Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Ouch feck that long grass :mad:

Sub 50 6.2 miles on a hilly route in training?? Flying :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

+1 to that, but, are those kilometer splits? :confused::confused::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

nop98 wrote: »
    +1 to that, but, are those kilometer splits? :confused::confused::P

Well they're not miles.

Km splits are permitted in a Km race or training for a Km race. Fact :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Great work G. That friday session on the hill is very impressive. What was the hR like by comparison?

denis b wrote: »
    Great work G. That friday session on the hill is very impressive. What was the hR like by comparison?

Thanks Denis! No idea as don't monitor HR but effort level was higher than usual for that route!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Ouch feck that long grass :mad:

Well done on your race anyway BG, sorry I wasn't there to cheer you on, I was away.

Will you be back for the Leinster Masters which we're hosting in January? We will ensure that the grass is no longer long for that race...

Mulberry wrote: »

Well done on your race anyway BG, sorry I wasn't there to cheer you on, I was away.

Will you be back for the Leinster Masters which we're hosting in January? We will ensure that the grass is no longer long for that race...

Excellent! And while you're at it maybe put the sprinklers on for a few days beforehand ;)

Will you be racing ? Or organising ? Or both :eek:?

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Excellent! And while you're at it maybe put the sprinklers on for a few days beforehand ;)

Will you be racing ? Or organising ? Or both :eek:?

I will pray for rain for you BG!

I've had to ditch the XC this season I'm afraid! My new sprints programme calls for track only - imagine. It was a tough call forgoing all the fun of XC - maybe I'll be back next year. The track plan involves a massive c. 900-1200 meters running a week. I know, pick yourself up off the floor BG! Oh I forgot about the 800 meters part of the warm up and cool down LOL. It's like a different sport. I am reading about your LSRs with envy!

I will pray for rain for you BG!

I've had to ditch the XC this season I'm afraid! My new sprints programme calls for track only - imagine. It was a tough call forgoing all the fun of XC - maybe I'll be back next year. The track plan involves a massive c. 900-1200 meters running a week. I know, pick yourself up off the floor BG! Oh I forgot about the 800 meters part of the warm up and cool down LOL. It's like a different sport. I am reading about your LSRs with envy!

Sorry you're missing XC ! But it sounds like you will be faster than ever with such focussed training. Presume lots of time in the gym on the cards as well ? Can't wait to see what you do this spring/summer. Will you do indoors ? I *may* give it a shot. First time for everything!

Yes lots of gym work - but it's much easier to go for a run than it is to go to the gym or do home S&C. I need to do a LOT more there. Yes I'm doing the indoors, and you should too - running in AIT makes you feel like you're in the Olympics!

In fact they've a 'baseline' meet in AIT on Weds 14th - interested? Anyone interested? It's for setting a 'baseline' marker for training leading up to the indoors. Distances are 60M, 150m, 300m, 1000m, 3000m - shorter than the usual because nobody's in shape yet! Weds 14th, races start at 6.30 pm.

Yes lots of gym work - but it's much easier to go for a run than it is to go to the gym or do home S&C. I need to do a LOT more there. Yes I'm doing the indoors, and you should too - running in AIT makes you feel like you're in the Olympics!

In fact they've a 'baseline' meet in AIT on Weds 14th - interested? Anyone interested? It's for setting a 'baseline' marker for training leading up to the indoors. Distances are 60M, 150m, 300m, 1000m, 3000m - shorter than the usual because nobody's in shape yet! Weds 14th, races start at 6.30 pm.

That sounds awesome but there's no way I'd get a pass to head to the midlands on a school night :rolleyes:

Monday – Easy

Lovely night for a run. Headed out towards the Bull Wall. Met some running friends and joined them for a couple of miles before turning back to head home.
    • 5.0 miles (grass, path)

Tuesday – Club Session

Enjoyed this despite the cold. Jogged there and back with Murph and Ferris B. Missed the first rep while battling with my leggings :rolleyes: so had to do the last one on my own after everyone else had finished :(. Session was 12 x 400m with 45 sec recovery. Be grand if I could hold that pace for JB ;).

