Ryder Cup 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,961 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Chivito550 wrote: »
    They used to play the national anthem of all countries that have players in the European team. When did that stop?

When golf started to be played outside of about 3 nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,961 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,505 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

So Clarke has taken a bashing and deservedly so regarding Westwood IMO, but other than that, it might be overly tough to lay all the blame at his feet.
    • We all knew the yanks had a better team
    • We all knew the yanks would probably win
    • Nobody (well veery few at least) gave Europe a hope
    • Darren had to hand in his team for Sat 4ball, he dropped Rafa when he was 4 down...... a correct choice, but is getting stick for it
    • Westy was a poor pick, and it was a poor decision to play him so much
    • Westy, yesterday and today turned 2 points for Europe into 2 points for USA in the last 2 (ok alomngside Kaymer) & 3 holes
    • That would of had it 15-13 to the Yanks - -- certainly not a drubbing
    • not to mention all the other close....very close games
    • the yanks just couldn't miss on the greens, they were awesome
    • Europe sunk a fair few of their own, but the Yanks were phenominal
    • USA were the better team and deserved the win
    • Oh... and Kammys new ad is class :D he's a funny bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

I'm sorry, but does she know he played Ryder Cup 8 times ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Don't recall too much outcry when Westwood got a wild card pick. Sure the risk was obvious, but the wisdom of having two experienced wild card picks was generally accepted i think. The remaining choice was Knox or Pieters, never both of them at the expense of either Westwood or Kaymer. If Knox had been picked and played badly, he'd have been criticised for not picking Westwood. A bit of damned whatever he did about it if you ask me.

Jaysus

Is that Donald talking about himself :eek:

Coached by Monty for that pro-mo.

Oh and I forgot to say Clarke was also criticised for some of his pairings costing us points.... but no praise for picking pairings that won points. If those pairings that cost us were changed, it would probably have meant some of the winning pairings would have changed accordingly so....... very thin IMO

Great closing tune.

why are we still watching :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

When golf started to be played outside of about 3 nations.

No. I remember them playing about 5-6 anthems for European countries as recently as the early part of the last decade.

Seve OB wrote: »
    why are we still watching :o

Well we only have 4 big events a year in golf.

This is a bonus - and totally different.

They are typically wealthy spoilt brats and boring , and is interesting to see them play with more passion than normal

Particularly if you are into team sports.

Like we are watching Rory - what 10 years. We have never seen him like that.

Anyway

The End.

Thank feck - was exhausting.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    No. I remember them playing about 5-6 anthems for European countries as recently as the early part of the last decade.

Yes - I think it is at an opening.

Maybe was done in K- Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

A lot of really harsh comments a few pages back on a "typical end to Westwoods Ryder Cup". To that I say, 1. Find me a European player who has won the Ryder Cup more often than him 2. Find me a player from either team who has scored more points in this event that him! Living or dead.

How'd you do? Badly yeah? As I thought! The guy has been a fantastic Ryder cupper, no question of that! If anything it's a very unfitting way for him to finish up his record.

I think we've seen today why Stenson didn't get full points. Had he anybody beside him but Rose over 2 days he'd have stood to do so. No criticism of Rose, but sometimes you can be exposed as a scapegoat because you had a misfiring partner, whereas you'd pick up points were you tied in with somebody playing really well. Tee to green Garcia must be right up there with the best performers of the week, some highlight reel of iron shots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Press conference on Golf Channel now... Westwood speaking about the American spectators - "On a positive note, I got called a turd yesterday".:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

I think Europe just had too many players out of form. Willet,wood,Fitzpatrick, Sullivan haven't been great since they confirmed there place.

Add that to kaymar and Westwood not been great all year but you can see why Darren picked them for experience. Even though I don't necessarily agree with having too many rookies is a bad thing or a risk. If they were playing well I don't think it matters.

Watching press conference. Danny Willet asked about early in the week and how the week evolved, how would he describe his first Ryder Cup.

"Sh1t"

laughter

"oh sorry would you like me to elaborate on that?....... really sh1t"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭luvthegame

Absolute best bit for me was Spieth conceding in his bare feet. Stenson is the MAN.
    What a ballstriker. Never liked good putters sneaking a win :)

Clarke blew it big time. It became more and more obvious that the only thing he cared about was being
    liked by the Americans. I especially disliked his pointing at Reed in admiration after the singles. Can you
    imagine Seve or Olazabal doing that?

As for Willett: You don't put him out in grovelling interviews on the range.You say his brother is a twat
    but its not Dannys fault and you leave it at that.

Someone complained earlier in this thread that all this criticism of Clarke is a NI bias. WRONG
    I love McDowell and McIlroy. But Clarke got what he deserved today.

As for 2018 I hope Jimenez is given the job.

dope reporter woman (sounded french) asked Darren "as captain will you consider french players in 2 years time"

Big D...."Thankfully I won't be captain"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭jobless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

PARlance wrote:
    I think we all know the next one is in Paris at this stage.

Then why did you say Jiminez would make a bad captain in the States?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,541 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

First Up wrote: »
    Then why did you say Jiminez would make a bad captain in the States?

Someone asked if he might be the next captain. I replied saying that, (No) I think they'll save him for a US captaincy.

And I didn't say he would make a good or bad captain.

Willett has said on twitter that his brother was totally right in what he wrote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

glasso wrote: »
    Willett has said on twitter that his brother was totally right in what he wrote!

I couldn't help thinking that a few times over the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,784 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Was about to say that's the last we'll see of him in the Ryder Cup but I guess if he qualifies on points he has to play and his chances of ever getting a wildcard after this week are pretty slim...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,082 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Seve OB wrote: »
    Watching press conference. Danny Willet asked about early in the week and how the week evolved, how would he describe his first Ryder Cup.

"Sh1t"

laughter

"oh sorry would you like me to elaborate on that?....... really sh1t"

lol

got a link to the footage of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,079 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

What I can't figure out is how a plonker like Monty can attract so many nice women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,986 ✭✭✭bren2001

Was about to say that's the last we'll see of him in the Ryder Cup but I guess if he qualifies on points he has to play and his chances of ever getting a wildcard after this week are pretty slim...

If he doesn't qualify on points and is the form player he will be picked. Nearly all the Europeans have mentioned somewhere that the Americans were OTT. Willet is no different.

In terms of his poor performance, there's little he can do about that. He hasn't been on a great run recently. Lunacy to expect him to turn it around solely for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Granted there is always idiots and i think a few more in america but the Europeans have forgot that we have our own idiot fans as well.

Willet has set himself up badly for anytime he goes to america now which is a bad move career wise as he will get targeted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭valoren

It's some really good PR by the team.

We understand that the crowds will be partisan in an event like this particularly so in the US. It's the nature of matchplay to be more informal and the crowds follow suit in a way. But there's a world of difference between jeering when a player hit dunks it into the water or lips out and calling people turds or telling them to "Suck a dick".

It seems that every time it's played in the US that the line is crossed. I'm sure the vast majority of the American crowds are rightly embarrassed by such clowns.

That the Europeans are taking this on the chin is great to see. There is certainly no immediate talk of a need for 'task forces' and 'special committee's' etc. A US win was badly needed. I'm glad for Love after the embarrassment that was Medinah, sort of a personal retribution. And for Sky to downplay the European Team here to perhaps spare Clarke's blushes is unwarranted. Wouldn't change a thing? We made the decisions together? BS. If Sky are going to hype this event up into EPIC proportions then their criticism of Clarke should have been a lot stronger.