Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

aceygray wrote: »
    Hi Nop - I'm not back on the road yet. There's still a very slight niggle in my knee when I make certain movements (eg walking down stairs, pushing the clutch when driving). I don't want to risk exacerbating it, so I'll rest another few days, and then see.

I think at this stage I'll be lucky to start. If I do, I will just toddle around at an easy pace, and hopefully do better next year.

Ok.. I think you're right, maybe try a few easy miles on Wednesday and take it from there. If you can run pain-free from this week - and get some mileage in over the next few weeks, you can indeed consider toddling around at LSR pace.

However, you don't have to decide anything just yet, but if you don't feel you can do it any justice, maybe consider postponing your debut. There's never a second chance at a first marathon, there'll always be DCM'17 and plenty of cool spring marathons, too.

FWIW - I am impressed with your laissez-faire attitude even though it must be hard, as you were going so well up until your injury woes.

joesoap5 wrote: »
    Hi Nope, I was interested in your replies to some reports. I know for the 3/4 marathon the pacers are going out 30 secs plus marathon pace. Would you recommend joining at this pace or sticking to LSR pace?

Also interested in knowing what the response is about the user who is doing his LSR at marathon pace.
    I still haven't worked out mine yet as I did 20 last week instead of half marathon.
    The reason I ask is because in the last marathon I ran, my LSR time became my marathon time. It wasn't on purpose though.

Hi Joesaoap - I hope the above posts have given a little more insight into the difference between LSR and race-day pace. We covered the "correct" paces a lot in the first few weeks/months on this thread.

IIRC, the great Ososlo, former mentor and current ultra-marathon runner (and race-winner!), was restricted to running her DCM debut at LSR pace due to a (minor) injury on the day. So while the theory is easy and understandable, in practice, these paces come closer together.

Do you have targets for the day? Did you run a recent HM - if so, what time? Not sure if I ever saw your current PBs - it'll help understand your goals.

As for the 3/4 marathon, I would run this at your (correct) LSR pace. Same health-warning as for FITZA, don't get carried away and run a great 3/4 marathon (and a not-so great full as a result)....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭GOOSEPAUL

Hi Nop, I was quite tired on Saturday and the legs were OK on Sunday. Even did a 5km walk with the family. Will do the 18 miles on Saturday and then the taper begins.

Thanks nop. Legs are still a bit achey but nothing too bad. Glad of today's rest day though. Hopefully they're ok when I try run on them again tomorrow. I have been thinking lately that I should actually go for a professional massage so I'll book one for either this week or next week.

Feeling back to normal generally after last week's sickness. I don't take my resting heart rate everyday but a few times a week and it's usually just under 60bpm. It was up to nearly 75bpm on the day I got sick last week but it's been back to normal since the end of last week.

I've never had an amazing immune system but I've been sick so much in the past few months, a lot more than usual, that I'm wondering if all the running could be a factor. I was reading something last week about intense training reducing the effectiveness of your immune system, particularly after long runs.

Anyway, only 4 weeks to go now at least, fingers crossed we all make it to the start line in one piece!

Okay - glad to hear you're feeling better. Yes to a massage, it's pain but the good kind of pain :)

I think the taper will come to you in good time. You've managed to stick with the plan but I wouldn't want to risk you feeling sick closer to the time, and the reduced mileage will be welcome. Have a read of that article that was linked to earlier. I think the part that you stay in the same routine, just with reduced volume, is exactly the ticket for you. For the remainder of the time, doctor's orders are to be wrapped up in cotton wool - with plenty of freshly squeezed orange juice, and other excellent home-made food, etc. Oh - and sleep. Lots of it! :cool:

The Muppet wrote: »
    It was nothin deep nor inspirational just a few words of encouragement that we all get on this forum when the wheels come off. Tony and myself have been exchanging pms since he first got injured so from my own past experience I felt I knew where he was in his head and tried to help.

