Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

20 miles done. Maybe a bit more as the garmin died at one point but worked when I swtiched it back on. I decided to do my 2nd loop up towards myo's and through Chapelizod on the Marathon route.

That hill to Ballyfermot indeed sucks, I was 12m in and it was tough. Although before I started it I was greeted by about 15 of Dublin's finest 10-12 year olds pretending to throw rocks at cars that drove by and the same to me, although one of them did high 5 myself but I looked down at the Garmin and it was showing 7:30 p/m for that little stint...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Week 14
    Total Distance 45.7 miles
    Total Time 6hr 48

To be honest this is the week that I have been least looking forward to since the start of the structured training plan as it was coming off the back of the 1/2 last weekend.

Happy to say that everything went well this week...even tried out a couple of gels one on Wednesday for the 8 miles and one today on the LSR (clocked in at 20.85) no ill effects....still like the Fruit Pastilles aswell!!

Started off from Castleknock gates this morning at 0700 and ran the marathon course to Milltown then headed back to the Phoenix Park....up hill section from The Quays to the finish; felt good so upped the pace for the last couple of miles....20.85 miles at an average pace of 09:01.....delighted with that.

Hard to believe it is only 4 weeks to go.....stay focused and keep up the great progress....to those still on the treatment table I hope things are looking up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

tony1980 wrote: »
    Hey Fitza, sorry I haven't been on much the last few weeks as real life hit us with a few tough situations in the past few weeks so apologies to everyone for my lack of updates and posts of support.

I will write up a better progress report this evening when I have a bit more time but in short, I received a good pep talk (lecture...lol) from TM earlier in the week which gave me the kick up the a**e I needed so cheers for that TM (Future Novice Mentor possibility maybe!)

Thanks to TM I have got out for 4 runs since Wed. A short 2 miler, then 3.5, 7.5 yesterday and 10.7 today all at a nice handy pace and have had no issues with the knee so I think I might still have a chance with this :-)

Great to hear you are on the road again....good on TM for kicking you up the a**e if that's what was needed to get you out there again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Week 22 - Irish Runner Plan.
    I ran!!! :D

Monday - recovery 5m after the DCHM.
    Tuesday - Pilates
    Wednesday - 10 miles
    Thursday - gym & swim
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - Rest (should have been 5 miles but I was hungover - last drink til 31st Oct!)
    Sunday - 18 mile LSR. Fine up til mile 15, then faded. Had to walk a little which annoyed me, but got going again before the end. I had no hip pain, I'm almost afraid to say it but I think my bursitis has finally cleared up :D More physio on Wed.

My plan still has 20 mile LSRs, with a 12 mile taper the week before.

Weekly Total - 33 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Week 14 Boards plan

Monday: rest
    Tuesday: rest
    Wednesday: rest
    Thursday: 5 miles easy (10:22min/mile)
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: 20 miles LSR (10:33min/mile)
    Sunday: rest

Well this week, which was supposed to be peak mileage for me, was not good:(
    Came down with a weird flu-like virus on Monday morning. I was only in work about an hour when I had to leave. Was vomiting, shivering, headachey, sore throat and had aches all over.
    I was worried I'd be bedridden for the whole week but thankfully I had significantly improved by Wednesday and felt able for running by Thursday.
    Really glad I didn't have to skip my 20 mile run, although legs were pretty sore from about 15 miles on. In hindsight running 20 miles when I'd barely run all week mightn't have been the wisest:o Knees are still a bit achey today so I skipped the recovery run, but the worst of the pains are gone and a lot of foam rolling and massaging my quads and calves usually sorts my knees.

Driving through Rathgar/Terenure this morning and saw a parked SSE airtricity race series van. Someone was putting up a notice on a pole that the marathon has been switched from the Monday to the Sunday of the bank holiday weekend. It's starting to get real!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭tipping

Monday
    10 easy on the grass. Wanted to give the calf a bit more time to settle so skipped the session

Tuesday
    5 recovery (a bit quick but legs felt good)

Wednesday
    Unplanned rest but lots of physical labour so let's call in cross training

Thursday
    11 easy. This sucked, got out late so had to head to local village and do loops. Found it hard on the legs with all the up and down of paths.

