Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Firedance wrote: »
    As the experts say, you can't outrun a bad diet :pac: as nop has said throughout his posts from the start, eat your greens :) try to have a reasonably healthy diet during training and don't use the 'I just ran 20 miles' excuse to pig out on rubbish, you're not doing yourself any favours.

Netflix and spinach for me. They don't use that in their marketing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Just on diet... The past month I let mine slip a bit too and started eating more shıte. Don't know why but it was the first time since I went from 100kg down to 73kg. I noticed I wasn't as toned but didn't put on weight. Last week I put myself back on track and feel alot better. It's easy to become complacent when doing big milage I found. I think it's a bit close to the marathon now for myself to try and drop a few more kilograms but Emmet Dunlevy from Perfect Pacing is having a marathon clinic/talk this week, and one of the items up for discussion is nutrition so it will be interesting to hear his views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

joesoap5 wrote: »
    I hope you're practicing what you're preaching FD :pac:

I'm not sugar coating my experience pardon the pun but for anyone like myself who eats their greens and also loves the
    munchies then its good to have an eye opener to how the weight can creep up on you afterwards so you can be prepared
    to cut back or keep up the mileage in Paddys case.

Of course! I'm a model of virtue....:rolleyes: I've trained for (just) two marathons. First one I didn't watch what I was eating, lost a ton of weight but was living on a diet that was 'reasonably okay' apart from the chocolate, crisps, wine, bread, scones (you gotta have a scone after your long run, right??!). Piled back on the pounds by the end of the year post DCM. Second time around I cut the booze completely and ate as cleanly as I could, my only concession to sugar was home made banana bread. I noticed a massive difference in my energy levels, how I was sleeping and how quickly I recovered from the MP midweek & LSR's. These days I 'try' to stick to the 80/20 rule, eat well 80% of the time, allow the stuff I like 20% of the time. There's a healthy balance in there - I guess what we're saying really is don't go crazy celebrating with massive take away's and treats after a long run :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Well I've decided earlier today that tonight is my last night of bad eating for the next 30 odd days anyway (ie having a last beer, had a final OffbeatDonut(!) earlier and a small portion of Chinese take away to come). I'm floating between 160-163lbs at the moment, would like to get that to the 155-159 range or a touch lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

There's a healthy balance in there - I guess what we're saying really is don't go crazy celebrating with massive take away's and treats after a long run :)

I knew that's where it's going wrong.. the Domino's with the kids on Sat evenings.. maybe a nice sausage roll in Marley Park market in the afternoon:D

Got the Domino's on Sat evening after the HM.. Oh did I forget that in my log.. But told kids that's last one till the last Sunday in Oct! Gonna be a green month for me. Time to focus on the goal and eat right and hydrate plenty. No booze either..:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

Of course! I'm a model of virtue....:rolleyes: I've trained for (just) two marathons. First one I didn't watch what I was eating, lost a ton of weight but was living on a diet that was 'reasonably okay' apart from the chocolate, crisps, wine, bread, scones (you gotta have a scone after your long run, right??!). Piled back on the pounds by the end of the year post DCM. Second time around I cut the booze completely and ate as cleanly as I could, my only concession to sugar was home made banana bread. I noticed a massive difference in my energy levels, how I was sleeping and how quickly I recovered from the MP midweek & LSR's. These days I 'try' to stick to the 80/20 rule, eat well 80% of the time, allow the stuff I like 20% of the time. There's a healthy balance in there - I guess what we're saying really is don't go crazy celebrating with massive take away's and treats after a long run :)

I'm glad you threw in your experience from your first marathon so you know exactly what I'm talking about with the weight gain afterwards.

I didn't become over weight and I defo didn't eat or drink mainly crap.
    But I do remember at the time not realising that this would happen after the marathon as I was at the heaviest I have ever been.

Fair play for cleaning up your diet with 80% clean, you sound like a model of virtue :D. Seriously I wish I had the discipline to do the same. I'm 100% sure my training would benefit from it.

I think since giving up the fags a few years ago I see these treats as my little bit of naughty indulgence though my Cholesterol probably doesn't thank me for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

I knew that's where it's going wrong.. the Domino's with the kids on Sat evenings.. maybe a nice sausage roll in Marley Park market in the afternoon:D

Got the Domino's on Sat evening after the HM.. Oh did I forget that in my log.. But told kids that's last one till the last Sunday in Oct! Gonna be a green month for me. Time to focus on the goal and eat right and hydrate plenty. No booze either..:cool:

I had to laugh at myself in Malahide park at the weekend, i brought my back pack with me on my run so I could run up to the castle to buy scones and run back to the car to store my treat for after my run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Battery Kinzie

Scones aren't part of a good diet? Jaysus, maybe my diet isn't as good as I think it is, and I don't even think my diet is that good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

So, I know that I missed the previous LSR meetup, but I suggested doing another when when a few of us met up after the half, and was encouraged to post about it and see if there'd be a group willing.

How about the 8th of Oct? It's peak LSR for us HHN1 folk - 20m! And the first week of stepping down for the boards plan - 18m.

Post your plan and LSR pace if you're interested and we can see how the groups align.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Would be interested depending on what pace the groups are doing :)
    Would want at least 11.30... maybe a tad slower if doing 20 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

A Neurotic wrote: »
    So, I know that I missed the previous LSR meetup, but I suggested doing another when when a few of us met up after the half, and was encouraged to post about it and see if there'd be a group willing.

