Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Councillor protests against Artane Boys Band from City Hall window ledge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bonkers.

Should nothing good have been allowed to come out of that sad story? I know quite a few professional musicians who got their start in the ABB, and wouldn't have got any sort of a start. In music otherwise. I know quite a few of the guys and gals teaching there. A great organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Er, if the band has no connection any more to Artane Boys' School, then..? It's an old name in the Irish musical scene especially GAA circles; they're well known under it for their own merits, and it would be a shame to punish them for what a band of depraved people did in the industrial school, which closed in 1969, nearly fifty years ago.

I feel sympathy for the Councillor for having to be reminded of his own experience any time he comes into circles with them, and given his public position, he might be confronted with that more than your average Joe would be, but he shouldn't have brought in his position for something personal. Which he sort of did with the location of his protest.

Unless I'm missing something with this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,823 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Disbanded, Datbanded, Meh. Felix should chill out, the crazy cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

theyre not called the artane boys band anymore since they allowed girls join, also I think he wants them to not use 'Artane' in the bands name, not break up the band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

theyre not called the artane boys band anymore since they allowed girls join, also I think he wants them to not use 'Artane' in the bands name, not break up the band

In this case shouldn't he want the area of Artane to change its name too?

Yeah, I'd missed that; it's just The Artane Band now, so really, it is rather scraping the barrel to attack the current band. Artane as a name is sullied, but no-one's ever suggested that the -town- should change its name too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Robert McGrath

The State was complicit in much of the abuse. We should rename Ireland as well. And don't get me started on Germany ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

For fvck sake Mannix, get in off that bloody ledge and stop trying to be Yoko Ono.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,263 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Wonder would the councillor accept ''Artane town band''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Skyfarm

I agree with the name change ,what a lot of the above posters are not adding in is the connection between the abuse and the ignorance that the people of Ireland had towards all industrial schools and the rampant sexually ,physical,and spiritual abuse that took place in them .

the line from the Irish republic towards the revelations of the past 19 years is one of "we didn't know what was happening" yet every year the poor misfortunes were paraded up and down the field of dreams and (god help them if they stepped out of place ) under the cosh of fear.

the Artane band will always be a reminder to those that have gone to their graves and those living of the shame of abuse and not being heard.

if it was a brand,one could say it was tainted too much to survive.

the band was set up to show the god-fearing public that their money was needed to kick the evil out of the children of the unmarried,the alcoholics children,the tinkers,and to illicit funds,surely we don't need those reminders now

We as a nation should be prepared to do what is necessary to correct the wrongs of the few who tainted this land with the blood of our children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Drama queen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I liked their early stuff.

Forty seven years later isn't really the time to decide that a "brand" is too tainted to survive. The school is long-gone and those responsible were punished and their victims vindicated.

There is no good reason to go after the band because they have a similar name. That they changed it from The Artane Boys (which could well be a call-back to Artane Boys' (School) to The Artane Band should be enough. It's a town, for heaven's sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Bollix Flynn, that's all he is. Look him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Ted111 wrote: »
    I liked their early stuff.

I liked them before they were popular....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I wonder if they'll be supporting Coldplay in Croke Park, it being their manor and all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Good to see he's tackling the big issues. I'm sure the homeless families will take comfort in the name of the band being changed......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭deandean

What a misguided load of rollix. From a man who should know better.The Artane Boys Band is a huge contributor to the whole area.
    I was mugged in Bay City about 25 years ago.
    Therefore the Bay City Rollers should be disbanded?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

deandean wrote: »
    What a misguided load of rollix. From a man who should know better.The Artane Boys Band is a huge contributor to the whole area.

Weird but I'm pretty sure one of the Rollers turned out to be a paedo too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

They're singing a song won't he give them a hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,240 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

deandean wrote: »

Did they take your flared tartan dungarees?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,595 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Fair play to Mannix. He seems to be the real deal.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

The Germans should rename Nuremberg so.

