Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What annoys you about other runners and running in general?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭grahamor

Runners who wear shades on a cloudy day.
    Runners who go out of their way to wear matching gear.
    Runners who run barefoot.
    Runners who wear international gear in a mickey mouse local race.
    Bastards who tell you that we're nearly there when in fact you are not.
    Runners who smell of BO.
    Runners who never take their turn at the front.
    Runners who appear like ninjas and try to out sprint you (see point above).
    Runners who tell you they aren't training then proceed to hammer you.
    Runners who tell you they are just back from injury but magically run a PB.
    Runners who insist they have not been training even though you've seen the lying bastard out five times over the last two weeks.
    Runners who turn up late to the start of a training run and make every one else wait.
    Runners who can't understand why they had a marathon disaster after they set off at 10K pace and blew up after 10 miles.
    Runners who consume more calories than they burn in a race.
    Runners who constantly pace races and love the high fives and shoulders.
    Runners who are pacers who scream "come on the [insert pace group time]ers".
    Races that are short.
    Race organisers who won't admit their races are short
    Race organisers who publish a running magazine and had given out in print about other races being short, who subsequently won't admit or apologise that their own race is short.
    Running supplements in news papers that have more to do with gimmicks than running.
    Running groups organised by physical trainers who know nothing about running or the injuries related to the hill sprints they make their poor clients do.
    Runners who raise money for "charity" to go on foreign marathon junkets
    Colour run/races. Just fcuk off.
    Any race with a stupid gimmick.

That is all for now. I'm off to punch a runner or two.

Dude, you are my idol :)

You probably hate people that use the word Dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,881 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

One thing that annoys me is, when running on the footpath and you come across 3 runners coming towards you and not one will move out of your way so we all can stay on the footpath!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Arsenium

Runners who insist they have not been training even though you've seen the lying bastard out five times over the last two weeks.

I love these 3 especially the last one...classic post :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 tattycoram

Feels good to get this off my chest...

Runners who chat the whole way around a race. Granted more of a problem nearer the back of the field. Why are they bothering to run a race if they're not going to give it their all? I know there's no law against it but when you're bursting a gut trying to get a PB and they're chatting away about their holiday plans grrr...

People who cheer "go ladies" or "go girls" from the sidelines. Usually women. Yes, I'm a woman but don't group me in with the 'here come the girls' crowd please! Plus there's usually an unfortunate man in the group they are cheering.

People who coach their kids during Parkruns. I've heard it a few times now. A 10 year old getting a pep talk from Dad the whole way around. Really makes my blood boil. The kids should be enjoying the run not listening to a stream of ridiculous talk about pacing and sprint finishes. If he's talented bring him to a club and let him train properly for his age.

The one good thing is all these people make me run faster to get away from them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

I hate the way kit fancies the knickers off TRR and UM1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

joesoap5 wrote: »

Often wondered about that,...can understand why Trr,extremly good looking,intelligent,great athlete,gorgous feet,..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

UM1 wrote: »
    Often wondered about that,...can understand why Trr,extremly good looking,intelligent,great athlete,gorgous feet,..

I heard you're ultra hairy, can keep a burd warm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

It's true.

Both UM and TRR wear frilly underwear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Yep, he's always banging on about them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Stretching, foam rolling and strength work.
    Having sh1tty biomechanics.
    Injuries.
    Strong headwinds - especially when trying to run off pace.
    Going for a long run on a sunny morning in my prescription sunglasses only for it to turn cloudy and having to choose between not being able to see because it's too dark or because I'm shortsighted.
    Not being able to wear contacts.
    Not getting up at 5am for a prework session/longrun and feeling uneasy all day.
    Getting up at 5am and doing the session/long run, and feeling simultaneously awesome because of it and stupid for not doing it last week.
    Maranoia and imposter syndrome.
    Chafing - in particular on the nether regions.
    The ridiculous amount of nonsense peddled by shoe manufacturers.
    Getting sucked in by said nonsense.
    Getting ridiculously hungry at 10pm and being to lazy to make anything other than instant noodles ( top tip - crack an egg in half way through and cover and you can pretend your eating well)
    The Marina. Again.
    Letsrun
    That my favourite running shoes are never on sale and wear out too quickly due to the afore mentioned sh1tty biomechanics.
    Race photos that make my running style look like a painful straight legged attempt to shatter my tibia.
    "Official" race photos and the incessant reminder emails.
    Whichever b0ll0x convinced me that running was cheap.
    Pothole puddles in the dark (ah ffs!).
    Red lights.
    Hilly 5k's that aren't through a muddy field or up the side of a mountain.
    Dog sh1t.
    Of late - marathon training.
    Forgetting the point above when I sign up for a spring marathon.
    The fact that moving DCM to Sunday has actually made things more awkward for me and is costing me almost double the rate for a hotel.
    And finally I'm sick to death of porridge. It's starting to make me gag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

'Things that annoy you about running thread'- 160 posts

'Things you Iove about running thread'- 31 posts

Looks like there are a lot of runners that don't actually like running that much!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭munster87

My left knee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

sideswipe wrote: »
    'Things that annoy you about running thread'- 160 posts

'Things you Iove about running thread'- 31 posts

Looks like there are a lot of runners that don't actually like running that much!!

The former rant/rave threads were the same. Seems like runners haven't got any less cranky .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

kit3 wrote: »
    The former rant/rave threads were the same. Seems like runners haven't got any less cranky .....