Friday
    8 miles easy. Legs feet brutal at the start after the night before but loosened up as the day went on

Saturday
    Golf followed by IKEA. Long day but no running

Sunday
    20 mile lsr. Didn't feel like this but got out the door and it went great. Last couple of miles were at MP as the legs really came alive. Ran into a pig on the road 1/2 mile from home so mini pit stop required to get her to safety. That's something you don't see every day.

Good week all around with 54 miles. Finding it harder to get the time and the nights being dark around 7:30 doesn't help. Glad it's drawing towards the start line now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Got my 20.5m in this morning with a 7:30am start.Great to have it done early but I had my hat and gloves on for it.

I carried four gels and a packet of Wine gums.

I've taken the gels previously and they have agreed with me but I just wanted to ensure carrying four was ok. No issues there

I didn't use any just took one wine gum every 5k.Did about 10k at MP. overall pace about 5min/km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

15m lsr done yesterday morning. About 13 on the DCM course. First few miles were very wet but once the rain stopped I thought the weather was perfect - no wind and lovely and cool - I'd take that in 4 weeks. I was worried beforehand about a bit of plantar fasciitis under my left foot but it didn't give me too much trouble. Rolling, stretching and icing seems to have done the trick. More of the same since and all is good. Will monitor it carefully though. Run went really well. Felt good the whole way and finished strong up to Fosters ave. Best LSR yet for me I think. Played very close attention to food beforehand and nutrition during. I think I have it down now. I tried the High5 ISOGEL with caffeine I got in the HM race pack last weekend to see if it was better than the SIS iso gels i was using. I thought the High5 iso was much better. Alot more liquidy and palatable. I am going to switch to using these for my 20 miler next weekend and if all goes well will stock up for the 30th. I noticed Amphibian King have them when I was in recently so will get them there.

Reading Wubble's report where the hill in milltown is mentioned. I used to hate it as when you are coming up to it it looks quite steep and the head might go down but in reality it is just a very short incline immediately followed by flat and then downhill section all the way to the dodder in Clonskeagh. One of the advantages I guess of running some of the route.

Met some friends last night and one of the lads told us he is also running DCM this year. He is planning on a faster time than me, could be doing with losing a few pounds and is only doing 2 runs a week. I am wondering if he is mad altogether or if my expectations of myself are too low. Don't worry I have no intention of revisiting my goals or expectations but am curious how he gets on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Week 14, HHN1

Tues: 3.02 mi. Time: something not right here, says my time was 44:06 and I was running 14:35 min/mi. Nope. That's way out of whack. Anyway, unlike the previous Tues, I remembered to bring my runners for after work. :rolleyes:
    Weds: 7.02 mi. Time: 1:06:49. 9:31 min/mi Avg Pace. Always get a few funny looks going back into work in shorts and a sweaty look...
    Thurs: 4.02 mi. Time: 37:37. 9:21 min/mi Avg Pace.
    Sat: 14.04 mi. Time: 2:31:57. 10:49. min/mi Avg Pace. Wet enough for the warm up (about 8:45am), thought I was going to end up with quite cold hands for the whole thing. Rain eased soon enough and my shorts started to dry after a while. Got an enthusiastic 'hello' from two lads out running around mile 3. A little further on and someone had been busy gardening. There's someone shrubbery that obstructs the view on the bend - it had been well and truly scalped. Headed out to Loughshinny as normal, seagull conference was under way. Had an energy bar around mile 9 - it had fairly brightened up at this stage. The yappy German Shepherd that only seems to care about my presence on the return does so around mile 10-11. Happy enough overall, blisters on the toe tips still a little bit of an issue, tbh. Did not stay up for the film starting at 10.
    Sun: Just went out and did 3.06 at 10:32 around midday. Sunny, but not baking. Then onto laundry.

