Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

RedRunner wrote: »
    Great report G. Well done again, goal envisioned, goal trained for, goal achieved. Job done!

Going for Gold next summer?:)

Enjoy the rest and good luck with the training for the sloppy stuff.

Thanks R! Gold, ha ha. I'd need to be knocking at least 10 and 20 seconds off my respective 800 and 1500 times :eek: Maybe I'll start training for the javelin :D.

aquinn wrote: »
    Absolutely wonderful. What an exciting report. Thanks very much for that.

Thanks, AQ! It's amazing the nonsense that goes around in your head during the race that can be recycled into a race report :D.
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Super stuff G great report :)

Thanks, A. I'd say that'll be the last 'clean' race report for a long while. The muck beckons!
    spaceylou wrote: »
    Well done G, great stuff - congrats on the pbs and the bling!

Cheers, L. I'm not normally one for bling but I'm proud of these two :).
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Sounds like a great day and two well run races, particularly 1500, you should
    have kept going the extra 100m for your 6 min mile:D

Ha ha, maybe I should have. If I'd had even one ounce of energy left.... Not too far away from the sub 6 now I hope.

A visit to the physio (ouch and then some :rolleyes:), a beginners Pilates class and some sprinting practice with BG Jr (who's all inspired after the Olympics, but may well go Dark Side on me) and that was it for the week. Feeling all the better for the rest I must say, but looking forward to resuming running tomorrow with some easy miles.

Target races for the XC season will be the Dublin Novices, Dublin Masters and National Masters, hopefully will be on a team for these. And, of course, there's a Meet & Train title to defend :D. Bring on the muck and the hills!

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 0

Club coach said easy miles only* for the week to complete the recovery. Felt a bit twitchy for a session but I know it’s the right thing to do. I had entered the Lakes 10K but I knew I wouldn’t be beating last year’s time so decided against it.

Monday – Easy

Off work this week as no childcare and spent a lovely day with friends and their kids in the National Stud and Japanese Gardens in Kildare. Weather was perfect and I was looking forward to getting out later on for a run. Got out around 6ish for a few laps of the local park. Felt very unfit! It’s not just the preceding zero mile week but also the relaxation of the clean living rules I’d been abiding by pre-Nats. I haven’t dared jump on the scales – the fear :eek:. Still, great to be back. A few twinges, a few niggles, but nothing that can’t be attributed to sitting on my ass while stuffing my face for a week :rolleyes:.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:21 (grass)

Tuesday – Pacing

*Oops. I had offered to pace Laura_AC3 around the Raheny 2 mile course this evening so this definitely wasn’t going to fit into the prescribed easy running. Based on her PB of 15:52 and Macmillan (+ friendly rivalry-based :rolleyes:) target of 15:36, I’d be running close enough to HMP (which always feels tough when you’re not actually running a HM!). As it turned out (read L’s report here), my pacee was in flying form, coming in well ahead of target, and I probably held her back if anything :o. Super running by her and definitely loads more PBs to come.
    • 4.5 miles incl. 2 miles @ 7:36 (road)

Wednesday – S&C, Easy

Intermediate Pilates which isn’t getting any easier followed by a run along the prom taking in the wooden bridge and back. Can’t remember anything much about this although I’m pretty sure it was windy.
    • 4.2 miles @ 9:09 (grass)

Month 2016 2015 2014 2013
    January 141 101 86 0
    February 134 109 75 0
    March 114 124 109 0
    April 127 129 101 24
    May 127 133 95 81
    June 110 110 86 72
    July 139 181 2 101
    August 91 208 31 37
    September 133 83 43
    October 155 93 64
    November 170 107 69
    December 113 119 94
    983 1666 987 585

Thursday – REST

BG Jr.’s first day in ‘big school’ so great excitement today and no running. No running for me, that is. BG Jr. and her classmates all running around like lunatics. Poor teacher :pac::pac::pac:.