400m x 12 pace in min/mile
    06:24 06:21
    06:19 06:24
    06:16 06:12
    06:21 06:07
    06:20 06:19
    06:26 06:11

• 8.9 miles total (path, track)

Wednesday – Easy

Loops of local park in the daylight just before dusk while BG Jr. was outsourced. Nearly lost my reason when I came across 3 men with 4 dogs off the leash, fighting and growling (the dogs, not the men) and realised that if there was any malice intended I was a sitting duck as I was on the wrong side of the park and there was no one else about. Not a fan of dogs off the lead at the best of times anyway. Nothing to report and I felt a bit silly after the fact for getting into a big panic.
    • 3.6 miles @ 8:55 (grass, path)

Month 2016 2015 2014 2013
    January 141 101 86 0
    February 134 109 75 0
    March 114 124 109 0
    April 127 129 101 24
    May 127 133 95 81
    June 110 110 86 72
    July 139 181 2 101
    August 91 208 31 37
    September 136 133 83 43
    October 144 155 93 64
    November 147 170 107 69
    December 113 119 94
    1410 1666 987 585

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

No bother to you Saturday if wind stays away, sub 20.30 all the way, best luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    No bother to you Saturday if wind stays away, sub 20.00 all the way, best luck.

FYP :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Best of luck tomorrow :D

Thursday – REST

Can’t remember a thing about Thursday. No doubt catching up on the million things that need to be done between now and Christmas.

Friday – Easy

Headed to Howth to cheer a clubmate running the back to back marathons. Joined her for a mile or so but left her to the hills to keep the legs fresh for Jingle Bells and continued on the flat before doing some strides on the grass in front of a posh housing estate. Got some odd looks. No, I am not scoping out your house, I am doing my strides. Sheeesh.
    • 3.5 miles (path/grass) @ 8:36

Saturday – Jingle Bells 5K (PB 20:44 :cool:)

Today was a good day. Wanted a PB (20:50 from the summer in perfect conditions after a season of track work/speedy stuff) but wasn’t sure if it was on the cards. Arrived on the D3 bus with Murph and Anna. Loads of time to spare (thanks, guys!) and met Laura, Annie GYR and Nop. Bit of a warm up before discarding the layers and chose a spot in the pen a few rows back from Murph and around the usual suspects/nemeses. The plan had been to race naked but a quick glance at the stop watch passing the first Km showed 4:20 :eek:. Way off target so the naked racing went out the window and I checked the stopwatch and tried to do sums at each Km marker (watch was still in miles :rolleyes:). So I HTFU’d up Chesterfield Ave after that wake-up call and was passing out runners. Alarm bells went off when mile 2 beeped at 6:51 pace. Yikes. Even a sub 21 was looking unlikely at this point. A clubmate was cheering on the Upper Glen road at the S-bend section and shouted ‘It’s all downhill from here’. It’s not really but I took the encouragement and started to dig a bit deeper. The final kick in the pants motivation came from Nop appearing on my shoulder with maybe half a mile to go. I found another gear and ran like there were demons chasing me instead of a Flying Dutchman :D. Thought the finish would never appear. Clocked 20:45 on my watch and glad to get another second back on the chip time. Oh, and a prize for 1st in my age group, whoop! And a spot prize for answering this question: What is the name for a word that’s spelled the same forwards or backwards ?
    Palindrome.

Met some of the Graduates who were all pleased with their results: Wubble Wubble, TBO, SpaceyLou, The Muppet, FitzA, ESV, congrats to you all and lovely to see you. Delighted for AnnieGYR, Laura, Denis_B and Nop who all got PBs. Murph was within a second or so of his, clocking a course PB. All good.

Ate ridiculous amounts of brack at the prizegiving, then did a couple of miles cooldown after I got home.

Splits (in miles ): 6:49, 6:51, 6:22 (6:24)
    • 6.1 miles total (tarmac, path)

Sunday – LSR

Just over 10 cold, damp, slow uneventful miles. All on the path as it was dark by the time I got out after a surprisingly fun few hours at Panto. He’s behind you!
    • 10.2 miles (path) @ 9:27

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES : 37.3

Splits (in miles ): 6:49, 6:51, 6:22 (6:24)

Well done on the PB and first prize! Fantastic!
    You really did speed up in that third mile didn't you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

well done on the PB, and prize(s). All the hard work in the Summer paying off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Congrats again! brilliant run and super acceleration tactics when Nop appeared on your shoulder :D

How did you get on last night?! You really need to get on Strava :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Impressive running G, well done on prize and pb!!

