Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cant Cope Wont Cope

lukin wrote: »
    The woman who wrote the series (Stefanie Preissner) is from Mallow originally. I'd say if she had her way the scenes in "Mallow" would have been in the real Mallow but RTE probably couldn't afford it. I'm guessing that anyway.

Surely when they went all the way down to Mallow on the train they could have taken a few shots of the town. I'm sure Mallow wouldn't have minded the exposure. RTE are a very Dublin centred organisation. It's pathetic really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Nailed on to get a 2nd series I'd say, regardless of the mixed reviews.

I see the social media reaction is almost entirely hugely positive, some examples:

*#cantcopewontcope is brilliant. Proper belly laughs @StefPreissner writing. @SeanaKerslake you are killing it - stunning and funny
    *So... #cantcopewontcope is probably the best Irish TV series in years. Congrats to all involved. Mega stuff
    *#cantcopewontcope is the funniest show on @rte ��
    *Is anyone else watching #cantcopewontcope on @RTE2 ? It's so so good!!
    *@StefPreissner l love your writing. #cantcopewontcope is the best Irish show that's ever been made. Brings me back to my 20s
    *Didn't want tonight's #cantcopewontcope to end it was literally the best thing ever����

They were consecutive ones in the search by the way!

Who are these people?!

ligerdub wrote: »

I see the social media reaction is almost entirely hugely positive, some examples:

*#cantcopewontcope is brilliant. Proper belly laughs @StefPreissner writing. @SeanaKerslake you are killing it - stunning and funny
    *So... #cantcopewontcope is probably the best Irish TV series in years. Congrats to all involved. Mega stuff
    *@StefPreissner l love your writing. #cantcopewontcope is the best Irish show that's ever been made. Brings me back to my 20s
    *Didn't want tonight's #cantcopewontcope to end it was literally the best thing ever����

Who are these people?!

Errr.....no just no.....
    Tom-Vaughan-Lawlor--e1389817323405.jpg

I completely agree...just who the fúck are these people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭RyanDrive

Thought the third episode was the worst. The whole family angle was awful. The actresses playing the two main girls are good but all the supporting characters and storylines are so cartoonish and silly it's hard to take seriously. I'm baffled by the twitter reaction - many of my female friends (in their 20s) thought it was awful. I know I sound like an absolute git here but it's one of those shows that if you heard a person saying they found it funny you'd think they were a bit slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

We do RTE keep getting comedy so wrong? Just about everything they've produced over the past 10 years has been poor.

And the savage eye which was excellent can't even buy another series....hell episode even

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

Just watched it there. The acting is defo stronger than the material but I can still relate to the story line etc
    I've seen my fair share of friends not get past the grow up stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Got2TurnAround

I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I found the last episode very depressing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Seems to be people fawning over all the media types wannabe celebs bloggers.Its very poor

I thought the first series of Damo and Ivor was pretty funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,424 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

ligerdub wrote: »

Who are these people?!

Writers and affiliates of the god awful Her.ie no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

Just catching up now. Couple of plotholes that annoyed me. You need the credit card you paid with to retrieve your Irish Rail tickets, yet Aisling just used the booking reference. She clearly bought a corked bottle of wine yet was able to drink it when she went knacker drinking.

Don't know Mallow myself so can't comment on whether the scenes were filmed there or not.

Also who the hell wears denim mini skirts these days :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

I've always been able to put in the reference number in on the ticket machine and get the ticket without the credit card... Irrelevant I know but still.

Oh must be a new thing, haven't taken a train in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

The scene with the family annoyed me too. I know families bicker but the nickering seemed too extreme and unrealistic to me.

