Police truck runs over demonstrators protesting US troops in Philippines today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

HensVassal wrote: »
    I don't get it.

The police work for Duterte, correct?
    Duterte thinks Obama is a "son of a whore" and want US troops out and US bases closed. He basically wants the country to be independent of US occupation and interference.

So if people are protesting US troops (which is Duterte's position as well) then why would Duterte's police attack the protesters and run them over like this?

Something's not right.

The US want Duterte "regime-changed" because he is showing resistance to US bullying and wants to strengthen ties with China.

I'll be called a tinfoiler for this but I smell a deliberate false flag to foment revolution against Duterte. It's the tried and tested tactic used in Ukraine, in Brazil, Syria, Venezuela, color revolutions, rinse repeat.
    It may be as you say.

Or it may be bad policing.

Certainly, if the police were in favour of Duterte's philosophy (and normally that's the case with a new popular pres), this 'protest' should have gone off without a hitch.

The fact that Duterte is out of the country, and that the West pay more dollars to the police (via tourist, corporations. CIA, etc) than the Chinese ever will, well... tis all a bit strange, for sure.

Your one sick individual.
    That's a bit unfair.

Don't you think if you lived under a bridge, exposed to all the elements, that you'd be in the best of health?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Hopefully America sorts that Duterte out before Philipines becomes another Iraq or a haven for terrorists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

I think Duterte will be very lucky to see the end of the year, I can see an assassination attempt on him very soon.

Probably simply just because they are left wing protesters
    Em... er... hmmm. not sure how to explain this....
    Maybe take a peek at the relationship between strong arm govt and left wing activism on wiki or somewhere
    The issue was that all of the major candidates opposed to him split the vote so he was elected with something like 40% of the vote.

40% huh? and judging by his nature, probably among a weird Trumpian eclectic mix of voters. . yeah, possible the cops just hate the pres, and his supporters. possible, but a bit too simple.

The Philippine relationship with China is pretty significant re the whole territorial claims of China in the Pacific. The dude is out of sync with most of his neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

The question is.....was he acting on orders or is he just a nut?

Probably told anyone touches your police car/van flatten them

They start tearing the side of it and hitting it :

Different angle of view :

NSFW, people getting driven over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Wonder if they guys in the red t-shirts directing the trouble are actually Chinese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

toptom wrote: »
    Hopefully America sorts that Duterte out before Philipines becomes another Iraq or a haven for terrorists.

Hopefully Duterte sorts out America before Philippines becomes another Iraq or a haven for terrorists.
    Actually you know the reason Duterte hates America is because of CIA false flag terrorist bombings in Mindanao in 2002.
    Just google Michael Meiring case to find out more.
    Meiring blew his legs off while priming a bomb in his hotel room in Davao city..while in the city hospital he was rescued by FBI agents and whisked back to America.
    The purpose of the bombings was to blame Muslims so the Philippines would allow American forces back into Mindanao.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    The Philippine relationship with China is pretty significant re the whole territorial claims of China in the Pacific. The dude is out of sync with most of his neighbours.

China's claim is to parts of the South China Sea, they are making no claims anywhere in the Pacific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭solderon

Meet their new president. (It's not Trump; skip in about 30 seconds.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Probably simply just because they are left wing protesters

Doesn't make sense. What do you mean?

solderon wrote: »
    Meet their new president. (It's not Trump; skip in about 30 seconds.)

If you know Filipinos and their sense of humour you would know that he is joking.
    Regarding the rape of the missionary..Duterte had all the perpetrators executed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

archer22 wrote: »
    China's claim is to parts of the South China Sea, they are making no claims anywhere in the Pacific.

China's claims extend to just off the coast of the Philippines.

But hey not to worry

Oops, yes. My mistake. pre-dinner post. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

dotsman wrote: »
    You don't call a crowd of people charging at the police van throwing items (can't make out if they are stones or bottles or what) "attacking"?

What people were seriously hurt? I certainly don't see anybody being "killed" or "maimed".

If you don't want to get hurt, move out of the way of the moving vehicle, not run directly into it. When the protesters drove armored vehicles at high speed into the police lines, the police moved out of the way. That's is what an intelligent person would do.

And yes, I would like to see the guards take a more forceful approach to "protesters" who continuously ignore instructions. For example, for the Jobstown debacle, I would have fully supported the driver of the minister's car driving off. Not necessarily at high speed and without warning, but moving at 10-15 kmph, beeping his/her horn, and if the Paul Murphy fanatics get hurt, it is entirely their own fault.

are you backtracking on your wish to see Irish police crash into and crush Irish protesters? You've gone from "one can only wish" regarding this video to driving away slowly beeping the horn. And that's a politicians car not a police vehicle.

Do you want to see the Guards drive over and kill people or don't your?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

dotsman wrote: »
    All I am seeing is a huge mob trying to attack a police officer. In a bid to survive, he drives his van away.
    Yes and no.

