3 lowlifes get life for bashing a man to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

They climbed into toddys as thats where ney usually drank. Toddy then drank wth them for a few hours till one of davys hit him.

Didn't bother knocking on the door and waiting to be let in like normal people though? Doesn't sound like someone with good intentions.
    Sounds to me like local scumbags taking advantage of an old man, they hardly had a lot in common.

I don't know about anybody else, but say for example, you're all drinking together, a fight breaks out, and the weakest and most vulnerable person is unconcious. What do you do?
    A) call an ambulance
    B) steal his medication, and a bag full of evidence, and leave the scene

Oh sorry I forgot

C) set the dead man on fire before leaving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

I know one of them, had a quick look on Facebook to see if it was the same guy. The sh1t some people go on with. "Happy birthday pal, sometimes it's better in jail. We'll celebrate in style when you win the war" wtf? The poor old man. What an awful way to die, battered to death by 3 little junkies off their heads on God knows what? Hopefully like you said life is life, and they're not out in their 30s, with other scumbags sympathising with the injustice of them having the best years of their lives taken from them.

in general, anytime you see reports appear on the facebook pages of the journal, independant, sunday world etc , they soon become flooded with friends of the criminals posting "you did nothing wrong boy" "your a lovely fella" etc.

shows what we are up against really in this country.

in general, anytime you see reports appear on the facebook pages of the journal, independant, sunday world etc , they soon become flooded with friends of the criminals posting "you did nothing wrong boy" "your a lovely fella" etc.

shows what we are up against really in this country.

You can see it in this thread. "They're conditioned to be like this due to their upbringing, it's not their fault they murdered someone, they're entitled to their human rights".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Why did you reply twice to the same post?

You give them enough food so they're not malnourished, yes, but certainly they should not be getting lots of food... and most of the food they do get should taste like cardboard... Bland, boring, tasteless gruel. (nutriloaf I think some prisons serve in the US)

You could pay them something. But very little... it's a punishment, not a job strictly speaking. They should be doing work that nobody else wants/enjoys doing.... digging ditches, cleaning sewers etc stuff like that. Humiliating exhausting and boring work! (it doesn't have to be unnecessary either btw - lots of menial tasks need doing)

I don't really care if they take pride in it. I care if they feel like their life in prison feels like punishment... if it does... job done! :D

If they fail to comply? They should be sentenced to forced labor as punishment for their crimes.

The work should be classified as rehabilitative labor... failure to engage with a rehabilitative program should result in punishment - solitary confinement, removal of all privileges, added time on to their sentence... whatever it takes!

Of course in this country of liberal-minded pu$$ies, you'd never get away with it... we're too kind and caring towards the lowest scum in society! Any hard line approach would have the crybabies whaling about human rights and slavery etc! ;)

I don't know if your drivel of a post replete with winky emoticons is supposed to make you sound like a hard ass but it doesn't. It's rubbish.

If forced labour, appalling prison conditions and torture worked so well in the past then why were they abolished?

They say you can judge how civilised a society is by a look at its prisons. You clearly relate better to savages than to those of us who are bit more enlightened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

HensVassal wrote: »

They say you can judge how civilised a society is by a look at its prisons.

"They" are liberal idiots who have no understanding of how the world really should be.

"They" are to blame for 3 men with multiple priors murdering a pensioner with a baseball bat.

lawlolawl wrote: »
    It's not radically right wing to expect dangerous criminals to be removed from society.

I don't expect the justice system to be all hugs and cuddles because anyone who ends up in conflict with it usually deserves it. I won't need to worry about it because i have had literally zero negative dealings with it in my 33 years, the same as my direct family have had zero negative dealings with it in 60+ years.

Bashing left wing policies is popular because they have been shown up as a pathetic failure and people are finally realizing that we need to stop trying to play nice with the savages in our society.

I don't know what you do for a living, but it was left wing politics that determined you shouldn't be compelled to work more than 40 hours in a week, in safe, sanitary conditions. It was left wing politics that pressured industrialists to pay you a fair wage for the labour you do. It was left wing politics that strove to implement rigorous health and safety regulations so that the food you eat, the water your kids drink and the aircraft/trains/buses that you and your family travel on are safe and up to standard. And it was left wing politics that ensured that you and your family have access to free or affordable health care and education.

So broadstroke over every single progressive issue and slag off the very people who have made your life better as bleeding-heart "libtard" tree-huggers. Many of them have taken a bullet or a bat to the head in their struggle to implement these social gains. Something I doubt you would have the courage to do.

It's astounding there's people justifying the three people who murdered a defenceless old man in his own home, after they gained entry by climbing in through windows. How can there be any defence?

The funny thing about it, is if Dooley attempted to defend himself or his property (like padraig nally), he'd most likely be the one in prison.

I don't see anyone justifying these 3 thugs.

Oh yeah, the lefties are all open minded and intelligent... and nice soft push overs that the criminals are basically laughing at.

Always amuses me how people with a more hard line/zero tolerance approach are viewed as somehow narrow minded and less intelligent. lol

People admit that we are too soft on crime, and our sentences are too lenient... then when anyone suggests some tougher measures everybody fears that people will see them as some right wing nutter if they agree.

Strange society we live in...

There's a whale of a difference between strict and tough measures in response to crime and your nutcase recommendations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

I don't know if your drivel of a post replete with winky emoticons is supposed to make you sound like a hard ass but it doesn't. It's rubbish.

If forced labour, appalling prison conditions and torture worked so well in the past then why were they abolished?