Thank you TM!

ligerdub wrote: »
    I've done all my training on my own (originally I took up exercise purely to lose weight) for just over two years now.
    I started with 5km runs 4 times a week, running at 12km per hour. Each run the same length, but gradually getting faster over time to about 13.4 km per hour top speed. Gradually then the distance increased and I repeated the same process. My standard run now is 10 miles in about 72 minutes. I've also been doing a longer run once every two weeks or so. These can reach up to about 30km, and I can usually sustain the same pace as the 10 mile run for the duration oddly enough. Basically every run now is at the same speed, with little variation in distance.

I run about 60km per week.

A couple of questions.

In order to increase my ability to run faster for longer should I:

1. Incorporate a day of sprints? Multiples of flat-out running for specific time intervals?
    2. Slow down my 10 mile runs to say 12km per hour?
    3. Vary my race speeds and distances?

Thanks a mill for any advice.

I'm thinking this for so for the longer term. Probably too close to the marathon to vary my patterns I'd say. I'm hoping the amount I'm doing will put me in good stead for the day.

Hi ligerdub -

Are you signed up for DCM this year? 72 minutes over 10M is quite a decent time. Have you ran a decent HM in recent times?

As you've seen from the posts in the last few days, marathon training is more about building up the endurance over speed - especially for a first time marathon runner. Pushing too hard at your training runs is counter-productive as it hampers recovery and doesn't train your muscles to be most efficient.

If you are interested in intermediate / advanced marathon training plans, a quick Bing/Google will help you out. The programs we use are aimed at Novices - HHN1 is the basic, tried&trusted plan, Boards is slightly more advance with some moderate speed sessions.

The simple mantra for maintaining running over longer distances is to run more miles, and run slower miles.

kin9pin wrote: »
    Thanks nop. Phoenix Park is out as I have to run really early on Saturday and I'm not as brave as WW! I'll try to drop the pace back closer to 10:30, but I notice there is 5m at PMP on Wednesday. Should I try that if I'm feeling good or take the cautious route?
    This time in 4 weeks I'll be eating pizza!

Yep. Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

nop98 wrote: »
    Okay - glad to hear you're feeling better. Yes to a massage, it's pain but the good kind of pain :)

I think the taper will come to you in good time. You've managed to stick with the plan but I wouldn't want to risk you feeling sick closer to the time, and the reduced mileage will be welcome. Have a read of that article that was linked to earlier. I think the part that you stay in the same routine, just with reduced volume, is exactly the ticket for you. For the remainder of the time, doctor's orders are to be wrapped up in cotton wool - with plenty of freshly squeezed orange juice, and other excellent home-made food, etc. Oh - and sleep. Lots of it! :cool:

Thanks nop. Mmm freshly squeezed orange juice.
    I actually cannot wait for the taper:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Hi ligerdub -

Are you signed up for DCM this year? 72 minutes over 10M is quite a decent time. Have you ran a decent HM in recent times?

As you've seen from the posts in the last few days, marathon training is more about building up the endurance over speed - especially for a first time marathon runner. Pushing too hard at your training runs is counter-productive as it hampers recovery and doesn't train your muscles to be most efficient.

If you are interested in intermediate / advanced marathon training plans, a quick Bing/Google will help you out. The programs we use are aimed at Novices - HHN1 is the basic, tried&trusted plan, Boards is slightly more advance with some moderate speed sessions.

The simple mantra for maintaining running over longer distances is to run more miles, and run slower miles.

Thanks. I did the Dublin HM the Saturday before last in just over 96 minutes. I maintained much the same pace all the way around. In a non-timed run I tend to do the same distance in about 105 minutes. My legs were exhausted after the HM but ordinarily I'd only have fatigued legs for about 24 hours.

So basically if I read correctly, running at a comfortable pace over say 20 miles (for my long run) will allow me to build up the mileage to get that bit more comfort for race day?

I have a number for the DCM yeah, my first time running one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Forgot to post about my LSR yesterday!

14m LSR. Two laps of the Phoenix Park. Lovely day for it, and mostly felt good throughout. Went a little bit slower than my usual LSRs (the more comfortable side of 10min/mile). Stashed a Lucozade and some bread in a bag for between loops. Only really struggled coming up the hill by the Beyoncé playground near the North Circular gate, on lap 2.

Not a hint of a niggle now, after suffering a fair bit after FD10. Cautiously optimistic that I'm on track for sub 4 hour in 4 weeks, all going well.