Week 13
    Week 12
    Week 11
    Week 10
    Week 9
    Week 8
    Week 7
    Week 6
    Week 5
    Week 4
    Week 3
    Week 2
    Week 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Week 22 - Irish Runner Plan.
    I ran!!! :D

Monday - recovery 5m after the DCHM.
    Tuesday - Pilates
    Wednesday - 10 miles
    Thursday - gym & swim
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - Rest (should have been 5 miles but I was hungover - last drink til 31st Oct!)
    Sunday - 18 mile LSR. Fine up til mile 15, then faded. Had to walk a little which annoyed me, but got going again before the end. I had no hip pain, I'm almost afraid to say it but I think my bursitis has finally cleared up :D More physio on Wed.

My plan still has 20 mile LSRs, with a 12 mile taper the week before.

Weekly Total - 33 miles.

Saw your run on Strava, noticed you slowed the last three and I feared the worst. Great news that it was just a bit of fatigue and not hip pain. The fact you completed the 18 miles says a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Thanks for that, to be honest I was still a bit hungover from Friday too and was very dehydrated by this point, this training has ruined my drink tolerance! :D

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Thanks for that, to be honest I was still a bit hungover from Friday too and was very dehydrated by this point, this training has ruined my drink tolerance! :D

Well at least you know you won't be drinking on Friday 28th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 crogerso

2nd 20miler completed this morning and my leg held up till the end! :)

Went to physio yday morning, explained my issues and after a quick assessment he told me that the tightness in my calf was likely the cause of the pain in my arch and with proper stretching before and after runs I should be good to go. Big sigh of relief!!
    He did some dry needling on my calf: had this done once before on my upper back by a friend who was doing a course in it so I was happy to try it. Weird sensation with a few of my muscles responding with twitches but all in all found it very bearable. Following this he rubbed the calf and then went through the best stretches to do and when and how often to do them. Left the place feeling much more positive about the 20miler but my OH and running partner was working so we decided to leave the LSR until this morning and tbh seeing the rain Saturday made me glad of this decision. Leg was quite tender following the physio session so spent the day with leg up on a hot water bottle, taking advantage of the day off.

Sunday 20Mile LSR: Up at 7 for breakfast and stretching and on the road at 8.30am. Mornings like this morning are made for running. Bit chilly getting started but half a mile in and I was feeling blessed with the weather. Would be delighted to have these conditions on DCM day. First few miles felt a very slight niggle in my calf but nothing like last week so I was happy to continue. About mile 4 the pain just disappeared and I was jogging painfree which was a great feeling. Not much to report for the first half of the run. Route through St. Annes Park in clontarf and then out along the coast road towards Howth; nice flat, smooth surface and a bit of running on grass too which was good. Toilet stop at mile 8 in Howth and then on our way again. Took an isogel at mile 10 in Sutton, went down fine. Temperature had picked up slightly at this point but felt good with legs starting to tire at mile 13, nothing new here really. Just acknowledged it and kept going. For the next 3 miles we maintained a steady pace and good form but from mile 16 the struggle was real. Legs were REALLY tired here so took advantage of the grass on the coast road from dollymount towards fairview. Looking back on the stats I was surprised to see that we ran our fastest miles from 16-20 despite the sore legs and feeling slower.
    Feet up since and no pain just tiredness. Happy days!

Thanks to everyone for their advice re my injury concern. I have decided to buy another pair of runners, the same as I am using now to break in over the next few weeks in case the others give up before DCM. Got a great deal on startfitness.co.uk if anyone is looking. And 10% off with code FLASH10.

Great to hear other injuries are on the mend and fair play to everyone running in that rain yday! And today of course. This time 4 weeks we will be finished DCM and hopefully happy with the outcome. Scary but so exciting!

Week 14 update:

Coming back from my shin injury so the plan was to run 75% of the Boards plan for the week.

Mon: 3.3 miles @ 9:32. Probably a bit quick. Should have been closer to 10min

Wed: 6 miles @ 9:44

Thu: 4.25 miles @ 9:14 avg. Was feeling great again so I ran the middle 2 miles at PMP. Probably not the best idea I've had.