Russians are pretty good at renaming places.

This is a non story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I feel for anyone who suffered in an industrial school, but Artane is the name of a place in Dublin where the band comes from so that's just the way it is.

You can't go renaming places because something traumatic happened to people there.

I'm from a village where one of these reformatory/industrial schools was based, should we rename the village,parish, GAA club etc aswell.

Someone who has been elected really should have more cop on and be using his voice for important stuff not wasting his time on pointless endeavours like this which make no difference to anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

I've often heard Irish comedians refer to it as "The Artane abused boys band"
    Its not funny, but unfortunately, it will always have that association .
    Perhaps let the people who suffered I'm the institution have a say in the name, whether it stays or goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Poor aul Mannix is too long in the tooth for politics now.

He was on Claire Byrne a few months back in opposition to the plans to set up injection rooms in Dublin, and he made a holy show of himself. Didn't have the slightest clue about the bigger picture, just anecdotes and old fashioned opinions about drug use.

He has his opinions and he sticks to them, regardless of the facts. It's time to retire Mannix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,595 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Someone who has been elected really should ... be using his voice for important stuff ...

Excuse me for truncating/abbreviating your post. But anyway...

Important stuff, you say. Riiight. Important for who, exactly?

JCMcQ? Justice for who? Exactly.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭deandean

Weird but I'm pretty sure one of the Rollers turned out to be a paedo too.
    Touché!
    I checked this out - it was Derek the little creep.
    I am looking at my Bay City Rollers poster here wondering if I should take it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Pure nonsense and anyone who voted for the moron should be ashamed of that decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Gardaí were called to Dublin's City Hall this afternoon after independent councillor Mannix Flynn protested from a window about the Artane Boys Band.
    That makes him sound like the villain from a charles dickens novel. Maybe this is just the start of something and we'll get a story around Christmas time of him shouting out the window telling them to run down to lidl and buy the largest goose they can find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I don't agree with the chap in general but I don't think he's lying when he says it causes him distress. Nor do I think the victims got sufficient justice. In the words of Christopher Hitchen's in regards institutional abuse "what were your gaurds doing?".

Esel wrote: »
    Excuse me for truncating/abbreviating your post. But anyway...

Important stuff, you say. Riiight. Important for who, exactly?

JCMcQ? Justice for who? Exactly.

It's a trivial issue he is raising (not to make light of what happened to him there).

The band is from Artane therefore they are called the Artane Band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

It's a trivial issue he is raising (not to make light of what happened to him there).

The band is from Artane therefore they are called the Artane Band.

Nope its not because of the area its because of the School they were named.

“The Artane Boys Band was founded in 1872 by Brother Alphonsus Hoope, Superior of the Artane Industrial School.

Artane is a word long weighed down with its association with the industrial school. As journalist Gene Kerrigan remarked in his memoir of growing up in working class Dublin in the 1950s, Artane was a “byword for fear”, backed by a largely unspoken knowledge that horrible things happened there and to be sent there was the worst form of punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Which would have been part of the reason they re-branded as the The Artane School of Music whose members play in the "Artane Band".

Here's their take on it: http://artanemusic.ie/official-statement-from-the-artane-school-of-music/

Essentially, as a not-for-profit, private organisation, all Mr Flynn can do is have the Council call on the School of Music to change their name. They have absolutely no legal means of forcing them to do so.

Cllr Flynn is simply wasting the council's time in an attempt to exorcise his own demons and contributing to the high levels of disregard the Irish have for their local govt.

Nope its not because of the area its because of the School they were named.

“The Artane Boys Band was founded in 1872 by Brother Alphonsus Hoope, Superior of the Artane Industrial School.

Artane is a word long weighed down with its association with the industrial school. As journalist Gene Kerrigan remarked in his memoir of growing up in working class Dublin in the 1950s, Artane was a “byword for fear”, backed by a largely unspoken knowledge that horrible things happened there and to be sent there was the worst form of punishment.