Its happened again. :( Twice now a groin injury has stopped me from making the DCM start line and now, yet again, I have a problem with my groin.

I don't think its too serious but it has happened at the worst possible time, any other time of year I would probably rest it for a week and be grand, but I’m following HH1 and this was supposed to be perhaps the most important week in the plan with the 20 mile LSR due on Saturday.

I have a physio appointment tonight but opinions on how to approach this would be welcome. Assuming I rest for a week and the groin clears up, and assuming the 20 mile LSR needs to be done, how would you approach the final 3 weeks?

Bucketybuck - the first priority has to be not having any injuries. Let us know what your physio advices. You could scale back the mileage a little this week if needed, or move your long run a little bit further out, e.g. to mid-week next week. However, we don't have too much wriggle room as I wouldn't want to jeopardize the tapering period. What was your longest run so far?

I hope the physio appointment went well.

ligerdub wrote: »
    So basically if I read correctly, running at a comfortable pace over say 20 miles (for my long run) will allow me to build up the mileage to get that bit more comfort for race day?

Yes. Read through the opening pages of this thread about properly pacing your runs. Rule of thumb, 60-90 seconds/mile slower than your planned pace for the day, for your long runs - and well able to hold a conversation towards the end of your run. Pity you didn't join us a bit earlier :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,644 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Only really struggled coming up the hill by the Beyoncé playground near the North Circular gate, on lap 2.

The what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

The what now?

The playground in the park with the giant golden statue of Beyoncé where Beyoncé brought her kids a couple of years ago between shows.

Everyone calls it the Beyoncé playground and it's definitely not just a thing I decided in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Extrasupervery - Glad someone already corrected you on the choice of pizza - any running to report? :) And treating your body like a casino - I am still thinking that one through..
    Some fairly miserable running to report.

I went out to do my 14 miler yesterday, all fired up, plan was to do two laps of Phoenix Park. I left a bottle of water and a spare isogel in a tree about a mile up from my start point so I'd come across them at about 8 miles. I hate the halfway point in any run...I thought this tactic would mean I'd power on through to 8 miles and the second half of the run would come easy to me.

When I pick a distance, especially for a LSR, I just put the head down and barrel through til I'm finished, but it just was not working out yesterday. I felt so crap. Not injured or anything just rubbish. Got past the halfway point and where endorphins and determination normally kick in to get me through the second half there was...nothing. I quit at 8.5 miles and walked home. Didn't even turn around and run home, I walked. I'd normally drag myself around to finish the distance but it wasn't happening.

Gonna have to psych myself up for the 20 miler next weekend. My legs are willing and my asthmatic lungs are even co-operating but now my head has given up.

On a less grim note, I was looking through my 'Finisher Pix' from the DHM wondering where the **** my massive paunch had come from. I didn't understand what I was looking at and how it could have developed seemingly over night. I had just decided that it looked like I ate a stick of butter and it went right to my tummy before A Neurotic pointed out that it was my phone in my flip belt, under my top :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

davedanon wrote: »
    There's probably a dozen people typing this right now: Nooooooooo.

Yes, it is the end of October, but BE WARNED. I have just four numbers for you.

Ask anyone about DCM two years ago. It was the new route, and it was unseasonably warm, up to about 19℃. Utter, utter carnage.

Aaaarrrgggghhhhh the flashbacks ....... running inside a fan oven on the Crumlin road in 2014.......whenever I see another poor soul wearing that 'lovely' lime green and blue DCM 2014 I give them the respectful 'nod' as everyone still talks about the crazy heat and the humidity that day. Some of the pacers didn't even make their times it was so warm.:(

2015 was four seasons in a day, typical Irish Autumn weather. Pray for cool weather with a pinch of sleet and snow :eek:

Novices, you cannot control the weather so there is no point in stressing about it, just take into account the conditions on the day and don't be afraid to revise your planned time either up or down if the weather is a factor, remembering that a lot can change weather wise in Ireland within an hour!

Don't put the 'Child of Prague' statue in the window and hope for a light drop of rain.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

smashiner wrote: »

Ask anyone about DCM two years ago. It was the new route, and it was unseasonably warm, up to about 19℃. Utter, utter carnage.

