Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Subzero3 wrote: »

Looking forward to my first marathon. I will be staying in Terenure. If I use the online bus times will they be accurate for the day? ie changes to bus routes due to marathon. Is anyone from around that area to advise. I will be starting in Wave 1 and want to be there 1.5 hours before start.

denis b wrote: »
    I would not chance it with reduced frequency of service at that hour. Grab a taxi on the street and you should be close to the start for €10. Less stress for your big day. Enjoy the run

I'll be getting a taxi heading from that area myself if you or anyone else wanted to split one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Thanks Joe I'm from last years novice group and I know a few of this years novices are following the same plan I followed this plan last year and remember doubting it at this stage. I followed it last year and it stood me well on the day. It gives the option of 18/20 this weekend so think I'll stick to the plan unless something happens this week but do appreciate your input thanks.

Thanks for that Mrs. Mc, I admit I'm a bit scared of this weekend but I haven't been able to get to 20 miles yet so I really need the extra LSR that this plan allows. At the moment my confidence is at zero, I need to do 20 miles this weekend and I need to do 12 miles next weekend, I know from past experience how quickly fitness leaves me so the 2 week taper is more than enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

I have to say playing catch up on this thread is great, unfortunately life got very hectic the last few months and I have hardly been online so literally no posting here.
    Training has been going pretty good and I look pretty much on target for my goal time. I've been battling a slight injury but am actually on the way to get dry needling and hopefully manage it out. I knew this month was going to be tough as I've started back to college in the evening so work, college and training make for an impressive balancing act!

The one thing that struck me reading the last few pages was the number of people getting anxious; it reminded me of this time last year the general theme on the thread was the same but you know what everyone turned up on the day and finished the marathon. Trust in the training you've put in and you'll be fine, if you've missed a few run's don't panic (look at the number of run you did so not the one you missed).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

I'm doing my long run this week on Thursday, because I'm working at the weekend. I want to run in exactly the gear I will be wearing on marathon day.

I've been doing my runs in leggings these days since it got a bit chillier. But most of the photos I see of the marathon people are wearing shorts (which I actually find more comfy).

So what would people recommend? The weather is so hard to predict, so I don't know what to wear.

I will bring an old long sleeve top to wear at the start, which I can throw away, and warm layers in my bag drop for the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

aceygray wrote: »
    I'm doing my long run this week on Thursday, because I'm working at the weekend. I want to run in exactly the gear I will be wearing on marathon day.

I've been doing my runs in leggings these days since it got a bit chillier. But most of the photos I see of the marathon people are wearing shorts (which I actually find more comfy).

So what would people recommend? The weather is so hard to predict, so I don't know what to wear.

I will bring an old long sleeve top to wear at the start, which I can throw away, and warm layers in my bag drop for the end.

Shorts all the way. I remember telling a clubmate I was worried about being cold (never used to run in shorts in those days), her face was a picture, you'll be running at race pace on the day so no need to worry about being too cold. If you have supporters on the course anywhere after 20 miles you could ask them to have a spare tshirt for you (if its a wet day) but if not don't worry either. Just keep moving and you'll be fine, anyone in a pace group will have extra heat on the day too.

By the way, I hope you have all tried and tested your marathon outfits at this stage? Yes? YES??

I picked up a pair of Nike sleeves in TK Maxx, they're great for long runs, just fold down to wrists when you get warm. I get cold towards the end of long runs so it's nice to be able to roll them up again - easier than the hassle of carrying a jacket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Thanks for that Mrs. Mc, I admit I'm a bit scared of this weekend but I haven't been able to get to 20 miles yet so I really need the extra LSR that this plan allows. At the moment my confidence is at zero, I need to do 20 miles this weekend and I need to do 12 miles next weekend, I know from past experience how quickly fitness leaves me so the 2 week taper is more than enough.
    Hi KC,

