Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,644 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Porridge time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Annoying news. Had a little medical test today and I've been advised not to run or train until I get a medical thing checked out and fully cleared.

Not going to be able to do the LSR after all, which sucks. I will however be happy to meet people and provide flapjacks/encouragement as required!

Sorry guys.

Sorry to hear this, I hope everything is all right and you're back on the road soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I hope all works out for u A Neurotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

A Neurotic wrote:
    Annoying news. Had a little medical test today and I've been advised not to run or train until I get a medical thing checked out and fully cleared.

That is a pity. Surely it is nothing but just in case. Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

Not going to be able to do the LSR after all, which sucks. I will however be happy to meet people and provide flapjacks/encouragement as required!

Sorry guys.

Sorry to hear this, hope all goes well and you're back training in a couple of days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭tipping

Aneurotic, hope it's nothing too serious and you'll be back in your runners in no time.

Weekly update

Monday: Rest
    Tuesday: 7 recovery
    Wednesday: 9 progression on very bouncy legs, averaged at faster than PMP.
    Thursday: 5 recovery with strides
    Friday: 11 easy
    Saturday: 21 easy. Picked up a bit of company and the miles just drifted away.

Lovely week. 53 miles and all feeling well.
    Celebrating the taper with eggs and coffee in my favourite cafe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Picked up a niggle last week during my LSR and so I held off running until I saw a physio on Wednesday. He checked and said everything was fine and gave me the go ahead to continue training. Did 9k(not comfortably) on Thursday and that was it before today!

Up at 7:15 to get out for the last 20miler(yipee!) but it was so dark outside! I held off for 15 mins and then headed out. Took it at a very easy pace with a plan to finish in 3hrs. Took four gels with me but just took one at the 16k mark and no issues with it, I could still feel that niggle throughout but it was better than last week and easier than Thursday.

I have to say my legs felt very tired at the end which puzzled me a bit but I put it down to it just been one of those days.
    In to a cold bath when I finished with my cereal and tea in hand!(I can't eat early in the morning before a run).

Although I'm following a plan, I will not be doing any remaining tempo/speed work and just keep to ticking over at easy paces and throw in some PMP miles(2-3) on some runs.

Looking forward to taper and hopefully back to 100% over the next three weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Hope everyone's lsr today went well. Mine sadly has been a none starter. Ended up this morning not getting up in time to do long run before other commitments so decided to head out for an hour max and then do lsr tomorrow.

Going for so short didn't bring money or phone. Got to 3k, got dizzy spell, did pass but left me with dull post-dizzy headache and feeling super tired and drained. Had to walk home. Wasn't great, bit of a nip in the air if you not running to keep warm.

Wondering should I write off this weekend's lsr completely or try again tomorrow but make sure to bring phone and run loops so options for cutting it short are easily available? And obviously cut short if any more dizziness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Antwerp

Aneurotic hoe you are feeling better soon.

Spacylou, would probably lay off LSR if you are feeling dizzy however will let the experts advise you, hope you are also better shortly.

Re: LSR
    Was very dark alright this morning, but managed to get out @8am and 20 miler done, 'twas nice morning if cloudy but no wind, no rain, would be ideal day for DCM.

Met loads of others DCM'rs en thee route (my LSR covers from Fortfield Rd to the Finish) which was nice as most managed a smile and Good Morning which keeps you going especially when you are running on your own. Hard to believe only two Saturdays then it's DCM wkd, a a a a h!!!

Anyway better get back to kids activities and better get something to eat

Ciao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

spaceylou wrote: »
    Hope everyone's lsr today went well. Mine sadly has been a none starter. Ended up this morning not getting up in time to do long run before other commitments so decided to head out for an hour max and then do lsr tomorrow.

Going for so short didn't bring money or phone. Got to 3k, got dizzy spell, did pass but left me with dull post-dizzy headache and feeling super tired and drained. Had to walk home. Wasn't great, bit of a nip in the air if you not running to keep warm.

Wondering should I write off this weekend's lsr completely or try again tomorrow but make sure to bring phone and run loops so options for cutting it short are easily available? And obviously cut short if any more dizziness.

Yikes, spaceylou - that doesn't sound like fun at all. Judge how you feel tomorrow, but if you don't feel any ill-effects, I'd aim for the full LSR distance, obviously being prepared for any eventuality.