Aaaarrrgggghhhhh the flashbacks ....... running inside a fan oven on the Crumlin road in 2014.......whenever I see another poor soul wearing that 'lovely' lime green and blue DCM 2014 I give them the respectful 'nod' as everyone still talks about the crazy heat and the humidity that day. A lot of the pacers didn't even make their times it was so warm.:(

2015 was four seasons in a day, typical Irish Autumn weather. Pray for cool weather with a pinch of sleet and snow :eek:

You cannot control the weather so there is no point in stressing about it, just take into account the conditions on the day and don't be afraid to revise your planned time either up or down if the weather is a factor, remembering that a lot can change weather wise in Ireland within an hour!

Don't put the 'Child of Prague' statue in the window and hope for a light drop rain.....:D

Ah here now let's not tarnish the reputations of so many for the short coming of a very small minority..........3 out of 39 if my memory serves me correctly :D

PS and 1 of the 3 only missed it by 5secs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭denis160

Ahh 2014, the year I got sunburnt running in Ireland in October 😂
    I remember a few casualties lining the last miles home that year, some weather that day alright.
    Ild nearly pray for rain this rain, a light mist would be good, with no wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

Hi Joesaoap - I hope the above posts have given a little more insight into the difference between LSR and race-day pace. We covered the "correct" paces a lot in the first few weeks/months on this thread.

IIRC, the great Ososlo, former mentor and current ultra-marathon runner (and race-winner!), was restricted to running her DCM debut at LSR pace due to a (minor) injury on the day. So while the theory is easy and understandable, in practice, these paces come closer together.

Do you have targets for the day? Did you run a recent HM - if so, what time? Not sure if I ever saw your current PBs - it'll help understand your goals.

As for the 3/4 marathon, I would run this at your (correct) LSR pace. Same health-warning as for FITZA, don't get carried away and run a great 3/4 marathon (and a not-so great full as a result)....

Hi Nop, thanks for the response. Its not that I got injured that time or had any real problems. I was on target and got to about 18 miles and gradually started slowing and by the end of the race I averaged 10 minute miles which was my LSR pace. All of my LSRs were a comfortable pace. I think I just slowed down to a pace that felt doable towards the end. There was no mystery or madness to my running on the day. It just happened like that.

As for the marathon, I have no recent races this year really and my long runs have varied in pace from 10-10.15 pace for 16 miles to 11 mins pace for 20 miles.
    Both feeling comfortable enough at the time.

I havn't done much for the mid week runs to be honest, i have been breaking them up into 2x3 mile runs to and from work for three of the days and 2x3 mile cycles for the other two non running days.

I do a few weights on the Saturday and have been pretty consistent with the LSR's for the training period bar last weekend where I had to quit at 8 miles due to pain in my hip flexors which hasnt happened ever before. I am hoping I just need to rest them for a few days though I was aware of them in bed last night.

I was hoping to better my time of 4.20 but I'm really not sure if I can do this due to lack of mid week training, i.e. low mileage compared to plan and a slight lack of motivation :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Yes. Read through the opening pages of this thread about properly pacing your runs. Rule of thumb, 60-90 seconds/mile slower than your planned pace for the day, for your long runs - and well able to hold a conversation towards the end of your run. Pity you didn't join us a bit earlier :)

Thanks a mill...will take that on board.

Week 15
    Just over 26 days to go, folks, its getting real now! :rolleyes:

Just short of 30 LSR reports above, totalling around 500M (give or take...) between all of you. That's about from the same distance as from Dublin to Amsterdam, or >20 marathons. Not bad, not bad at all :)

As I type this, 2 more LSRs are reported appeared. You're trying to kill me!

We have one or two people still in the sick-bay, aceygray most notably, but also some persistent nigglers and many, many tired bodies. :eek: This is very normal at this stage, you are putting yourselves through a lot of hard work and even though it sometimes might not feel like it, you are getting the benefits and with every mile you run, you increase your chances of success on October 30. Stick with it - and make an extra effort to take care of yourselves.

