What body types do women/guys find most/least attractive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Katgurl wrote: »
    I cant fully rationalise it but I go absolutely weak for a hairy man. I'm a nazi about keeping my own legs smooth every day even if they're never gonna be seen by anyone. I find a hairy chest so masculine.

I'm bald but hairy pretty much everywhere else (not excessively, I don't look like a chimp). I'd imagine your brain would have a conniption trying to figure out if it's attractive :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Grayson wrote: »
    I'm bald but hairy pretty much everywhere else (not excessively, I don't look like a chimp). I'd imagine your brain would have a conniption trying to figure out if it's attractive :)

No, bald is fine. Its the furry body that is imperative.

I should mention I find intelligence and fire attractive in a girl. I don't really have much of a type when it comes to looks. I used to but I've lost track of the number of times I thought a girl was attractive and changed my mind after talking to her for 5 minutes. It works the opposite too. I've found myself fancying girls after talking to them.

If I had to pick a look I'd be really just listing off a few things they can't be. I hate makeup caked on. I can't stand anyone who puts too much effort into their appearance on a daily basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

I like girls that are slightly chubby if that makes sense. Womanly I think is the word. All the curves in the right places :p best showcased in a pair of leggings. Hard got mind you

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Musketeer4 wrote: »
    Your children would probably die in the wild.
    Nope. Not even close. Hollywood and current male gym fashion isn't the "wild". The average build for hunter gatherers throughout the globe and across populations tends very much towards the thin and wiry. The "bodybuilder" type would be pretty much never present(never mind that vanishingly few are natural anyway). Thin and wiry has more stamina and flexibility and most of all requires far fewer calories. Heavily muscled men are akin to 6 litre V8's whereas wiry men are more like high revving lean burn engines. When times get frugal the heavily muscled man is at a serious disadvantage. Even among stronger archaic humans they weren't "big", they were just stronger for a similar muscle mass. EG Look at a grown male chimpanzee. They're not "swole", but could tear your arms off with little effort. In the end the human whose kids "didn't die in the wild" to the same extent as other peoples and who out competed all were thinner, taller and more gracile overall. Oh and we were outcompeting them long before we gained any significant technological or intellectual advantage.
    Why is hair cosidered attractive?

I find it messy and horrid looking.
    Its one of the secondary sexual characteristic of adult males to have more body hair(depends on population of course as some would be far more hairless). It's particularly prevalent in European populations, so was quite likely sexually selected for(cold adaptation unlikely, as North East Asians, even Eskimos live in much colder climes and are basically hairless).

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,696 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I find those oiled muscle-mass bodies that parade themselves in competitions totally revolting. Especially the biceps with varicose veins all over them. Male and female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Most attractive - Athletic.

Least attractive - fat.

They're just the physical things I'm either attracted to (on first sight) or not. But in reality I'm not so shallow, I mean I can encourage her to go to the gym and diet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

A lot of "fitness" models are borderline bodybuilders. Where do you draw the line?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Musketeer4

I get the thing about lithe wiry guys being more likely to survive since back in those times food was scarce as shít and everything and they needed less of it.

I dunno about chimps though but I do know that silverback male gorillas are absolutely enormous and they survive eating bamboo and stuff or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Hourglass but toned ideally, with the right parts going in and out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭noaddedsugar

What type of women would the waxed look appeal to?

I'd imagine the Geordie Shore type. They are all into the Ken Doll look.

A lot of "fitness" models are borderline bodybuilders. Where do you draw the line?

He's well muscled and cut alright. Moreso than any sportsman. But he's certainly not in any sort of freak of nature class.

I'm sure the vast majority of these guys wax and were told in the media that this is what is attractive. So I guess women find it attractive on some level at least. Is it just a novelty item to like men like this but they wouldn't want to marry one.

I got what your sayin NAS about maybe Jersey shore type girls being attracted to the hyper masculinised guys with a big musculature. To be honest that type of girl wouldn't appeal to me in the slightest at all.

