After hours no longer a safe place for irreverent humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,086 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Maguined wrote:
    I have already pointed out my reasons why I think such a request would not go through but it's okay you prefer the place is now with your salty responses and serious discussion so it's all good, no point repeating ourselves.

Mmm. Salty responses on pigheads.
    That's how it used to work right? Random nonsensical responses.

You'll never bring the banter back if you get your nose out of joint that easy. Has it occurred to anyone that their own sense of humour has changed in the last 15 years? I hope mine has.

Christ on a bike. I'm glad boards isn't as conservative as the 'old skoolers' would like it to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Mmm. Salty responses on pigheads.
    That's how it used to work right? Random nonsensical responses.

You'll never bring the banter back if you get your nose out of joint that easy. Has it occurred to anyone that their own sense of humour has changed in the last 15 years? I hope mine has.

Christ on a bike. I'm glad boards isn't as conservative as the 'old skoolers' would like it to be!

No not at all, Pigheads responses had wit and flair which made the amusement.

A shame you might have been fun 15 years ago.

I am proposing the sense of humour on After Hours should be more liberal as it was in the past and not as conservative as it is now so I don't understand why you are complaining how conservative it is? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,086 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Maguined wrote:
    No not at all, Pigheads responses had wit and flair which made the amusement.
    Ah well that's me out then
    Maguined wrote:
    A shame you might have been fun 15 years ago.
    No. I've always stood firmly against craic
    Maguined wrote:
    I am proposing the sense of humour on After Hours should be more liberal as it was in the past and not as conservative as it is now so I don't understand why you are complaining how conservative it is?
    Conservative with a small 'c'. Conservative in the philosophical sense like when Bill O'Reilly says everything was better in the past. The way forward is by going backwards. That type of conservative. No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Making gay jokes is likely to be challenged by a lot of people.

Depends. I made this gay joke and nobody got butt-hurt.

See what I did there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I saw.

And I'm totally offended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

What do you get if you cross a Cow with a shoe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Jodotman wrote: »
    What do you get if you cross a Cow with a shoe?

A leather shoe?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've never once been cross with a cow.

Phew, glad I've got that off my chest, been bottling that up for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Boards has less posters now than before because of saturation. If you're online you will have Calls, Texts, Snapchat, Reddit, Whatsapp, Facebook, Twitter, Podcasts, YouTube ect. There's only so much anyone can devote themselves to the auld Boards ect. online.

Because of this thread I went through my old posts 5 years ago. One of the reasons I quit out of my old account for a fair while was because of a 3 day mod ban that I could have argued against rightfully but couldn't bother at the time, or now. My posts do seem to be way more off the wall then than now as well though. :) Far more nonsense and less about sense then.

All I can say now is my posting here has dropped off like a cliff in the last year and I think that's simply because I can express myself easier elsewhere. That might be a sh1ty answer, but its the case with me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I've never once been cross with a cow.

Were you not giving out about your missus yesterday? :confused:

:p

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

kfallon wrote: »
    Were you not giving out about your missus yesterday? :confused:

:p

ah heeeooooorrrr, Mrs. Bap is a saint and not livestock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

kfallon wrote:
    Were you not giving out about your missus yesterday?

You're feeling brave Fallon.ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Samaris wrote: »
    I'm not exactly an expert on this, but bear with me. As I understand it, Queer is partly a reclamation of the word from an insult, much like "gay" itself has been. It also stands for people of a non-binary gender/sexual orientation (I'm not 100% on whether it covers both gender and orientation or just one of them).

The & is all the other letters that can be associated on, of which A is one (Asexual). Technically, yes, I think it can be used to encompass pretty much everyone with a bit of poking.

Oh, regarding the lesbian/gay thing. Yeees, gay is used to mean just homosexual, so male and female. However, it's often used to mean gay men. Most people can cope with gay men these days, but people seem oddly confused by gay women, so the term is probably as much of an "oy, yes, we do exist" to the people that think only men are gay!

Grand, back to straight and queer so, much easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Colser wrote: »
    You're feeling brave Fallon.ðŸ˜

Gotta live on the edge. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I take no responsibility if you get punched for it! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I wanted to thank this post because it made me chortle. But then I thought "Oh no! What if other boardsies see my thanks and think I'm an intolerant, anti-gay fascist or whatever? I'd better not thank it."

Decided to thank it after all :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

I wanted to thank this post because it made me chortle. But then I thought "Oh no! What if other boardsies see my thanks and think I'm an intolerant, anti-gay fascist or whatever? I'd better not thank it."

Decided to thank it after all :cool:

Should you give two fcks what others think of you? I think i'll give it a supportive thanks even though I don't disagree or agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

I like boobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Me too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Jodotman wrote: »
    I like boobs!

That's not irreverent that's normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

When you have reams of man child posters running in the background to mods like schoolchildren and embarrassing themselves by announcing to the rest of the thread : "Post reported" .... What do you expect ? The likes of PigHead, Snyper, Flutterinbantim etc. wouldn't last too long here nowadays I reckon.

Snyper hasn't got a card since 2008.

Amazing what a name change and not posting can do.

Just what are the rules of cards how many am I allowed to have, before you get sh1t kickered outta here?

If you don't like boobs then you are getting sh*tcanned. :)

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    If you don't like boobs then you are getting sh*tcanned. :)

Saggy man breast count?

of course

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

gifted wrote: »
    Waiters/waitresses....everyone else gets nothing
    Jesus. wrote: »
    Miserly kant

Mod: Banned

Got banned for a week for that post which was obviously a tongue in cheek bit of humour. Even the guy himself knew that as he replied with a bit of craic himself:
    gifted wrote: »
    I'd tip the blokes who nailed you to the cross lol lol

What is it with the over-modding of this Board. I thought it was called After Hours for a reason?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭zSparc

Winterlong wrote: »
    jokes that could not possibly offend anyone
    Impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Jesus. wrote: »
    Got banned for a week for that post which was obviously a tongue in cheek bit of humour. Even the guy himself knew that as he replied with a bit of craic himself:

What is it with the over-modding of this Board. I thought it was called After Hours for a reason?

Mod:

After Hours is not the place to discuss previous cards/bans. If you wish to dispute them, either PM the mod that issued them, or post in the Dispute Resolution forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I always imagine Nicolas Cage in a darkened room typing feverishly while modding his favourite Irish forum, the only source of light being the reflection of the moon off his Oscar which he miraculously has to his name. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Pac1Man wrote: »
    I always imagine Nicolas Cage in a darkened room typing feverishly while modding his favourite Irish forum, the only source of light being the reflection of the moon off his Oscar which he miraculously has to his name. :D

Ah, I remember laughing at all those people campaigning to get Leo an Oscar for such a long time. I threw my own at the TV when I saw he finally got his for The Revenant. That movie was sh1te!