Just a thought, it's surprising how one needs to be in the right place between the ears, too, for a run. I wouldn't be surprised (part of) the reason for your poor run is that you had prepared yourself for a long effort, had to change plans, and just couldn't get in the right frame of mind for "just an hour". It happens to all of us. Write it off as one of those days - look after yourself today, and see if you're up for it tomorrow. Best of luck!

Hope you feel better, Mr Neurotic, and thanks for the effort trying to get folks together for a long run. Keep us posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

20.8 Miles done this morning, no issues besides some stiffness afterwards, plenty of stretching done afterwards and will do more later. It was so much easier running with the brother and his friend, the miles flew by so delighted with how it went. The brother is a headcase, he continued on and done the full marathon..lol

18 miles done. It's taper time!! :D

Thanks to Pomlamousse and The Black Oil for the company and to A Neurotic for meeting us after with Lucazade Sport and 'flapjacks' even though he couldn't run. The miles flew by and we all seemed to be relatively unscathed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

So relieved to have the final long long training run done.
    Thanks so much to A Neurotic for organising today's meetup and for coming out to meet us with much needed food and drink despite not running himself. And thanks to Maximus Alexander and The Black Oil for the running company, have always run alone and the company definitely makes things more pleasant.

Was worried about my left leg all week but it held up fine, other than the usual LSR aches and pains. Phew! So happy it's taper time:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Mentally tough 18 miles done . Bring on the taper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Thu 6/10 - 3 miles approx. in 28:31

Still a bit annoyed by my performance in Wednesday's session, it was back to Porterstown for a gentle recovery run. Although it was very breezy at the bottom of the park, the sun was shining and it wasn't too busy. 8:59 for my first lap, 9:08 for the second. Happy enough, no niggles to report this time.

Fri 7/10 - Rest

Sat 8/10 - 18 mile LSR inc. Porterstown parkrun

This was a bit similar to my LSR in week 10. From the house I ran down to Castleknock College, then followed the marathon course as far as Chapelizod Gate. Not in the park as early as last week; this time there were a sizeable number of deer in the shadows. Waiting for the triathletes passing through later maybe? Averaged 9:30 for the 4 miles or so to exit the gate. This time I turned left and headed for town. A boring stretch of road was made a bit easier by the fact that someone had marked every 100 metres along the mile and a tiny bit from there to Islandbridge Gate.

On reaching Blackhall Place (James Joyce Bridge) I turned left to follow the marathon course again. The legs felt fine in general, although that ITB stinging sensation continues to be a problem. Loads of runners out and about on returning to the Phoenix Park, and most in good form too as the big day gets closer for many. Unfortunately, I didn't spot any of the novices group as I was passing through. I took my first gel just after the Phoenix; they seem to be going down a bit easier...hope that will also be true on the 30th! Having completed my loop back to Castleknock College, I headed for Carpenterstown and took my second gel while I covered an elongated route from there to Porterstown Park, where I got a lap of the course in before the parkrun itself got going.

I deliberately started at the back. However, my pace was a bit strong considering I'd about 15 miles in the bag before I started. For some reason overall this LSR seemed harder than last week's. It's much easier running with company, although it can lull you into a false sense of security; it's taking me longer to recover from this one, that's for sure.

15ish miles at 9:40 p/m approx., followed by 3.1 miles in 26:30 :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,644 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

20 miles done, longest run. Thanks to A Neurotic for the sustenance afterwards and to Pomlamousse and Maximus for the company and chat. Weather was grand.

Driving home was interesting. I'd imagine it's like trying to stand up straight after experiencing exsanguination by a vampire. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

This marathon training melarky just ain't for me \_( '',)_/
    Just back from a dismal attempt at 20 miles, called it a day when I passed my car at 17 miles, I couldn't bear to do another loop. My hips (yes-plural, they're ganging up on me) were so sore, fine when I walked-so I done plenty of that, but as soon as I started running they were sore again. Ive accepted that I am not designed to run this distance, I'm still doing DCM- but it's looking like plan A of 4.50-5.00 is well out the window, now it's Plan stay between the pace groups as long as possible and see how far I can go til the hip pain kicks in.
    I've another 20 mile on the plan for next Saturday so we'll see how that one goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Ran the route of the DHM plus the first 7 miles of it as an add-on, finishing off with a run back to the car (start line of the DHM) this morning. All in all I'd say I did about 20.5 miles. I completed this in 2 hrs 40 minutes and 30 seconds.

