3 lowlifes get life for bashing a man to death.

You beat a kind old man to death with a baseball bat in his own home

you deserve everything you get

So rape is the answer? Can we apply that to theft and other crimes to?

jmayo wrote: »
    Why are so concerned about three low life murders who bludgeoned an innocent man to death in his own home ?

They have probably contributed absolutely zero to society through out their whole lives.

I'd be more concerned that someone thinks rape is the answer to anything. Lock those tramps up by all means, I'm fully aware of what they did and it was vile.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

MOD
    Understandably this is a sensitive issue and please feel free to discuss the case. But please draw the line at what other 'scentences' you would like to see handed down to the 3 men guilty of the crime.

We are not here to promote harm, violence or revenge fantasies in AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

HensVassal wrote: »
    FFS what is it with you and your rants about "left-leaning" this and "left-leaning" that?

The damn death penalty isn't about right and left, it's about right and wrong. And please don't trot out the predictable "Oh I bet you suggest these three scumbags get counselling and hugs and a holiday!" ..... No I don't. I am happy to see them banged up for 30 years or more until they are the age of the man they killed.
    But barfing out inane platitudes like "they should be beaten to a pulp with bats and then set on fire, blah, blah, blah" is not big and it's not clever. It's stupid.

If you would prefer we have kangaroo courts and showtrials and torture and summary executions etc., rather than due process then maybe you'd feel more at home in Uganda or Myanmar.

I'm sick to the back teeth of locker-room politicians deriding the "looney-left" for all society's ills when the left wing are generally just people who are supporters of women's rights, minority rights, regulation and are not hypocrites...you know, people who actually engage their brains before opening their mouths.

Yes left/liberals, whatever term you want to use were originally fighting for non discrimination of minorities, non discrimination of races, for equality between sexes, then equality for people with different sexual orientation.
    But somewhere along the way that group or a sizeable portion started fighting for the rights of criminals.

Rehabilitation became the buzzword and the idea was that prisoners would be rehabilitated, would receive lesser sentences and be allowed back out into society a better person.

Except there isn't any worthwhile rehabilitation, but there are the lower sentences.
    When did the concepts of suspended sentences, bale, remand, remission for not getting into trouble when actually in prison come into being ?

How can people manage to amass 50 plus convictions, often including violent crime, and yet be walking around free ?

Everytime there is a discussion here about the latest one of these awful crimes it usually works out the same.
    The perpetrators usually have a long string of previous convictions, often prison terms or suspended sentences along the way.

Some posters come on and say the guilty should be shot and whatnot.

And the next thing you know the leftie/liberal posters arrive defending the system that yet again has allowed yet another multi-conviction suspended sentence criminal be free to commit a murder or rape.

A poster above referenced to fact we should not call them scum because it breeds an "us and them" and that is not good for solving the issues or rehabilitation, etc.

Well to me it is quiet simply US and THEM.

US are the ones who want to live our lives peacefully without fear of attack, treat people with a bit of respect and keep the possessions that we worked hard for.

THEM are the fooking **nts who do not treat anyone with respect, want to take our hard earned possessions, do not care if they mentally or physically hurt us, rape or kill us.

It is fooking groundhog day here everytime one of these incidents is debated.

But we can go quiet until the next one and there will be a next one and one after that.

The thing is, for the family of that poor man they can't just forget about it until the next one, they will have to live with this for the rest of their lives.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Wow, it's a bit right wing in here! You'd soon be complaining if this was about Irish in England and message boards saying kill 'em.

Whereas in left-wing Marxist countries, murderers are...?

Right and left are meaningless terms with this case. Nationalities have nothing got to do with this case.

This case is about justice and lack thereof. Sorry if that doesn't fit your 'identity' politics.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 131 ✭✭MartyDublin

One of lads found guilty is in midlands prison and in great form today thankfully sentence didnt grab him down. He shouldnt of been found guilty of murder, accessory or contributor but not murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

One of lads found guilty is in midlands prison and in great form today thankfully sentence didnt grab him down. He shouldnt of been found guilty of murder, accessory or contributor but not murder.

He forced his way into an old mans house, off his face, and the three of them were present when the old man had his head caved in with a baseball bat. What sort of physco carries a baseball bat on a drug fuelled night out? Bringing it to the pub from the pub to a houseparty, to a shop and finally to an elderly mans home?

They stood by while whoever delivered the blows. Infact, they all turned on each other like rats. No he did it, he did it, oh he just gave him a tap. Nobody called an ambulance, nobody tried to get him help, nobody seems to remember who actually killed him, nobody tried to stop it, and then they couldn't leave it like that, instead feeling like that wasn't bad enough, that they should somehow set the man on fire. They all contributed to that mans death, they're all horrible little knackers and they should have all been in prison way before this happened. Good that he's happy, may he always find comfort behind bars away from the rest of civilised society. Maybe the rest of the elderly will rest easy in Edenderry knowing they're not going to be next.

