Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

Cows in here tonight lashing from the heavens. They ran in the shed after milking been feeding them good quality bales of silage in wet spells over past few weeks. Awful early to be eating into winter suppliers but needs must

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Of the last 10 calves born 9 have been angus bulls, 1 heifer. Glad they aren't friesians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Of the last 10 calves born 9 have been angus bulls, 1 heifer. Glad they aren't friesians
    Santa sorted so;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,851 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Buford, you reckon they'll be strong enough to pull the sleigh?

Water John wrote: »
    Buford, you reckon they'll be strong enough to pull the sleigh?

Plenty of new milk into them while it's still cheap:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

If there is one time of year I really miss in Switzerland it's the first week of October.

30044345831_081907e83d_z.jpg

I suppose you wandered north over the border in Sept too for the beer festival?

not for a long while, but maybe once or twice in my rather long and misspent youth :)

Actually it's not just the return of the cows which makes Switzerland great at this time of year - it's the season of "chasse" - hunting food - wild mountain game, venison, red onions, wild mushrooms ... some of the finest cooking in the world and very rarely written about or known outside the villages. The season only lasts a few weeks from about now until the snow line moves down to the village level and then it's fondue time for a few months.

The fact that red meat is rare in the Swiss mountain diet makes this time of year all the more special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kowtow wrote: »
    If there is one time of year I really miss in Switzerland it's the first week of October.

30044345831_081907e83d_z.jpg

Aghh thecreturn of the cows from the mountain pre winter .seen it in mayrhofen ;Austria .

The IGA spring dairy conference booking forms just came in the door. It's on in Kilkenny on Jan 18th.

http://www.irishgrassland.com/Events-and-Reviews/post-detail.asp?postId=4305

I can imagine there will be one or two lads from here in Kilkenny for the day;)

Karina Pierce from UCD will be presenting a section on the high yield, high stocking rate trials in Lyons Estate on the day as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

anyone else cutting silage bales this week . a good bit around us cut or going to cut before the weekend

mowed yesterday being baled on Friday :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

A lot of mowing going on in this area. There wasn't as much activity some days in May.

Was a great day today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Feck ye anyway I'm gone tight on grass here. Bitch of an in calf heifer is constantly breaking wire as well and ain't helping the situation and I can't figure out which one it is.

The experts will be telling us all we are wasting money baling this grass. That we got our building up of grass all wrong.
    If weather breaks further in a few weeks, they will all be eaten.

The experts will be telling us all we are wasting money baling this grass. That we got our building up of grass all wrong.
    Everyone tries to do the best with what they have, there are no experts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Strange year, even just from on here, lads with maize in the pit, others baling grass in Oct and and others still with unharvested grain in fields

I should have put 'experts' in inverted commas.
    I made bales on Sunday. Delighted to have them.
    Better than a ball of snow next March.

Better to make the bales on the fields now than looking at a very high cover all winter that mightnt be able to be grazed until April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭moneyheer

whelan2 wrote: »
    Better to make the bales on the fields now than looking at a very high cover all winter that mightnt be able to be grazed until April

very true. Hard to poach concrete ☺

Or stood on to keep heads above water.

We mowed this evening as well, for a third cut that I should have taken in August.

Whats the best form for this late grass? Is it worth tedding and extra wrap as we do with the early cuts or should we just leave it down, bale it up and wrap it lightly on the basis that it's never going to be rocket fuel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

You can never have too much silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

kowtow wrote: »
    We mowed this evening as well, for a third cut that I should have taken in August.

Whats the best form for this late grass? Is it worth tedding and extra wrap as we do with the early cuts or should we just leave it down, bale it up and wrap it lightly on the basis that it's never going to be rocket fuel?

I wouldn't think there's any need for extra plastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

mf240 wrote:

Unless you have a small slab and a big sfp..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

mf240 wrote: »
    I wouldn't think there's any need for extra plastic.

I wouldn't be skimping on it either though. Standard application. The drier the better within reason. Biggest complaint always with late season silage is how soft (wet really) the material is. Can be very hard to preserve as sugars aren't what they should be. Less weight will give you more sugar per kilo for preservation I think.

mf240 wrote: »

My BIL farms heavy ground and keeps a spare years silage in the yard. When the silage stock drops in a bad year, he drops stock numbers and cuts more silage until it's back up again..

Yeah, drying at this time is important. Great wind ATM.
    I cut Sat and ended up baling Sun because of Mon weather. The swarth dried remarkably after mower/conditioner.
    Just rayed in on Sun. Bales sitting up nicely.

anyone got any idea how long milk recording results take from recording to showing up on ICBF (or whatever)?