Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas Crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,866 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    So Luas and Dublin Bus drivers have both been striking and awarded pay rises - and then theyy crash! Well those were payrises well spent!

Teachers and Garda - be careful on the roads!

Was not DB and a Luas driver cant get out of the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Was not DB and a Luas driver cant get out of the way.

Don't let facts get in the way of a stup1d comment! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Tickityboo

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    So Luas and Dublin Bus drivers have both been striking and awarded pay rises - and then theyy crash! Well those were payrises well spent!

Teachers and Gardaí - be careful on the roads!

It wasn't a Dublin Bus!!

He clipped drivers cab first and scrapped all along until the Luas came to a stop.

HE?
    how does one know it was a he?

The luas is the wrong colour. Everything is grey today with the cloud cover.

Didn't Man U get rid of grey shirts complaining that they couldn't pick out their players?

Dubs colours I say!

He based on probability. As for colour you will be telling me next the bright Green, Orange and Red lights couldn't been seen because it was dark.

Should we also ban silver cars.

Two possible causes here human error on one side or mechanical on one side.

In 12 years I recall only 1 accident where Luas were at fault and a bright yellow/blue bus with the sun shining didn't stop it so that puts colour to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Tickityboo wrote: »
    It wasn't a Dublin Bus!!
    Ah I thought it was one of the tour buses that Dublin Bus have. I didn't actually know there were other tour bus operators in Dublin. Colours are very similar though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,095 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I amn't biting or offended. Indeed not even from Dublin! But what does this mean............ The crash ratio is higher on the whole of the red line but there are a lot of mitigating factors for that

Read above RE junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

ED E wrote: »
    Gotta love the north-west side inner city.

FYP :D

ED E wrote: »
    Read above RE junkies.

Where does it say anything about junkies? I know the Red Line journey can be a very unglamorous experience often but I just don't get why that is being brought up on this thread!!

He based on probability. As for colour you will be telling me next the bright Green, Orange and Red lights couldn't been seen because it was dark.

In 12 years I recall only 1 accident where Luas were at fault and a bright yellow/blue bus with the sun shining didn't stop it so that puts colour to bed.

In fairness there is an argument as for the correlation of vehicle colour and accident. And it mainly comes into play in the daytime hours . Obviously, banning them is just a stupid response to someone highlighting this correlation but it is worth considering that, especially in daytime hours colour can become a factor, albeit a very small, but nonetheless a factor within itself.

Some studies on same:

https://www.monash.edu/__data/assets/pdf_file/0007/216475/muarc263.pdf

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/11054856_Does_Vehicle_Color_Influence_the_Risk_of_Being_Passively_Involved_in_a_Collision

The current colour is, in itself, not worth changing at this stage, of course and is obviously on the smaller issues to be considered safety wise for Transdev and The TII and is a lot more cost efficient in manufacturing and maintenance sense, but it is worthy of discussion and not sarcastic responses..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭REM76

It was pretty stupid to paint the Luas grey. If they were a bright primary colour, these accidents would happen less. That's just basic cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Voipjunkie

Looking at the pictures it is not a t bone the bus over ran the light and the luas clipped it last it passed , if it was brakes on the bus or a medical issue there would be a lot more damage if it was moving forward as it contacted the luas.
    My guess is the bus was stationary when it was hit, but still the bus drivers fault.
    Seen a van do it before luas took the bumper off as it passed.

Voipjunkie wrote: »
    Looking at the pictures it is not a t bone the bus over ran the light and the luas clipped it last it passed , if it was brakes on the bus or a medical issue there would be a lot more damage if it was moving forward as it contacted the luas.
    My guess is the bus was stationary when it was hit, but still the bus drivers fault.
    Seen a van do it before luas took the bumper off as it passed.

No way it was stationary. if it was the front side part of the luas would also be damaged /scraped/dented. IT hit the centre part at a relatively small but significant speed enough to cause indented damage on one area. The luas would have a strong structure. IT would take moving impact to cause the damage that those photos suggest.

I imagine he came around what is a 45 degree angled turn. Just saw the Luas at that moment and couldn't brake in time enough to avoid the impact. May have been distracted also by a wayward pedestrian.

WE will find out in due course I imagine. Could have been a lot worse if it was during rush hour in evening. Your literally can't stand on that luas circa 5/6pm. especially on a bank holiday Friday rush home.
    People are squashed against the door. any noteworthy impact and there would be a lot of injuries I'd imagine, some serious head collisions even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭ahlookit

No way it was stationary. if it was the front side part of the luas would also be damaged /scraped/dented. IT hit the centre part at a relatively small but significant speed enough to cause indented damage on one area. The luas would have a strong structure. IT would take moving impact to cause the damage that those photos suggest.