Friday – S&C, Easy

Pilates and an easy run same route as Wednesday evening more or less. Barely time to change before heading back to the school to pick up the Junior Infant. This is going to be fun when I’m back in work.
    • 4.1 miles @ 9:10 (grass)

Saturday – Easy

Had notions of jogging a parkrun this morning, but himself had other ideas and took an unscheduled, non pre-approved lie-on :( so I didn’t get out until much later. Just as well really as I missed the worst of the rain. Just did laps of the local park.
    • 5.0 miles @ 9:20 (grass, soggy)

Sunday – LSR

Had to divert away from the madding crowd around Croker and went towards St.Anne’s via Griffith Ave and Killester and back down Vernon Ave and along the coast, finishing with a lap of the local park. I’d brought money to treat myself to coffee and a scone afterwards but the queue outside the local café (normally empty at this time on a Sunday) was out the door with fans, so I trudged home, caffeine-free, forced onto the road more than once by the throngs :mad:.
    • 6.0 miles @ 8:59 (path, grass)
    TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 27.8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

I apologise for being so ridiculously late to the party - I'm still playing catch up.

Wow, congratulation on your two medals at Nats. Having put such mental and physical effort into operation HTFU, it must be so rewarding to romp home with two well deserved placings :) Well done, you're a great role model :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

are you giving paced mile a try next Wednesday.

Neady83 wrote: »
    I apologise for being so ridiculously late to the party - I'm still playing catch up.

Wow, congratulation on your two medals at Nats. Having put such mental and physical effort into operation HTFU, it must be so rewarding to romp home with two well deserved placings :) Well done, you're a great role model :)

*Rescues log from archives :o*

Thanks so much Neady. I hope you are on the mend and planning your next adventure!
    are you giving paced mile a try next Wednesday.

I bailed :o. Not fit enough at the moment. I'll be giving the Alsaa winter league a shot again this year. Not giving up on the sub-6 although the attempt may kill me.

Just starting to get back into some sort of structured training. Nice and gently, don't want to overdo it now do I ? :D

Monday - Easy

Out and back along the coast. Very warm. Sweaty Betty by the time I got home.
    • 4.1 miles @ 8:56 incl. 8 x 15 sec strides (grass, path)

Tuesday – Track Session

Jogged to the track with Murph_D, or Dr. Murph as he is now and shall henceforth be known :D. Discovered the session was to be 12 x 400m @ 5K pace with 45 secs recovery :eek:. Knew I wouldn’t be able for that after the break so went with 2 sets of 5 reps. Paces were consistent enough, but was afraid of pushing too hard as could feel a vague sense of the FlAbs about to present itself.

Set 1 6:26, 6:35, 6:34, 6:34, 6:45
    Set 2 6:33, 6:24, 6:33, 6:20, 6:42
    (Target pace 6:42 min/mile)

Jogged back with the doc.
    • 8.1 miles (path, track) incl. warm up, dynamic, session and cool down.

Wednesday - Easy

Local loop

3.0 miles @ 9:04 (path)

Thursday – Alsaa Track Evening

A fun event at Alsaa with some clubmates trying out the various distances. Managed a slight PB in the 200m (33:17) and failed spectacularly at the mile (wasn’t feeling it, so dropped out after a lap). Finished off the night with a 4 x 100m relay.
    • 2.0 miles total (track)

Friday – REST

A family wedding. Went for an ‘upstyle’ and decided to leave it up to the hairdresser. Big mistake. I looked like a caricature of a Roman empress. In fairness to her she knew it wasn’t ‘me’ and fixed it quickly enough with a can of hairspray and an additional 50 hair pins. Still finding those in my hair…

Saturday – Easy

Loop of St.Anne’s including a lap of the Masters XC route, log jump included. Think there was coffee after this but can’t remember for sure. May have been slightly hungover.
    • 4.8 miles @ 9:12 (trail, grass, tarmac)

Sunday – LSR

Decided on an hour’s run. Not much time so just made up a door-to-door run locally instead of my usual St.Anne’s trail/tarmac combo. Ran up from Griffith Ave towards Collins Ave which is a decent enough drag then all the way down Gracepark Road to Richmond Road, downhill for about a mile. Through Griffith Park, then uphill again and a loop of Albo. Back down Mobhi Road, though Griffith Park again and home via Marino. Enjoyable run.
    • 6.8 miles @ 8:55

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 28.8

Another relatively easy week without a proper plan. Many of the runs were just a form of transport rather than to meet any particular training objective. But miles is miles, no?

