Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I like that because it tells me exactly what I want to hear. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Hi guys. Don't know how I've missed this thread, would've been great to have been in it from the beginning. First marathon coming up next month. Have only been running just over 2 years. Weight balooned to over 18st so something had to happen..

Am training well, up to 20 miles on Saturday morning. Paced at 10:30 throughout. Am unsure of my race pace as I'm coping well with this pace so will set a target for my pace after my last long run.

Great stories here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Hi guys. Don't know how I've missed this thread, would've been great to have been in it from the beginning. First marathon coming up next month. Have only been running just over 2 years. Weight balooned to over 18st so something had to happen..

Am training well, up to 20 miles on Saturday morning. Paced at 10:30 throughout. Am unsure of my race pace as I'm coping well with this pace so will set a target for my pace after my last long run.

Great stories here

Welcome fatherted1969, great to hear you're doing well, 20 miles is a great achievement. Stay around and post your weekly updates and questions, if you want!

Well folks, after the many highs this weekend, it's time to buckle down and get the last block of training done. Make no mistake, the next two weeks are going to be hard, as both HHN1 and Boards plans peak in terms of mileage. HHN1 builds up to its longest run (next week), while Boards peaks this week. :eek:

This week looks like:
    Boards: 4M easy, 8M easy, 5M easy, 20M LSR, (3M recovery)
    HHN1: 3M easy, 7M easy, 4M easy, 14M LSR, (3M recovery)

As my sports-mad 9yo (and ESV's running hero) would say: "Not too shabby, Alonso" - but you need to be a soccer/Liverpool fan to get that one :)

As ~34 days from now, you'll be toeing the line on Fitzwilliam Square, the only thing to do from now on in is to keep the ship steady and on course. Easier said, than done, I realize :) All the oft-repeated mantra's should be burned into your brains by now:
    • More so than ever, look after yourselves, and be a little selfish if you need to be. Clean eating and proper hydration (drink water throughout the day), plenty of good sleep, foam-rolling, Epson-salt baths... Say no to that evening out, don't play five-a-side soccer, have the feet up when you can.
    • Even if you haven't had the need yet, do consider getting a rub-down / massage from a physical therapist. Some TLC for your legs after all you've been asking from them. :rolleyes:
    • Stay disciplined with regards your training paces. If you feel strong because all the training has an effect, it's tempting to go faster - don't. Keep doing what has gotten you this far.
    • Those returning from injury, fit the plan for this week to suit your need. Try and get out as often as the plan calls for, but scale back on the mileage if you need to. As if you need reminding: pull back at any sign of trouble.
    • Lastly, if you get a chance, run your (very) long runs together with someone else. The company will make the miles fly, plus you have instant feedback for the "conversation" test. ;)
    • Take a day off if you need to (due to niggles / tiredness) - skip one of the easy mid-weeks runs, and don't worry about it at all.

Good luck this week! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Are you running the Dublin marathon yourself Nop98?

Nope, I'm not. :( Next year, maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

Tough week last week, Only managed to get 3 runs in due to work.
    Tuesday - 6m (8.00)
    Friday - 7.2m (7.40)
    Sunday - 20m LSR (9.15)

Was feeling a bit sore from the 18m the sunday before but, mid week runs felt good. Yesterdays LSR was going really well and managed to keep the pace i wanted to 8.45-9.00. But got tough at about 17 miles was getting a bit tight and sore in the upper thigh area. But i will take this as a lesson to stretch a bit more between now and the big day.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Great and timely advice there nop98!

My last week's training - club plan:

Monday - 6 mile recovery @ 9 min/mile
    Tuesday - club session - 4 mins on/2 mins recov. x 6 (4 min bits done at 10k pace) - about 6 miles covered in all including jog to and from training
    Thurs - club session - 15/12/10 mins @ 10k pace with 2 mins jog recovery between them - about 6.5 miles covered in all including jog to and from training
    Saturday - 19 mile LSR @ 9.15 min/mile approx.

Sorest legs after this weeks long run, felt better after last weeks 21 miles. Getting a rub down this week. The miles are starting to take their toll on the legs. Last of the longer runs this coming weekend, 21 miles again so going to skip fast session on Thursday for once and just do 6 miles easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

Ended up doing some mileage in the rain around Malahide. I don't know if it was because they felt sorry for me running in the rain but I have to say every single man I ran passed moved totally out of my way to allow me to pass. I haven't seen such chivalry in a long time. The mammy's in Malahide are doing a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Irish Runner - Week 21 update

This week I ran :D It was a bit hit and miss but all ended well.

