Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police truck runs over demonstrators protesting US troops in Philippines today

• 19-10-2016 12:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭

MOD NOTE
    NSFW
    The video below has some distressing stuff in it. It shows what is in the thread title.

Imagine our police force reacted like this to protests!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm having difficulty imagining being the sort of head-case that would actually do that.

Grim viewing. But hardly surprising in a country where they've pretty much said anyone can shoot anyone on the basis that they think they take drugs, and the leader has invoked Hitler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

The Philippines is turning in to a nut job of a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

That's grim lads no one needs to see that sh!t.

Edit: Put a NSFW at least

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Straight out murder.

State murdering its own citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

How "fair" were the recent elections that that nutjob won and got into power from?

Genuine question without implication (in case one is jumped to).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

How "fair" were the recent elections that that nutjob won and got into power from?

I don't remember hearing anything about voting irregularities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Am I watching the same video as everybody else?

All I am seeing is a huge mob trying to attack a police officer. In a bid to survive, he drives his van away. Nobody gets seriously hurt, nobody dies, nobody gets hurt that isn't 100% responsible for the result. The video then shows "protesters" in armored vehicles driving at police to break the police lines. The only difference is that the police move out of the way, whereas in the first clip, the "protesters" seem to do everything they can to be run over.

One can only dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Thought the worst would happen to the person in green. Nearly gets her head run over, manages to get up fairly quickly though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Joshua J wrote: »
    That's grim lads no one needs to see that sh!t.

Edit: Put a NSFW at least

There's plenty of people who want to know what's going on in the world, no matter how ugly it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

dotsman wrote: »

All I am seeing is a huge mob trying to attack a police officer. In a bid to survive, he drives his van away. Nobody gets seriously hurt, nobody dies, nobody gets hurt that isn't 100% responsible for the result. The video then shows "protesters" in armored vehicles driving at police to break the police lines. The only difference is that the police move out of the way, whereas in the first clip, the "protesters" seem to do everything they can to be run over.
    You're definitely watching a different video. A mob weren't attacking a police officer and he didn't drive away to survive. And people did get seriously hurt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

MOD NOTE
    NSFW
    The video below has some distressing stuff in it. It shows what is in the thread title.

I don't get it.

The police work for Duterte, correct?
    Duterte thinks Obama is a "son of a whore" and want US troops out and US bases closed. He basically wants the country to be independent of US occupation and interference.

So if people are protesting US troops (which is Duterte's position as well) then why would Duterte's police attack the protesters and run them over like this?

Something's not right.

The US want Duterte "regime-changed" because he is showing resistance to US bullying and wants to strengthen ties with China.

I'll be called a tinfoiler for this but I smell a deliberate false flag to foment revolution against Duterte. It's the tried and tested tactic used in Ukraine, in Brazil, Syria, Venezuela, color revolutions, rinse repeat.

One can only dream.

You think the Gardai should be allowed to drive vehicles at and over protesters, killing and maiming them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I thought that woman at 20 seconds was dead for sure. I hope the bollocks driving that will be punished. Absolute bastard.

lertsnim wrote: »
    I thought that woman at 20 seconds was dead for sure. I hope the bollocks driving that will be punished. Absolute bastard.

The question is.....was he acting on orders or is he just a nut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

That's insane.

Sadly the Philippines seems to be getting stranger and stranger.

It's worrying - a good friend of mine from the Philippines moved home a few years ago. It really puts it into perspective when you actually know someone living there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

HensVassal wrote: »

That's the thing. The way that country is at the moment it wouldn't surprise me if he was ordered to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

They conspiracy theories are already out lol .

Crazy stuff on the video but we've seen worse across the world ,
    Hardly breaking news been the pinoy president ordering kill squads against his own population

lertsnim wrote: »
    That's the thing. The way that country is at the moment it wouldn't surprise me if he was ordered to do it.

Well that's what confuses me. The president wants US troops out of the Philipines. These protesters want the same. Why would the police attack them?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Well that's what confuses me. The president wants US troops out of the Philipines. These protesters want the same. Why would the police attack them?