I wouldn't dream of advising on the distance you should run on your LSR next weekend - I'll leave that to the experts but regarding confidence, I fully get where you are right now. I feel like I had a close to identical experience to you with my 20m LSR last weekend - HR sky high early and run/walk from way out. At the end I couldn't run a mile at snails pace without stopping. My confidence was all over the place straight afterwards too but when I thought about it and read the great comments I received here I know I just had a bad day. The weekend before i was absolutely fine on the same course and I am still not sure what exactly went wrong but I think I might have been a bit too confident after the previous week and did not get something small right e.g. not enough carbs or salt a few days out, possible not hydrated correctly, pace a few seconds too fast early on, maybe fighting something etc. I'll be very focused from now on on what I can do to try and replicate what I did the weekend before last this weekend and next on my 12m/8m lsr's and on the 30th but I realize I may not get it right on the day even if I get it right over the next two weekends. I think all a really good LSR will do for me now would be to make me think I have this thing licked and maybe get a bit complacent. I guess the lesson I learned from last weekend is that I most definitely do not have it licked and I need to respect the distance.

My (uneducated) 2-cents, for what they are worth, would be to just put last weekend down as a bad day. You can gain just as much confidence out of a slightly shorter LSR next weekend. What nop said to me (unfortunately more than once :) ) was that you learn more from your bad days than your good ones. I am confident we'll get this right on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Hi KC,

My (uneducated) 2-cents, for what they are worth, would be to just put last weekend down as a bad day. You can gain just as much confidence out of a slightly shorter LSR next weekend. What nop said to me (unfortunately more than once :) ) was that you learn more from your bad days than your good ones. I am confident we'll get this right on the day.

Just to add to the above with my own experience. Back in August I had a monumental disaster on one of the 15 mile LSRs. I absolutely died a death and had to run walk late on, and even at that I didn't finish. You can see it here on Strava. It gave me an absolute crisis of confidence and I was close to giving up on the marathon then and there, that's how bad it was.

The following week I went out and breezed through 16 miles without a hitch. You can see that one here.

I never figured out exactly what went wrong, but it was a hot day and I might have been a bit dehydrated. I also might have been a bit unwell but otherwise asymptomatic.

The point is, I had a bad day; we all have bad days. Sometimes your body will let you down on a given day and you may learn something from it, or you may never know why. But you've done all the training and a single bad run doesn't change that, so have confidence in your preparation and don't let your mind trick you into doing anything stupid this close to marathon.

Thanks for that BM & MA :)
    I'll stick to my plan, it's gotten me this far (just about!)
    Hi KC,
    I feel like I had a close to identical experience to you with my 20m LSR last weekend - HR sky high early and run/walk from way out. At the end I couldn't run a mile at snails pace without stopping.

I just checked my HR, it was about 25-30 BPM higher than normal, maybe my flu has affected me more than I initially thought. I'll trust in the plan :D A few good runs this week will help me get my confidence back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Just moaning to Irish rail on twitter that the first train is 10am into town on the Maynooth line and they responded quite quickly with
    Hi, we are finalising details re this event and will highlight any extra service if scheduled asap.

It would be nice if I could get the train in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Thanks for that BM & MA :)
    I'll stick to my plan, it's gotten me this far (just about!)

I just checked my HR, it was about 25-30 BPM higher than normal, maybe my flu has affected me more than I initially thought. I'll trust in the plan :D A few good runs this week will help me get my confidence back :)

My resting HR was about 25 beats over normal after the run on Sat and on Sunday all day. It was back to normal yesterday morning. I did a very pleasant 5m yesterday evening and it was perfectly normal throughout. I initially was thinking why couldn't I have felt like this last Sat and then I thought I'd trade that to feel like this on the 30th. I'll keep an eye on my resting HR this week. Good luck with the runs this week and at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Really late with this race report.. I was away last week on a short holiday and managed 3 runs while there, a 5 an 8 and a 12k.. They were notably harder than running here, the weather played a big part and actually the camber of the roads in France is quite challenging, my hips didn’t enjoy it!