Sat: 15.5 miles @ 9:57. Ran this with paddydriver. Met at Stephens Green and ran the DCM route (skipped a bit of PP) with me stopping at Milltown and pd carrying on to complete his 20 miles. Great to run with good company, the run definitely felt easier because of it. I also tried an energy bar for the first time while running (thanks for the bar H, they're now ordered and in my DCM plan). My plan for DCM is now to find random strangers and bore the head off them for the first 13 miles!
    The shin held up ok. It felt a bit tight around 9 miles, but that cleared as we continued.
    Got the Luas home from Milltown. Iced the shin and had an Epsom bath later. However, Saturday night the shin did feel really stiff so I'm wondering if I maybe pushed it a bit far in my first full week back, especially on concrete paths for most of the LSR.

Sun: My plan was to run 2-3 miles recovery, but I decided rest was a more sensible approach. Took the dog for a walk instead. I did a couple of test jogs in Marlay with the dog and the shin feels great.

Total 29.25m for the week. Happy with that.

Plan for week 15 is to run 100% of the midweek runs, but again plan to stop if I feel anything. I could do with some advice for the 18 miler on Saturday though. Should I plan the whole 18, but stick to loops so I can stop if needed?

Enjoyed reading the tg's Berlin report and the LSR reports this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Out of interest, did you feel safe running around the park in the dark?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭ooter

ligerdub wrote: »

Phoenix park is it?
    I've lived on the doorstep of it all my life and I wouldn't go in to it when it's dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

kin9pin wrote: »
    Week 14 update:

Coming back from my shin injury so the plan was to run 75% of the Boards plan for the week.

Mon: 3.3 miles @ 9:32. Probably a bit quick. Should have been closer to 10min

Wed: 6 miles @ 9:44

Thu: 4.25 miles @ 9:14 avg. Was feeling great again so I ran the middle 2 miles at PMP. Probably not the best idea I've had.

Sat: 15.5 miles @ 9:57. Ran this with paddydriver. Met at Stephens Green and ran the DCM route (skipped a bit of PP) with me stopping at Milltown and pd carrying on to complete his 20 miles. Great to run with good company, the run definitely felt easier because of it. I also tried an energy bar for the first time while running (thanks for the bar H, they're now ordered and in my DCM plan). My plan for DCM is now to find random strangers and bore the head off them for the first 13 miles!
    The shin held up ok. It felt a bit tight around 9 miles, but that cleared as we continued.
    Got the Luas home from Milltown. Iced the shin and had an Epsom bath later. However, Saturday night the shin did feel really stiff so I'm wondering if I maybe pushed it a bit far in my first full week back, especially on concrete paths for most of the LSR.

Sun: My plan was to run 2-3 miles recovery, but I decided rest was a more sensible approach. Took the dog for a walk instead. I did a couple of test jogs in Marlay with the dog and the shin feels great.

Total 29.25m for the week. Happy with that.

Plan for week 15 is to run 100% of the midweek runs, but again plan to stop if I feel anything. I could do with some advice for the 18 miler on Saturday though. Should I plan the whole 18, but stick to loops so I can stop if needed?

Enjoyed reading the tg's Berlin report and the LSR reports this week.

T'was a pleasure to run with you Sir.. very enjoyable. It does make a long run so much more enjoyable when you have company that's happy to yap about just about anything from legacy IT systems to kids soccer! I think its fair to say it rained on us an awful lot but once you are out there is no going back.

On my side, I had a busy day but got the 3.3M recovery in this evening and all was good. Watching the golf now for a few hours but think the game may be up for Europe at some stage soon.

I checked my run chart on the fridge and taper definitely looks good.. I like the idea of the mileage scaling back and the pace easing. I got latest edition of Irish Runner given to me and it had plenty of good articles about the month ahead and and also the day itself; I'm sure lots is just peddled out every year but all the same for us novices it may be worth a read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

As our esteemed leader is away it was time to take advantage and go off the rails and have loads of Saturday beers

:eek: I was midway formulating a thought akin to "FECK SAKE" when:
    it's OK nop I am only joking....