I wax for my own reasons and it's nothing to do with because any woman might dig it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

He's well muscled and cut alright. Moreso than any sportsman. But he's certainly not in any sort of freak of nature class.

I'm sure the vast majority of these guys wax and were told in the media that this is what is attractive. So I guess women find it attractive on some level at least. Is it just a novelty item to like men like this but they wouldn't want to marry one.

He's dehydrated, oiled, waxed, fake tanned and no doubt pharmaceutically assisted. I seriously doubt he'd hold that sort of shape for longer than a few days. And outside the past 50 years he wouldn't exist like that at all.

We've become obsessed with fake. And 'enhanced'.

looksee wrote: »
    Especially the biceps with varicose veins all over them. Male and female.

If you're lean and very well conditioned chances are you'll be vascular af. It's often a sign of being seriously physically fit. Which I would see as a plus myself.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Musketeer4 wrote:
    But he's certainly not in any sort of freak of nature class.
    Eh… this is kinda where body image and self image has gone arseways over the last few decades. First they came for the women… He is a "freak of nature". His level of body fat is simply not sustainable, nor healthy. And sorry no way in hell is he looking like that just by lifting heavy things eating "clean" with added creatine or whatever. He will be doing those things and by god with incredible dedication, but he's using added help. If any medical type reading can contradict that I'd love to read it(and I'll bet the house none would).

EDIT, BTW I have zero issue with the chap getting to that level regardless of means involved. THat's serious dedication written on every muscle and sinew. I do take issue when that's held up as an ideal of sorts and impressionable young lads try to emulate it by taking the over the counter supplements a lot of these guys claim makes this happen, or worse juicing to get there. Have we learned nothing from the body ideal stuff around women? Though at least he's not photoshopped to the Nth degree.
    If you're lean and very well conditioned chances are you'll be vascular af. It's often a sign of being seriously physically fit. Which I would see as a plus myself.
    Sure, but women naturally have more subcutaneous fat and veins are generally buried more deeply, so being vascular is not exactly natural for them.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

But men are not supposed to have the same level of bodyfat that women have. The male body is supposed to be much leaner in bf% terms and because of male hormonal makeup fat generally accumulates around the middle which is dangerous to health, causes heart disease etc. Therefore you are not supposed to have much central fat at all really.

That guy is very very muscular and fair play to him for the dedication.

I think out perception of what is "normal" these days is becoming skewed moreso in the opposite direction with higher amounts of body fat being considered normal. I see guys with big enough stomachs and very much out of shape going around but my mother dismisses me when I say they are heavy and insisted they are just normal weighted guys.
    Overweight is the new normal and that is not healthy at all.

And I admit i do have body image concerns. Sure, i'd love to be bigger.
    Espeicaially I want to get properly developed pecks as I am currently very underdeveloped there but I am relatively happy with my arms as they are muscularish without being big. I've got some definition on my abs and nothing that could be described as belly fat but I think i need to tighten up the lower obliques area as it seems a bit slack. I'm 70kg as it stands with 5'9" height. My ideal would be to get to 80kg or at least 75kg but I find it hard to eat enough even though I'm always eating and always hungry.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Eh… this is kinda where body image and self image has gone arseways over the last few decades. First they came for the women… He is a "freak of nature". His level of body fat is simply not sustainable, nor healthy. And sorry no way in hell is he looking like that just by lifting heavy things eating "clean" with added creatine or whatever. He will be doing those things and by god with incredible dedication, but he's using added help. If any medical type reading can contradict that I'd love to read it(and I'll bet the house none would).

EDIT, BTW I have zero issue with the chap getting to that level regardless of means involved. THat's serious dedication written on every muscle and sinew. I do take issue when that's held up as an ideal of sorts and impressionable young lads try to emulate it by taking the over the counter supplements a lot of these guys claim makes this happen, or worse juicing to get there. Have we learned nothing from the body ideal stuff around women? Though at least he's not photoshopped to the Nth degree.