Monday: Pyramid session. Great to do a bit of speed work, was also my first run this year on grass :eek: It made a huge difference so I think I'll do my midweek 10 miler in the phoenix park.
    Tue: Pilates
    Wed: Physio am. 8 mile pm. Bit sore but could run thru it.
    Thur: Gym for easy swim, sauna & jacuzzi.
    Fri: 5k easy. This ended in tears - I was so sore right from the start. Absolutely miserable and I was convinced I'd have to drop out of the half the next day. I kept waking up throughout the night with pains in my side, but decided to head in anyway - if I had to drop out at least I could cheer on all the first-time half maratoners in the club.
    Sat: :D
    I had a great run, I think mainly due to the fact I spent a good half hour warming up and stretching before the race. Started with the 2.30 pacers and the plan was to stay with them, but it was so crowded so we decided to move just ahead of them. Finished 2:24, my second fastest half marathon. No pain, celebrated with lovely flapjacks and a bottle of Malbec in the Hole in The Wall :D:D
    Sun: I had 5 miles planned but after a chat with a girl who ran her first marathon last year with a similar injury to me - decided to take a rest day. She says at this stage a rest day is more beneficial than a recovery run and I should 'make the miles count'.

Total 28.4 miles

This week I'll check in ahead of my long run for advice, tonight the plan says 4-6 miles, then 8-10 on Wed. The planned long run is 18-20 miles, but I missed the last two long runs so I might aim for 15 and see what I can do after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Dublin City Half Race Report

So where do we start.. how much memory you got in that recorder! First up, happy with how all went. The prep for this obviously stretches back long before last week so won't go into that detail too much and will focus on the main prep and the day itself.

Tried to focus last week on good eating and drinking plenty of water all week, I think i ate a small country in bananas and drank a reservoir dry! Didn't get the sleep I hoped for.. even when I got a whole 2 days off running!

Had a nagging slight cold for over 10 days previous but didn't affect prep in anyway and never got bad. Ate well for the week and didn't have any over indulgence - was no grazing in the evenings and kept it to fruit and pop corn.

Friend posted on FB the night before that he couldn't run and offered up his chip so I called my LSR partner and asked was he interested - he went for it so that was good as I have found it very useful to have a partner for the long runs and he a 15 x marathon veteran, think 10 are DCM's, and good to have his experience. I am still cagey whether to run with him for DCM as he may have differing expectations to me and don't want to feel I am drag but for this we both knew we were aiming for between 1:45 and 1:50 so I was content with it.

So night before I got all the gear together and this gave me all the options. I'm not too focussed on warmth etc as I knew temp would be OK so was happy to head in shorts and runners ready to go, but just have a top and rain jacket.. and the poncho from Dealz;) I had copious food and snacks ready too so was leaving nothing to chance. I looked through all the advice and decided go for the Hole in the Wall car park.. figured there may be a gate nearby.. Oh Wait; now I know where the Hole in the Wall name came about..:D

Got up at 7:15 and got my brekkie - porridge with Blueberries, Raspberries and little treat of Blackberries too.. Some chia seeds and cinnamon too. Coffee, my multi vitamin drink and my 3 x Sona tablets for joints (I think these have worked!). I love my brekkie! Then had shower and clean up.. those that know my LSR routine will know I gotta go out clean and refreshed.

So all packed up (Too much gear but I wanted dry clean clothes with me as I still had ideas to get back for daughters swimming in Meadowbrook at 1:10PM).. anyway got the family in and drove across. Got to car park around 08:50 and had agreed to meet my running partner at 09:30 at info desk. Sauntered across in running gear and rain jacket - no rain so far! Someone had told me the Norwegian weather app said rain for 10AM! Wind had died down too so no worries there either. I had checked on way over too if anywhere to get a 99 but nowhere to be seen (think DLR 10k race report..). Was sipping on water still so had to duck in behind a tree and have my kids shout at me that everyone could see me.. but Hey, I am an adult now.. these things don't embarrass me but I do remember when I was the kid and my parents embarrassed me.. :o

Arrived over to start area and made way to meet friend. Walked along by toilets.. Whooah the stink! Thankfully kids didn't ask to go as I was disowning them and leaving it to my good wife! But that said I was impressed with the amount of them. Still no rain either so all good there. Met up with friend and sent off family to sit down on the grass whilst we chatted. He went off to bag drop and I met back with family.. of course they decided to sit about 100M away and I panicked I couldn't find them.

At this stage I decided to take a gel and a banana.. and more water. Had to now jog over to a clump of trees for final watering relief. Had a High5 energy bar then and said my good byes to family. Was toying between my cap or my Oakley's.. went with latter even though never used them so I clipped them on waist belt. Just went with my light SPI belt today as I was not carrying water. Carried 2 x gels and 2 x energy bars. So it was light weight running - socks, runners, shorts and tee shirt - Back in the Mizuno's. I've even worked out best t-shirt too which fits best and doesn't ever chaff; reckon I will have same for DCM.

Start and first Mile or Two

So it was off to start area and a slow run to warm up. Maybe .5k down and back. Met another friend who was aiming to go with 1:50 pacers. Chatted for a min and then off again on warm up. Made our way back then to find our balloon and in we hopped ready to go. 10AM arrived.. and literally on the starters gun it started raining... you gotta love weather algorithms!

