MLB 2016 Season Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Igotadose wrote: »
    Sigh. Media saying Cespedes will not re-sign with the Mets. Time to load up on the offseason antacids.
    Gag, the thought of a Bruce/Conforto/Granderson outfield's terrifying with the only right-handed power bat belonging to... Wright? Gag gag gag back to the bad old days.

It's all part of the process. He wants a bigger payday so opts out. Doesn't mean he's not coming back.

The question is though, do you want to give him a long deal? Another ageing player in 3-4 years with diminished output earning $25m a year!

(As an aside, probably time for an offseason thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Doodah7

The Indians were behind all game so we wouldn't have seen Miller anyway, even if he was fresh.

They only use him to protect leads, not in games where they are looking to catch up.

In theory if the Cubs were to jump in front for the remainder, then they have seen the last of Miller already? Seems bizarre but I'll take your word for it.

tallpaul wrote: »
    In theory if the Cubs were to jump in front for the remainder, then they have seen the last of Miller already? Seems bizarre but I'll take your word for it.

It's the old "don't want to waste your bullets" thing.

Obviously in an elimination game the rules change and Francona isn't a tranditional manager so anything could happen but that's the way closers and pitchers like Miller are usually used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

tallpaul wrote: »

If their a 1-2 run down its a different story but when you're 5-0 down in the second game of the series theres no point in bringing him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,460 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I saw a quote somewhere that a series doesn't start till someone wins an away game. Well, they're there now. Wrigley hosting its 1st WS game in 71 years. Suddenly being a Mets fan doesn't feel so bad.

Ridiculously early prediction for next season. Kyle Schwarber for MVP?

What do you reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,599 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Ridiculously early prediction for next season. Kyle Schwarber for MVP?

What do you reckon?

I reckon it'll be Encarnacion after a 50HR season to bring Red Sox to the WS

8-10 wrote: »
    I reckon it'll be Encarnacion after a 50HR season to bring Red Sox to the WS

I puked after reading this

It's got to be advantage Cubs tonight with Hendricks going against Tomlin wouldn't you think?

I've given up on the "with all the expectation, pressure will get to the Cubs" line. They just don't seem to give a sh*t and keep playing great baseball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

It's got to be advantage Cubs tonight with Hendricks going against Tomlin wouldn't you think?

I've given up on the "with all the expectation, pressure will get to the Cubs" line. They just don't seem to give a sh*t and keep playing great baseball.

I wouldn't give up on Cleveland yet, Tomlin has never faced the Cubs, so they've never seen him pitch. He could get through 5 tonight and if he does and turns it over to the bullpen in touch then they have a chance.

I do agree with you on the Cubs attitude though they really look the part and have done all season.

Andrew Miller strikes out the side to end the 6th inning. No big deal. He's been great all year.

Have no idea which way this game is going to go. 0-0 and only 8 hits total

Indians ended up winning 1-0. Cubs had runners on 2nd and 3rd in the 9th. Shutout again.

5 shutouts in 11 postseason games for the Indians. Nobody has ever had 5 postseason shutouts before. Impressive.

Those billy-goat sausages they served in Chicago today didn't work!

Me and my big mouth!

Did the Yankees have both Miller and Chapman in their BPs at the start of the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Waitsian

TimRiggins wrote:
    Did the Yankees have both Miller and Chapman in their BPs at the start of the year?

Yes they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Indians have some resiliance still the Cubs have the squad to turn this around but it won't be won in Chicago now anyway, possibly a good thing for the Cubs. Going back to Cleveland leading 3-2 might be perfect for the Cubs

mod9maple wrote: »
    Yes they did.

Crazy that they let them both go no?

As for the WS, The Indians pitching is seriously something special. Their route to the WS was incredible difficult and they seem to show no signs on slowing down. I think they'll win this in 5.

In saying that, while Kluber is their ace, he can be hit around.

TimRiggins wrote: »
    Crazy that they let them both go no?

Chapman's a free agent at the end of the year and the Yankees weren't going to make the playoffs so it made sense to deal him and get a couple of prospects in return. They could re-sign him at the end of the season too!

Miller's a bit different in that he has at least one (maybe 2?) years left on his contract but they decided to sell high and apparently the haul they got was great so it made sense there too.

As for the WS, The Indians pitching is seriously something special. Their route to the WS was incredible difficult and they seem to show no signs on slowing down. I think they'll win this in 5.

In saying that, while Kluber is their ace, he can be hit around.

Winning in 5 would mean sweeping the Cubs at Wrigley and that'd be some achievement. I think all their starters from now until the end of the season are going on short rest too.

I haven't a clue who's going to win this thing but whoever does, I'd say it's going to won in Cleveland

Winning in 5 would mean sweeping the Cubs at Wrigley and that'd be some achievement. I think all their starters from now until the end of the season are going on short rest too.

I haven't a clue who's going to win this thing but whoever does, I'd say it's going to won in Cleveland

It just seems their and incredibly well managed team. They're SP have really stepped their games up and they'll have no fear of Wrigley after winning last night and getting big wins in Toronto and Fenway.

Yeah, they are. But Chicago are too and in theory have the better players and I can't see them losing 3 in a row at home. Too hard to call in my opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Kal El

Anyone see Votto ending up at the Jays, be a massive commercial move for Toronto. Would I be right saying hes the best Canadian ever

Kal El wrote: »
    Anyone see Votto ending up at the Jays, be a massive commercial move for Toronto. Would I be right saying hes the best Canadian ever

Whoever comes in has to be a left-handed batter, that's the glaring issue in their lineup. Votto's probably the best available.

Kal El wrote: »

Reports are that we're going to aggressively go after him. Would love him.

Ah Jaysus, reports coming out that Jose Fernandez had cocaine in his system and his blood alcohol level was twice the legal limit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Kal El

Reports are that we're going to aggressively go after him. Would love him.

Tim shouldnt you be in the American football or Alcohol section :pac:
    Im sorry :o
    Yeah it be cool to see him up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Coeus

Ah Jaysus, reports coming out that Jose Fernandez had cocaine in his system and his blood alcohol level was twice the legal limit.
    Not the news we wanted to hear...between between himself and Oscar Tavares the baseball world has lost two great stars far too young from incidents that could have been avoided. One would hope a lesson can be learn't and this doesn't happen again...

On a lighter note, Bill Murray was in top form last night!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eItTJehqMIQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Coeus

It is slipping away from the Cubbies...

Coeus wrote: »
    It is slipping away from the Cubbies...

Kluber for MVP?