Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

MD1990 wrote: »
    Prices for the final are disgraceful & the players don't receive a penny. More greed from the GAA officials.

Prices are very reasonable compared to the top event in other sports.

The season ticket gives exceptional value, and a juvenile option at next to nothing.

Why would they pay the players? The organisation is based on volunteers and the money is much better spent on clubs / development.

You'd think the GAA officials were keeping the money for themselves the way some lads harp on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

kona wrote: »
    Maybe he'll think twice next time and miss. **** da man.

😀😀😀

it was a joke.............:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Paid e30 this morning for the hill. Not bad value at all. Even the e40 for the drawn game was value. I've gotten 2 weeks of ****e talk and articles out of that game.
    Don't mind spending money if I get value.

Spent e80 on a united game last year. Was utter ****e. Best part was the pub.
    That is not bad but the Hill isn't a good view of the game. I had seen prices of €80 for a tickets which seems crazy. Yeah PL tickets are a disgraceful price. Dundalk's EL games are €15-€20 which is great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

Prices for the final are disgraceful & the players don't receive a penny. More greed from the GAA officials.

Prices for the final are not disgraceful, and compare favourably to the prices charged by Rugby and Soccer for equivalent matches (Six Nations/FAI Finals/ Internationals). The Final is not a cheap day out. If you want a cheap day out, go to your local club next Saturday morning and watch your Under 12's /13's /14's /16's hurlers in action.

The players don't receive a penny - correct. Hopefully it continues, but that the players are looked after in terms of nutrition, healthcare, and supported in their own careers over their lifetime.

Greed from the GAA officials - don't think so. Most of the money earned by the association stays within the association. That money goes back to clubs in the form of grants, which allow clubs to improve their facilities, and to continue to provide games and facilities to their local communities, where the people who pay the €80/€40/€60/€30 for the match come from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

it was a joke.............:rolleyes:

Think it went over your head.

That is not bad but the Hill isn't a good view of the game. I had seen prices of €80 for a tickets which seems crazy. Yeah PL tickets are a disgraceful price. Dundalk's EL games are €15-€20 which is great value.

Where i stand in Hill 16 is one of the best parts of the ground. I can see the entire pitch unobstructed.
    I take your point tho some parts are so bad id go watch the game at the bar.
    That's pretty good value for the dundalk games alright. Can't go wrong.

Past30Now wrote: »
    Prices for the final are not disgraceful, and compare favourably to the prices charged by Rugby and Soccer for equivalent matches (Six Nations/FAI Finals/ Internationals). The Final is not a cheap day out. If you want a cheap day out, go to your local club next Saturday morning and watch your Under 12's /13's /14's /16's hurlers in action.

The players don't receive a penny - correct. Hopefully it continues, but that the players are looked after in terms of nutrition, healthcare, and supported in their own careers over their lifetime.

Greed from the GAA officials - don't think so. Most of the money earned by the association stays within the association. That money goes back to clubs in the form of grants, which allow clubs to improve their facilities, and to continue to provide games and facilities to their local communities, where the people who pay the €80/€40/€60/€30 for the match come from.
    Prices to watch International football are 10-50 Euro. FAI Cup final & Europa League tickets are 15-20 Euro. So no an amateur sport should not have such high prices which some loyal GAA fans may not be able to afford.
    Your naive if you believe all the money from the GAA goes back into the grassroots. An All Ireland final replay probably covers how much is recieved in grants. The GAA also are selling games to SKy which means less free to air games live on tv. This also comes down to greed & money again.

Dundalk's EL games are €15-€20 which is great value.

You seriously cannot compare the game which is the pinnacle of the sport with a Dundalk soccer game :eek:

Menoetius wrote: »
    You seriously cannot compare the game which is the pinnacle of the sport with a Dundalk soccer game :eek:
    1st Irish club to make the Europa League group stage.
    I guess your right it is hard to compare. Dundalk are playing in the 2nd biggest Club competition in the world while the GAA is obviously just played in Ireland. Different level's completely I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭bren2001

I guess your right it is hard to compare. Dundalk are playing in the 2nd biggest Club competition in the world while the GAA is obviously just played in Ireland. Different level's completely I agree.