Ah fcuk off kit....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Runners who wear shades on a cloudy day.
    Runners who go out of their way to wear matching gear.
    Runners who run barefoot.
    Runners who wear international gear in a mickey mouse local race.
    Bastards who tell you that we're nearly there when in fact you are not.
    Runners who smell of BO.
    Runners who never take their turn at the front.
    Runners who appear like ninjas and try to out sprint you (see point above).
    Runners who turn up late to the start of a training run and make every one else wait.
    Runners who can't understand why they had a marathon disaster after they set off at 10K pace and blew up after 10 miles.
    Runners who consume more calories than they burn in a race.
    Runners who constantly pace races and love the high fives and shoulders.
    Runners who are pacers who scream "come on the [insert pace group time]ers".
    Races that are short.
    Race organisers who won't admit their races are short
    Race organisers who publish a running magazine and had given out in print about other races being short, who subsequently won't admit or apologise that their own race is short.
    Running supplements in news papers that have more to do with gimmicks than running.
    Running groups organised by physical trainers who know nothing about running or the injuries related to the hill sprints they make their poor clients do.
    Runners who raise money for "charity" to go on foreign marathon junkets
    Colour run/races. Just fcuk off.
    Any race with a stupid gimmick.

That is all for now. I'm off to punch a runner or two.

Whatever, what about runners who have cheered you on, congratulated you so have had a conversation with you and yet you still haven't a fcuking clue who they are. HUH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

The course was 30m short, because my garmin is deadly accurate

jamule wrote: »
    The course was 30m short, because my garmin is deadly accurate

Marathon courses are notoriously inaccurate, and Garmins always measure them as long. The done thing is to stop dead once you hit 26.2, and hit the button. That is your real and official marathon time. Never mind find that finish line malarkey. Trust the technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Plodman

The guy that ambles around when doing tracks reps so that he can sprint the last 400m to "win". I've even seen a guy dip at the line so he feels like a real hero even though he sat out the back for the previous 10 laps!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,763 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Plodman wrote: »
    The guy that ambles around when doing tracks reps so that he can sprint the last 400m to "win". I've even seen a guy dip at the line so he feels like a real hero even though he sat out the back for the previous 10 laps!!

If ye weren't all running your reps too fast you'd have enough left to "beat" him. Maybe that's how he can do it. (Mind you, the "dip" is still unforgivable.) :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Puibo

yaboya1 wrote:
    Anyway, I hate runners who pass by in the opposite direction and blatantly ignore you when you've gone out of your way to greet them with a nod, wave or hello. They've definitely noticed, but refuse to acknowledge it and deliberately blank you.

Yeah, I'm not sure about this one to be honest. I see what you mean but you wouldn't salute every car that passes on a road or everyone that you pass when you're walking to the pub or everyone you pass with a bike. The list is endless. Why should it be any different passing another runner!

Puibo wrote: »
    Yeah, I'm not sure about this one to be honest. I see what you mean but you wouldn't salute every car that passes on a road or everyone that you pass when you're walking to the pub or everyone you pass with a bike. The list is endless. Why should it be any different passing another runner!

It's a runners solidarity thing, particularly among club runners. You don't salute passing cars, cyclists or walkers, but a fellow runner gets a nod, wave, or hello, depending on the circumstances. Next time you're out, maybe running along in your own bubble, with your headphones in, and some runner says hello, he's not trying to intrude, or be weird. He's just acknowledging your shared pursuit. It's really not a bad thing in any conceivable way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

davedanon wrote: »
    It's a runners solidarity thing, particularly among club runners. You don't salute passing cars, cyclists or walkers, but a fellow runner gets a nod, wave, or hello, depending on the circumstances. Next time you're out, maybe running along in your own bubble, with your headphones in, and some runner says hello, he's not trying to intrude, or be weird. He's just acknowledging your shared pursuit. It's really not a bad thing in any conceivable way.

And sometimes you do salute cars! when I had an old mini, we mini drivers used to always wave at each other on the roads.

I completely agree about the 'runner's wave' being a nice thing, though. My dad used to run in the 80s, and sometimes I'd run with him as a kid, so I always knew about it and started doing it the second I started running. Older runners are much more likely to nod and wave, so maybe it's dying out?

HelenAnne wrote: »
    And sometimes you do salute cars! when I had an old mini, we mini drivers used to always wave at each other on the roads.

I completely agree about the 'runner's wave' being a nice thing, though. My dad used to run in the 80s, and sometimes I'd run with him as a kid, so I always knew about it and started doing it the second I started running. Older runners are much more likely to nod and wave, so maybe it's dying out?

I think it's either instinctive or it's not. I automatically greet someone. Same on the bike - I now have regulars (that I say hello to :rolleyes: ) on my commute, some of whom are auld fellas walking their dogs.

It's definitely a tribe thing. I run on the path through the park by the river between the speaker conolly and morton's, and also walk the dog on the same route. When we walk the dog all the dog walkers greet each other. when I'm running, the same people all ignore me.

When you did those city runs with meno, I bet no-one said hello, kit. It's the anonymity. Conversely, when I was on the road between two sections of the Wicklow Way the other day, I was saying hello to all the cyclists that passed. We were in the middle of nowhere, and ignoring each other seemed absurd.

davedanon wrote: »
    When you did those city runs with meno, I bet no-one said hello, kit. It's the anonymity. Conversely, when I was on the road between two sections of the Wicklow Way the other day, I was saying hello to all the cyclists that passed. We were in the middle of nowhere, and ignoring each other seemed absurd.

Hope you don't mean that people are more likely to ignore Meno ;) I'm not sure tbh. Don't think we came across too many others & there was a few of us. Don't remember it being any different. Will take note next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

i always thought it was just culchies say hello and dubs ignore people

Hope you don't mean that people are more likely to ignore Meno ;)

Well, there is that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

I'm a Dub and I run with my dog; we 'say' hello to everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

You have a talking dog!!

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.