By now, you should pretty much have settled on your race-day routine, which includes shoes, clothing, gadgets, and fuel. If not, be sure to think about this and try it out during your last very long runs.

The mileage of the Boards plan is starting to dial back this week. This will be a welcome respite after a rather punishing week include a 20M LSR. That said, this week is no joke with 7M (5@PMP) and an 18M LSR.

The HHN1 followers will have a pretty tough week this week. 40 old school miles in total. Take it easy, and look after yourselves well - throughout the week (early bedtimes), before your runs (good, healthy food) and after (stretching, hot baths) - and if you haven't already, get an appointment for a massage. :D

Boards: 5M | 7M (5@PMP) | (3m rec) | 18M LSR | (3m rec)
    HHN1: 5M | 10M | 5M | 20M LSR | (3m rec)

As always, if you feel up for some (gentle!) cross-training during the week, go for it, but at this stage, a good day's rest won't be frowned up. :D

LSR Meet?

A Neurotic, who really isn't that neurotic at all, is suggesting an LSR meet-up next Saturday. PaddyD and Kin9pin demonstrated that running in a pack really makes those miles fly by, so I can only strongly recommend it:
    A Neurotic wrote: »
    How about the 8th of Oct? It's peak LSR for us HHN1 folk - 20m! And the first week of stepping down for the boards plan - 18m.

Post your plan and LSR pace if you're interested and we can see how the groups align.

Crowd Course Description
    There have been many splendid reports of people running parts of the DCM marathon course. Course recce is a great way to prepare for a race. There's no fear of getting lost :confused: on the day, just follow the crowds, but knowing where you are and recognizing landmarks all adds to the buzz. :pac::pac:

That said, some other folks haven't been so lucky. However, reading all the great reports, I would say that between you all, we can easily crowd-source a great review of the entire course. So I need some volunteers :)

If you have recently ran a part of the course, put your name down and describe the route, the tough parts, the easy parts, some funny anecdotes. You'll do your fellow novices a great favour. Go on, put your name down, jot down a few notes, don't be shy. :cool:

Stretch|From / To |Volunteer|Description
    1-4M|Start - Dublin Zoo|?|?
    4-10M|Chesterfield Ave - Castleknock - Chapelizod|?|?
    10-15M|Chapelizod - Crumlin - Walkinstown|?|?
    15M-20M|Kimmage - Terenure - Milltown|?|?
    20M-Glory|Clonskeagh - Vincent's - Finishline|?|?
    Post-Finish|Merrion Square - McGrattans|Singer|?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

fatherted1969 - Great job on your LSR, but it sounds like you're running this at your planned marathon pace? :eek: It's recommended to run it typically around 90 seconds/mile slower. Are you thinking of getting new runners? If you do - make sure to do it a.s.a.p. so you can still get them properly broken in before the big day. It won't be a bad idea to be alternating runnners, anyway. Good luck.

Cheers Nop98 as its my first marathon I'm completely clueless as to my pace. Initially I waa thinking and running over 11:30 min per miles but have found I'm getting stronger as the weeks and months go by. I think I could run a little faster than my current LSR of 10:30 per mile on marathon day but I'm reluctant to go for it as I'm happy enough running steady at 10:30 on the day. I'd be confident I could run faster but I haven't a clue whats going to happen after mile 21 so I won't be taking any chances.

Runners are only about 2 months old. 230 miles in them so I shouldn't be suffering like i am. Should I change this close ?

Bit of a loosener tonight 10:40 per mile for just under 5 miles. Would never ever have thought I'd be up for a run so soon after the slow run. Feels like I'm timing this really well as I'm recovering very quickly after my long runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That said, some other folks haven't been so lucky. However, reading all the great reports, I would say that between you all, we can easily crowd-source a great review of the entire course. So I need some volunteers :)

If you have recently ran a part of the course, put your name down and describe the route, the tough parts, the easy parts, some funny anecdotes. You'll do your fellow novices a great favour. Go on, put your name down, jot down a few notes, don't be shy. :cool:

4-10M|Chesterfield Ave - Castleknock - Chapelizod|?|?