Monday – Easy

Loops of the local park according to Garmin. I don’t even remember this.
    • 3 miles @ 8:53 (grass)

Tuesday – Easy

Jogged in to town for marshalling duty at the GT5K. The crowds of runners, OMG! Must have been close to 5000 participants and the stragglers were barely past us around the half mile mark before the leaders appeared on the opposite side of the road with only 400m to go. The usual dim behaviour from a minority such as giant headphone-wearing runners (the headphones were giant, not the runners) ignoring instructions to stay off the paths – it’s a road race people – and rogue pedestrians and cyclists deciding to plough through a race rather than wait 10 seconds to get a clear route through. One of my clubmates got dogs abuse from a particularly enraged citizen. The language! You wouldn’t hear it from a docker. (Ah you would, Ted, they use very bad language).
    Got great fun out of witnessing the garda who was managing traffic at our post stopping dozens cyclists for various infringements. Not so smug now, are yis!
    Jogged home accompanied by aquinn on her bike. Very glad of the company as it was dark by the time we finished.
    • 3.4 miles total (path)

Wednesday – S&C, Easy

Intermediate Pilates which was tough enough but a good workout. Then a few easy miles up to and along the Wooden Bridge and back.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:00 (grass)

Thursday – REST

By the time I was released from parenting duties it was getting dark so took a rest day.

Friday – Easy, S&C

Bus strike so jogged into town after dropping BG Jr. off at school. Tough session in the gym but about time I got back into it. Plan will be to include 2 sessions a week for the winter once I’ve got back some of the strength I’ve lost since the Nats.

Jogged back, quick shower and straight to the school. 5 minutes late but I think I got away with it.
    • 4.5 miles total (path)

Saturday – Club Hill Session

Jogged to the PP for the club session. First time to do this even though I’m familiar with the loop from various XC races. 4 x 1 mile with 90 secs recovery. Ah, no coach, I’m just back, haven’t been up a hill in months, I’ll do two. No, she says, you’ll do 4. Gulp. It was tough but good. Perfect morning for it. We finished with some strides and a long cooldown. Thankfully got a lift home otherwise I’d have been seriously overdoing the mileage.

4 x Munich Mile loop (benchmark setting, aiming for consistency)

Lap 1 7:39
    Lap 2 7:48
    Lap 3 7:52
    Lap 4 7:50
    Average 7:47 min/mile
    • 10.3 miles total (path, grass/trail)

Sunday – LSR

Ran from home as far away from the match as possible :D. Up to St.Anne’s for a loop of the inside, and the length of the avenue to finish. Bus home to the news that the match was a draw so we’ll be suffering the picnics and brazen parking yet again :rolleyes:.
    • 7 miles @ 9:23 (path, grass/trail, tarmac)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 32.2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭diego_b

Here here on the headphone runners, it's becoming a real bug bear of mine...even within a race they cut across the road all over the place without any due caution to what could be behind or beside them.

Also love the Ted reference!!

21 weeks to this block’s target race: National Masters XC on 12th Feb. No time to waste, bring on the muck and the hills:D. Key races will be the Dublin Novices XC, the Dublin Masters XC and of course the Meet & Train series where our team has a title to defend! I’m going to make an effort to race less this season (maybe ;)) and definitely increase the S&C to two gym sessions as well as Pilates.

Monday – Recovery

After a tough weekend including a gym workout, hill session and LSR I was only able for a plod this evening in the local park. Perfect running weather so a bit of a shame to be dragging myself around rather than zipping along. Getting noticeably darker so it’ll have to be the promenade for any grass runs from now on
    • 3.5 miles @ 9:29 (grass)
    Tuesday – Club Session

Jogged to the club with the Doc. Dynamic warm up of sorts (I was too busy chatting to pay close attention to the drills :o) followed by strides and straight into the session: 4 sets of 600m/400m/200m with 75/60 recs and then 2 mins after the 200s between sets. We were aiming for 5K pace for the 600s, 3k pace for the 400s, and around mile pace for the 200s. Recoveries were generous enough so I found this session very do-able. Love being able to do sessions with clubmates now. I’m able to attend on Tuesdays and Saturdays now having dropped some commitments and juggled others. So much more enjoyable to have company. Jogged home with Murph, easy pace, but was very surprised to see just how slow it was, sorry Murph!