Awesome LSR reports folks, I have several pages to wade through - it'll have to wait until tomorrow morning.

4 weeks from now, none of you will be able to walk stairs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

nop98 wrote: »
    4 weeks from now, none of you will be able to walk stairs :D

Go go gadget ground floor apartment! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭robinwing

Am 65 yrs of age . I last ran the Dublin Marathon in 1984 in 2 hrs 52 mins. Training a bit now ( after a break of 32 years !) for Airtricity but nursing old injuries a bit . Using very high quality Hoka cushioned shoes and Nike Airmax . Ran 18.5 mls yesterday and that is my last long run and the longest I have done , could have carried on for 20 but felt it would take too much out of me, started off too fast and did not realize I was running at too fast a pace till I examined my data afterwards. . Doing about 36 miles per week and including 2 rest days per week . Ran a 5k Parkrun 2 saturdays ago in 24 mins 40 secs . I will not do another long run before the marathon now , will do a few 14 milers . Felt totally tired after 17+ miles on my long runs and its counterproductive to do a very long run within 3 weeks of the marathon I feel. Cannot stress enough the importance of drinking each mile for the first 10 miles . I carry a 500ml water bottle and sip it at each mile . I use High 5 Gels on long runs , take one at about each 5 mile mark. Very important to drink lots and lots of water after a long run and get some protein into the system. I hope to complete marathon in about 4 hrs 15 mins and complete it without stopping or walking . Hope the big day is fine and not too windy ! good luck to ye all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

ligerdub wrote: »

I think this one's for me? Like I said, not an ideal time to be over that side of the park; you'd need your wits about you. In this case, it was more dawn than actual darkness, not helped by the fact that it was cloudy and raining. I was able to run in the middle of the road for most of it (Knockmaroon Gate was still closed to traffic) and so I was ready to pick up the pace if needed. In general I wouldn't recommend it, especially if you're any way nervous.

You're a braver man than me! I sometimes wonder on the long runs "what if I got chased?". I figure if I'm not caught in the first 400m they've got no chance :).....unless they're also marathon training........then I've had it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

kin9pin wrote: »
    You're a braver man than me! I sometimes wonder on the long runs "what if I got chased?". I figure if I'm not caught in the first 400m they've got no chance :).....unless they're also marathon training........then I've had it.

If it ever happens, just make sure you hit the lap button on your watch first. That's a guaranteed PB :D

Super LSR'ing this weekend, all! I hope today is a rest-day as we're getting ever closer to the taper.

GOOSEPAUL - well done on your 20-miler. That's plenty of mileage and time-on-feet, don't think you have to run further than this. Actually, last year, the great Myles Splitz posted a great summary of why, in general, running for more than 3 hours becomes counter-productive. Essentially, you're not "building" anymore after three hours, and you'll need much more time to recover, thus impacting your next week's mileage. So be happy with the 3h09 effort and I hope you have recovered well.

Next weeks LSRs: how about 18, 14, 8, (26.2 :))?

TBO - nice job at your 14M while smiling like a loon in the rain. What more can I say :eek: You're doing HHN1, right? So big week ahead for you. Look after yourself well this week.

Wubble Wubble - another 20-miler in the bag, excellent work. I hope the Dubs victory has not resulted in overhydration or excessive time-on-feet :)

Pomplamousse - Well done on your second 20M run - but ouch, that sounds like 5 hard miles at the end of your run. How are is your leg today - are you considering a massage / rub-down this week? And are you generally feeling better? Are you in the habit of taking your resting heartrate? Just want to make sure there's nothing suspicious going on.

The Muppet - that sounds like a fine 20M LSR in ideal conditions. The fact that you're feeling good at the end? That's due to your hard work over the past months. Well done.

Maximus Alexander, well done too. Did it go well?

