Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

anyway Jonathan Wilson is definitely my favourite contributor to Second Captains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

lawred2 wrote: »
    odd way of looking at the world

No one outside the U.K. cares about the poppy. Not said by me. Said by Jonathan Wilson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Why? It doesn't affect us in any way unlike the trump election which is worthy of coverage because it will affect us. We probably don't like everything foreign countries do but I don't see why things that don't affect us should bother us.

The reason some people care here is because it's seen as a symbol commemorating British soldiers who were in NI during the Troubles, or down South for 800 years etc. Then you'll have the argument over the Easter Lily, and so on and so forth.

To me, the whole thing is tiresome. It's a bit like the pubs closing on Good Friday. It's an argument that'll be had every year until the end of time, because as a species, humans are incapable of common sense en-masse.

You'd think it'd be a case of "If you want to wear it (poppy or lily for argument's sake), grand. No one will force you to, and no one will lose the head if you don't. It's your choice.", or to use the pub analogy "If the day off is so important to the 'Poor publicans who only get two days off a year!', then they can choose to close for the day. Those that want the trade can open. No one's going to force them to be open, no one's going to legislate to force them to close. It's their choice."

But alas, we'll be having the exact same discussion this time next year.

Dots1982 wrote: »
    No one outside the U.K. cares about the poppy. Not said by me. Said by Jonathan Wilson.

maybe no-one cares about wearing the poppy outside of the UK.. (that's incorrect anyway - a lot of Irish people still wear it)

But a lot of people do care about national football teams carrying symbols of imperialism and war on their jerseys..

This isn't some auld fella going to mass on Sunday wearing a poppy - all power to him but an organised and mandated public gesture of support for the military by a national side is obscene. But whatever. It's easier not to care.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    The reason some people care here is because it's seen as a symbol commemorating British soldiers who were in NI during the Troubles, or down South for 800 years etc. Then you'll have the argument over the Easter Lily, and so on and so forth.

To me, the whole thing is tiresome. It's a bit like the pubs closing on Good Friday. It's an argument that'll be had every year until the end of time, because as a species, humans are incapable of common sense en-masse.

You'd think it'd be a case of "If you want to wear it (poppy or lily for argument's sake), grand. No one will force you to, and no one will lose the head if you don't. It's your choice.", or to use the pub analogy "If the day off is so important to the 'Poor publicans who only get two days off a year!', then they can choose to close for the day. Those that want the trade can open. No one's going to force them to be open, no one's going to legislate to force them to close. It's their choice."

But alas, we'll be having the exact same discussion this time next year.

Ocean of difference between someone making the individual choice to wear a poppy and the Football Association of England (and Scotland) mandating that the national team kit has to include the poppy.

lawred2 wrote: »
    Ocean of difference between someone making the individual choice to wear a poppy and the Football Association of England (and Scotland) mandating that the national team kit has to include the poppy.

That was sort of what I was trying to say. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Most people in the UK don't see it as imperialism, they are just remembering their fathers etc. who died in the wars. Some people don't want to wear it for very valid reasons like McLean and shouldn't be booed for that. You've the whole thing going on in the US over the flag as well.

N.I. chose black armbands which seems a sensible compromise.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

For what it's worth the poppy itself started simply as a symbol of remembering after WW1. At some point though it was adopted by the British Legion as a charity thing and a way to make money for former soldiers who needed it and that's why it has now come to be associated with the entire British army and all that that entails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

10 mins into the sports pod..... does US Murph at any point stop being all racist and blaming his woes on evil 'whitey'?

For what it's worth the poppy itself started simply as a symbol of remembering after WW1. At some point though it was adopted by the British Legion as a charity thing and a way to make money for former soldiers who needed it and that's why it has now come to be associated with the entire British army and all that that entails.

I've noticed that now there is a poppy hierarchy.

Once the paper/plastic effort was all you seen, but now there is the more ornate, shiny mini metallic poppy adorning half the people on our screens.

Show how you comply extra hard!
    Resistance is futile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

10 mins into the sports pod..... does US Murph at any point stop being all racist and blaming his woes on evil 'whitey'?

The whole lot of em are at it. Its sickening to listen to lately.

I find it grotesque.
    Of all the races, Caucasian was the closest to evenly split between candidates!