Probably simply just because they are left wing protesters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,798 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Grayson wrote: »
    I don't remember hearing anything about voting irregularities.

The issue was that all of the major candidates opposed to him split the vote so he was elected with something like 40% of the vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Cienciano wrote: »
    You're definitely watching a different video. A mob weren't attacking a police officer and he didn't drive away to survive. And people did get seriously hurt.
    You think the Gardai should be allowed to drive vehicles at and over protesters, killing and maiming them?

You don't call a crowd of people charging at the police van throwing items (can't make out if they are stones or bottles or what) "attacking"?

What people were seriously hurt? I certainly don't see anybody being "killed" or "maimed".

If you don't want to get hurt, move out of the way of the moving vehicle, not run directly into it. When the protesters drove armored vehicles at high speed into the police lines, the police moved out of the way. That's is what an intelligent person would do.

And yes, I would like to see the guards take a more forceful approach to "protesters" who continuously ignore instructions. For example, for the Jobstown debacle, I would have fully supported the driver of the minister's car driving off. Not necessarily at high speed and without warning, but moving at 10-15 kmph, beeping his/her horn, and if the Paul Murphy fanatics get hurt, it is entirely their own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

You don't call a crowd of people charging at the police van throwing items (can't make out if they are stones or bottles or what) "attacking"?

What people were seriously hurt? I certainly don't see anybody being "killed" or "maimed".

If you don't want to get hurt, move out of the way of the moving vehicle, not run directly into it. When the protesters drove armored vehicles at high speed into the police lines, the police moved out of the way. That's is what an intelligent person would do.

And yes, I would like to see the guards take a more forceful approach to "protesters" who continuously ignore instructions. For example, for the Jobstown debacle, I would have fully supported the driver of the minister's car driving off. Not necessarily at high speed and without warning, but moving at 10-15 kmph, beeping his/her horn, and if the Paul Murphy fanatics get hurt, it is entirely their own fault.

Alright Garda you've made your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

I don't get it.

Duterte thinks Obama is a "son of a whore" and want US troops out and US bases closed. He basically wants the country to be independent of US occupation and interference.

So if people are protesting US troops (which is Duterte's position as well) then why would Duterte's police attack the protesters and run them over like this?

Something's not right.

The US want Duterte "regime-changed" because he is showing resistance to US bullying and wants to strengthen ties with China.

I'll be called a tinfoiler for this but I smell a deliberate false flag to foment revolution against Duterte. It's the tried and tested tactic used in Ukraine, in Brazil, Syria, Venezuela, color revolutions, rinse repeat.

Or...

It's a conspiracy by Duterte to swell anger against the US.

See? I can make stuff up too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Was anybody killed? That bird in the green was lucky. Can't believe that's a Police van!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

The copper is nuts, but a lot of the protestors appear to not be too bright either putting themselves in the way of the van more than once.

Jesus. wrote: »
    Can't believe that's a Police van!

It's definitely a police vehicle looks like it's more for carrying fences through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Didas

One can only dream.

Political bias can skew so many things, I never thought it could actually affect eyesight though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

There's plenty of people who want to know what's going on in the world, no matter how ugly it is.
    I said people don't NEED to see it not that they shouldn't be allowed to see it. If I know one thing for sure in life it's nutters gonna nut, just try not to be around when it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

One can only dream.

Your one sick individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I don't get it.

Something's not right.

It may be as you say.

Or it may be bad policing.

Certainly, if the police were in favour of Duterte's philosophy (and normally that's the case with a new popular pres), this 'protest' should have gone off without a hitch.

The fact that Duterte is out of the country, and that the West pay more dollars to the police (via tourist, corporations. CIA, etc) than the Chinese ever will, well... tis all a bit strange, for sure.

Your one sick individual.
    That's a bit unfair.

Don't you think if you lived under a bridge, exposed to all the elements, that you'd be in the best of health?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Hopefully America sorts that Duterte out before Philipines becomes another Iraq or a haven for terrorists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

I think Duterte will be very lucky to see the end of the year, I can see an assassination attempt on him very soon.