PauloMN - Tough 21M but well done! You are so right saying it's all in the head. Well, not all - but a lot :) When reading (ultra-)marathon reports it always strikes me that there are always good and bad patches. These really long runs are never just plain-sailing. It's how you get through the bad patches is what will really define the run. The best thing to do is to simply trust your training - eventually, thing will come around.

aceygray wrote: »
    I was back to the physio today, and he was fairly happy with my knee. I hadn't had pain in about a week, so he gave me the ok to run again. A short test run today, then rest tomorrow, and if all goes well I can do a longer run at the weekend. He also went through some exercises to do.

So I did an easy 2 miles around the park. It felt great to be out again. I was going to make it two laps, but both my knees felt a bit stiff, so I stopped after one. I put it down to being out of practice.

Afterwards I was doing some lunges at home and my left knee started to hurt again. It's nowhere near as bad as it was before, but it's definitely the same type of pain, in the same place. So I'm feeling fairly sorry for myself right now :(

I'm going to ring the physio tomorrow for advice, but I'm expecting to be told I need more rest.

Anyway.

Belated well done to everyone racing at the weekend! I'm just catching up on the reports now, and it's great so many were happy with their performance.

Hey Aceygray - any update on your knee? Are you planning any mileage this week?

Any other patients out there? From my notes, it seems most are back in full training mode?

Classic21 - Good run - glad you call out yourself that it might not have been the best idea. Still a very respectable HM time! Your experience highlights we have to do a bit of mental planning for the day itself - you're right, there's nothing worse setting off and not knowing how you'll approach your run (unless the goal is to "just run" - but that's typically not the case with marathon training).

Extrasupervery - Glad someone already corrected you on the choice of pizza - any running to report? :) And treating your body like a casino - I am still thinking that one through..

FITZA - Funny how a 20+k run becomes "boring".... Good luck next week in Longwood. Word of warning - there are many documented cases of marathon novices absolutely nailing the 3/4 marathon a few weeks out, and then having a bad run on the day itself... Please please watch your pace!

tony1980 - glad to have you back! Glad to have you back running, too! How has your weekly mileage been over the past few weeks? What are you planning for the next few weeks? I hope real-life is sorting itself out for you.

Thank you TM for the motivational lecture - maybe you can share some of it for all of us? :)

FBJM - Good call postponing your run, I hope you get all your mileage in this week. Thanks for remining us all to treat our bodies like temples!

Antwerp - Well done - super 20-miler. Course-recce is always welcome, we'll dedicate week -2 for all of us to share our experiences about the DCM route.

fatherted1969 - Great job on your LSR, but it sounds like you're running this at your planned marathon pace? :eek: It's recommended to run it typically around 90 seconds/mile slower. Are you thinking of getting new runners? If you do - make sure to do it a.s.a.p. so you can still get them properly broken in before the big day. It won't be a bad idea to be alternating runnners, anyway. Good luck.

RasTa - Good job on the 20M with a fast interval halfway through. :eek:

scotindublin - That's a great run, albeit maybe a little fast... Keep it together for the next few weeks!

kittyclaws - very glad to see you back, and very glad to read of the absence of hip pain! We'll allow for the hangover - I do hope you'll get all your runs in this week.

tipping - Excellent week and mileage - enjoyed reading about the pig-rescue!

JackieChan - Good work and that's some pace for your long run. Liking the race-day-prep, you may consider trying out a gel or two on the long runs next weekend.

budhistmonk - another one with a decent stretch of the DCM course under his belt. Well done. Your niggles - if they are even that - are very typical of this stage of marathon training, the tapering will sort that out. Good job prepping the nutriotion before the run (this is a really good tip for all) - and yes, let's not let other mad plans of mad runners distract you!

crogerso - excellent news on your physio visit and super 20-miler. Good running form is incredibly hard to maintain when you're getting tired but it's very important to do just so. I typically check-in with myself every mile or so (the course mile-markers are a great reminder for that), just to make sure you're running upright, relaxed shoulders, arms, face, etc. Well done again.