I did the last 9 miles of the course and wrote about it earlier in the thread if that's any use. Quoted below. I ran the same part again during Saturday's LSR and my experience was pretty similar, though Milltown felt a bit hillier this time around and I realised that the last two miles towards the finish will probably feel interminable after 24 miles.
    Firstly: 19 Mile LSR done. Delighted.

Secondly, I included the last 9 miles of the DCM route so I thought I'd give a bit of a run down.

I joined the route on the Templeogue Road at the junction with Fortfield Road. From here it's arrow straight down to Terenure with a slight decline. After you come through the village it's on to Terenure Road East heading on towards Rathgar which is more of the same, but the slight decline is replaced by a very slight, possibly even imaginary incline.

As you approach the church there's a hard right onto Orwell Road. It's still flat here but the straight lines are replaced by a couple of twists and turns before a hard left onto Orwell Park. Half of this road is slightly uphill, followed by a nice mild descent towards Dartry Road.

This whole section from Templeogue Road to Dartry is quite pleasant and quite easy, and I suspect it will be a bit of welcome respite after 18 miles to have a couple of miles where it should be easy enough to catch your breath while holding marathon pace.

Then it's onto Milltown Road which runs along the banks of the Dodder, yet despite this is quite undulating. It's not severe at all, but there are noticeable rises and falls and it would be well worth modulating your pace along here to avoid wasting unnecessary energy as you pass through 20 miles. There's a nice glide downhill before you hit a junction with another hard right towards Clonskeagh Road and onward to the infamous Roebuck.

This stretch is part of my commute so through familiarity I'm probably a poor judge of it. I normally have a bag on my back and today I didn't so I was floating along. It's generally uphill but there are some dips as well, particularly where you cross the Dodder. Once you cross the bridge the incline does get a little steeper but it's nothing that would trouble well trained athletes like us ;).

Roebuck Road itself is a weird one because Clonskeagh Road feeds into it, but there's a T-junction with a left turn where it turns into Goatstown Road and Roebuck actually continues to the left of the T. I've never actually run that part of Roebuck because I continue straight so I was eager to see what all the fuss was about and, I gotta tell you, it's a total pussycat.

I ran the mile or so beforehand at around marathon pace to try and get a feel for it, but obviously there is a difference between arriving there after 10 miles and after 22. Still, the road itself is vaguely uphill most of the way but I wouldn't even describe it as a drag. The infamous 'Heartbreak Hill' appears to amount to a stretch of a 100m or so at the end where it steepens significantly but I wouldn't be worried about it at all. Goatstown Road is worse. I mean if that's the worst the DCM has to throw at us I think we'll be all right; the only obstacle you have from here on out is all the miles in your legs.

Right after you crest the rise you turn left onto Fosters Avenue and you get to just cruise downhill for a while. It's a really nice grade where you can drop into neutral, switch off the engine and just let the hill do the work for you as you roll down to the N11 / Stillorgan Road. It's a free kilometer.

Left onto Stillorgan Road and now you're heading back into the city. It's downhill for a while but only slightly and not enough to make it feel especially easy. It's boring too, for me at least, to run on big wide straight roads like these and I couldn't wait to get off it. There is a climb up to the UCD flyover, and then the corresponding drop coming down the other side before you come to the turn off for Nutley Lane. It's not too bad in general terms but I could imagine you won't be too keen to see it after 23 or so miles and it might require a bit of cement. The RTE mast will be in front of you and you take a hard right and now you're back onto a smaller, leafy green street. I felt like this was still a little downhill and enjoyable enough to run on.

Left turn onto Merrion Road and now this is it. There are still 2 miles to go, but it's pancake flat and a straight shot all the way to Merrion Square and glorious victory.

396090.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

I can do 4-10; will update fully this evening

4-10M|Chesterfield Ave - Castleknock - Chapelizod|scotindublin |?
    [/quote]

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Thanks for the LSR pace advice and info, Nop et al. It does make sense to me, and my plan does have slower than MP stretches, just not 90 sec slower. But going on TG's marathon report, the much slower LSRs obviously work! Too late for me to go changing now, but something to bear in mind for next time. I did run my whole 21 miles last Sat at MP +30 seconds, and it felt relatively comfortable right to the end (well as comfortable as 21 miles can be), aside from the stupid mind games my head was playing.

