Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

No, you will only get paid on your initial figure applied for. Say 50k liters and allocated 40k liters. If you reduce by 40k, you get paid on the 40k @ 14c/l.

If there is unused liters left by lads producing more that they should have, their unused liters will be allocated out up to everyone else up to the max you applied on so you can't get more than 14c/l on 50k liters but you may get a few extra hundred liters @14c.

That's how it was explained to me anyway so I don't know any more.

I get you. Except as it has turned out, everyone got what they wanted, so in the example above the full 50k has been allocated so there's no one there to take the re-allocation.

It would seem so that they'll have to run a second phase to cater for this potential milk even if the initial offering is small. There may be hope for Timmaay yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

No heatwave here anyway. Misty foggy day odd bit of drizzle only clearing a bit now. Contractors finished at slurry now rolled up and all. About 60k gallons out from 3 different tanks in 4 and a bit hours with very little damage done. They will be back again the week before closing date so will finish then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Well, bucket anyway!

I left up a jar of inhibitor milk this morning into the tank and ran over to the lab with a sample to see if I had managed to keep it from the tank.

Nope, bright blue:mad:

3 days milk too, it never seems to happen with one days milk.

Balls:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

Here ebi dropped from 204 to 126 here on the latest Icbf ebi run

What have others dropped by??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 CowMeister

stanflt wrote: »

Gone from 136 down to 60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

156 to 83.
    One of best cows on ebi I'd one that slipped 12 weeks in calving :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Well, bucket anyway!

I left up a jar of inhibitor milk this morning into the tank and ran over to the lab with a sample to see if I had managed to keep it from the tank.

Nope, bright blue:mad:

3 days milk too, it never seems to happen with one days milk.

Balls:(

Looking at the bright side, I just realised I'm going to be paid 14c/l for it : pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ted_182

stanflt wrote:

Down from 162 to 81, that scrapes into top 25%, when i joined 3ish years ago herd was in top 10%...fack

Down to 67. Most young stock over 100 one cow -83 eek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

bit off topic but what do ye lads think of a ursus 490 tractor are they a good machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Down to 75 from around 150. Sure they're the same cows.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Down to 76 from 148 lowest cow -11 definitely one of the worst cows in herd. highest cow 148. Highest animal 184 (16 heifer calf). Herd is + 25 for maintenance seems a good indication of mature cow size, jex herd here. 0 for health

Down to 75 from around 150. Sure they're the same cows.:D

Naturally- but I think they down graded them more than just the 71 as quote- think 71 was only for production and fertility

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Libgen.io and sci-hub.cc are the sites your after!!

God bless the Russians.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

85 ebi here happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

stanflt wrote: »

185 down to 107'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

leg wax wrote: »
    85 ebi here happy enough.

Herd ebi here 30. Couldn't give less of a fcuk. Lowest girl I can find is -159. -140.9 for fertility. Sixth lactation. Calving date gone from 25/4/14 to 17/4/15 to 9/03/15 to 13/03/16. It could not be a more useless assesment of any herd. Completely and utterly biased by the views of a select group in teagasc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

At a much reduced price?

Depends, if she's fleshy Enough let her on, is she swelled up big or what's she like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

98 here down from I don't know what cause I don't actually care
    Lowest cow is -98

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭degetme

Herd ebi down to 81 from 149
    highest cow 138
    Lowest 28

If i started milk recording could herd ebi go up or down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

98 here down from I don't know what cause I don't actually care
    Lowest cow is -98

Does a cow in the negative ebi actual take milk out of the tank 😜

Had a cow culled 2 years ago, 15 years old 12 lactation with 8 years straight calving in the same fortnight and a half in jan/feb. Highest her ebi ever went was -37 I think. Now her solids were never high Avg 3.3p most lactations but that was with a yield avg of 6500. There will always be exceptions but sometimes you'd be scratching your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Herd average is 52. Highest 124, lowest -25. Not a huge believer in this whole EBI TBH thou, the aAa seems to be far more reliable for my herd I find anyway.

Signpost wrote: »
    Herd average is 52. Highest 124, lowest -25. Not a huge believer in this whole EBI TBH thou, the aAa seems to be far more reliable for my herd I find anyway.
    Did you get your herd scored using aAa or do you just do it yourself matching cows and bulls? You only use bulls with aAa figures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Been trying it myself for a good while but second year getting herd scored and definitely worth it. Far more thorough than when your doing it yourself.
    Ya all bulls have aAa figures but my AI technician was the one who got me interested in aAa so he is great at using the right straws and giving advice when needed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

mahoney_j wrote: »
    185 down to 107'

For what it's worth highest ebi cow here 278 highest ebi calf 318 (both genotyped )lowest cow -3 (cracking looking cow but takes3/4 serves every year.lowest calf 118'.
    I'll say no more other than I'm happy with it .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

What's this ebi ye speak of.

mf240 wrote: »
    What's this ebi ye speak of.

A mystical figure pulled from the sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

The highest EBI cow here has more or less dried herself off after a few months on OAD.

She does feed a couple of late calves outside the parlour though on her way in to eat, although If I'm honest I think they are beginning to eye up the others with a view to changing snack bar.

Among those without an EBI two are still giving 20litres + on OAD.

I suspect this has more to do with the way I use EBI than the system itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

Have one cow gone from an EBI of 270 down to 30...... it'd make ya wonder sometimes are they pulling figures out of they're holes.