So I arrived back in Dublin after a 4 hour delay on Saturday – this left my meal planning/hydration a bit askew, I got home and started planning for the Athlone ¾.. Got all my gear ready and punched the route into the satnav so I knew there would be no messing around the morning of the run..

I travelled down the longwood with loads of time to spare, spent some time in the car and then headed to the registration. All done and dusted in a few minutes and back in the car.. back to the GAA club for the race briefing and then off to the start.. My plan had me at a pace of 5:42 but I wanted to try practice running with pacers again so I made the executive decision to run with the 6:00 guys – it worked well for the first 2km’s but then I couldn’t hack the congestion, I was getting bumped and pushed and almost tripped at one point and I could see a huge clearing in front of the two pacers (who were doing an amazing job at pointing out everything & motivating the troops) I said I’d make my way to the clearing and just stay in front of the pacers – I’d still be able to hear the motivation without the hassle of the congestion.. all was going well for about 500meters then I found myself running about 20 seconds ahead of them but the pace felt good and I carried on – I drifted further and further along and found 2 lads that were running a perfect pace for me so I tucked in behind and carried on for the next 10-15k or so…

The water stations were great, I knew they were every 7k which was perfect for me – at each one I grabbed a cup of water and carried on my way – on the last water station my legs were feeling a little crampy so I took a bottle of water and downed it, felt better then..

The course was good, really good – it made a really nice change than to be running in Dublin city – there was no noise (exempt the occasional cow/horse) and no major corners or uturns which was different to the DCHM route! The hills were a bit a bit regular for me, I’d prefer a big hill and get it over and done with as opposed to undulating hills but it was fine (except that monster hill at 28k or 29k) There did seem to be more up’s than down’s however!

The participants were amazing, on request of the race organiser no one really littered, I kept all my gel wrappers in my pocket until the next bin came along and there was no empties on the ground either so it looks like everyone else was doing the same… Everyone was very chatty and friendly and the marshals and spectators were great too.

The final 4km’s were fairly hard going, particularly because I read the sign which said 27 as a 28km sign and when the real 28 sign came along I was really confused! My legs were tired and I wanted to stop but I couldn’t let myself stop or slow down because I know if I did I probably wouldn’t get going again and I’d have to walk the rest. Then happily I seen the 1k to go sign which was amazing… 5 minutes I thought! Just 5 minutes and I’ll be done.. I rounded the final corner and seen my car in the carpark – oh how I wanted to just get into it and drive off but I only had about 400m to go! I crossed the line and headed straight for an orange slice, it was the best thing I had ever tasted – even if it did defy me and squirt juice into my eye.. I didn’t care though, I was finished!

Inside I went to get a cup of tea and it tasted almost as good as the orange! I let the legs rest for a minute and then back to the car – what a day, I felt great that I had finished and I didn’t feel too bad from it either (but questioned if I could run for another hour come 3 weeks!)

All in all I was happy, steady pace and legs held up well.. surprisingly well – the myasics plan is adaptive and it suggested me to change my PMP to get a 3:50 marathon but I’m happy with the 4hr thank you very much!

My times were:
    Q1: 1:00:12
    Q2: 0:59:29
    Q3: 0:59:38
    Overall: 2:59:19

Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/739309670

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

jameshayes wrote: »
    The final 4km’s were fairly hard going, particularly because I read the sign which said 27 as a 28km sign and when the real 28 sign came along I was really confused! My legs were tired and I wanted to stop but I couldn’t let myself stop or slow down because I know if I did I probably wouldn’t get going again and I’d have to walk the rest. Then happily I seen the 1k to go sign which was amazing… 5 minutes I thought! Just 5 minutes and I’ll be done.. I rounded the final corner and seen my car in the carpark – oh how I wanted to just get into it and drive off but I only had about 400m to go! I crossed the line and headed straight for an orange slice, it was the best thing I had ever tasted – even if it did defy me and squirt juice into my eye.. I didn’t care though, I was finished!