kin9pin Glad to hear you're back - careful with that shin now. I am guessing you'll probably feel some niggles there towards the end of every long run. Your plan for next week looks good, the mid-week runs should be doable but dial back the pace, it will make a big difference not inflaming the vulnerable spot and won't damage your fitness/prep at all. For the long run, it would be great to get 18M under the belt but a sensible approach (so you can bail if needed) is of course the right thing to do. Maybe run in Phoenix Park with A Neurotic?

paddydriver - did you push kin9pin too hard? Careful on the poor lad's shin? :D just joking. Good job, lads. Any particular wisdom from the IR magazine you care to share with all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

LSR Update...whew, longest run to date, until end of the month anyway! 32.4km (3:52:??) vaguely following the marathon route from around the quays to Dartry. Knew I'd gone off track when I crossed the liffey (wrong bridge) but thought I followed fairly well after the Park - all this talk of a hill in Ballyfermot suggests I did not...must figure out where I went wrong and try do that again - I don't want any surprise hills on the day. Once that is covered, I'll have run everything except the very start and the very end at some stage during training.

Found this run tough enough by the end, legs very tired and achy - no injury type pains which is reassuring, just complaining because I was making them run and run and run and then run some more. Was determined to run more than 32.2k so that on the day, the unknown distance that I've never covered would be less than 10k even if only by a small amount - mission accomplished! Also tried an isogel - pleasant and another flavour in the hi-five gel range. On the day will bring 3 gels and 2 isogels aiming to have one an hour with a spare one in reserve.

I got the marathon pack in Lidl/Aldi toward the start of all this madness. I haven't tried any of the caffeine ones and don't think I will at this stage - is there anyone who wants the caffeine ones? Otherwise they'll just end up in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

I did a shorter LSR than planned, Did the Cork to Cobh 15 miler. Did about 1.5 mile warm up and then went off. I seemed to have gotten my pacing all wrong for the first 9 miles at about 8.10's and then pulled it back to 8.20 for the last 6 miles. Felt good at the end but i need to think about the pacing a bit more. A nice walk with the family around fota after seemed to help loosen me out and No aches or pains this morning. It did my planned breakfast and water intake before the race and all seemed to work out well.

robinwing wrote: »
    Am 65 yrs of age . I last ran the Dublin Marathon in 1984 in 2 hrs 52 mins. Training a bit now ( after a break of 32 years !) for Airtricity but nursing old injuries a bit . Using very high quality Hoka cushioned shoes and Nike Airmax . Ran 18.5 mls yesterday and that is my last long run and the longest I have done , could have carried on for 20 but felt it would take too much out of me, started off too fast and did not realize I was running at too fast a pace till I examined my data afterwards. . Doing about 36 miles per week and including 2 rest days per week . Ran a 5k Parkrun 2 saturdays ago in 24 mins 40 secs . I will not do another long run before the marathon now , will do a few 14 milers . Felt totally tired after 17+ miles on my long runs and its counterproductive to do a very long run within 3 weeks of the marathon I feel. Cannot stress enough the importance of drinking each mile for the first 10 miles . I carry a 500ml water bottle and sip it at each mile . I use High 5 Gels on long runs , take one at about each 5 mile mark. Very important to drink lots and lots of water after a long run and get some protein into the system. I hope to complete marathon in about 4 hrs 15 mins and complete it without stopping or walking . Hope the big day is fine and not too windy ! good luck to ye all

Welcome, robinwing - and thank you for your sound advice. That's a fine PB you have from 1984 - and an equally fine goal for this year. The very best of luck to you on day itself - do stay around and let us know how your preparation is going.

By the way (not directed to you at all - more a general observation), there really is no shame in walking for little parts, during the marathon. E.g. at the waterstops, when you see friends / family in the crowd, if you just want a little break. Each to their own, but "no walking" isn't necessarily an important goal.

When this was being discussed last year, it was mentioned that there are plenty of examples of sub-3 hours being achieved with walking stops, and plus-5 hours without.