Call over to mine over christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Mindset

I think it was good untill Mondays episode. Its beginning to take a turn and is basically about a young professional descending into alcoholism. Monday nights episode wasn't even funny. And if i hear the word 'like' again like I'll snap like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Given those gripes, why did the parents need to bring their other children in the car to the train station. Aisling's sister is clearly 18 (unless underage getting into the local club) so why would she be forced to do something she clearly doesn't want to do? Because the comedy factor, how we laughed as they moaned about how tight it was in the back seat. The family stuff was terribly acted. I can see what they were going for in the reactions but it was so badly executed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Ernest

Monife wrote: »
    Just catching up now. Couple of plotholes that annoyed me. You need the credit card you paid with to retrieve your Irish Rail tickets, yet Aisling just used the booking reference. She clearly bought a corked bottle of wine yet was able to drink it when she went knacker drinking.

Don't know Mallow myself so can't comment on whether the scenes were filmed there or not.

Also niggling me: Ashling orders "two coffees" in the lounge bar(?). Do young people ever do that anymore? Two black coffees maybe, two Americanos perhaps, two cappuccinos or lattes possibly. The waitress then brings two cups to the table No mention of milk or sugar or sweetener?
    [I couldn't see whether the scene also had that other common television drama irritant: actors "drinking" from what is obviously an empty cup - it never looks right!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Ernest wrote: »
    Also niggling me: Ashling orders "two coffees" in the lounge bar(?). Do young people ever do that anymore? Two black coffees maybe, two Americanos perhaps, two cappuccinos or lattes possibly. The waitress then brings two cups to the table No mention of milk or sugar or sweetener?
    [I couldn't see whether the scene also had that other common television drama irritant: actors "drinking" from what is obviously an empty cup - it never looks right!]

In a cafe no, in a pub yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Speaking of the pub scene, sure if yer man is now clean and sober then I'm sure he would have texted back "how about the cafe instead of the pub?". I found it hard to believe that she wouldn't have heard a single thing about him since they split about him getting married and having a child. Especially given she texted him in a heartbeat when she was home.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Finally got to watch a bit of this, and nothing has changed my view that this is at least meant to be, and designed as, a half hour sitcom, that has somehow got the word "drama" labelled on it very late in the day. Very few actual dramas run for 25 minutes that aren't soaps (and whatever this is, it's definitely not a soap).

Ernest wrote: »

It was filmed in Howth not Mallow. Id recognise it anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Red Kev wrote: »
    Grainne Seoige presented it in a studio that looked like Apple had designed it; blinding white. Ruby Walsh and someone else were team captains in a rip off of BBC's "Question of Sport", loads of "banter" between the lads.

If they tried another version of "Know Your Sport" or "Cross Country Quiz" then I'm convinced it would work. Thousands of people head to pub quizzes every weekend here and keeping it to a 30 minute slot over the winter would work. Little chat and plenty of questions.

It would mean the great unwashed TV licence payers entering Montrose and less money in the bag for some of Noel Kelly's clients, which would annoy some of the RTE execs, but it might actually get viewers interested.

/mini-rant over

I remember that sports quiz program but cant for the life of me recall the name! It was truly awful. Pat Spillane was on it and kept talking down to Seoige by saying "Good girl Grainne"

last night episode wasn't much better. I don't like either of the main characters. Aishlin acts more like a stroppy teenager and the other just seems to look bored and confused at her desk in college. They're not a couple so why is ashling so dependant on danielle, has she no other friends at all to hang out with? ok rant over, Im just not loving it at all.

Ya I don't like this show, it is so depressing Aisling is way too reliant on Danielle, not good to have only one friend, she needs to go out and join social groups like meetup or take up a sport and mix with people then. Danielle must feel like she is being smothered by Aisling. I do think she should have spoken to Aisling that they need space instead of deleating her or blocking her, that's going to be really upsetting for Aisling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭mapaca

I dunno, I quite like it! It's clearly a drama rather than a comedy though. I think the girls are doing a great job in their roles. It's a good portrayal of two friends whose lives/goals/priorities are starting to diverge and how the friendship is changing.
    I agree that the bickering family scenes were laid on a bit thick, it wasn't needed.
    I'm interested to see how it ends though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Duggie2012

i missd the 1st episode. whats the story with this taxi driver, do they know him well or something?