Rep, 600m, 400m, 200m Pace in min/mile
    Set 1, 6:38, 6:25, 5:40
    Set 2, 6:24, 6:15, 5:53
    Set 3, 6:19, 6:21, 5:41
    Set 4, 6:23, 6:22, 5:22

• 8.1 miles total (path, track)
    Wednesday – S&C, Easy

Intermediate Pilates. Good class. Followed by a very refreshing run in the rain up and back on the promenade. Loved the fresh air tonight, could have kept going a lot longer but the week is backloaded as usual with lots of miles planned for Sat/Sun so thought better of doing more.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:10 (grass)

Thursday – REST

No running, but did precisely 4 minutes of S&C: planks, side planks and press-ups. Awarded myself a halo.

Friday – S&C, Easy

Gym session including various squats, lunges, core and upper body stuff.
    Lovely run in the sunshine with the backpack from the gym to home via the promenade.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:25 (grass)

Saturday – Hill Session (and the rest :rolleyes:)

Jogged to the park, with the backpack, for the exact same session as last week. Conditions were very different though! Was soaked through by the time I got there and the mile loop was soggy underfoot. I was more or less on my own for the session, just two others doing it and they were a good deal faster. We could see the half marathon unfold from our vantage point on the Magazine Fort. Tough session but happy with the outcome especially as it was windier and wetter than last week and I had no one to work off. Pace was more consistent than last week (gotta work on that 3rd lap :o) and the average lap was faster by 4 seconds.

4 x Munich Mile loop (90 secs rec)

Lap 1 7:39
    Lap 2 7:42
    Lap 3 7:50
    Lap 4 7:40

Average 7:43 min/mile

Did a cool down to the finish line of the half to cheer on friends and clubmates including Murph_D and Annapr from these parts. Met Nop98 who was supporting his Novices (or else he was just there for the flapjacks, I’m not sure :pac::pac:). Final run of the day was over to Kilmainham for lunch and, thankfully, a change out of the wet clothes.

Too many miles, legs tired now, but no choice really as no car today and no buses to be had either. Got a packed Luas back to the northside then walked home. Covered more than a half marathon myself if you include all the walking (which I won't ;)!)
    • 12.6 miles total (grass/trail, path)

Sunday – LSR

70 minutes on the plan. Kept it simple, up to the end of the Bull Wall and back. Sunny but fresh, and very windy on the way back.
    • 7.7 miles @ 9:10 (grass, path)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 39.9

Monday – Easy

Local loops.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:27 (grass)

Tuesday – Club Session

Jogged to the track with Murph and got to cheer as he collected his team medal from the Dublin 10 mile Championships – I must confess to some bling envy, it’s very fancy! Congrats Dr. Murph :D. Joined in the dynamic warm up, did some strides and waited to hear the details of the session. 3 sets of 4 x 400m, decreasing recoveries of 45,30,15 seconds and 90 seconds between sets. 5K pace so not super fast but we were warned the last rep in each set would be a killer :eek:. Target pace for me was 6:42 min/mile or thereabouts based on 5K PB so I’m happy with the paces and reasonable consistency. 15 seconds is NOTHING for a recovery, would have been easier to just keep going!

Set 1, 6:34, 6:22, 6:35, 6:40, average 6:33
    Set 2, 6:30, 6:39, 6:36, 6:50, average 6:39
    Set 3, 6:27, 6:35, 6:41, 6:43, average 6:37

• 8.3 miles total (path, track)

Wednesday – S&C, Recovery

Intermediate Pilates and a soggy, windy run up and down the promenade. Handy enough on the way out with the wind behind me but tough going into the wind on the way back. At least it wasn’t cold though. Very dark out and almost collided with another runner who was dressed head to toe in black and was hurtling* towards me so fast I had to jump out of the way as I only saw him at the last minute.

*Wind was behind him. No doubt the return leg slowed him down and put manners on him :pac::pac::pac:.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:55 (grass)

Thursday – Easy

No opportunity for a proper run today but got some miles in jogging to the school for a meeting (a mile :rolleyes:) and then jogging back home the long way around.