Well done on pb, tought under 20.30 was on for sure, knew there wasn't enough
    downhill :D For sub 20 Anna suggested, defiantly going in right direction.

Well done on the PB and first prize! Fantastic!
    You really did speed up in that third mile didn't you!

Thanks :D. The downhill had a lot to do with the pace on that last mile. Gotta love gravity.
    Younganne wrote: »
    well done on the PB, and prize(s). All the hard work in the Summer paying off.

Thanks, A. Definitely got a bit of confidence from that race.
    Congrats again! brilliant run and super acceleration tactics when Nop appeared on your shoulder :D

How did you get on last night?! You really need to get on Strava :p

Nothing like someone with intent appearing on your shoulder to make you HTFU! Last night was good! I'm waiting for Murph to post his account so I can cut and paste it ;). No to Strava :eek:
    spaceylou wrote: »
    Impressive running G, well done on prize and pb!!

Thanks Spaceylou, and straight back at ya! It was great to see so many people happy with PBs.
    Well done on pb, tought under 20.30 was on for sure, knew there wasn't enough
    downhill :D For sub 20 Anna suggested, defiantly going in right direction.

Hey G, I had no idea how it was going to go and wouldn't have had the confidence to set out at 20:30 pace. I won't rule it out but without the downhill it would still have been 21:xx so still plenty to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Nothing like someone with intent appearing on your shoulder to make you HTFU! Last night was good! I'm waiting for Murph to post his account so I can cut and paste it ;). No to Strava :eek:
    !

Hmm well thanks to strava we already know Murph's account :pac: glad it went well :)

Hey G, I had no idea how it was going to go and wouldn't have had the confidence to set out at 20:30 pace. I won't rule it out but without the downhill it would still have been 21:xx so still plenty to do![/QUOTE]

Don't think course is as much of an advantage as you suggest, think
    Profile gives you confidence to push, if you didn't barf still lots left:D

Don't think course is as much of an advantage as you suggest, think
    Profile gives you confidence to push, if you didn't barf still lots left:D

No, didn't barf. Never do. Maybe that's where I'm going wrong ;) ?

Monday – REST

Scheduled.

Tuesday – Alsaa Winter League (Track) – 1 mile (6:06 PB :D)

An excellent write up from Murph here which saves me doing a report . Thanks Murph ! Felt really good for this and having someone to race/chase made all the difference. Conditions were perfect too - barely any wind and perfect temperature. Garmin awarded me a PR of 6:02 for the mile which just shows how inaccurate the GPS can be on a track.

Approx splits from timer (1:30, 1:35, 1:33, 1:28)
    • 3.5 miles total (track)

Wednesday – S&C & Easy/Recovery

Usual Pilates. Good class although I was suffering a bit from cramp in my feet, no doubt due to Tuesday’s exploits in spikes. Followed by some easy miles up and down the main Clontarf road parallel to the promenade. Windy enough on the way back.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:37 (grass, path)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Monday – REST

Scheduled.

Tuesday – Alsaa Winter League (Track) – 1 mile (6:06 PB :D)

An excellent write up from Murph here which saves me doing a report . Thanks Murph ! Felt really good for this and having someone to race/chase made all the difference. Conditions were perfect too - barely any wind and perfect temperature. Garmin awarded me a PR of 6:02 for the mile which just shows how inaccurate the GPS can be on a track.

Approx splits from timer (1:30, 1:35, 1:33, 1:28)

Indeed. It gave me 5:59. :rolleyes: I actually had a dream after that the race was long, probably because someone has actually laid down a 402m strava segment for the ALSAA track. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Congrats on the 1 Miler PB G. There is a rhythm to that!!! Nice run (race) and what a difference a bit of competition makes.

Pb again really on a roll well done,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Two PB's in a week BG, great to see and great racing.