Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

mf240 wrote: »
    What's this ebi ye speak of.

Estimated breeding index.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

stanflt wrote: »
    A mystical figure pulled from the sky

Why has it fallen ? Anything to do with the price of woodchips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

mf240 wrote: »
    Why has it fallen ? Anything to do with the price of woodchips?

I think it has something to do with a sales rep in Nigeria unable to sell any fresh milk for Glanbia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Signpost wrote:
    Been trying it myself for a good while but second year getting herd scored and definitely worth it. Far more thorough than when your doing it yourself. Ya all bulls have aAa figures but my AI technician was the one who got me interested in aAa so he is great at using the right straws and giving advice when needed!

Can someone please give me an idiots guide to aAa.. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

http://aaaweeks.com/resources/ - Fairly good overview of aAa & how it works.

stanflt wrote: »
    I think it has something to do with a sales rep in Nigeria unable to sell any fresh milk for Glanbia

The ice cream is flying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

kowtow wrote:
    Among those without an EBI two are still giving 20litres + on OAD.

kowtow wrote:
    I suspect this has more to do with the way I use EBI than the system itself.

Not really. Ebi is weighted heavily for fertility.any farmer will tell you condition is everything for fertility. Lower milking cows tend to be in better shape than high milkers unless they are fed really well so it's the norm for lower milking cows to go in calf quicker than higher milking ones so they generally have a higher ebi but not always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Watching YouTube clips of this year's milk quality finalists.
    Great attention to detail and cleanliness on every farm
    It's not something you get by accident. Years worth of effort gas gone in
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=e2-FZwGvdX4&sns=fb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭cosatron

Scanning went well. 46 out of 50 in calf and 3 sets of God damn twins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

There is a sale of second hand milk and water tanks for sale in Dairymaster HQ yard this Saturday, viewing at 10 and sale at 11 if anyone is interested in picking up a tank.

I saw that. They are all a bit on the big side though :)

kowtow wrote: »
    I saw that. They are all a bit on the big side though :)

I've a nice 1800l one if your interested?

I've a great tank actually that came from a poster on here and fired up a treat with a bit of new gas.

Had been thinking about buying an auto washer for it but then occurred to me it might be cheaper to buy a 2nd tank with a washer and keep the other for pasteurised milk etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kowtow wrote: »
    I've a great tank actually that came from a poster on here and fired up a treat with a bit of new gas.

Had been thinking about buying an auto washer for it but then occurred to me it might be cheaper to buy a 2nd tank with a washer and keep the other for pasteurised milk etc.

If it's pasteurised cheese, I'll head down for the official tasting🖒

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

What would be the chance of picking up a 25 or 30k litre tank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Dawggone wrote: »
    What would be the chance of picking up a 25 or 30k litre tank?

What type of tank?

Just want it for holding liquid fert on an outfarm. Stainless steel would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Dawggone wrote: »
    Just want it for holding liquid fert on an outfarm. Stainless steel would be good.

That size stainless is really only starting to appear on Irish farms. They're something you'd be waiting to pick up second-hand. Piggery close to hear has three v.large tanks as fire hydrants but they were a while accquiring them. Dispersals from closing manufacturing plants would be worth watching. Alternatively there's a type that fits in the dimensions of a forty foot container. They must turn up damaged from time to time. One of the companies that specialise in second hand containers for site accomodation might pick up one id they knew they had a customer. Those are often used for carrying some fairly hazardous ind chems so would probably be up to spec for liquid fert.

If it's pasteurised cheese, I'll head down for the official tasting🖒

Fortune favours the patient, or something along those lines :)

Speaking of which I had forgotten that it is Dingle food festival this weekend, I might just shoot down to Dairymaster on Saturday morning and see what there is there. I'm counting on there being a whole dose of small tanks that they have taken as trade ins.

Must just check that we aren't baling silage first...

That size stainless is really only starting to appear on Irish farms. They're something you'd be waiting to pick up second-hand. Piggery close to hear has three v.large tanks as fire hydrants but they were a while accquiring them. Dispersals from closing manufacturing plants would be worth watching. Alternatively there's a type that fits in the dimensions of a forty foot container. They must turn up damaged from time to time. One of the companies that specialise in second hand containers for site accomodation might pick up one id they knew they had a customer. Those are often used for carrying some fairly hazardous ind chems so would probably be up to spec for liquid fert.

I bought a skelly trailer at an auction with the intention of buying a standard 20' ISO container to mount on. Having a lot of trouble sourcing the container, to the point where I've given up and was hoping to find a fecked milk tank...

Yes but too big for shipping etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Anyone have any recommendations for a good hoof trimmer that would travel to S Tipp. Had a guy in here a few weeks ago that seems to have done more harm than good.
    I was given the number of a guy in Laois, but I've lost his contact details. Anyone know of him. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Anyone have any recommendations for a good hoof trimmer that would travel to S Tipp. Had a guy in here a few weeks ago that seems to have done more harm than good.
    I was given the number of a guy in Laois, but I've lost his contact details. Anyone know of him. Thanks

Pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Pm sent

Sound man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

4hrs later and all that is needed is to pull the plastic and tires back over. Contract maize isn't cheap but defo hassle free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Timmaay wrote: »
    4hrs later and all that is needed is to pull the plastic and tires back over. Contract maize isn't cheap but defo hassle free.

Decent crop? any indication of yield? must clean out my pit yet, strange seeing maize go in when lads are still trying to get grain out of fields. get the netting on straight away before them fcukers of crows get at it. have a couple of lorry curtains for the back of my pit, will double up any mats on the front then. Last year i kept the last two trailers seperate and covered them with offcuts of plastic so i could feed that first without opening the main pit. easier to manage main pit when feeding full whack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Nearly there

Dawg scratches head...hmmm...

I know there's something missing, ya know the thing you hang the lights from...? What's it called again??

Where did you buy the cubicles. Are you putting in a brisket board. Are they better than mushroom cubicles or just handler installed.