But the school is named after the area.

The area came first.

They already changed the name to The Artane Band.

What would you suggest they call the band?

The Germans haven't changed the name of Nuremberg,Dachau etc.

Whitewashing history isn't really a good thing to be doing.

Haven't a clue what we could call it ? The stardust memorial band ?

I don't think there's marching bands going around with the name numemberg ,dachau playing there music in the German football finals.

I don't think that history will ever be white washed, well hopefully not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Skyfarm

Haven't a clue what we could call it ? The stardust memorial band ?

I don't think there's marching bands going around with the name numemberg ,dachau playing there music in the German football finals.

I don't think that history will ever be white washed, well hopefully not.

That history is the same as our history,smaller numbers but the ethos was the same,destroy and stain on humanity and all that goes with that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Samaris wrote: »
    Forty seven years later isn't really the time to decide that a "brand" is too tainted to survive. The school is long-gone and those responsible were punished and their victims vindicated.

There is no good reason to go after the band because they have a similar name. That they changed it from The Artane Boys (which could well be a call-back to Artane Boys' (School) to The Artane Band should be enough. It's a town, for heaven's sake.

To be fair though, after 47 years there's still people alive who went there. You couldn't imagine them keeping anything with Jimmy Saville's name on it. I don't think anything will change in 100 year either. They'll still be names after an abusive institution.

Changing the name slightly is probably best. The Artane village boys band or something like that.

Editing to add: Or maybe have a free performance every year to support a childrens charity like childline. That way they keep the name but recognise the history too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Turtle_

Grayson wrote: »
    To be fair though, after 47 years there's still people alive who went there. You couldn't imagine them keeping anything with Jimmy Saville's name on it. I don't think anything will change in 100 year either. They'll still be names after an abusive institution.

Changing the name slightly is probably best. The Artane village boys band or something like that.

Editing to add: Or maybe have a free performance every year to support a childrens charity like childline. That way they keep the name but recognise the history too.

They DID change the name slightly, it's the Artane Band, rather than the Artane Boy's Band. And your comparison to Jimmy Saville is irrelevant - the AREA is called Artane. Why should the whole area and everyone in it have to avoid using the name of the area?

BTW, the school was St Joseph's Industrial School, located in Artane.

What should they call the band? "The between-Coolock-Killester-Beaumont-and-Marino-Girls'-and-Boys'-band"?

The area is called Artane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

My sons were members of the Artane Boys Band - before the name change. They had their names down for a couple of years before getting in. They and their friends thoroughly enjoyed their time there. They learned to play musical instruments and also obtained internationally recognised qualifications in music - the result of 5 days a week practise winter and summer.

In those times, there was no hint of the horrors inflicted on their predecessors decades before. The Band was then (and since) administered by employed (and volunteer) management and tutors.

None of those boys (now men) wants the name changed or the Band broken up.

I had two distant relatives incarcerated in what was better known as the Artane Industrial School. I met one of them when he was in his 60's, about 25 years ago, and he simply refused to ever discuss the matter. However, as a child I lived in England, and I remember the Irish neighbours saying "you'll go to Artane if you misbehave!" and I heard from my mother the tales of the two cousins getting out of Artane for a few weeks in the summer and begging the neighbours to take them in so they wouldn't be sent back.

The school is now the local Secondary School - St David's. Housed in the same building. Same playing fields.

The school is now a happy place. The Band is now a happy place. Leave them alone. Sins of the fathers and all that.. (or should that be 'of the Brothers').

NN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭josip

Our neighbour and his 3 siblings, now in their 70s, were sent to Artane.
    His intelligence is normal but he has great difficulty functioning socially with others adults. He is great with children.
    On the rare occasions when the subject of Artane comes up, he shakes his head and doesn't discuss it.

