Ryder Cup 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Nothing wrong with a few tears but Blubba is crying like he caught his lad in his zip.

Too girly a cry for that pain.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Blubba booie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Seve OB wrote:
    Bjorn

Hope not. We need a clear out not a lads weekend away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I believe he's doing an exclusive interview with Joe Molloy.

Ah I cracked that one earlier Dingus.

Just want to post this.

http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/Golf_Weekly/79125/

A lot of you probably know about the little article that Joe Molloy did about Clarke recently. Well I went digging and I found a podcast that OTB did just after Clarke was announced as captain. Joe describes those experiences that he wrote about in that article and they discuss the row with McGinley. McIntrye also discusses his experiences with Clarke.

He has really gotten the most out of his captaincy, you'd think Europe hadn't won it in decades the way he goes on.

This whole captaincy importance is completely overblown anyway, it primarily comes down to the golfers.
    It's not like soccer where tactics are involved, it's basically motivation and pick the pairings, the rest is down to the players.
    The 50 vice captains is a load of nonsense as well

I kinda think the opposite. It's like...the golfers are so good...you need someone who is meticulous to eek out every advantage, to tie up every loose end, to make sure nothing whatsoever can go wrong. I suspect no Willett sibling would have decided to take the spotlight in McGinley's era. The Westwood screw up was spectacular, and it's not as if it was unforeseen....but presume they'll have a few pints together later.

Here we go...

uh oh, the lads shouting "championes"... he's gonna turn round and tell them to STFU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,929 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Predictable Sky question after a shambolic defeat.

"Are you proud of comeback after being 4-0 down?".

No analysis whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Darren wouldn't change anything

Ok dazzler

You Spoofer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Clarke wouldn't change anything he says.

Chubby in his hear telling him to not mention Westwood I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭noserider

No changes in hindsight, really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,666 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Clarke wouldn't change anything :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Mushy wrote: »
    Wtf Bubba....sympathy VC pick balling his eyes out!

In fairness aren't most VC pick sympathy or get people on boards types like Tiger and Poulter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

ForeRight wrote:
    To be fair he lost 16-17 to eagle birdie so credit to Moore

I'm sure inside, he's thinking something completely different, but he's being a diplomat. It's a tricky one to manage given how close he is to the whole Ryder cup process

Then he shouldn't be a pundit if he has to censor what he thinks.
    What's the point of him if he's "thinking something completely different".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Sky still talking up the wonderful European performance. Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,929 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Hope Sky go back to Nick Dougherty's embarrassing predictions against Butch Harmon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Deserved result and to be honest, I don't mind. The event needed a US win and the US team just looked more cohesive and motivated.
    It marks a changing of the guard - the end of the Darren/Westwood/Chubby era and the handover to the next generation.
    Darren got through it without offending anyone or damaging his CV with US TV. The professional outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

The winner today was the game of golf

Lol gotta love this dribble out of sky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

He has really gotten the most out of his captaincy, you'd think Europe hadn't won it in decades the way he goes on.

This whole captaincy importance is completely overblown anyway, it primarily comes down to the golfers.
    It's not like soccer where tactics are involved, it's basically motivation and pick the pairings, the rest is down to the players.
    The 50 vice captains is a load of nonsense as well

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Captain-Myth-Sports-Leadership-Delusion/dp/1472909941/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1475443998&sr=8-1&keywords=ryder+cup+captain

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Clarke wil enjoy the session tonight with his buddies. He wouldn't change a thing?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,745 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Mushy wrote: »
    Wtf Bubba....sympathy VC pick balling his eyes out!

In fairness aren't most VC pick sympathy or get people on boards types like Tiger and Poulter

I'd agree to some extent, but you pick VCs to help the team. Picking someone 5 days before, that's sympathy for sympathy sake.

And Darren didn't forget to give credit to all his vice captains. Big team effort you know. ( Wasn't just me, gov.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,961 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Fair play US - better team won.

And the task force worked.

They were class.

It actaully could've been a much bigger victory - so fair play to Europe sticking it out and getting what could be 11 points - that is not far off, when you look at the twist and turns of last few days.

Sad week for Lee and Darren, a legend of the game.
    But great players don't make great captains.

Will be a total different game in 2 years time, in fact, will be a brilliant game with europe at home and that American team looks like it could improve a serious amount.

There is hope there for a Sergio picking up a major - delighted to see Phil play so well , and he will be in the mix in majors in 2017.

Loved the course - was set up way too easy , and I'd say that was part of the plan - as in, turn it into a competitions on the greens that we know the exact speed of and play a few times coming up to it , with course set up exactly as it will be. Knowing greens well would be a massive advantage.

Loved the crowd - watching a Nordea Master in Stocholm with a couple of thousand people is our week in week out events. You need the majors and the epic events . you have them in every other sport.

Anyway - I liked it and loved the Rory thing.

Loved Thomas the Belgian Langer - but loved Victor too and he was not even in team.

America is odd and now we know how Trump could get in.

Make America Great Again.

Didn't get the team structure that Darren had, little or no presence of big characters Like Poults , Paddy, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Jiminez for the next captain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

murpho999 wrote: »
    Hope Sky go back to Nick Dougherty's embarrassing predictions against Butch Harmon.

Nick Dougherty and his incessant nodding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Thepoet85 wrote: »

Great guy. You gotta love him. But just a little bit too much crazy going on in there for this particular job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I wonder will this change things significantly for Reed now, I like him, he's not the usual straight edged US character, which might explain why the US media are frosty towards him. But he's "Captain America" according to Spieth.

Thepoet85 wrote: »

would be entertaining but it won't happen. can't see him being a details man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

noserider wrote: »
    Next captain for Europe?

Was surprised McGinley did not get a second go could as him again but I sat from the mainland of Europe who is Bjorn. Could Colin Mcgomery get it

ForeRight wrote: »
    The winner today was the game of golf
    Lol gotta love this dribble out of sky

"The best of Ryder Cup I've experienced".

That was another.

Fair play to Kaymer for hanging in there and picking up a good point.