Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - to a member of An Garda Síochána

• 19-10-2016 9:52am
    Boards.ie Employee Posts: 12,597 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Boards.ie Community Manager

Good morning all!
    Today we have a member of An Garda Síochána here to answer some of your questions. Due to the nature of the job, there will be some questions that our guest simply cannot answer; please be respectful of that if your question is one that cannot be answered. For example (but not limited to) questions about

- active or closed investigations
    - details of procedures or policies
    - specific details or examples of anything discussed.

He can answer general queries about the job, what it entails and general questions about investigations.

Personally, I am impressed by anyone who undertakes the job of Garda, not an easy job to do, sometimes dangerous and often underappreciated. So thank you to I'm a Garda, AMA for your service and for taking the time to do the AMA :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Hi, thanks for doing this AMA.

What is the best and worst part of the job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

approx how long have you been serving?
    is it what you thought it would be like?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Have you ever been assaulted on the job?

Have you ever witnessed anything that could be described as corruption in the force?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ads20101

Are you concerned about the increase in gun use amongst the criminal fraternity, and do you feel that policing in Ireland would be safer if the Guards were armed themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If you were in hot pursuit and the Duke boys jumped a creek would you try and jump it too?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭sullivlo

Are you stationed near where you grew up or are you close by?

Are there any things that you would change about the role?

Would you like to be armed?

If you had to choose another member of the emergency service to be a part of, which would you choose?

Do you have the power to stop a cyclist who breaks red lights?

Thanks for this btw - it should be super interesting!

What rank are you?
    How much service have you?
    Are you attached to the regular or specialist unit?

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭Fox Hound

can you speak Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

How long have you been a Garda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Have you witnessed any sexism in the force?

• Registered Users Posts: 36,161 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Is it a common opinion/MO among rank and.file Gardai that minor traffic offences are not worth the time? Do any gardai believe in broken window theory for our roads?

What would you say to the idea of removing garda discretion (you witness an offence you must act)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Usernemises

Is Nepotism still as bad as it used to be? My cousin is a garda and he told me a few years ago not to bother applying unless I knew a high ranking garda or a td, surely he was joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Usernemises

Also do you think drugs should be legalised? How much of your time is spent dealing with drug dealers/ users

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

Do you find it upsetting/disheartening/disgusting when a conviction fails to secure a proper sentence? Do you ever feel left down by the judiciary?

What do you think should happen to people with 40+ convictions ?

Does prison offer any rehabilitation at all?

What advice would you give parents of teens to keep them on the straight And narrow ?

I seriously don't know how how ye do the job, especially when yere pay and conditions are less than ideal.
    Thank you for all that you do .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Are there any nogo areas in Ireland for the guards, or at least areas where you would not be welcome.

Halting sites.
    Ballyfermot.
    some parts of finglas.
    southill,
    inner cities
    moyross

• Registered Users Posts: 10,141 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Hey,

I've heard loads of stories about "police brutality", or stories of how people were "clobbered" after being arrested. But I know a small number of guards and they don't strike me as being that sort of person. Does it happen in your experience?

Does community policing work ?

how would you better use the guards in improving relationships in said communities as its more or less the same areas same communities that seems where a lot of the gangs/trouble/no respect come from, Thanks.

When I was growing up getting (70s80s)a few scalps of a guard was a normal part of life, Didn't do me any harm.

Would you think a few scalps nowadays would be better in dealing with some of the youngsters nowadays than bringing them through the courts ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

What loophole within the law frustrates you the most to see people taking advantage of?

Or another way of phrasing the question: What is the most common type of circumstance you come across where you feel you should be able to take action but your hands are tied and you're powerless to do anything?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

What's your opinion on the proposed Gardaí strike?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Do you feel the (ab)use of the Guards for political actions (eg. Rossport, compiling dossiers on legitimate left wing politicians/activists) brings the force into disrepute?

Do you feel "clatters" and "scalps" of working class kids contribute to the "us & them" culture in some communities and consequent disrespect for the law?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭ectoraige

What technical improvements do you most want to see available to you and your colleagues in terms of improving communications/information management?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Mary63

Is it true that one in fifteen people who received penalty points get them cancelled.

Can those of us who pay the fine and get the points see a register of those who get the fines and penalty points cancelled.Is a list of these peoples names published anywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Dbu

Would you mind getting rid of my penalty points? I can PM you if you wish to make my day;)

Do you believe in the death penalty for capital murder ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Do you get frustrated with the justice system in Ireland, if so what improvements would you make if you could?

Why do you think so many Irish drivers have such disregard for the rules of the road and what can/should we do to improve this in an effort to protect our more vulnerable road users such as motorcyclists and cyclists?

Have you always worked in one section and if not which of your postings was your favourite?

What do you think AGS can do to improve public support for them or do you feel you have good support in general?

Would you still join AGS if you were making that decision now?

Thank you for doing the job you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Tow

Is it true you can retire at 55 on a full pension?

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Have you done the Garda driver training course? If so, what did you think of it and what did you learn that you thought was interesting?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,354 ✭✭✭irishgeo

1. What one thing would you change about the job if you could?

2. Whats the most commonest misconception about irish law people have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

Tow wrote: »
    Is it true you can retire at 55 on a full pension?

It's not based on age. After 30 years of service you can retire on full index-linked pension.

Qualify at 23, retire at 53.