Councillor protests against Artane Boys Band from City Hall window ledge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bonkers.

Should nothing good have been allowed to come out of that sad story? I know quite a few professional musicians who got their start in the ABB, and wouldn't have got any sort of a start. In music otherwise. I know quite a few of the guys and gals teaching there. A great organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Er, if the band has no connection any more to Artane Boys' School, then..? It's an old name in the Irish musical scene especially GAA circles; they're well known under it for their own merits, and it would be a shame to punish them for what a band of depraved people did in the industrial school, which closed in 1969, nearly fifty years ago.

I feel sympathy for the Councillor for having to be reminded of his own experience any time he comes into circles with them, and given his public position, he might be confronted with that more than your average Joe would be, but he shouldn't have brought in his position for something personal. Which he sort of did with the location of his protest.

Unless I'm missing something with this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Disbanded, Datbanded, Meh. Felix should chill out, the crazy cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

theyre not called the artane boys band anymore since they allowed girls join, also I think he wants them to not use 'Artane' in the bands name, not break up the band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

theyre not called the artane boys band anymore since they allowed girls join, also I think he wants them to not use 'Artane' in the bands name, not break up the band

In this case shouldn't he want the area of Artane to change its name too?

Yeah, I'd missed that; it's just The Artane Band now, so really, it is rather scraping the barrel to attack the current band. Artane as a name is sullied, but no-one's ever suggested that the -town- should change its name too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Robert McGrath

The State was complicit in much of the abuse. We should rename Ireland as well. And don't get me started on Germany ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

For fvck sake Mannix, get in off that bloody ledge and stop trying to be Yoko Ono.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,442 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Wonder would the councillor accept ''Artane town band''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Skyfarm

I agree with the name change ,what a lot of the above posters are not adding in is the connection between the abuse and the ignorance that the people of Ireland had towards all industrial schools and the rampant sexually ,physical,and spiritual abuse that took place in them .

the line from the Irish republic towards the revelations of the past 19 years is one of "we didn't know what was happening" yet every year the poor misfortunes were paraded up and down the field of dreams and (god help them if they stepped out of place ) under the cosh of fear.

the Artane band will always be a reminder to those that have gone to their graves and those living of the shame of abuse and not being heard.

if it was a brand,one could say it was tainted too much to survive.

the band was set up to show the god-fearing public that their money was needed to kick the evil out of the children of the unmarried,the alcoholics children,the tinkers,and to illicit funds,surely we don't need those reminders now

We as a nation should be prepared to do what is necessary to correct the wrongs of the few who tainted this land with the blood of our children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Drama queen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I liked their early stuff.

Forty seven years later isn't really the time to decide that a "brand" is too tainted to survive. The school is long-gone and those responsible were punished and their victims vindicated.

There is no good reason to go after the band because they have a similar name. That they changed it from The Artane Boys (which could well be a call-back to Artane Boys' (School) to The Artane Band should be enough. It's a town, for heaven's sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Bollix Flynn, that's all he is. Look him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Ted111 wrote: »
    I liked their early stuff.

I liked them before they were popular....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I wonder if they'll be supporting Coldplay in Croke Park, it being their manor and all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Good to see he's tackling the big issues. I'm sure the homeless families will take comfort in the name of the band being changed......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭deandean

What a misguided load of rollix. From a man who should know better.The Artane Boys Band is a huge contributor to the whole area.
    I was mugged in Bay City about 25 years ago.
    Therefore the Bay City Rollers should be disbanded?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

deandean wrote: »
    What a misguided load of rollix. From a man who should know better.The Artane Boys Band is a huge contributor to the whole area.

Weird but I'm pretty sure one of the Rollers turned out to be a paedo too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

They're singing a song won't he give them a hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

deandean wrote: »

Did they take your flared tartan dungarees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Fair play to Mannix. He seems to be the real deal.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The Germans should rename Nuremberg so.

Russians are pretty good at renaming places.

This is a non story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I feel for anyone who suffered in an industrial school, but Artane is the name of a place in Dublin where the band comes from so that's just the way it is.

You can't go renaming places because something traumatic happened to people there.

I'm from a village where one of these reformatory/industrial schools was based, should we rename the village,parish, GAA club etc aswell.

Someone who has been elected really should have more cop on and be using his voice for important stuff not wasting his time on pointless endeavours like this which make no difference to anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

I've often heard Irish comedians refer to it as "The Artane abused boys band"
    Its not funny, but unfortunately, it will always have that association .
    Perhaps let the people who suffered I'm the institution have a say in the name, whether it stays or goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Poor aul Mannix is too long in the tooth for politics now.

He was on Claire Byrne a few months back in opposition to the plans to set up injection rooms in Dublin, and he made a holy show of himself. Didn't have the slightest clue about the bigger picture, just anecdotes and old fashioned opinions about drug use.

He has his opinions and he sticks to them, regardless of the facts. It's time to retire Mannix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Someone who has been elected really should ... be using his voice for important stuff ...

Excuse me for truncating/abbreviating your post. But anyway...

Important stuff, you say. Riiight. Important for who, exactly?

JCMcQ? Justice for who? Exactly.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭deandean

Weird but I'm pretty sure one of the Rollers turned out to be a paedo too.
    Touché!
    I checked this out - it was Derek the little creep.
    I am looking at my Bay City Rollers poster here wondering if I should take it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Pure nonsense and anyone who voted for the moron should be ashamed of that decision.