If you look at the pics here

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/luas-crash-several-injuries-and-investigation-begins-after-tour-bus-collides-with-tram-in-city-centre-35169617.html

you can see the scrapes all along the luas from the front to centre ... so, as voipjunkie suggested, it looks like luas scraped along bus, rather than bus impacting the middle of luas.

ahlookit wrote: »
    If you look at the pics here

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/luas-crash-several-injuries-and-investigation-begins-after-tour-bus-collides-with-tram-in-city-centre-35169617.html

you can see the scrapes all along the luas from the front to centre ... so, as voipjunkie suggested, it looks like luas scraped along bus, rather than bus impacting the middle of luas.

Actually, my apologies. It still has to have been moving somewhat, no?

No way would it have gotten that far over the stop line being stationary. Especially how slow the Luas approaches a stop which was literally metres away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭ahlookit

yeah, the bus driver could have been nosing out of the sidestreet.

As you said, lucky it didnt happen around rush hour or it could have been worse.

Here is someone who commented on Journal.ie who was on the Luas at the time: Their identity is disclosed so it seems legit eyewitness:

I was on the luas at the time. And yes, it did. The luas couldn’t stop so the bus ended up in the middle of the luas (at my seat). The bus shattered every window along the front of the luas until it stopped.......

I heard a shout from the front, then the luas started shaking like it was going to derail, then the emergency brakes kicked in. So as far as I know the bus hit us, because the driver would have hit the brakes before the collision if the bus was stopped on the track.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Hope this is not a sign of things to come when the Green Line is extended with a lot more on-street running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

I was on the Luas when it happened.

I have to say it was handled very poorly, no one asked where passengers OK. More annoyingly the security came over to everyone shouting to leave the area very intimidating.

I have made a complaint to Luas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Trains and traffic don't mix. Whudda thunk it.

stevek93 wrote: »

I have to say it was handled very poorly, no one asked where passengers OK. More annoyingly the security came over to everyone shouting to leave the area very intimidating.

Intimidating?? In what respect? Not doubting you, just wondering how it played out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,785 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Intimidating?? In what respect? Not doubting you, just wondering how it played out.

Probably a whole pile of rubbernecking eejits trying to get closer to see the bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭IE 222

I can see how this would of happened. That bus takes a very Sharpe turn just before the luas line.

If you're not clued in the last thing you expect to see is a luas as it kind of comes out of nowhere on that road. The hoarding plays havoc here as well blocking the view of drivers. Also these tour bus drivers are given a talk to passengers as well which must be a massive distraction IMO. I'd regard this the same as been on the phone.

Not defending the bus driver but easily see how this happened. Them lights should be placed at the road junction he turned from.

IE 222 wrote: »
    I can see how this would of happened. That bus takes a very Sharpe turn just before the luas line.

If you're not clued in the last thing you expect to see is a luas as it kind of comes out of nowhere on that road. The hoarding plays havoc here as well blocking the view of drivers. Also these tour bus drivers are given a talk to passengers as well which must be a massive distraction IMO. I'd regard this the same as been on the phone.

Not defending the bus driver but easily see how this happened. Them lights should be placed at the road junction he turned from.

The bus driver would make that exact journey route 3 or 4 times a day. The first thing you should anticipate is a LUAS to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

Intimidating that you have been in a accident still in shock not quite fully understanding what has just happened and there is someone aggressively shouting at you to go on your merry way.

stevek93 wrote: »

With respect who did you expect to ask if you were alright?

Of course security should of asked people to leave, with glass everywhere and people standing around for no good reason. Would say many saw €€€€ signs and wanted to stay close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,394 ✭✭✭markpb

Jamie2k9 wrote:
    With respect who did you expect to ask if you were alright?

Did you misread the post you're replying to!? Luas staff attending the scene, Garda and DFB staff could and should have checked everyone who was on the tram when it happened. What do you think should happen to passengers on a tram that is involved in an incident?

Jamie2k9 wrote:
    Of course security should of asked people to leave, with glass everywhere and people standing around for no good reason. Would say many saw €€€€ signs and wanted to stay close!

People not involved in the incident should be kept at bay. People involved in the incident should be marshaled, triaged and dealt with properly.

markpb wrote: »
    Did you misread the post you're replying to!? Luas staff attending the scene, Garda and DFB staff could and should have checked everyone who was on the tram when it happened. What do you think should happen to passengers on a tram that is involved in an incident?

People not involved in the incident should be kept at bay. People involved in the incident should be marshaled, triaged and dealt with properly.

I think people who are injured are big and bold enough to present to Ambulance staff themselves. Emergency services have enough to deal with.

I am not saying it was handled wonderfully but I think some prospective is needed.

From what I have seem a lot of people were just standing around and there was one video where people were stilling quiet happily on the tram as if nothing happened. People involved as well as those not involved standing right outside the tram should of been moved on.

Would the emergency services not have been there quicker than the Transdev security ??

Unless security were at the stop or on board, you would hope so.