Inside I went to get a cup of tea and it tasted almost as good as the orange! I let the legs rest for a minute and then back to the car – what a day, I felt great that I had finished and I didn’t feel too bad from it either (but questioned if I could run for another hour come 3 weeks!)

Nice one Jameshayes, well done for sticking with it and gritting it out on Sunday. It's not easy to keep going when the going gets tough and the doubt starts creeping in. Remember this run and all of the other long runs that you've done when the going gets tough in DCM, remember how you battled through and didn't give up, remember all of the hard work that you've put into DCM and use that mental toughness to get you to the finish line :)

Don't worry about the extra hour of running in three weeks, you will have tapered sufficiently and will be well rested. You've done the hard work, trust the plan and don't go out too fast ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

How do you eat an elephant ! One bite at a time. Just take it one step at a time. If any consolation last year I cried after my 18 mile run had a horrible run. You just gotta chalk it up and move on. So hydrate well this week get to bed early stretch foam roll eat well and take it one step at a time don't focus on the distance map out a route and know where you're going don't focus on the watch it's an easy run this weekend so take your time you might surprise yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

I wore the sleeves last year it was a bit chilly initially you can just pull them off and fling them at someone on the route worked well for me. I brought old track suit bottoms and top and bought a cheap hat and gloves in penneys and left them all at the start line kept me warm till the start. The clothes are collected by a charity afterwards so they don't go to waste.

Folks Irish rail have confirmed early darts from greystones & mala hide on 30th - check the journey planner for times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

I'll be getting a taxi heading from that area myself if you or anyone else wanted to split one?

Sure Myles, I will pm you there, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

On the day I will wear my leggings and a vest - have ran in them all the time apart from when I was on holidays and ran in shorts then . Will bring a cheap hoodie from Pennys and leave at start line too.

I am raging with work as they have me in to work till 5pm on the Saturday of the Bank Holidays weekend - initially they had me of and then changed it - I explained I have to be up in Dublin to collect my number and all I got was well they are supporting me for the weekend by giving me the Sunday and Monday of - having a lot of issues at work lately and think this is just my pay back - have asked another girl for a swap which will leave me finishing at 2pm - will still be very tight by the time I get home and we get up to Dublin so I guess it will be straight to RDS at that stage !

My hotel is a 20 minute walk from Merrion square so should be grand for the actual morning - will leave it as late as possible to leave the toilet - sorry hotel !

Word has got around now that I am doing the marathon and now admitting it to everyone is making it very real .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

RIGHT, I've been thoroughly and officially medically cleared to carry on training.

How best to proceed, considering that I held off on my 20m LSR on Saturday? Keen to get it done ASAP (i.e. tomorrow), but wondering how best to fit the rest of the plan around that.

Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

kin9pin wrote: »
    Should be fixed now.

Thanks kin9pin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Safrongirl wrote: »
    On the day I will wear my leggings and a vest - have ran in them all the time apart from when I was on holidays and ran in shorts then . Will bring a cheap hoodie from Pennys and leave at start line too.

I am raging with work as they have me in to work till 5pm on the Saturday of the Bank Holidays weekend - initially they had me of and then changed it - I explained I have to be up in Dublin to collect my number and all I got was well they are supporting me for the weekend by giving me the Sunday and Monday of - having a lot of issues at work lately and think this is just my pay back - have asked another girl for a swap which will leave me finishing at 2pm - will still be very tight by the time I get home and we get up to Dublin so I guess it will be straight to RDS at that stage !

My hotel is a 20 minute walk from Merrion square so should be grand for the actual morning - will leave it as late as possible to leave the toilet - sorry hotel !

Word has got around now that I am doing the marathon and now admitting it to everyone is making it very real .

You can arrange for somebody else to collect your number if you can't make it to the Expo. Few things you'd need to do if you take that option.