I'd have to agree with this. I'm nearly sure he has taken roids at some stage. Also he has the best shoulder genetics I've ever seen. It still takes a hell of a lot of dedication to look like that though.

It's not a sign of being seriously fit. It's a sign he's done particular exercises over and over again. Athletes don't look like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I see guys with big enough stomachs and very much out of shape going around but my mother dismisses me when I say they are heavy and insisted they are just normal weighted guys.
    Overweight is the new normal and that is not healthy at all.

You have used two examples at complete opposite ends of the spectrum. A 'normal' healthy weight falls somewhere between those two extremes.

I think out perception of what is "normal" these days is becoming skewed moreso in the opposite direction with higher amounts of body fat being considered normal..

That seems to be more the case with women though. The curvy big assed Kardashian types have become normal.

It's not a sign of being seriously fit. It's a sign he's done particular exercises over and over again. Athletes don't look like that.

Actually its to do with low bodyfat. And some athletes definitely do look like that. I've seen some gymnasts like that for example.

Yeah I guess we are looking at extremes but I would suspect that the average man 60 or 70 years ago was probably much more muscular and lean than the average man nowadays. 1930 average man likely worked hard physically and not sit at a desk. Probably had a healthier diet and much less bodyfat. 2016 average man generally lacks enough activity and has severely wasted musculature and surplus bodyfat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Pac1Man wrote: »
    You have used two examples at complete opposite ends of the spectrum. A 'normal' healthy weight falls somewhere between those two extremes.

This is true but the extremes of each are getting more prevalent. Super buff vs super fat.

It's like a doughnut with a bite taken out of it.

https://thumb9.shutterstock.com/display_pic_with_logo/483673/483673,1308613913,2/stock-vector-cartoon-bitten-doughnut-79632661.jpg

Sweeeeeet doughnut. Whereas the extremes and the in between should be more like a baguette

http://labaguette.ca/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/traditional-french-baguette-174.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Winterlong wrote: »
    I like women with a head, boobs, legs and arms and a bum. Apart from that - not fussy.

Nas your keyboard a froblem?

Not your ornery onager

Vascularity and low bf are often a sign of being seriously physically fit. I'm not referring to the dude in the pic btw. But have you looked at many athletes lately? Depending on the sport many will be lean with visible, prominent veins.

Yeah I guess we are looking at extremes but I would suspect that the average man 60 or 70 years ago was probably much more muscular and lean than the average man nowadays. 1930 average man likely worked hard physically and not sit at a desk. Probably had a healthier diet and much less bodyfat. 2016 average man generally lacks enough activity and has severely wasted musculature and surplus bodyfat.

Diet was horrific years ago. No-one knew what it really was to "eat healthy".Peasants and labourers ate what they could, it was hardly a balanced diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

That seems to be more the case with women though. The curvy big assed Kardashian types have become normal.

Kim Kardashian is quite low body fat though. She just has a lot of muscle(and plastic..?) in her bum area

wakka12 wrote: »
    Kim Kardashian is quite low body fat though. She just has a lot of muscle(and plastic..?) in her bum area

I don't think she has ever had low body fat. She's a chunky girl with fairly broad shoulders and big jugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I don't think she has ever had low body fat. She's a chunky girl with fairly broad shoulders and big jugs.

http://img2.timeinc.net/people/i/2016/stylewatch/blog/160620/kim-kardashian-600x800.jpg

She is definitely at a healthy body fat level there. Look at her fairly slim waist and define jawline. She has extremely exaggerated bone structure and proportions, huge hips boobs shoulders and large frame overall which make her look quite chunky and curvy though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭forestgirl

I like them bigger than me (im 5.1)so most men are bigger than that.They must be well built even nice and stocky is good and I lovvvvve beards.What I find unattractive is very scrawny men and no meat on them so really it's the cave man sort of man I like.This thing of men waxing their chest hair and smooth legs is a big no no for me and being to well groomed is a turn off.