I was hanging on in there by the end but was still maintaining a decent speed. The pace didn't drop off as such, it just felt tougher without being torture. I feel fine now which I suppose is positive (suggests there's more in the tank).

Before today I would have put a target time of 3 hrs 20 minutes for the DCM (HM time of 1 hr 36 mins). I realise now that this would be a bit of a stretch for me but can see 3 h 30 m as being a reasonable target.

The negatives are I couldn't expect a day as ideal as today on the day of the marathon. It was cool, overcast, dry, and practically no wind. Although the pace I was running was not demanding, I couldn't expect to go much faster and not pay for it in the final stages. I'd take that time at the 20.5 mile stage on the day of the marathon no problem.

On the plus side my legs weren't particularly fresh starting off (60kms done over the previous 7 days), I didn't eat anything of great significance yesterday evening, and I forgot my gels on the way out the door. I ran the whole thing on practically no water or fluids either, which was a bit foolish on my part! Finally then I'm assuming that the park section would be a little bit hillier than the rest of the course, but I could be wrong there.

I'll probably do a similar enough mileage for the next week, doing the same long run again next Saturday, then cutdown the miles a lot until the marathon.

Do these sound like fair assumptions I'm making?

18 miles done. It's taper time!! :D

Thanks to Pomlamousse and The Black Oil for the company and to A Neurotic for meeting us after with Lucazade Sport and 'flapjacks' even though he couldn't run. The miles flew by and we all seemed to be relatively unscathed!
    So relieved to have the final long long training run done.
    Thanks so much to A Neurotic for organising today's meetup and for coming out to meet us with much needed food and drink despite not running himself. And thanks to Maximus Alexander and The Black Oil for the running company, have always run alone and the company definitely makes things more pleasant.

Was worried about my left leg all week but it held up fine, other than the usual LSR aches and pains. Phew! So happy it's taper time:D:D
    20 miles done, longest run. Thanks to A Neurotic for the sustenance afterwards and to Pomlamousse and Maximus for the company and chat. Weather was grand.

Driving home was interesting. I'd imagine it's like trying to stand up straight after experiencing exsanguination by a vampire. :o

Well done folks! That's one of the great things about this thread - the LSR meet-ups, shared miles are easier miles.

Out of interest, what route did you take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Kingpin said that to me last week on our run.. I winced! The thought of 26 days off running! Let's get to DCM first and then plan out afterwards but honestly I think it would be a recovery run for me on the Monday then a few days off, but back to running by Thursday.

Anyone entering the Berlin 2017 lottery...:confused:

A day a mile. I went back after 10 days and it was too early and I suffered for a while after it with Achilles. You won't loose you're fitness. Listen to the experts don't go back too soon.

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Just back from a dismal attempt at 20 miles, called it a day when I passed my car at 17 miles, I couldn't bear to do another loop. My hips (yes-plural, they're ganging up on me) were so sore, fine when I walked-so I done plenty of that, but as soon as I started running they were sore again. Ive accepted that I am not designed to run this distance, I'm still doing DCM- but it's looking like plan A of 4.50-5.00 is well out the window, now it's Plan stay between the pace groups as long as possible and see how far I can go til the hip pain kicks in.
    I've another 20 mile on the plan for next Saturday so we'll see how that one goes.

Kittyclaws, there is a bright side: 17 miles is 17 miles. Doing that all on your own, with some serious niggles, is no mean feat, and will stand to you on the day. Knowing that a run-walk strategy will see you over the line when running really no longer is an option, is a comfort. Bank it and start the tapering.

Next weekend, I am not so sure about 20 miles. At this stage, I think you're not going to gain an awful lot. I would rather play it safe, aim for 14-15 (16 maybe) at super slow pace. Your objective is to get to the start-line as fresh and niggle-free as possible and 20-miles (4 hours!), just 2 weeks out, are counter-productive to that.

At this stage, you're the best judge of what you need, but I would recommend against such a long LSR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Kingpin said that to me last week on our run.. I winced! The thought of 26 days off running! Let's get to DCM first and then plan out afterwards but honestly I think it would be a recovery run for me on the Monday then a few days off, but back to running by Thursday.

Anyone entering the Berlin 2017 lottery...:confused:

A day a mile. I went back after 10 days and it was too early and I suffered for a while after it with Achilles. You won't loose you're fitness. Listen to the experts don't go back too soon.

