Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aldi and Lidl checkout system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Sweet lord, you bother to stalk a user's 15000+ posts for one 2 years old? Creepy!

Advanced find grandad!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Red Kev wrote: »
    Yeah, I like to race the till people as well.

There's a few simple tricks tobeating Tillman or his female sidekick Tillwoman. First of all get the smaller trolley with the higher loading level as it saves time bending down. Place open bags and/or cardboard box into this.

If it's Lidl I always put the bread around 2/3rds of the way down the conveyor belt, so they need a few seconds to look at the contents which gives me a few seconds to keep packing. Veg at the end as it never scans first time.

So by the time they turn around to put the last piece of veg on the counter I'm standing there with my hand open looking for it, the debit card in the other.

Ensures a defeated Tillman/Tillwoman and a slightly smug but very confident walk across the paving bricks to the car. Makes my week.

Just started reading through this discussion and the reply above was one of the first... And it's brilliant. Simply brilliant. I applaud your wit sir. I actually lol'd as the kids would say.

On topic I kind of agree with you op but I try not to get my blood pressure up about these things.

Kind of similar to idiots parking over two spaces.... and no I don't think it's that they don't want someone to ding they're car as that's the likes of car nut parker who's parked 10miles from the shop only to have parker number 1's idiot buddy park right beside car nut parker when' there 2 million other spaces because well nobody ****ing knows why!!

Damn it there goes my blood pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Sweet lord, you bother to stalk a user's 15000+ posts for one 2 years old? Creepy!

Not really - I had been wondering the same thing as I recalled threads in which nox boasted post after post how he would never set foot in Lidl or Aldi and would never buy unbranded or own-brand products.
    Fair play to Ush1 for finding one of those :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Shenshen wrote: »
    Not really - I had been wondering the same thing as I recalled threads in which nox boasted post after post how he would never set foot in Lidl or Aldi and would never buy unbranded or own-brand products.

I was just about to post the same thing. It was such an odd thing to say, that he never shopped in lidl/tesco/aldi that it stuck in my mind too.
    So yeah, well done Ush1 and over to you Nox to explain the change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭seenitall

Jaysis where do all ye youngsters get all the energy for racing the tillpeople and being out the door quicker than you were in..?

I know - this post actually belongs in the "you know that you're getting old when..." thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Efficiency my hole.
    If they were so efficient why do they need to "require a store manager" at least 1 in 6 customers.
    I asked to purchase a €10 shopping voucher advertised beside the till and the cashier got flustered and took 20 seconds to request the manager then got up and went "in the back" .
    This is absolute bull**** - Something scanned twice - get a manager.
    Someone returning something -manager needed.

This is the biggest waste of my time in Aldilidl.
    Followed by people who finish packing and then take out their purse to find money/ card.

What I think is funny is that the one thanks on his post is by a user called "auldgranny".

I picture this oul biddy with a tea cozy hat on her head cheering him on, "Irish jobs, yer dead right!!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Efficiency my hole.
    If they were so efficient why do they need to "require a store manager" at least 1 in 6 customers.
    I asked to purchase a €10 shopping voucher advertised beside the till and the cashier got flustered and took 20 seconds to request the manager then got up and went "in the back" .
    This is absolute bull**** - Something scanned twice - get a manager.
    Someone returning something -manager needed.

This is the biggest waste of my time in Aldilidl.
    Followed by people who finish packing and then take out their purse to find money/ card.

they was mass confusion in my local Aldi yesterday as they had started selling Lotto & nobody behind the tills seemed to know what to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

73Cat wrote: »
    :). Or tap their card ;)

Sure why don't you just wear an ID badge while youre at it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

dfeo wrote: »
    I regularly go to a local Aldi and Lidl and in principle, the queuing system is excellent.

Lob your stuff on the conveyor belt, move to end of the checkout, your stuff is quickly scanned through and you (just as quickly) put the stuff back into the trolley and pay.