They say you can judge how civilised a society is by a look at its prisons. You clearly relate better to savages than to those of us who are bit more enlightened.

Oh, so you are what passes for an enlightened individual are you? lol

Can I ask you where you motivation comes from to treat the scum of society in such a favorable way? Or is it just that you think it makes you look more "civilized"? (Is that it? It's merely about how others perceive you/us?)

From where I'm standing, people with your mentality are allowing those savages you speak about, to walk all over the good decent people in society.

Your misguided and frankly uppity sense of civility is of greater importance than making a stand against their moral turpitude!?

Forgive me for thinking that a criminal deserves to be treated as such, and punished as such. If that makes me an uncivilized savage, then so be it. I don't really give a sh!t how I'm perceived... I care about fairness and justice! (perhaps you should worry less about your image, and concentrate on what's actually important) ;)

I don't see anyone justifying these 3 thugs.

You must have missed one of the convicted BFF declaring what a great guy he was, an absolute gent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I don't know what you do for a living, but it was left wing politics that determined you shouldn't be compelled to work more than 40 hours in a week, in safe, sanitary conditions. It was left wing politics that pressured industrialists to pay you a fair wage for the labour you do. It was left wing politics that strove to implement rigorous health and safety regulations so that the food you eat, the water your kids drink and the aircraft/trains/buses that you and your family travel on are safe and up to standard. And it was left wing politics that ensured that you and your family have access to free or affordable health care and education.

Yeah, right wing politicians want the general public to die on mass for no apparent reason.

Are you ok dude? Do you genuinely believe any of this?

Also, i work 48 hours a week much like everyone else in semi-state/state jobs. The leftists messed up somewhere there. How could that be possible :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 131 ✭✭MartyDublin

You must have missed one of the convicted BFF declaring what a great guy he was, an absolute gent.

Show me a post that justified the murder?

Oh, so you are what passes for an enlightened individual are you? lol

Can I ask you where you motivation comes from to treat the scum of society in such a favorable way? Or is it just that you think it makes you look more "civilized"? (Is that it? It's merely about how others perceive you/us?)

From where I'm standing, people with your mentality are allowing those savages you speak about, to walk all over the good decent people in society.

Your misguided and frankly uppity sense of civility is of greater importance than making a stand against their moral turpitude!?

Forgive me for thinking that a criminal deserves to be treated as such, and punished as such. If that makes me an uncivilized savage, then so be it. I don't really give a sh!t how I'm perceived... I care about fairness and justice! (perhaps you should worry less about your image, and concentrate on what's actually important) ;)

You'll not see me advocating that these 3 be treated in any favourable way. I'm just calling out as inane drivel the ubiquitous rants from people calling for them to be hanged, shot, lynched, garrotted, worked to death, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

That's the only poster Lexie , everyone else knows what these individuals are like.

You have no idea what guys are like. You are all pontificating from a view of thr media.

We know they're murdering scumbags who tried set a house on fire with people asleep. We don't need to know much more than that as they've been removed from civilised society, thank the Lord.

Matthew will be out in february thankfully, watch this space. Awful miscarriage of justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

You'll not see me advocating that these 3 be treated in any favourable way. I'm just calling out as inane drivel the ubiquitous rants from people calling for them to be hanged, shot, lynched, garrotted, worked to death, etc.

Well, let me call out the laughably ridiculous comments about the so-called civilized society you think we're all living in... where someone with 67 priors can walk the streets wielding a baseball bat, drunk and off his head on drugs... and cave in the head of some helpless pensioner!

It's your softly, softly approach that means these guys get a slap on the wrist so many times before they commit these acts.

If we were harder on young offenders in particular, there is a good chance that they would not go on to do these things. They prey on weakness, because no one stands up to them...

Too many people are worried about being perceived as harsh or "uncivilized" in our treatment of them... and they're laughing at all of us!

Matthew will be out in february thankfully, watch this space. Awful miscarriage of justice.

Oh stop, absolutely shocking miscarriage of justice that someone can be beaten to death in their own home, and the murderers will ever see the light of day again.

And you can give a valued measured opinion based on a cell share ?

Exactly.

Exactly.

And everyone else is wrong ? Judiciary, jurors, Gardai , prosecution and media ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Will you be giving him a job when he gets out or maybe set him up with something through your "friends" in Holland?

And everyone else is wrong ? Judiciary, jurors, Gardai , prosecution and media ?

And those people who had to live amongst him since he was causing nothing but trouble since he was 14 years of age? He's done nothing constructive with his life except terrify people in the vicinity for years. 69 convictions and a convicted murderer, as well as an arsonist. And that's only the times he was caught.

People always find their own level though.

tipptom wrote: »
    Will you be giving him a job when he gets out or maybe set him up with something through your "friends" in Holland?

Happily give him a job. I lived in holland me friends are in marbella, Banus to be exact.
    Listen one eejit already identified me on the thread earlier today. If ya wanna sit down over a pint and ill explain this case to ya, let me know. Ill even treat ya to one.

And those people who had to live amongst him since he was causing nothing but trouble since he was 14 years of age? He's done nothing constructive with his life except terrify people in the vicinity for years. 69 convictions and a convicted murderer, as well as an arsonist. And that's only the times he was caught.

One post at a time Lexie , one post ?
    We want a fair and measured response ?

Nothing constructive the bloke studied and worked.

Judiciary never met him outside court, jurors never met him outside court, media never met him outside court.
    One of the gaurds identified him as playing a minor role in this in open court.