10 hr days. They were never reduced:

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-will-have-almost-half-year-off-under-deal-26808958.html

http://www.gra.cc/information.html

I worked there for years in the 1970's/80's. My flat was not as expensive as one in Dublin at the time. Don't know how much it is presently.

There is no way London is cheaper than Dublin now.

Also have a Google of new car prices in the UK and here in Ireland, that should be an eye opener for you.

A Ford Focus starts around 20,000stg in UK.
    A Ford Focus starts around 20,000eur in Ireland.