Shamrock Rovers say hello.

bren2001 wrote: »
    Shamrock Rovers say hello.
    Yeah 1st club to get a point in the Europa I mean.

inpho_00536406-390x285.jpg

Yeah 1st club to get a point in the Europa I mean.

ha! Way to recover yourself!

Your naive if you believe all the money from the GAA goes back into the grassroots. An All Ireland final replay probably covers how much is recieved in grants. The GAA also are selling games to SKy which means less free to air games live on tv. This also comes down to greed & money again.

Ah here John delaney says hello. The GAA would school the FAI in grassroots.

The fai is a disgrace. As for the eejit in charge? I enjoy both games and attend both but the gaa is far superior from the quality of matches to the way the money is spent.

Ah here John delaney says hello. The GAA would school the FAI in grassroots.

The fai is a disgrace.
    As for the eejit in charge? I enjoy both games and attend both but the gaa is far superior from the quality of matches to the way the money is spent.
    Yes the FAI is far worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

If the clubs in Dublin aren't getting a larger allocation this time ye should be asking questions. All clubs in Mayo are getting more this time due to the lack of a minor match. Surely the Dublin county board got the same number of extra tickets?

The extra tickets in Mayo seem to be mainly terrace tickets which seems odd as surely the minor counties got a mix of stand and terrace the last day.

On the travelling to matches issue, I'm a Mayo fan, living on the east coast but not in Dublin. I have a season ticket and have been to all the games this year but most years is miss a few. It's a huge commitment when your home games are 3-4 hours drive away. It is so much easier for me when Mayo have a game in Croke Park. I can be there in less than an hour (and remember I don't live in Dublin or even the suburbs) and home again straight after the game. It doesn't need to take over my whole weekend. I don't have the travel expenses of travelling cross country.

I'm not trying to cause an argument - there are plenty of fair weather Mayo fans looking for tickets and I wouldn't help them get one if you paid me. But there are plenty of Mayo fans that because of where they live don't get to as many matches as they would like. And I'm sure there are plenty of Dublin fans in the same boat. I would just think that the percentage of Mayo people living on the opposite side of the country is much larger than Dublin so it's a bigger issue for us.

Traveling to games that are more than an hours drive away takes time and costs a lot of money too. There were only 17000 fans at the Dublin/Laois game this year and I'd be fairly certain there would have been a far larger crowd had the game taken place in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

glack wrote: »
    If the clubs in Dublin aren't getting a larger allocation this time ye should be asking questions. All clubs in Mayo are getting more this time due to the lack of a minor match. Surely the Dublin county board got the same number of extra tickets?

The extra tickets in Mayo seem to be mainly terrace tickets which seems odd as surely the minor counties got a mix of stand and terrace the last day.

On the travelling to matches issue, I'm a Mayo fan, living on the east coast but not in Dublin. I have a season ticket and have been to all the games this year but most years is miss a few. It's a huge commitment when your home games are 3-4 hours drive away. It is so much easier for me when Mayo have a game in Croke Park. I can be there in less than an hour (and remember I don't live in Dublin or even the suburbs) and home again straight after the game. It doesn't need to take over my whole weekend. I don't have the travel expenses of travelling cross country.

I'm not trying to cause an argument - there are plenty of fair weather Mayo fans looking for tickets and I wouldn't help them get one if you paid me. But there are plenty of Mayo fans that because of where they live don't get to as many matches as they would like. And I'm sure there are plenty of Dublin fans in the same boat. I would just think that the percentage of Mayo people living on the opposite side of the country is much larger than Dublin so it's a bigger issue for us.