Saw this posted on my club FB page, thought it was very sound advice, and just at the point in our training where we all start to worry about finish times:
    Taken from article in RUNNERSWORLD

Have faith in your preparation. One major cause of race-day stress is the unknown. How fast will you run? Will you finish? Will you be the last person across the line? Will you qualify or break that personal record? What will your finish-line photo look like? The key to calmer waters is to race with what the day gives you and surrender to running your best on the day.
    Elite runners toe the line with the win in mind. They can win the race and run their slowest time. They can also lose the race and run a personal record. Mortals run with the watch in mind—which inevitably causes stress, because you can't run a fast race every time.

You can, however, run for the win, and for the best performance on the day. When you let go of running for an exact time, you also let go of the expectations that come along with it. Review your training log, go into the race with realistic goals based on your preparation and the elements, and let go of expectations and run for the win. Finishing strong is winning, even if the watch is slower than you wish. Your finish line photo will prove it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

DCM Miles 11-15

Mile 11 starts shortly after you cross the Liffey in Chapelizod and turn left onto St Laurence's Road. It's straightforward initially, as the hill doesn't really begin until just before you travel under the bypass. It's fairly steep and overall one of the toughest hills on the course; it gets steeper as you get closer to the top and enter Ballyfermot.

Ballyer itself is fairly straightforward; nothing to worry you here. As you turn right just after Liffey Gaels GAA club and go under the railway bridge into Inchicore, the road narrows and dips, but then rises again as you head for the 11 mile marker at Cleary's pub.

Inchicore Road has a slight downhill as you approach the Royal Hospital and Kilmainham Gaol. You then swing right downhill and then very quickly uphill again before turning left to follow the SCR. There's a longish straight here, but it's flat and should be painless. Turning right with St James's Hospital on your left, there's a little rise over the Luas bridge before you descend into Rialto. Nothing too complicated here, until you turn right at Dolphin's Barn and cross the Grand Canal onto Crumlin Road.

Somewhere in the early stages of Crumlin Road, you'll reach the half way mark. Trouble is, this is a long and boring straight section, with a bit of a drag and (usually) the wind against you. Stay in the game here, because if you don't it's going to be a tough morning/afternoon. The road veers a little to the right and changes its name to Drimnagh Road as you pass Our Lady's Hospital. Other than that, it's much the same as before. You go through 14 miles shortly before turning left at the Bank of Ireland opposite the Halfway House pub, and heading for Walkinstown.

The first part of Mile 15 isn't very exciting, but you should hopefully get a boost as you approach the roundabout, which usually has massive crowds gathered on and around it. Take a left onto Cromwellsfort Road where you will soon pass through 15 miles :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭MiketheMechanic

Fantastic advice there Murph_D
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Well I think Myles' post that you linked to above more than covers it.

Here's what Pfitzinger and Douglas have to say on the issue in Advanced Marathoning (note - novices are not advanced marathoners, so not all of this necessarily applies, but the bit about 10-20% slower than MP certainly does):

Your ability to store glycogen and use fat for fuel tends to improve with the same types of training. Pure endurance training stimulates these adaptations and increases the capillarization of your muscles. For marathoners, the primary type of training to stimulate these adaptations is runs of 90 minutes or longer. Your total training volume, however, also contributes. ...

Long runs are the bread and butter of marathoners. For all marathoners, including the elite, the marathon distance is a formidable challenge. To prepare to race 26.2 miles (42.2 km) at a strong pace, train your body and mind to handle the distance by doing long runs at a reasonable pace.

A long run also provides psychological benefits. By running long, you simulate what your legs and body will go through in the marathon. When your hamstrings tighten 23 miles (37 km) into the race, for example, it helps to have experienced a similar feeling in training - you'll know you can shorten your stride a few inches, concentrate on maintaining your leg turnover, and keep going. More generally, you'll have experienced overcoming the sometimes overwhelming desire to do anything but continue to run.