The idea that it is the fault of a people of a particular skin colour for voting for the wrong person is repugnant.

US-Murph doesn't seem to be self aware enough to notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They have all gone down in my estimation this week. Ken had a personal meltdown on twitter the other day. Always thought of him as very calm and measured. Maybe he is having personal issues but his Twitter stuff was of Sinead O'Connor proportion

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I remember when I liked this thread :(

I was expecting it due to the content of this week's podcasts, but Jesus threads being dragged off topic with political bickering is a f*cking cancer on this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Anything to be said for another drum-howl? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

I remember when I liked this thread :(

I was expecting it due to the content of this week's podcasts, but Jesus threads being dragged off topic with political bickering is a f*cking cancer on this site.

I dunno. If something is brought into the podcasts then it kind of is up for discussion, but nobody really wants to read pages and pages of these circular arguments either. It's the same problem in the radio forum.

Mod: Enough. Take the political stuff to Politics or Politics Cafe. Deleted some recent posts, will refrain from handing out cards this time, but consider this a warning against blatant personal abuse. Discussion of what was talked about on the podcast is fine, even light elaboration as to why you agree/disagree with the hosts is grand. Just use common sense and for the love of God be civil with each other yeah?

... S'gonna be a looong four years. :( :pac:

Back on topic plz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Mod: Enough. Take the political stuff to Politics or Politics Cafe. Deleted some recent posts, will refrain from handing out cards this time, but consider this a warning against blatant personal abuse. Discussion of what was talked about on the podcast is fine, even light elaboration as to why you agree/disagree with the hosts is grand. Just use common sense and for the love of God be civil with each other yeah?

... S'gonna be a looong four years. :( :pac:

Back on topic plz.

Extraordinary and unacceptable really; but par for the course. Any cards handed out to Elmo? No? Didn't think so
    Naturally you can do what you want such is the undemocratic nature of this website, but make no mistake you are censoring in a way that is more appropriate to China. You also betrayed your own political leanings with last line

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Extraordinary and unacceptable really; but par for the course. Any cards handed out to Elmo? No? Didn't think so
    Naturally you can do what you want such is the undemocratic nature of this website, but make no mistake you are censoring in a way that is more appropriate to China. You also betrayed your own political leanings with last line

Tell you what, I'll do you a favour and unsubscribe from this thread and you can pretend I got banned and you can go back to ranting about political correctness gone mad or whatever it is you feel like moaning about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Brian Murphy (US Murph)

27/10/2016 - "I like a lot of things about Hillary Clinton, I think she's very smart, I think she could make a pretty good president, I think she's pretty moderate"

10/11/2016 - "(Hillary Clinton) Awful flawed candidate, so ridden my scandal, so ridden by fatigue, voter fatigue"

One way traffic in the Second Captains studio it seems.

Think it was Ken who brought up the topic of Echo chambers and that people only want to listen to opinions they agree with.

Is all this lost on the 3 lads and the producers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

It's all rigged!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

May I please ask if any cards were handed out to the person who had a direct disgusting attack on a regular poster here...or was their post just deleted and covered up.

Mod: A final word on this for clarity. The reason cards weren't handed out was because I felt there was wrong-doing on both sides. I prefer to moderate by telling people to cop on when things start getting OTT, in the hopes that common sense will prevail without having to wave cards around.

If anyone has an issue with it, please PM me rather than continuing to drag the thread off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

deleting posts is boring, i'd prefer to have it on record that yosser is a thundering ****ing moron tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Swan Curry wrote: »
    deleting posts is boring, i'd prefer to have it on record that yosser is a thundering ****ing moron tbh

facepalm.jpg

On topic - did anyone get tickets for their live show in Dubland? Would have liked to have gone, but as I'm not living in the Pale...

Hope they don't go overboard with their plugging of their book over next few weeks (like last year), could get a bit tiring...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

You don't check on the thread for a few days....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

There must be no disagreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,527 ✭✭✭batistuta9

i missed it too :mad: thought it was about the show & was waiting until i listened to it.

might try & look at the google cache version to see what went down :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Is anyone else saddened to see that Ken was in Vienna as opposed to New York for the McGregor fight?

I know the football was a bigger story and very much Ken's expertise, but I love Ken reporting from McGregorland.