Em... er... hmmm. not sure how to explain this....
    Maybe take a peek at the relationship between strong arm govt and left wing activism on wiki or somewhere
    The issue was that all of the major candidates opposed to him split the vote so he was elected with something like 40% of the vote.

40% huh? and judging by his nature, probably among a weird Trumpian eclectic mix of voters. . yeah, possible the cops just hate the pres, and his supporters. possible, but a bit too simple.

The Philippine relationship with China is pretty significant re the whole territorial claims of China in the Pacific. The dude is out of sync with most of his neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Probably told anyone touches your police car/van flatten them

They start tearing the side of it and hitting it :

Different angle of view :

NSFW, people getting driven over

Wonder if they guys in the red t-shirts directing the trouble are actually Chinese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

toptom wrote: »
    Hopefully America sorts that Duterte out before Philipines becomes another Iraq or a haven for terrorists.

Hopefully Duterte sorts out America before Philippines becomes another Iraq or a haven for terrorists.
    Actually you know the reason Duterte hates America is because of CIA false flag terrorist bombings in Mindanao in 2002.
    Just google Michael Meiring case to find out more.
    Meiring blew his legs off while priming a bomb in his hotel room in Davao city..while in the city hospital he was rescued by FBI agents and whisked back to America.
    The purpose of the bombings was to blame Muslims so the Philippines would allow American forces back into Mindanao.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    The Philippine relationship with China is pretty significant re the whole territorial claims of China in the Pacific. The dude is out of sync with most of his neighbours.

China's claim is to parts of the South China Sea, they are making no claims anywhere in the Pacific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭solderon

Meet their new president. (It's not Trump; skip in about 30 seconds.)

Doesn't make sense. What do you mean?

solderon wrote: »
    Meet their new president. (It's not Trump; skip in about 30 seconds.)

If you know Filipinos and their sense of humour you would know that he is joking.
    Regarding the rape of the missionary..Duterte had all the perpetrators executed.

archer22 wrote: »
    China's claim is to parts of the South China Sea, they are making no claims anywhere in the Pacific.

China's claims extend to just off the coast of the Philippines.

But hey not to worry

archer22 wrote: »
    Oops, yes. My mistake. pre-dinner post. ;)

are you backtracking on your wish to see Irish police crash into and crush Irish protesters? You've gone from "one can only wish" regarding this video to driving away slowly beeping the horn. And that's a politicians car not a police vehicle.

Do you want to see the Guards drive over and kill people or don't your?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

All I am seeing is a huge mob trying to attack a police officer. In a bid to survive, he drives his van away.
    Yes and no.

What I'm seeing is a police officer who's got himself into a compromised position and in a fit of anger and panic, drives forward and backwards at speed to try and intimidate protestors.

In a country where your security forces weren't an omnishambles, you wouldn't have such a vulnerable vehicle surrounded by angry protestors, and the defence of that officer would be for the riot-equipped police officers five metres away to advance on the crowd, surround the vehicle and remove the driver.

He could very easily have driven slowly forwards and out away from the crowd, but he let his anger get the better of him and chose to use it as a battering ram instead.

It's just a symptom of the Philippines now being a failed state on the verge of complete social collapse. It'll be split into several regions controlled by warring factions (read: drug smugglers) within five years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

are you backtracking

This was the whole problem over in the Philippines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

seamus wrote: »
    Yes and no.

What I'm seeing is a police officer who's got himself into a compromised position and in a fit of anger and panic, drives forward and backwards at speed to try and intimidate protestors.............

How dya know he was angry and panicky ?

this one seems cool n calm :

NSFW - protester pushes police and gets shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

https://news.vice.com/video/bahrain-an-inconvenient-uprising

23 mins in to see the case of Bahrainy cops ramming a 12(?) yo into a wall with a police jeep multiple times.

The gardai have their problems, but we have it easy enough all the same.