Edit to add, in fact. The one of them I know, I know he'd sh1t himself at the thoughts of someone bigger than him coming at him. Can't speak about the other 2, but at least 1 of them is a cowardly bastard. No surprise though, considering they waited for a woman to go to bed before trying to set fire to her house, and then breaking in to an old mans house.

He forced his way into an old mans house, off his face, and the three of them were present when the old man had his head caved in with a baseball bat. What sort of physco carries a baseball bat on a drug fuelled night out? Bringing it to the pub from the pub to a houseparty, to a shop and finally to an elderly mans home?

They stood by while whoever delivered the blows. Infact, they all turned on each other like rats. No he did it, he did it, oh he just gave him a tap. Nobody called an ambulance, nobody tried to get him help, nobody seems to remember who actually killed him, nobody tried to stop it, and then they couldn't leave it like that, instead feeling like that wasn't bad enough, that they should somehow set the man on fire. They all contributed to that mans death, they're all horrible little knackers and they should have all been in prison way before this happened. Good that he's happy, may he always find comfort behind bars away from the rest of civilised society. Maybe the rest of the elderly will rest easy in Edenderry knowing they're not going to be next.

He didnt start his night with lads, he didnt carry baseball bat, he did not strike the man with the bat. He tried to dispose of evidence. I seen the book of evidence detective said in his statement he didnt believe matthew cummins contributed to cause of death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

eeguy wrote: »
    69 convictions,
    7 convictions,
    21 convictions.

Scum like that should have been jailed for life long ago.

You do realize you can get multiple charges from one arrest right?
    69 convictions doesn't mean 69 separate arrests.

However its the caliber of convictions he has, for offences like arson and assault show he was a danger long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

He didnt start his night with lads, he didnt carry baseball bat, he did not strike the man with the bat. He tried to dispose of evidence. I seen the book of evidence detective said in his statement he didnt believe matthew cummins contributed to cause of death.

He might not have intended to be party to a murder and I accept things can escalate beyond the control of individual's. In saying that though he tried to cover it up and protect his mates. He's as guilty as they are in my book.

So, why didn't he call an ambulance? Or stop the others from hitting him? He did contribute to a mans death by DOING NOTHING. If he had nothing to hide why didn't he go find joe Bradley and tell him what happened?

Still though "doing NOTHING" isn't murder, it may be immoral and a contributing factor but its not premeditated murder

eviltwin wrote: »
    He might not have intended to be party to a murder and I accept things can escalate beyond the control of individual's. In saying that though he tried to cover it up and protect his mates. He's as guilty as they are in my book.

Yes he was an accessory to the fact. But lets get this right- definition of a murder conviction is to prove beyond reasonable doubt that person was resonsible solely or by joint enterprise this could not be proved as he didnt inflict injury upon toddy as stated by his 2 co accused. He did try dispose of the body. Im a person who is currently awaiting a murder trial and know what needs to be proven

Your touching on dangerous legal ground with that one, you may want to edit and remove that personal detail about yourself.

tomofson wrote: »
    Still though "doing NOTHING" isn't murder, it may be immoral and a contributing factor but its not premeditated murder

None of the scum seem to remember what happened though, oh no it was jay. It was Sean. No it was Matthew but he only tipped him. Had one of them intervened, or went to get help, could the man have been saved? Maybe.

I can only imagine how id deal witnessing my friend smash an old mans head in but I doubt I'd leave him there with a fractured skull and go hide the baseball hat.

Matthew cummins has 69 prior convictions, he's no shrinking violet.

Your touching on dangerous legal ground with that one, you may want to edit and remove that personal detail about yourself.

I havent reffered to my own case at all.

Enough said.

None of the scum seem to remember what happened though, oh no it was jay. It was Sean. No it was Matthew but he only tipped him. Had one of them intervened, or went to get help, could the man have been saved? Maybe.

I can only imagine how id deal witnessing my friend smash an old mans head in but I doubt I'd leave him there with a fractured skull and go hide the baseball hat.

Matthew cummins has 69 prior convictions, he's no shrinking violet.

I know what convictions he has and they are a cause of concern but even hes previous convictions still don't prove murder. Most likely one of them is telling the truth if you have 3 different events in their statements. Unless another party was present and done the deed by himself then there is 3 innocent men doing life. I'm only saying that because its a possibility by the way not that I believe it.

If none of them seem to remember what happened then the case should have been struck out, the statements against each other made up most of the case and they are very unreliable witnesses to say the least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Two famous ones.. Harry Gleeson recently , 70 years after being executed and Peter Pringle.

Our neighbours had a few crackers recently too Birmingham Six and Guildford Four.

I was a member of the Innocence Project , the figure of between 2.5 and 5 percent is guide.

In the US I believe it's closer to 10% of prisoners behind bars are completely innocent. Many of them are on death row as well.

Great book you should read: "Thirty-Six Murders and Two Immoral Earnings" by Ludovic Kennedy

I know what convictions he has and they are a cause of concern but even hes previous convictions still don't prove murder. Most likely one of them is telling the truth if you have 3 different events in their statements. Unless another party was present and done the deed by himself then there is 3 innocent men doing life. I'm only saying that because its a possibility by the way not that I believe it.
    Well he was found guilty of murder in a proper trial with judges and witness reports and evidence. I'll take that rather than the word of another individual also waiting on a murder trial.