How about the 8th of Oct? It's peak LSR for us HHN1 folk - 20m! And the first week of stepping down for the boards plan - 18m.

Post your plan and LSR pace if you're interested and we can see how the groups align.

could be interested too , having some company certainly makes those long runs more enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Yeah I reckon I'd be up for that.

Boards plan, 18m. Could get on board with anywhere from 9:45 to 10:30 pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

I've entered in the 3/4 marathon in Longwood, just to have company...and I am definitely running it as a LSR :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

I'd love to do it, but it depends on the time (and on me continuing my recovery). My brother is flying over on the Saturday morning so I need to get my run done pretty early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

I'd be up for this if there's anyone at 10:30ish pace.
    Following the boards plan but I'm having a disaster of a week this week & might not get any running done, if so I'll try get 20 miles LSR done on the 8th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Physio this morning. She's happy with my progress and agreed with nop's plan to run 75% of distance this week.
    I ran another 3 miles last night and felt great again so looking positive.
    Getting used to and liking the zinc oxide tape. Might be psychological, but the support gives me confidence. I might keep the shaved shin and keep taping all the way to DCM :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

I had a really tough session with a physio last night for a sports massage, spent the guts of 25 minutes on one of my calves working out knots and tightness.. She was fairly happy with the rest of me but told me to stretch & foam roll my calves & achilles more often.

Hurt like hell but hopefully its for the best!

(http://sportsphysioireland.com/staff-profiles/ .. Catherine, only 50 quid for the session which was a bargain!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

A Neurotic wrote:

I am doing the 3/4 too... Always miss them all... pity!!! Anyway I would have not been able to do 10.30 a mile but we could have meet afterwards. Enjoy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

I'm up for this and can provide sustenance, however I'm likely to be running alone as I run 13 minute miles.

kin9pin wrote: »
    Physio this morning. She's happy with my progress and agreed with nop's plan to run 75% of distance this week.
    Getting used to and liking the zinc oxide tape. Might be psychological, but the support gives me confidence. I might keep the shaved shin and keep taping all the way to DCM :)

Good job.. very positive! Hope all goes well in coming days.

Don't think I can do LSR meet up this time around but if anything changes I will be there. The very early Sat runs have fitted in with kids sport schedules so I gotta be done for 11.. unless anyone meeting for 7AM:eek:

I'm sure Max would be on for that, he won't have gone to bed by 7am :D:D:D

That's great news kin9pin, by all means stick with it if it's helping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I got yesterdays 4 miles very easy in this afternoon, knee was fine but hr was a little high for effort. I have a sore throat today, nothing major but something else to keep an eye on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

Great news kin9pin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Well went out this morning and not sure how I would get on - target today was 17Kms but when I got past my always doggy first 5km everything was rosey ! was a perfect morning for a run so finished on a nice 21km and felt I could have gone a lot further but at the same time knew it was sensible to stop. Quads feel a lot better today after loads of foam rolling yesterday so not sure if I will need the physio at all.

Regarding diet and weight - even though I have put on weight since I started training I have toned up loads - all my clothes are now a bit too big . I have always eaten a healthy diet , we never have take aways but do have chocolate . We are a vegetarian house too and it seems to work for us.

32 days eeekkkkkk just trying to stay healthy and with no injuries from here on in - fingers crossed for us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭All or nothing

I paid a visit to my physio this morning. I have plantar fasciitis. Hopefully it won't stop me completing the marathon. She did a nice bit of work on both of my feet. Told me to take today off and do a 3 mile recovery run tomorrow and see if I have any pain.

She has given me a few stretches and recommended rolling my feet with a frozen water bottle. She had a look at my runners. I got them recently enough (200 miles in them) Mizuno Wave Inspire. As I am flat footed and wear orthotics the runners could be the problem. I usually get neutral runners. The guy in the shop (who also wears orthotics and is a very accomplished runner) recommended them as they are the type he found good. Maybe they aren't right for me.

If it was as simple as buying a new pair of runners I'll be happy. The pain has lessened since the long run Sunday so I'll just have to do the stretches and hopefully they will help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Battery Kinzie

I paid a visit to my physio this morning. I have plantar fasciitis. Hopefully it won't stop me completing the marathon. She did a nice bit of work on both of my feet. Told me to take today off and do a 3 mile recovery run tomorrow and see if I have any pain.

She has given me a few stretches and recommended rolling my feet with a frozen water bottle. She had a look at my runners. I got them recently enough (200 miles in them) Mizuno Wave Inspire. As I am flat footed and wear orthotics the runners could be the problem. I usually get neutral runners. The guy in the shop (who also wears orthotics and is a very accomplished runner) recommend them as they are the type he found good. Maybe they aren't right for me.

If it was as simple as buying a new pair of runners I'll be happy. The pain has lessened since the long run Sunday so I'll just have to do the stretches and hopefully they will help.
    Hmm... Where abouts is the pain if you don't mind my asking? I have mizuno wave inspires too, and I've recently started to notice the bottom of my foot near to where my toes end(near the ball of my foot I suppose) being a bit sore after runs. I read somewhere the other day that the forefoot of the mizuno waves isn't as cushioned as other shoes, and this can lead to foot problems after a bit of use and depending on your foot strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭All or nothing

On my right foot the pain is right under my arch and on my left foot it's just under my small toe so closer to the top of the foot. I'm also a heal striker so
    That probably doesn't help. Could be a new pair of runners needed for the both of us by the looks of it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Interested in doing 20 miles through a meet up. ~11 would be my pace.