Late evening physio appointment getting work done on the calves and quads plus a bit on the glutes.
    • 3.6 miles total (path)

Friday - REST

Nuffin’.

Month 2016 2015 2014 2013
    January 141 101 86 0
    February 134 109 75 0
    March 114 124 109 0
    April 127 129 101 24
    May 127 133 95 81
    June 110 110 86 72
    July 139 181 2 101
    August 91 208 31 37
    September 136 133 83 43
    October 155 93 64
    November 170 107 69
    December 113 119 94
    1119 1666 987 585

Saturday – Race prep

Some easy miles, drills and 6 x 100m strides @ race effort in the local park. Strides turned out to be too fast after the fact so I’ll need to start more conservatively tomorrow or I’ll be dying a slow and painful death.
    • 3.6 miles total (grass)

Sunday – Dublin Novices XC (4K)

First XC of the season so no expectations from me! I knew from last year that this would be a shock to the system, so plan was to go off conservatively enough and hopefully have enough for a decent last lap.

The big factor for me this year was the heat! It was hot. And there wasn’t even any muck :rolleyes:.

Anyhow, the race. We were told it was a short lap followed by 2 long laps for a total of 4K. Found it very congested on the first (short) lap, it was difficult to overtake. I felt I should have been further up the field but didn’t want to blow up. Our club had supporters everywhere which really helped. 2nd lap was ok, wasn’t getting overtaken much and passed a few. Felt reasonably strong on the last lap and was able to give it a bit of welly at the finish.

Can’t shake off the feeling now in retrospect that I didn’t give this 100%. I wasn’t in the least bit sore after or since and I don’t feel particularly tired. Just too early in the season I guess. If I can hone my competitive instincts for Jan/Feb time that’ll be just fine :D.
    • 8.2 miles total (grass, path)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 28.1

I’ve put together a table to chart my progress (hopefully) over the 2016/2017 XC season. Seeing as how time doesn’t matter in XC, I’ve put in some key metrics (get me :cool:) and will add to the table each time I race.

Race Time Place (F) Place (AG) % F Winner % of F Field Standard
    Dublin Novice 4K 17:48 53 n/a 120% 71% County / Novice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

Well done on the Novice, sounds like a good and sensible start to the season!

Two things:
    1 - Any idea when (if?) the Women's Meet & Train Winter League is getting off the ground?
    2 - Can you explain your metrics please? The percentages I mean. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Mulberry wrote: »
    Well done on the Novice, sounds like a good and sensible start to the season!

Two things:
    1 - Any idea when (if?) the Women's Meet & Train Winter League is getting off the ground?
    2 - Can you explain your metrics please? The percentages I mean. Thanks!

Thanks Mulberry, you're starting your season off on Saturday I think ? Best of luck!

No idea about the Meet & Train. Our rep hasn't been advised of a meeting yet. Meeting normally happens in October with the first race late Nov/early Dec.

The % of winner is your time relative to the (female) winner's time, and over a season can show progress (or lack thereof :rolleyes:) as the top runners tend to be fairly consistent in their performance. So if I run 15 mins versus the winners 12 mins, then my percentage of winner is (15/12)x100 = 125%. Over the course of the season I might aim to get that below 120%. I'd expect to get a lower % in a Meet & Train race than in a county or national race so that's why I put the standard in the table too.

The % of F Field is just your position relative to the entire (female) field, so 50th place out of 60 runners (83%) is not as good a result as the same position in a larger field, say 50th out of 120 runners (42%).

Gosh, I'm a nerd :o

RayCun wrote: »

Thanks, you shouldn't have :)

No, really, you shouldn't have :eek:

The Phoenix Park is looking splendid at least :rolleyes:

Monday – REST

Unscheduled. Bah.

Tuesday – Club Session

Met up with Murph for our now regular jog to the club of a Tuesday. Great to have the company for the trip there and back and a handy way to get some extra miles (or Km :rolleyes:) in.

Session was 8 x 600m @ 5K pace with 200m jog recoveries. Target pace 6:42 min/mile. Reps were close enough and reasonably consistent. Job done.