Traveling to games that are more than an hours drive away takes time and costs a lot of money too. There were only 17000 fans at the Dublin/Laois game this year and I'd be fairly certain there would have been a far larger crowd had the game taken place in Dublin.

Or Portlaoise, given there was a substantial number of Laois fans who didn't travel out of protest.

Would mayo take 17k supporters to play sligo in leitrim for a first round game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

In fairness, MD1990 has a nonsensical cage to rattle when it comes to money and the GAA:
    MD1990 wrote:
    Disgraceful price for the Subscription.Its an amateur sport.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90400566&postcount=58
    MD1990 wrote:
    Soccer is the most played team sport in Ireland though seen it on a survey
    too much politics in GAA tbh

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81621159&postcount=33
    MD1990 wrote:
    Ireland showing that GAA is only an amateur sport.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93139376&postcount=146
    MD1990 wrote:
    GAA is dying imo. Need to change the format.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96467172&postcount=901

MD1990 wrote:
    digzy wrote:
    Biggest sport in the country in terms of participation.....

The attendances and general interest/media analysis are streets ahead of other sports such as a Connaught/Munster rugby game Or a bohs/cork city soccer game for example.
    im more comparing it to GAA of the past. Attendances are dropping & most likely viewing figures. Its just very boring now.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96467498&postcount=915

---

Given his sparse posting in here over the years and the general nonsensical nature of them you could come to the conclusion that he's WUMming.

Now I wouldn't dare to come to that conclusion myself.

Given his sparse posting in here over the years and the general nonsensical nature of them you could come to the conclusion that he's WUMming.

Now I wouldn't dare to come to that conclusion myself.

Of course not :D

Ah sure let him run his little legs off, god bless

Or Portlaoise, given there was a substantial number of Laois fans who didn't travel out of protest.

Good point!

Would mayo take 17k supporters to play sligo in leitrim for a first round game?

Probably not!!! But you're not comparing like with like. 130,000 people live in Mayo and 1.3 million live in Dublin. I'll even double the number of Mayo people to allow for all the Mayo fans living outside the county and I'll half the population of Dublin to account for all the non-Dubs living there, that's still trying to compare the support given by a population of 650,000 with that of a county with 260,000.

Massive amounts of Dublin don't even care about the gaa. It's quite different in the country , while I agree that there is more I don't think it's at the levels that people think.
    Perhaps if you used the numbers of club players it would give a idea. However I've no clue what these are and would be shocked if it was more than in Dublin.

But at the first game looking across at the hill hogan and Davin I would have mayo supporters in the majority while on the hill it was probably more dublin just about.

Wonder if there's actual numbers available from the gaa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭Patser

Woot!

Got a ticket this time! Missed out in draw for 1st match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I think if the Dublin players are half as annoyed as I was after the first game the Dubs should put right the many, many wrongs the last day and keep Sam at home.
    It seems that the rest of the countries supporters are willing Mayo to win which is understandable. But they have waited 65 years surely another few years won't make much difference? :)

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭corny

I think if the Dublin players are half as annoyed as I was after the first game the Dubs should put right the many, many wrongs the last day and keep Sam at home.
    It seems that the rest of the countries supporters are willing Mayo to win which is understandable. But they have waited 65 years surely another few years won't make much difference? :)

It'll be a similar game. Lots of forced turnovers from defensive pressure on both sides.

Mayo murdered us last day in terms of chance conversion. Match them at that and our goal threat wins the day. Sounds simple doesn't it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Everyone excited for tomorrow?

My birthday.

And obviously the big match. Liverpool and Swansea. Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Job interview at lunch time tomorrow.

When I'm asked that old chestnut What are your key strengths? I've a bad feeling I'll answer 'Not $hitting myself over the next 6 hours'. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Have I missed the Dublin team being named? I thought Jim Gavin said it would be named last night but I havent seen any reports on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Named tonight.