Move to the preparation window sill things at the end and repack and organise there.

What p1sses me off about Aldi and Lidls here is that most people are organising and packing at the end of the tills.
    The whole mantra of Lidl and Aldi is efficiency, which thus translates into cheaper goods due to less dwell time and wasted time. There is no justification to have more tills open in Lidl / Aldi if people just copped on and stopped packing at the till.

THAT'S WHAT THE WINDOW SILLS ARE THERE FOR :mad:

I've been to Aldi and Lidl in Germany and the Netherlands and you'll get dirty looks for holding up the system. People there actually respect the system there.

Can confirm. Live in Germany. Never pack your bags at the end of the till. Move to the window sill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

I regularly go to a local Aldi and Lidl and in principle, the queuing system is excellent.

Lob your stuff on the conveyor belt, move to end of the checkout, your stuff is quickly scanned through and you (just as quickly) put the stuff back into the trolley and pay.

Move to the preparation window sill things at the end and repack and organise there.

What p1sses me off about Aldi and Lidls here is that most people are organising and packing at the end of the tills.
    The whole mantra of Lidl and Aldi is efficiency, which thus translates into cheaper goods due to less dwell time and wasted time. There is no justification to have more tills open in Lidl / Aldi if people just copped on and stopped packing at the till.

THAT'S WHAT THE WINDOW SILLS ARE THERE FOR :mad:

I've been to Aldi and Lidl in Germany and the Netherlands and you'll get dirty looks for holding up the system. People there actually respect the system there.

all that is great but I secretly love the self-service checkout in dunnes/tesco and absolutely hate the queues in lidl/aldi!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Can confirm. Live in Germany. Never pack your bags at the end of the till. Move to the window sill.

In Germany people would normally have a large container in their boot and pack there. Or, they would have a container that is the size of the trolley, so they put the groceries in the container at the check out and then just lift the container to the car.

One could also just open their bags in the trolley and drog into the bags in the trolley at the till.

EDIT: That's not to say they dont also use the packing shelf either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Being stuck behind someone returning something obscure at a LIDL till.

Is there anything more soul destroying??

I was behind a woman a few weeks ago in LIDL who wanted to return something but she didn't have a receipt (kid you not)
    manager was called up, gave the freephone number she could call etc etc

manager walked away, but then copped that the goods had been bought in Aldi, not LIDL and came back to tell her.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Interesting, had a less patriotic change of heart?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93615149&postcount=233

Its improved compared to what it was and one is a lot handier now to get to than before so I do some of my shopping there now yes. SV still has the best quality and selection though.

Trawling through my posts is absolutely pathetic btw, followed closely by the thankers.

I do buy very few unbranded or own brand products. Things like veg, certain meats, bread etc I get from aldi (most aren't branded in any shop). Still go to Sv for the stuff I wanted the proper branded version of the product, though some are available in Aldi now like Barry's tea for example or old el paso meal kits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

Speaking on tactics for beating the cashier, I plow through tinned tuna to the extent that I'm just under the working assumption that I exist with mercury poisoning. So what I like to do is stack it into a little castle whilst waiting at the conveyor belt and it buys me a few seconds watching the cashier have to take it apart.

It's usually the first line of defence after Unscannable Croissants have fallen.

Just treat the entire conveyor belt like two player Wipeout 2097.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Doing your bit to throw even a minor spanner into the relentless cogs of teutonic efficency.

It's the small things.

Its improved compared to what it was and one is a lot handier now than before so I do some of my shopping there now yes. SV still has the best quality and selection though.

Trawling through my posts is absolutely pathetic btw, followed closely by the thankers.

What about all that stuff about Irish jobs etc?

As I've said, I didn't need to "trawl" through your posts, with an advanced search it look me less than thirty seconds but I understand that you might feel you look stupid/hypocritical.

What about all that stuff about Irish jobs etc?