What I'm seeing is a police officer who's got himself into a compromised position and in a fit of anger and panic, drives forward and backwards at speed to try and intimidate protestors.

In a country where your security forces weren't an omnishambles, you wouldn't have such a vulnerable vehicle surrounded by angry protestors, and the defence of that officer would be for the riot-equipped police officers five metres away to advance on the crowd, surround the vehicle and remove the driver.

He could very easily have driven slowly forwards and out away from the crowd, but he let his anger get the better of him and chose to use it as a battering ram instead.

It's just a symptom of the Philippines now being a failed state on the verge of complete social collapse. It'll be split into several regions controlled by warring factions (read: drug smugglers) within five years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

are you backtracking

This was the whole problem over in the Philippines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

seamus wrote: »
    Yes and no.

What I'm seeing is a police officer who's got himself into a compromised position and in a fit of anger and panic, drives forward and backwards at speed to try and intimidate protestors.............

How dya know he was angry and panicky ?

this one seems cool n calm :

NSFW - protester pushes police and gets shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

https://news.vice.com/video/bahrain-an-inconvenient-uprising

23 mins in to see the case of Bahrainy cops ramming a 12(?) yo into a wall with a police jeep multiple times.

The gardai have their problems, but we have it easy enough all the same.

Philippines Police training is tough and brutal by our standards.In fact more like military training than what we would consider Police training.
    This incident looks like a situation that escalated quickly..Police fired tear gas when the protesters got too close to the embassy, protesters got aggressive and attacked Police and some Police then reacted with even greater aggression, but by their standards not using their firearms would have been considered exercising restraint.

I should just add to that that in everyday normal situations the Philippines Police are the most pleasant helpful Police you will ever meet.I have never met one with a bad attitude towards the general public.

I guess the rule is to never engage them in violence for that's not ever going to end well.

If you know Filipinos and their sense of humour you would know that he is joking.
    Regarding the rape of the missionary..Duterte had all the perpetrators executed.

Right. I suppose you missed the next clip where he clarified it wasn't a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭Gringo180

toptom wrote: »

Hold on a minute. America went into Iraq and is a haven for terrorists because of it. But you want them to go into the Phillipines to prevent it becoming a haven for terrorists? Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Where'a the rest of the footage so we can get context. Or are people just happy to form opinions either way on selected footage like imbeciles. Are people happy being imbeciles. Do imbeciles know they are imbeciles?

Right. I suppose you missed the next clip where he clarified it wasn't a joke.
    No I didn't miss it..it was part of the joke.What he does is trolling western liberal PC snowflakes :D.
    That is why the comments he makes never affect his popularity in the Philippines...you see they understand it.

No I didn't miss it..it was part of the joke.What he does is trolling western liberal PC snowflakes :D.
    That is why the comments he makes never affect his popularity in the Philippines...you see they understand it.

Part of the 'joke'? I see.

Cool story, but I'm not buying it, pal.

Part of the 'joke'? I see.

Cool story, but I'm not buying it, pal.

Couldn't care less what your buying,pal

Yeah. You've made that clear by replying to each of my posts. :pac:

Now you see your trying to troll me...but never mind I get it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

FTA69 wrote: »
    Alright Garda you've made your point.
    tonygun wrote: »
    Political bias can skew so many things, I never thought it could actually affect eyesight though...
    Not sure what politics have to do with this. I'm not going to claim to be an expert on Filipino politics, let alone this particular issue or the many complex events that led up to it, so don't have a "side", nor a "bias". I am, however, in favour of common sense and also the rule of law. I am 100% behind the right to protest, but not to riot, attack police, destroy property or intimidate public/police/politicians etc.

P.S. my eyesight is 20/20.
    Your one sick individual.
    Actually, as of my last medical, I am 100% fit and healthy, but thank you for your concern.
    ArtSmart wrote: »
    That's a bit unfair.

Don't you think if you lived under a bridge, exposed to all the elements, that you'd be in the best of health?
    Just because I disagree with the majority in this thread does not mean I am trolling. If you believe I am, please follow the rules of boards.ie and report my posts and not attack the poster, nor backseat mod.
    are you backtracking on your wish to see Irish police crash into and crush Irish protesters? You've gone from "one can only wish" regarding this video to driving away slowly beeping the horn. And that's a politicians car not a police vehicle.

Perhaps that comment was a bit flippant on my part. I didn't think anybody would take it literally, but I guess I should have realised there are always going to be peole who try to play the words game.

If I was to qualify that comment, I would perhaps say" I wish the gardaí wouldn't take **** from scumbags who don't know how to protest." YouTube is filled with clips from protesters hassling police and civilians, wasting a huge amount of garda time and resources when they are already scarce and trying to antagonise the guards yet the guards just stand there and allow it to continue. To me, protesters can make their point, but should disperse when instructed to do so by gardaí when their is an issue of harassment, safety etc. If they refuse, I am perfectly behind the gardaí if they were to use force.
    Do you want to see the Guards drive over and kill people or don't your?
    I'm not even going to reply to that massive jump in logic.