For my generation and before, 'Artane' only means one thing.
    It's a byword for cruelty and fear, not for music.

Turtle_ wrote: »
    They DID change the name slightly, it's the Artane Band, rather than the Artane Boy's Band. And your comparison to Jimmy Saville is irrelevant - the AREA is called Artane. Why should the whole area and everyone in it have to avoid using the name of the area?

BTW, the school was St Joseph's Industrial School, located in Artane.

What should they call the band? "The between-Coolock-Killester-Beaumont-and-Marino-Girls'-and-Boys'-band"?

The area is called Artane.

Nope this is the official name
    On 28 July 1870, the Artane Industrial School for Roman Catholic Boys, also known as St Joseph's, was officially certified to receive boys up to the age of 14...

No one is asking the whole area to change its name just a musical marching band that is using the name of a former sexual abusive school for children to maybe something more appreciated,

Where as at first I did thing MF was going a bit over the top, The more I read up on the school were the band originated from the more I think he is right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Turtle_

Nope this is the official name
    On 28 July 1870, the Artane Industrial School for Roman Catholic Boys, also known as St Joseph's, was officially certified to receive boys up to the age of 14...

No one is asking the whole area to change its name just a musical marching band that is using the name of a former sexual abusive school for children to maybe something more appreciated,

Where as at first I did thing MF was going a bit over the top, The more I read up on the school were the band originated from the more I think he is right.

http://www.childabusecommission.ie/rpt/pdfs/CICA-VOL1-07.PDF

"St Joseph’s Industrial School, Artane was established under the Industrial Schools Act (Ireland),
    1868 by the Christian Brothers at the request of the then Archbishop of Dublin, Cardinal Cullen.
    It opened on 28th July 1870 with the aim of caring for neglected, orphaned and abandoned Roman
    Catholic boys, and it operated as an industrial school until its closure in 1969."

The point is that for the last 50 years, it's been a band for local kids, run by decent local people. Why shouldn't it be the Artane Band? That's where they're all from, Artane is where it originated. Nobody is whitewashing history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

I'm as irreligious a bollix you will meet in a week but this idea is pure Shyte. It changes nothing and throws out one of the good things to survive that appalling era. If a ****ing band helps some kid get a start in life then let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

This could be just for the Dublin forum ?

Gardaí were called to Dublin's City Hall this afternoon after independent councillor Mannix Flynn protested from a window about the Artane Boys Band.

Cllr Flynn and other survivors of institutional abuse are campaigning to have the band disbanded because of its connection to Artane Industrial School.

He has put down a motion calling for the band to be disbanded.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/1003/821179-mannix-flynn-artane-boys-band/

So basically Mannix Flynn want the Artane boys band disbanded because of its links to the Artane industrial school, As far as I recall he was one of the unfortunate victims of it.

Do you think it should be disbanded ? I suppose it be nice for a name change at least.

The Ryan Commission found that Artane was under-staffed by a small number of largely inexperienced and untrained Brothers.[4] As a result of complaints the Commission to Inquire into Child Abuse investigated allegations of abuse at Artane:The Commission concluded that sexual abuse of children by members of the Christian Brothers was "a chronic problem

https://www.google.es/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwikz47Usb_PAhWEaz4KHe2BAZgQFggeMAA&url=https%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FArtane_Industrial_school&usg=AFQjCNG9RtVTZsUOvvf4MCAI2SmddmRemw

I'd say he should start with disbanding the Catholic Church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭JPCN1

I demand your attention... Give it me, coz I, I, I am Mannix Flynn Baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

My Dad was sent to an industrial school, two of his brothers and my cousin were sent to Artane. He moved to the UK after he was released, but used to love listening to and watching the band at the big GAA occasions on radio and TV. I think he liked the fact that it had evolved and became a good thing for local kids, but I think in a strange way he felt that he had a connection with the band, and was proud of it. Maybe it was a reminder that he, his brothers and nephew did survive.