Anyone any ideas for a nice 20m route somewhere around Dublin that won't be terrifyingly dark in the evening? My usual haunts (Phoenix Park, Royal Canal) are not going to be possible after sunset...

A Neurotic wrote: »
    RIGHT, I've been thoroughly and officially medically cleared to carry on training.

How best to proceed, considering that I held off on my 20m LSR on Saturday? Keen to get it done ASAP (i.e. tomorrow), but wondering how best to fit the rest of the plan around that.

Any advice?

Great news AN, what mileage have you done recently? I wouldn't jump from zero into a 20 miler, best to do a few shorter runs first - sorry if you've given your recent mileage already, I haven't had a chance to read back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

kittyclaws wrote:
    I picked up a pair of Nike sleeves in TK Maxx, they're great for long runs, just fold down to wrists when you get warm. I get cold towards the end of long runs so it's nice to be able to roll them up again - easier than the hassle of carrying a jacket.

Ooooh great idea!! Did not realise you could roll them to wrists. Thanks!
    aceygray wrote:

Shorts. You dont really feel the cold... At least that is my plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

A Neurotic wrote:
    Anyone any ideas for a nice 20m route somewhere around Dublin that won't be terrifyingly dark in the evening? My usual haunts (Phoenix Park, Royal Canal) are not going to be possible after sunset...

Did you see the the19 mile run in rungo? You can add a bit more... starts in Phoenix park without doing the park and does 19m of the marathon. Done it twice and it is very good. No real dark places...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Firedance wrote: »
    Folks Irish rail have confirmed early darts from greystones & mala hide on 30th - check the journey planner for times :)
    There's nothing extra from north or Malahide:( I've a mate who's a taxi driver and did me a deal for the R'N'R half, it looks like he's getting more money!

That dry needling was sore; a combination of wrecked muscle's and being nervous about the needles meant I kept tensing up. The legs feel better after it but I'll definitely pay more attention to foam rolling if it means avoiding those needles.

Gillo wrote: »
    There's nothing extra from north or Malahide:( I've a mate who's a taxi driver and did me a deal for the R'N'R half, it looks like he's getting more money!

That dry needling was sore; a combination of wrecked muscle's and being nervous about the needles meant I kept tensing up. The legs feel better after it but I'll definitely pay more attention to foam rolling if it means avoiding those needles.

On the journey planner for 30th there's now a dart from Malahide at 7.05am and 8.41am (2nd one more appropriate for supporters). Also showing a dart from Greystones to Grand Canal dock only (other stations closed) at 6.45am. Hopefully will be of some use to some of ye.

Firedance wrote: »
    Great news AN, what mileage have you done recently? I wouldn't jump from zero into a 20 miler, best to do a few shorter runs first - sorry if you've given your recent mileage already, I haven't had a chance to read back :)

I'm on the HHN1 plan, so my last LSR was 14 miles the weekend before last.
    kabuxa wrote: »
    Did you see the the19 mile run in rungo? You can add a bit more... starts in Phoenix park without doing the park and does 19m of the marathon. Done it twice and it is very good. No real dark places...

Thanks, would you have a link for this by any chance?

A Neurotic wrote: »
    I'm on the HHN1 plan, so my last LSR was 14 miles the weekend before last.

Have you done any of the shorter runs from the plan last week (or since the 14 miler?) if you only missed the 20 miler but did the shorter runs then you could do 20 miles tomorrow - if you missed all of the runs since the 14 miles we'd probably need to rethink things and see how best to proceed from here. Great that you've been given the all clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

jameshayes wrote: »
    ... All in all I was happy, steady pace and legs held up well.. surprisingly well – the myasics plan is adaptive and it suggested me to change my PMP to get a 3:50 marathon but I’m happy with the 4hr thank you very much!

Well done jameshayes! Neady has already said everything I would have said - don't worry about the extra hour. You don't practice for climbing Everest by climbing Everest. Taper well and you are in with the best shot you could have been. Your goal seems conservative and therefore sensible. Good work again.