3 lowlifes get life for bashing a man to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,956 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Why hasn't this thread been locked/ heavily edited?

Some highly dubious posters on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Why hasn't this thread been locked/ heavily edited?

Some highly dubious posters on here.

The guy who claims to know him volunteered the information and has been pretty vocal about defending the guy.

Also, the court case is over. Fair game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

37 of them are for drunken bleeding disorderly. Hes hardly a hardened criminal mastermind
    I'm 28 years old. I've been arrested 0 times. I've been in court, even as a witness 0 times. I've been in a cell 0 times. I've been cautioned 0 times.
    My partner is just shy of 30. He's never been in a cell, in a garda car, been arrested, or been in court.
    None of my friends have ever been arrested. In our combined group of friends, his friends and my friends on a night out, there is still a combined number of ZERO convictions. We've all been out, we've all been drunk, in fact most of us would have seen the same guards out and about that cummins would have run into. And nope, not even 1 conviction between about 15 of us. Not even a caution.

So "only 39" were drunk and disorderly? Really?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 131 ✭✭MartyDublin

lawlolawl wrote: »
    This is starting to say more about you than it is about him.

I think you might be a poor judge of character. Suppose it comes with the whole "ending up in prison" thing.

Of course mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I'm 28 years old. I've been arrested 0 times. I've been in court, even as a witness 0 times. I've been in a cell 0 times. I've been cautioned 0 times.
    My partner is just shy of 30. He's never been in a cell, in a garda car, been arrested, or been in court.
    None of my friends have ever been arrested. In our combined group of friends, his friends and my friends on a night out, there is still a combined number of ZERO convictions. We've all been out, we've all been drunk, in fact most of us would have seen the same guards out and about that cummins would have run into. And nope, not even 1 conviction between about 15 of us. Not even a caution.

You just haven't had the right opportunities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

Water charge protests, bike lane protests, abortion protests. I personally don't give a cr@p about any of them, just shocked that those issues arouse enough emotion to initiate action and yet this issue (lenient sentences for repeating scumbags which can, as this case prices, result in the horrendously gruesome mudder of an innocent gentleman) generates nothing more than a thread on boards.

Arent you all just wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

On another note, could the family of the victim not sue the crap out of the state for their negligence in allowing these animals roam free? Surely the state has a minimum duty of care for its citizens? If you can get 25k for falling down an escalator in the airport like...

Well, maybe. In our circle, it's no big deal getting through life without being a hindrance to society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Hes hardly a hardened criminal mastermind

He's young, give him time! ;)

One day he might have lots "businesses" too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Oddly enough Marty.. I do have some sympathy for young Matthew.. if he had you representing him in court things could've been so much better.

Nah, just a normal citizen unlike some other people who end up sharing a cell with someone who has been convicted of murdering a pensioner with a baseball bat.

I'm sure the counselors and social workers in prison told you you were great but they are paid to do that and they are half demented to get into that line of work in the first place. Who wants to spend their day dealing with criminals and pretending that they are members of society?

He's young, give him time! ;)

One day he might have lots "businesses" too!

Tax paid legitimate business.

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Nah, just a normal citizen unlike some other people who end up sharing a cell with someone who has been convicted of murdering a pensioner with a baseball bat.

I'm sure the counselors and social workers in prison told you you were great but they are paid to do that and they are half demented to get into that line of work in the first place. Who wants to spend their day dealing with criminals and pretending that they are members of society?

Mate i make more in 8 hours then ya do in a month. Follow along young peasant.

I'm sure you do, how many deaths though does the other poster have hanging over him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Tax paid legitimate business.

Who runs them all when you're banged up in prison, with all your mates the murderers and rapists?

Good man, you're a real class act. I'm sure all your murderer buddies look up to you and hope they can follow in your footsteps once they get out.

You are embarrassing yourself at this stage.

Who runs them all when you're banged up in prison, with all your mates the murderers and rapists?

Ive done one sentence. And i was remanded in custody on this charge. Thats all me oul mate other then that i live the good life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Sad reality in modern Ireland is,You and your kind don't count for anything.

You are simply contributors,expected to keep the system financed,and it's operatives in comfort.

Every contributor on this thread,For & Against,can take some solace in the fact that the Judiciary do not read Boards.ie,or,if they do,they ignore most of what is on it.......

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-convicted-of-attempted-murder-who-chased-people-while-armed-with-knives-given-suspended-sentence-35121659.html
    Michael Brennan (29) was given the three year suspended sentence in Dublin Circuit Criminal Court today on condition that he enter into a residential treatment program for drug addiction.

Fair enough,one might say ?
    He has 67 previous convictions including attempted murder, intimidation of a witness and threats to kill. He was released in May 2015 from the ten-year attempted murder sentence imposed in 2007.

One could,I suppose,enquire of the learned Counsel what she would consider a "Negative" probation Report would consist of ?
    Defence counsel, Sandra Frayne BL, previously told the court that Brennan had spent most of his adult life in prison and had been released without any support structures in place.

She said the probation report was positive but noted he was at a high risk of re-offending due to his previous record and drug addiction.

So Lexie O R,it does indeed appear that you are simply "Not with the Programme" on this issue....you may require a consultant to set you right ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

So it is my fault, as a member of society that did not help these three lads lead a better life, that they murdered this old man?

Lock me up your honour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

That from pushing drugs yeah? Funny, I came across this, noticed you were boasting in another thread of living with a well known and now deceased criminal in Holland. Maybe your just full of sh*t.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101322839

Get back under your bridge! How could you defend a defenceless pensioner getting his head smashed in.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

MOD

This is not a AMA thread on MartyDublin. Can you please keep the thread on topic.

MartyDublin - you are new around here, so I would suggest you read the charter, we don't like personal abuse such as this in AH
    Follow along young peasant.

Keep the thread on topic folks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 DontYaKNOWME

So if matthew is such a good guy like you proclaimed why is he going around murdering old men.
    What Kind of lovely person does this?

So if matthew is such a good guy like you proclaimed why is he going around murdering old men.
    What Kind of lovely person does this?

Do you know the lad. And also if ya read me posts he didnt play any part in harming toddy. He is not guilty of murder.

Yes I do. And I'd be dialling 999 if I saw him outside my house, never mind him climbing in the window.
    Why was he in the old mans house?

He is clearly guilty of murder that is why he is serving a life sentence.

Yes I do. And I'd be dialling 999 if I saw him outside my house, never mind him climbing in the window.
    Why was he in the old mans house?

They climbed into toddys as thats where ney usually drank. Toddy then drank wth them for a few hours till one of davys hit him.

He is clearly guilty of murder that is why he is serving a life sentence.

You havent a clue mate. Your just jumping on board with popular opinion here. Grow your own opiniom

Do you know the lad.

That's a great defense. More solicitors should try that.

"Yer honour, you don't even know the lad, he's dead on. I move that all charges against him are dropped immediately on account of how sound he is."

The chap beat an old man with a baseball bat. If that isnt contributing to murder I dont know what is.