I had two full weeks off and felt about right, first bit of pace work was not until December and a blast at a parkrun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

nop98 wrote: »
    kittyclaws wrote: »

Kittyclaws, there is a bright side: 17 miles is 17 miles. Doing that all on your own, with some serious niggles, is no mean feat, and will stand to you on the day. Knowing that a run-walk strategy will see you over the line when running really no longer is an option, is a comfort. Bank it and start the tapering.

Next weekend, I am not so sure about 20 miles. At this stage, I think you're not going to gain an awful lot. I would rather play it safe, aim for 14-15 (16 maybe) at super slow pace. Your objective is to get to the start-line as fresh and niggle-free as possible and 20-miles (4 hours!), just 2 weeks out, are counter-productive to that.

At this stage, you're the best judge of what you need, but I would recommend against such a long LSR.

Please listen to N here, you're still in the game and it's late in the day now so please don't do anything like another 20mile attempt next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Had the 20m LSR from hell today. Felt awful from the off and heart rate was through the roof throughout. Felt sickly for first 3 or 4 miles and wanted to stop at 5 miles. Kept going to 10m before first stop. After that it was a case of run a few miles stop, let the HR drop and get going again. I've absolutely no idea what was going on. Will try and figure it out but my early paces don't look to fast. Followed a similar prep and routine to last week (15m) on which I felt great throughout on a similar route. When finishing last week I felt I could have completed another 5m easily. What a difference a week makes.

I am alway one for positives - I ran a lot of the DCM route so have a good idea where hills, downhills, corners, drags, straights etc are. Plantar fasciitis under my left foot was no issue at all - except when starting up again after any stops I had (incentive not to stop :) ) and my legs in general were absolutely fine throughout and since.

Anyway I will just have to put this behind me, move on and hope I just hope I don't feel like that on the day.

nop98 wrote: »
    Well done folks! That's one of the great things about this thread - the LSR meet-ups, shared miles are easier miles.

Out of interest, what route did you take?

Hah, don't mention the war! :D A Neurotic was our man with the plan, he's local so I think he had a route in mind but with him unable to run the three of us hadn't a clue where we were going so we just made it up as we went. It ended up looking like this. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,916 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Had the 20m LSR from hell today. Felt awful from the off and heart rate was through the roof throughout. Felt sickly for first 3 or 4 miles and wanted to stop at 5 miles. Kept going to 10m before first stop. After that it was a case of run a few miles stop, let the HR drop and get going again. I've absolutely no idea what was going on. Will try and figure it out but my early paces don't look to fast. Followed a similar prep and routine to last week (15m) on which I felt great throughout on a similar route. When finishing last week I felt I could have completed another 5m easily. What a difference a week makes.

I am alway one for positives - I ran a lot of the DCM route so have a good idea where hills, downhills, corners, drags, straights etc are. Plantar fasciitis under my left foot was no issue at all - except when starting up again after any stops I had (incentive not to stop :) ) and my legs in general were absolutely fine throughout and since.

Anyway I will just have to put this behind me, move on and hope I just hope I don't feel like that on the day.

Coming down with something maybe? If so, you can shake it off in time, better now than next week or later. You did well to finish today, not short of HTFU anyway. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Hah, don't mention the war! :D A Neurotic was our man with the plan, he's local so I think he had a route in mind but with him unable to run the three of us hadn't a clue where we were going so we just made it up as we went. It ended up looking like this. :D

Morto for us:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

Did my long-ish run this morning - 8.6 miles in 1hr22min. It went alright. I had a bit of a niggle in my knee at times, but nothing too bad. By the end I had a kind of feeling of pressure, like the joint needed to "crack". It was more annoying than anything else.

It was a fairly boring run - I did four laps around my local park. The highlight was getting passed out by the first parkrunners - I've never been in that position before! It was also quite tough, and I feel like I've lost a lot of fitness.

My knee was a bit sore for the rest of the day. More of a dull background ache, so I'm not too worried about it. I'll get a recovery run in tomorrow, and hopefully I'll be able to get back into the plan next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Murph_D wrote: »

Coming down with something maybe? If so, you can shake it off in time, better now than next week or later. You did well to finish today, not short of HTFU anyway. ;)
    Thanks murph, not sure if I am coming down with something. Feel wrecked and not overly keen on eating much since. But nothing more than that. I will take plenty of vits, eat well, drink plenty of fluids and keep an eye on it. Thanks again.