Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

People are buying up ticketmaster tickets in bulk in order to sell them off dearer on ticketmasters other site seatwave. basically legal ticket touting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,555 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

With Seatwave are the tickets not surrendered and then reissued to the new name? There's no physical tickets being exchanged back and given to another buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭madanall

I'd never attend another match if they pulled a stunt like that.

It is obvious that Ticketmaster are withholding tickets for sale on Seat Wave. Maybe Joe can't say that but a blind man can see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Let's do the mattymaticks Joe ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Feck it, would people ever cop on and make do with YouTube or watch an old episode of Top of the Pops. Better sound and you don't have to leave your couch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

The touts, they got the money when they sold the tickets to the poooeerrrr fans, then when the refunds came they were issued back to the credit cards they were bought with so the seller gets that too, not the buyer, pure cash cow so to speak.

Well, only if they were complete muppets.

The original purchaser's name would be on the tickets so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Stop shouting at the woman, ffs. She just said that she didn't know that ticket touting was illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Thank f*ck I have no desire to see ColdPlay ... it was enough of a pain to get Springsteen tickets last year ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Why is Joe now dropping 'alleged' in front of touting every time one of his callers says it, but it's ok for him?

GDY151

He can only fit 4 at the one time so speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Joe needs to watch Dispatches, Seatwave don't just act as a reseller by fans, they receive allocations of tickets from promoters and sell them on themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Is Joe not allowing anyone to dish the name of Ticketmaster as they advertise on RTÉ? Similar to the Lloyds Pharmacy filtering so to speak.

He may be sticking to the legalistic way of making it plain that nobody can say that, kind of thing; but fair play to him, he's grown some balls.
    Small ones, to be sure.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Why is Joe now dropping 'alleged' in front of touting every time one of his callers says it, but it's ok for him?

Because he's a smug twat.

vicwatson wrote: »
    Bands should tell Ticketmaster to F O

I mentioned it earlier, but Pearl Jam tried it back in the 90s, they even had congressional hearings
    http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/pearl-jam-taking-on-ticketmaster-19951228
    http://ultimateclassicrock.com/pearl-jam-sues-ticketmaster/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

madanall wrote: »
    It is obvious that Ticketmaster are withholding tickets for sale on Seat Wave. Maybe Joe can't say that but a blind man can see it.

i think Joe is alluding to that, but for obvious reasons cannot say it. He does not like ticket master

GDY151

Well, only if they were complete muppets.

The original purchaser's name would be on the tickets so to speak.

I remember lots of "country folk" friends bought them from unauthorised sellers so to speak and then when they refunds came they were unable to get a cent as tickets were not issued to them.

Let's do the mattymaticks Joe ..

Joe: Tree tickets at €89 each is almost €500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Pateen being thrown to wolves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Maybe they will have a second gig. They might sell the tickets and the Dublin Co Co refuse planning permission. After a big row, Coldplay refuse to play at all.

That couldn't happen.......could it?

Maybe they will have a second gig. They might sell the tickets and the Dublin Co Co refuse planning permission. After a big row, Coldplay refuse to play at all.

That couldn't happen.......could it?

Right kids, I have to abort (I'm down wit de kids so to speak) de thread for the moment so to speak but I'll be back later.

GDY151

So will Joe ask him the $50k question as to what his attendance record is?

Joe allowing one of his FF buddies on air to argue against a newspaper article. Joe is getting fairly fond with doing this these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

The garettt brukes farce was one of the greatest laughs of all time my favourite bit was the guy in indo clip that had looney tunes as ringtone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Another FF muck savage who is an 'hereditary' https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_McEllistrim_(born_1968) politician. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Oh goodie... :D:D

"Fight, fight, fight".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

Joe ready to tear into the journalist on behalf of the councillor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Hope this lad has a good solicitor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Did Joe get his seat in Rick Steins on Seatwave or through his RTE contacts.

Not personal?..........like fcuk it's not!