During your long runs, you encounter many of the experiences - good and bad - that await you in the marathon. No scientific evidence will tell you the best distance for your long runs as you train. However, a clear trade-off exists between running far enough to stimulate physiological adaptations and remaining uninjured. If you regularly do runs longer than 24 miles (39 km), you'll become strong but slow because you won't be able to run your other hard workouts at as high a level of quality. You'll also increase your risk of injury because when your muscles are very fatigued, they lose their ability to absorb impact forces, greatly increasing your risk of muscle strain or tendinitis.

Experience suggests that steadily building your long runs to 21 or 22 miles (34 or 35 km) will maximize your chances of reaching the marathon in top shape while remaining healthy. ...

Long runs shouldn't be slow jogs during which you just accumulate time on your feet. The appropriate pace for a specific long run depends on the purpose of that run within your training program. The most beneficial intensity range for most of your long runs is 10 to 20 percent slower than your goal marathon race pace. ... If you use a heart monitor, your long-run pace should be roughly in the range of 74 to 84 percent of maximal heart rate or 65 to 78 percent of your heart rate reserve. This will ensure that you' re running with a similar posture and are using similar muscle patterns as when you run at marathon pace.

If you do long runs much slower than this, you risk being unprepared for the marathon. Slow long runs reinforce poor running style and do a poor job of simulating the demands of the marathon. If you run long runs too fast, of course, you risk leaving your marathon performance out on your training loops because you'll be too tired for your other important training sessions. ...

The first few miles of your long runs can be done slowly, but by 5 miles (8 km) into your long run, your pace should be no more than 20 percent slower than marathon race pace. Gradually increase your pace until you're running approximately 10 percent slower than marathon race pace during the last 5 miles (8 km) of your long runs. In terms of heart rate, run the first few miles at the low end of the recommended intensity range, and gradually increase your effort until you reach the high end of the range during the last 5 miles (8 km) . This makes for an excellent workout and provides a strong stimulus for physiological adaptations. These workouts are difficult enough that you should schedule a recovery day the day before and 1 or 2 days after your long runs.

If you do long runs in this intensity range, a 22-mile (35 km) run will take approximately the same amount of time as your marathon. By running for the length of time you hope to run the marathon, you also provide psychological reinforcement that you can run at a steady pace for that amount of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭MiketheMechanic

I agree 100% with davedanon - end of October can be really warm, and worse, humid!

It's all about recognising the conditions on the day and adjusting hydration to take account of them.

MtM

It can and does get very warm on that weekend, on a mysteriously regular basis. So take nothing for granted.

Two more and then we close the book on Week 14 LSRs :)

A Neurotic - good solid 14-miler, a not-so neurotic! :) It sounds like you're going very well - I've always thought HHN1 is slightly too easy on the mileage for you. If your mid-week mileage is going well, I think you should put yourself to a little test during the LSR this weekend (everybody else, look away) - and run the last 4 miles at PMP (e.g. 9 min/mi for a sub-4). That's not going to me easy - but it'll be a great confidence boost as you start tapering.

Extrasupervery - wow, that sounds like a very tough day. I think you have a simple choice: either (1) dwell on it and let it become a blocking issue, or (2) write this run off as a bad day and move on (hey, ~9M is still 9M banked) and lace-up for the next easy run, put the negative thoughts out of your head and go out and just run. Don't postpone it - do it today, 5 miles. You toughed out the Half Marathon despite some challenges with the pacer group and were in great spirits afterwards - so I have no doubt you have the willpower to do so.

Everybody has bad days - as the great FBOT says, nobody would be out running anymore if we'd let it affect us.

On another note, you should try and get yourself company for the 20-miler, as running all by yourself for such a long distance is extra tough - and the head can play funny games. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

It's happened - I have the plague :eek:
    Well I have a bad head cold, fine from the neck down so hopefully it doesn't get any worse. I emptied the pharmacy on the way in to work. I always get sick around this time of the year so it's good to get it out of the way before the 30th :rolleyes:
    I'll do tonight's 4 miles on my treadmill and take tomorrow night's 10 mile run very handy.
    In good news I've been painfree since my long run on Sunday, I might yet get to the start line!

Personally hoping for a nice cold marathon - Connemara conditions this year really suited me :)