06:39 06:50 06:50 06:41
    06:42 06:44 06:49 06:42
    • 8.7 miles (path, track)

Wednesday – S&C, Easy

Intermediate Pilates followed by a run along the grass track of the promenade. Bumped into Annapr who was running the opposite direction encouraged by a mini-trainer on his bicycle. Reminiscent of the Rocky movies :D.

Perfect running weather and only a light breeze.
    • 4.2 miles @ 9:14 (grass)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Bungy Girl wrote: »

Don't let aquinn see that video, she'll be traumatised all over again!

You must be so happy to be back in XC again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

How many minutes in are you? I can't spot you!

annapr wrote: »
    Don't let aquinn see that video, she'll be traumatised all over again!

You must be so happy to be back in XC again!

Ha ha, aquinn was the one who told me it was here :D

Yes I am. And I'll be even happier once it's wet and mucky!
    Mulberry wrote: »
    I can't spot you!

Phew! ;) Near the back is all I'm saying :p

Ha ha, aquinn was the one who told me it was here :D

Yes I am. And I'll be even happier once it's wet and mucky!

Phew! ;) Near the back is all I'm saying :p

Ah more mid table I'd say, lots of CRU runners, must nave been qtr of
    the field.

Ps. Defiantly looking to relaxed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Great video and well done! Am I right in saying that your dash to the finishline was just not captured?

nop98 wrote: »
    Great video and well done! Am I right in saying that your dash to the finishline was just not captured?

It was BG is just that fast it's a blur :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

No muck :eek: sure what's the point :rolleyes: :D

Can't see that video properly on my phone look forward to watching properly maniana (sp?!)

Ah more mid table I'd say, lots of CRU runners, must nave been qtr of
    the field.

Ps. Defiantly looking to relaxed :)

Ha ha, I wouldn't say relaxed but yeah, not convinced I made the effort :rolleyes:
    nop98 wrote: »

I think the cameraman knew the runner just in front of me so he did a big sweep to catch her and missed me (thankfully!) :D.
    It was BG is just that fast it's a blur :pac:

I wish :o
    Firedance wrote: »
    No muck :eek: sure what's the point :rolleyes: :D

Can't see that video properly on my phone look forward to watching properly maniana (sp?!)

I know, right ? It was no Cow Park :rolleyes:.

And welcome back :D

Thursday – Tempo

Decided to try something different from the prescribed 3 x 10mins after reading an article by Chris Jones on Irish Runner’s FB. The pace calculations took almost as long as the run in the end :rolleyes: but I enjoyed this session and might follow this tempo plan for my Thursday run over the winter.

Based off a HM pace of 7:34 min/mile, I worked out 3 paces of 8:20, 8:00 and 9:10 respectively and ran 5 x (2 mins @ 8:20, 2 mins @ 8:00, 2 mins @ 9:10). The idea is to extend the time running at the 2 faster paces over the next 6 weeks, then you move up to faster paces. The paces are very manageable at the moment but I do think the trick with tempo is not to overdo it and the progression on this programme is quite evident. No harm giving it a shot anyway.

Target 08:20 08:00 09:10
    Set 1 08:07 07:56 09:11
    Set 2 08:16 07:56 09:02
    Set 3 08:25 07:54 09:02
    Set 4 08:23 08:07 09:10
    Set 5 08:16 07:59 09:05

• 5.1 miles total (grass)
    Friday – S&C, Easy

Gym work for about 50 mins before escaping into the fresh air for a nice 4 miles with strides on the grass.
    • 4.2 miles @ 8:52 (grass)

How did you work out paces G, on McMillan tempo is about 7-7.10, just courious
    will be interesting to see if you get similar results with above. Might give a go
    myself certinatly your session looks nicer effort wise if same results come with
    it.

How did you work out paces G, on McMillan tempo is about 7-7.10, just courious
    will be interesting to see if you get similar results with above. Might give a go
    myself certinatly your session looks nicer effort wise if same results come with
    it.

The full article is here if you're interested. As you can see the paces are based on a 67 min HM runner :eek: so I just worked the paces out on a % basis working from my own HM pace of 7:34 min/mile. The paces eventually go to HM pace and faster so will probably end up at the McMillan tempo rate but at the moment that is definitely too fast for me (more like 10K pace)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Are you doing the teachers xc tomorrow? If so, enjoy!!