Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Evil_g

Yeah, Williams was like an antivaxxer spoofing about the "science" being "unclear".

Claiming that nursing homes not being full of brain damaged rugby players is strong evidence that rugby doesn't cause problems in later life, ignores the obvious point that the size and power of rugby players today is incomparable to what it was 20 years ago.

Eoin should've pulled him up on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

lawred2 wrote: »
    I just listened to this podcast...

You seem to think that the product and the underlying structures are mutually exclusive..

They are not.

Without the right structures you are never going to have anything remotely resembling a product. So someone who seriously wanted to sell a 'product' would have to have a very strong vested interest in the structures of the game.

As such this comment is bit wrong headed

The GAA is obsessed about structures and makes a damn sight more selling its product than the LOI does. If you're not obsessed about selling your product then professional sport isn't for you.

The GAA has a hell of a lot more money, it's comparing apples with oranges. It's up to the FAI to put country wide structures in place, not the LOI.
    There's just no way the LOI will ever be more than it is, it's impossible imho. People just aren't interested and never will. I'm not saying give up, but we'll never have a league with average attendances at 10k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Trump is this Trump is that ....

All they have been talking about.

What about Hillary?

PC bull****.

What is the next crusade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭jooksavage

PC bull****.

FFS, this again?! They have an opinion and it differs from yours so now it's not "fair and balanced". Boohoo. Big strong tough guys railing against lily-liveried so-called political correctness just come across as whiny bitches who are so insecure in their views they can't tolerate a contrary opinion.

I swear if I had a euro for every time someone complained about PC on boards I'd have my mrtgage paid and wouldn't be slogging into work at 5am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

What about Hillary?

PC bull****.

How is this political correctness?

This thread is for giving out about football weekly and occasionally talking about second captains. Feck off to AH and derail a thread like the rest of the poor oppressed, extremely vocal minority edgelords who think the the sun setting in the evening is because a Leftie pc sjw was offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

You need to read the dictionary definition of "all". That is all.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I thought Ken said noble sh1t-king as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭iancm25

Ciaran_B wrote: »

Ditto. He totally did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭buyer95

What did he say again? I remember hearing this and laughing, but can't for the life of me remember what he meant to say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

buyer95 wrote: »
    What did he say again? I remember hearing this and laughing, but can't for the life of me remember what he meant to say?

'No bulls hit king'. Coleman he was talking about iirc. I hear it the other way too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

And again when he repeated himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

100% in agreement with Murph about the haka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭bur

Emmett Malone's opening ...

latest?cb=20091223121853

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

What tune do they use for the 'scumbag' intro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

What tune do they use for the 'scumbag' intro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

So did I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

So did I.

He definitely did!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Say Your Number likes McDevitt talking in the third person.

Never realised Ken's voice was so similar to that of Mr Gilbert from the Inbetweeners.

Hillary Clinton getting an easy ride from Second Captains.

No surprise there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

No surprise there.

People go on about Clinton getting an easy ride. It's because she's up against Donald bloody Trump. Do you want people to ignore him completely? He's a farce of a man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

No surprise there.

You're correct, no surprise at all. I personally don't know anyone who'd side with Trump over Clinton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

dulpit wrote: »
    People go on about Clinton getting an easy ride. It's because she's up against Donald bloody Trump. Do you want people to ignore him completely? He's a farce of a man...

Exactly - Hilary Clinton certainly isn't everyone's cup of tea but Trump is, to paraphrase a great man, literally a human paraquat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

No surprise there.

No great candidate but one is a lunatic so theres that I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ken analysing Trump was an opportunity too good to pass up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Evil_g

Arghus wrote: »
    Ken analysing Trump was an opportunity too good to pass up.

Was this the football show? Don't normally listen to that but would to hear Ken's thoughts on Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Evil_g wrote: »
    Was this the football show? Don't normally listen to that but would to hear Ken's thoughts on Trump.

Yep, decent analysis of the third debate at the end of the football show... Unless you're obsessed by "political correctness" etc. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

Decent is a word I suppose, but I didn't appreciate that part of the show, because they spent too much time on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Does anyone know the Bowie song they used in one of the last football podcasts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Does anyone know the Bowie song they used in one of the last football podcasts?

This one, maybe?

https://youtu.be/fRc2_-BCljQ