What I find baffling is people like that "knowing their rights" and what they need to know and prove, and feel like it's their almost right, to take that away from another person. Unbelievable.

Well he was found guilty of murder in a proper trial with judges and witness reports and evidence. I'll take that rather than the word of another individual also waiting on a murder trial.

What I find baffling is people like that "knowing their rights" and what they need to know and prove, and feel like it's their almost right, to take that away from another person. Unbelievable.

Just because someone is waiting on a murder trial doesn't mean they are guilty though, plenty of examples of innocence standing trial for crimes they didn't commit. He has as much right to an opinion on the matter as anyone else and if he knows the details of the case then even more so than anyone speculating anonymously over an internet forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

You beat a kind old man to death with a baseball bat in his own home

you deserve everything you get

Wow, how macho.

For a start i will beat my murder trial. I was issued bail, they state know i will beat it. Im innocent. Lets get this right as poster said above. Being charged with murder doesnt allocate guilt upon a person. Amanda knox? Raffaelle sollecito?

Just because someone is waiting on a murder trial doesn't mean they are guilty though, plenty of examples of innocence standing trial for crimes they didn't commit. He has as much right to an opinion on the matter as anyone else and if he knows the details of the case then even more so than anyone speculating anonymously over an internet forum.

He has the word of a convicted murderer with 69 previous convictions, who was on so much drugs, they tried set that April murray woman's house on fire, while there were people sleeping upstairs.

Also, I would query how a poster awaiting a murder trial knows the mood and form in the Midlands prison this morning but I suspect that's for another thread, or possibly the authorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

One of lads found guilty is in midlands prison and in great form today thankfully sentence didnt grab him down.

Fantastic. Great to hear he's doing well then... :rolleyes:

Because prison holds no fear for many of these chaps... in many cases it's just a continuation of the life they've been leading outside prison. They get to hang out with like-minded individuals - perhaps even some of their mates or family members too...

They don't have to work or have any responsibilities. The state looks after them, full bed and board... as much drugs as they want etc. It's a fcuking holiday camp!

We are far too liberal in the way we treat our prisoners in this country. In order for prison to be a proper deterrent to criminals, it needs to be seriously hard fcuking time....

It needs to be a drug-free zone. Prisoners should be drug tested frequently... anyone found with drugs in their system should get automatic solitary confinement and any privileges such as TV etc removed.

Also I think hard manual labor would do the trick for many of these guys... WHY? Because the thought of a hard day's work is actually more frightening to them than the thought of being banged up in prison! That's the reality...

For some people, removing their freedom is a big deal. But not for everyone... some people quite like prison life.

That should change. Nobody should ever be able to enjoy prison life. It's supposed to be a punishment. If you make sure it feels like punishment for everyone, you'll certainly bring down the rates of re-offenders. (if not crime in general)

He has the word of a convicted murderer with 69 previous convictions, who was on so much drugs, they tried set that April murray woman's house on fire, while there were people sleeping upstairs.

Also, I would query how a poster awaiting a murder trial knows the mood and form in the Midlands prison this morning but I suspect that's for another thread, or possibly the authorities.

I believe he was trying to debate whether cummins deserves to be a convicted murderer or not, so hes word on the matter is very valid.

Anyway I'm sure he will appeal the conviction and further facts will come out when he does so.

I was doubled up with matthew from january 2015 i seen his book of evidence read it throuroughly, seen the statements from all involved medical reports. And prisoners get phone calls i was talking to a prisoner today and matthew got on the phone. Does that curb your theory.

To be honest, I feel dirty even having anything to say to the likes of you. So, I won't be saying much more than that.

I presume it's the same book of evidence and statements and medical reports that went before a judge and jury of people not awaiting trial for murder, which was all evidence that lead to his conviction. About time he was locked up.
    You seem to put a lot of stock into the fact you know you're innocent and will get off, even though another person is laying cold in the ground. Surely you of all people have faith in the justice system that'll seperate innocent from guilty.

To be honest, I feel dirty even having anything to say to the likes of you. So, I won't be saying much more than that.

I presume it's the same book of evidence and statements and medical reports that went before a judge and jury of people not awaiting trial for murder, which was all evidence that lead to his conviction. About time he was locked up.
    You seem to put a lot of stock into the fact you know you're innocent and will get off, even though another person is laying cold in the ground. Surely you of all people have faith in the justice system that'll seperate innocent from guilty.

Oh the arrogance of you is stinking. The likes of me come down out of your ivory tower. For a start the book of evidence isnt provided to the court jury or judge. It is used as a prosecutions tool.

I have no faith in irish justice system, if i did id not of been in custody for as long without bail. Lets just put it this way CCTV cannot be proven wrong neither can time. So lexi yes i will be found Not guilty.

Of course you do your classism is evident in everything you say and do just like most people on boards