As I've said, I didn't need to "trawl" through your posts, with an advanced search it look me less than thirty seconds but I understand that you might feel you look stupid/hypocritical.

I don't care how long it took, going back over posts is pathetic. The only person who looks stupid in this is you.

Oh you real mad.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

GLaDOS wrote:
    People are idiots.

Idiots are people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Idiots are people.

that's debatable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

sick of letting people ahead of me if ive a trolley full and they 'only have a few' only to be left standing there with 3 items behind a woman (its always a woman) with a brimmed trolley who looks at you and your 3 items and almost smirks to herself....

drives

me

insane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭HS3

dbagman wrote: »
    how hard is it to have your empty bags open in the trolley ready to go? I always pack at the till. whats the point in putting the stuff in the trolley twice?

Because the queue moves quicker.

If I was the Hitler of supermarkets, I'd start imposing an "efficiency levy". The longer you take at the till, the higher your bill becomes :D

I pack mine at the till. I'm well aware of the lidl and Aldi protocol, but I have my bags open and dump it all in. If I'm going to be putting it in the trolley, I might as well be efficient so I can get the hell out of there. I've never delayed anyone. Have all the shopping in the bags at the same time the total shows up and have my card ready to pay. No fuss. No delays. Simple. If there are people behind me with only a few items I let them skip ahead and likewise the same kindness has been shown to me when I don't have that much.

There was a time Aldi didn't take cards at all...but as they do now, I don't see the delay it causes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,809 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Oh you real mad.:)

Mod:

Knock it off, you two. You're holding up the damn checkout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,192 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's the people talking on the phone as we're moving along, until it's their turn to pack the shopping, does it slowly with one hand because still talking bullsh1t (we know this because we can all hear the conversation) on the phone until it's time to pay.

"Bye, bye, bye, bye " and then another 3 to 4 mins trying to find either the money or card.

These people should be tarred and feathered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

Some people just have excellent memories. Obviously that poster remembered him saying something about never shopping in Aldi and Lidl. After that, it's easy to do a quick search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

...you also get the creatures at the self service checkouts at 5pm when everything is very busy and all checkouts are at full tilt talking inane rubbish ON THEIR PHONES instead of getting through in an expeditious manner in order to reduce the waiting time of the other people behind them in the queue. Nothing else should be done when you are in the self service checkout except:- scan, pay, pack and go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

It shouldn't though. Why should people pack AT the till when there's a preparation are for that very purpose. It wastes time and hold up everyone.

Seems like it'd be a very awkward person that can't pack stuff as it is scanned at the til. I put my stuff on the conveyer, open up the bags in the trolley and put stuff in as it is scanned. I've never found that particular part to be the hold up. The hold ups happen when people are still unpacking their stuff on the conveyor and the staff member can't do any scanning because they have no space to put the items afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

maximum12 wrote: »
    There's the unofficial system that seems to have evolved in aldi /lidl: "ahh do you only have two things? You can go in front of me as I'm preparing for nuclear holocaust"

Yes indeed, never happens in Dunnes, SuperValu or Tesco - never.
    ALDI and lidl customers obviously much more polite :D
    Corvo wrote: »
    I like packing again at the window sill, its a good place to meet old women.

Fixed your post:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

sick of letting people ahead of me if ive a trolley full and they 'only have a few' only to be left standing there with 3 items behind a woman (its always a woman) with a brimmed trolley who looks at you and your 3 items and almost smirks to herself....

drives

me

insane

I always let people go in front of me. it's just a nice thing to do when you have a half full trolley and back pain means you're a bit slower than most at loading the belt.

I hate queue holders/jumpers, where one auld shlag gets her friend or child to stand in the Queue holding the place while she finishes the shopping then barges through the Queue with a full trolley. I had an interaction with one such manly woman one afternoon and it ended up with another till being opened for everyone else and they then just closed the till she was at when she had all her stuff on the belt and walked away. I love Aldi!