Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aldi and Lidl checkout system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

They need to get with the times and bring in the self service machines.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,370 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The window sills are where toddlers sit with their nappy seepage. I for one do not want my crusty cob contaminated.

I do wish they would have a basket/wheelie basket thing lane for those who only have a few things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,951 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Patww79 wrote: »

'atomisation' is a possible term

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Crazyteacher

Everyone packs at the till in my local lidl and we've never been instructed to do otherwise. It doesn't hold up the queue. In fact our local you'd barely have a queue they are that efficient. They open an extra till onnce there's more than two waiting. I went to Aldi for the 2nd time ever today , shelves were chaotic , inadequate signage for pricing, and because I asked the cashier a question about the price of an item I was getting "tutting" from the queue behind me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Ah yes, I've been there, several times, with Aldi . I pony up to Till 2 with my 4 items and the Cashier tells me it's closing and to go to till 7. I pony down to till 7 and join the queue and lo and behold there's an announcement over the intercom that Till 2 is now open. I go back to Till 2 and now there's four overflowing trolleys ahead of me.

Goodbye Aldi.

Tesco or Dunnes beckons from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,490 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

I have one of those shopping trolley bag systems.
    4 bags designed to fit into the trolley with large handles to hold them in place.
    Easy peasy.
    I hate the Lidl/Also system and this is the best way around that I've found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

Some of us have become very fast and efficient bag packers.

Others haven't.

Enjoy the windowsills Others. I hold you in contempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,705 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When Lidl/Aldi first opened in Ireland they were super efficient at the checkout and they basically pushed people through the checkout and fired their shopping into their trolley. They also had no baskets.
    It took Lidl/Aldi a few years but they have really adapted to what Irish people want in a supermarket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,304 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

They need to get with the times and bring in the self service machines.
    Noooooooooo :eek:

Fecking things always disputing your age if you have the temerity to want to buy a bottle of wine, or having a million options for "a loaf of brown bread", or imagining an "unexpected item in the bagging area.... unexpected item in the bagging area...... unexpected item in the bagging area". NO THERE FKN ISN'T :mad:

And you have to put all the stuff loose onto the bagging area or it'll go into meltdown, meaning it takes twice as long as it should.

And that's when you actually get to the bloody till - having waited for all the foosterers and fumblers to spend half the day getting themselves sorted in their own sweet time (via all the above obstructions).

Some day the men in white coats will have to come and take me away from a self-service till.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I pack at the till.
    I group my shopping on the belt so that all the same groups are being scanned which can then be thrown into a bag at a time.

All fruit & veg together, meats, bottles etc.

Why be inefficient and throw everything into a trolley only to have to repack it in bags...after all, its all about efficiency!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭FrannoFan

I load the conveyor belt in the order i want to put them into the bags(heavier things first, eggs etc last) then i have all the bags ready to go and i just load directly into the bags. Never even heard of the idea of taking them to window sill. It is just as quick.

i also take it to another OCD level and group them by where they are going in my house (fridge items/ dry goods/ press specific) but i don't expect everyone to reach those levels of organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

FrannoFan wrote: »
    I load the conveyor belt in the order i want to put them into the bags(heavier things first, eggs etc last) then i have all the bags ready to go and i just load directly into the bags. Never even heard of the idea of taking them to window sill. It is just as quick.

i also take it to another OCD level and group them by where they are going in my house (fridge items/ dry goods/ press specific) but i don't expect everyone to reach those levels of organisation.

That's me to a tee.

Nothing really suits your grand world vision, does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭maximum12

spurious wrote: »
    I do wish they would have a basket/wheelie basket thing lane for those who only have a few things.

There's the unofficial system that seems to have evolved in aldi /lidl: "ahh do you only have two things? You can go in front of me as I'm preparing for nuclear holocaust"

No but paying at a checkout where I promptly pack my bags does, yet you don't want that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Why be inefficient and throw everything into a trolley only to have to repack it in bags...after all, its all about efficiency. I just throw everything straight from the shelves into the specially improvised, large, foil lined, inside pockets of my over coat and bypass the pesky shelf by running straight to my getaway car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

I have one of those shopping trolley bag systems.

That's me. And load all the heavy stuff first to put in trolley and then just easily sweep small items into bags. I'm
    always pulling off from till when cashier is still fiddling with my change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The self service machines in Tesco are crap and the loading trays are far too small. The ones in Supervalue work much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭sonandheir

This till racing was alright a few years ago when I was one on one with Tillman, loaf bread, baked beans and 4 cans. But now I've got kids hanging off my pockets, lists, that potted plant in the middle aisle I just had to get. And Tillman has sped up.

My only weapon to square this up, is stand at the end of conveyor belt and slowly let the belt fill with my trolley with generous spacing between items. Gives me more time at end.
    Try this next time it actuals gets under skin, they will push items back while the current customer is paying to bunch I all up.

Die Tillman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

They should put up large signs and have stafff inform customers to put their goods back in the trolley and pack their bags at the window sill. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Ah yes, another thread where we strive to please our glorious German overlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,705 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

They should put up large signs and have stafff inform customers to put their goods back in the trolley and pack their bags at the window sill. Simples.

When they first opened the staff were very strict about packing at the shelf and it didn't go down well. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I think they need big TVs above the tills that show you the proper way to do it. It should be like immigration in some countries, there is an instructional video playing while you wait telling you to have your passport ready etc.

I think a lot of people here are posting with experience of a down the country lidl/aldi. The Aldi and Lidl where I grew up is a more relaxed affair and the only people who are taking their sweet time are the people who decided to bring 5 kids along for the trip.

However, in Dublin, it's a free for all. People really do stupid things like let the cashier pile all the stuff up. Then they go to put it in their bag and then only after that do they attempt to pay after spending 10 minutes looking for their money.

Just the other day, I was in the baskets only queue (they have an express lane in my local Lidl) and there were 2 cashiers next to each other. One cashier managed to check out 4 customers in the time that it took the man at the cashier next to him to find his money.

I really don't know who these people are that don't have anything better to do with their lives than take their sweet time at the shop! How in the hell do you keep your money in such an inconvenient place that it takes longer than 1 minute to locate it? I feel like these are the kind of people who drive 50 on 80 road because they really have nowhere to be.

It's infuriating. After a long day at work, I want to get my shopping done as soon as possible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

When they first opened the staff were very strict about packing at the shelf and it didn't go down well. Simples.

Exactly. Irish people, especially the older ones, have to dither about and talk sh!te at tills, when they're getting on and of buses, etc. The Germans realized if they want to take us all away from Tesco and Dunnes they would have to allow us to inform the cashier that it was indeed raining or what ever the time wasting eejits talk about up there, and not rush us along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭kurtainsider

I think that that whole idea of throwing all your messages back in the trolley and repacking at the window has failed in Ireland. I regularly go to 6 or 7 Lidl's and Aldi's and I don't see anyone do it anymore. Why should I double my handling of my shopping to facilitate these corporations? It's not as if they're giving the stuff away. That's my hard earned money I'm giving them.

What works in Germany doesn't necessarily work in Ireland.