So we set off with pacer in firm view in front of us. First Km or so was uneventful with lots of traffic. Got slight cramp in left side as I think camber of road was heavily leaning too left - thought it might be a stitch as I had said to partner than I worried I had eaten too much; that said I do have big brekkie 45 min before LSR and never had issue.. again his advice was good here and he immediately pointed that out to me. That cramp went quick enough and it was into the rhythm. We talked about not chatting too much as we do tend to yap on the LSR from start to finish.. but Hey, anyone that knows me will know I like to chat. We kept it brief in general.. :P

So by Mile 2 it was the trot down the Upper Glen Road and no probs (Forgive me if I get any of the roads wrong etc.. I am typing this with my map printout in front of me). The pacers were well in sight.. maybe 100M ahead now but Rob said they will come back to us and many will drop off. It was clearly apparent that many people go off far too ambitiously and start to go backwards very early.. this is where I can really now appreciate working to a plan and knowing what your pace is and sticking to it until you know you can dial it up a little (thanks all my boards.ie Pal's and Mentors..;)).

Mile 3-4-5-6-7

All was still good and we were ticking along no probs. Got our water in but not too much and put some over the head.. too much at one stage as my t-shirt was now fitted and hugging..!. I believe it was still raining on us but I don't have much recollection.

All the while we were tipping thru traffic and making it up the field. Pacer's got slowly closer until the funnel at 6-7 along the foot paths - this part needs reviewing as the foot paths are too tight and strong chance of slipping on the grass etc. Took a gel around Mile 6 as I had a water in my hand.. even though I was using ISOGel's.. that's 2nd gel including 1 before start. Tummy is fine.. no issues.

Mile 7-8

This was run thru Farmleigh.. don't think I was ever here before but it was nice. Cows grazing and the house to right. At this stage a Garda motorbike speed past along inside path at house.. sensed something ahead! This is where I first found it a little tricky as wind and rain seemed to pick up and came in on us but I pushed on and times stayed steady.. no probs in general.

It was out onto the downhill on Tower Rd now past Mount Sackville. At this stage we came past the poor lad who collapsed. Garda waved us thru and said he was OK and not to worry.. still concerned as we went past and great to hear afterwards that he is good and am seriously impressed with what benwed did to help.. that's something to be really proud of and still managing to jog home in a 1:50! Hopefully that lad makes full recovery.

Miles 9-10

So it was back in towards Chesterfield Av now and I was always craning to see if family about.. but only found out they were gone for coffee and hunting for Pokemon!

At this stage we have reined in the 1:50 balloon and were on their shoulder. The crowd following had thinned considerably now. Rob looked at me and said we are well on pace for 1:50 and what have I got.. I said let's do it. So we stepped up ever so slightly and went past the pacer. We quickly put in a bit of distance.. though I didn't realise until we passed more later on only to hear them bemoaning that the 1:50 pacers were coming around the corner behind.. and I knew we were a good 150-200M thru that corner. I never looked back until the Upper Glen Rd.. more on that in a bit.

11-12-13

So now.. we were tipping along and I was putting in sub 5min Km on my watch.. seriously.. 10M into a half and I am dropping below 5min per Km.. this is legendary! Little did I realize what was ahead.. the run across Acres Rd! The wind really got us now.. it was so exposed! Probably most exposed running I have ever had! It was windy it was raining.. not nice. At this stage I was finding it tough. We go to a slight downhill then and this stage saw a small sided kids soccer game going on.. Rob joked that it will be us tomorrow morning! I laughed and just said that it better not be wind and rain like this!

So we trucked down and then turned to take on Upper Glen Rd.. So he again joked that my hill work could take him up this hill! Ye think.. I was now feeling it. He was telling me less distance to go than my watch was telling.. come on; you can't lie to a techie when his watch is telling him still 1.5M! He had already used the "Parkrun" left to me.. but I was OK at that stage.

Anyway, I was too close to the goal to let it get me now so we pushed on. He had that little more on me but fair play that he stuck with me. We made it up the Glen Rd and times only slipped slightly.. though I was wrecked! HR was maxed now but legs still moving. This is where all that mileage and conditioning comes to the fore!

At this stage I got a nugget of advice - he told me I looked like I was running from the hips too much and to open up into a stride a little and let the bounce get me home! He started to target some runners to pick off and we aimed for that. Also something very useful was that he said at this stage it was my body trying to go into self preservation and head telling legs to ease up but legs still got plenty to give.. he was right! Though my heart maybe was thinking different. Could see the finish now so all I could think of was seeing the family and getting the medal.. and a drink!

I picked it up a little.. at this stage I tried to work out what I would have if it was the difference for me getting it in sub4 in the DCM and what I could give at that stage.. honestly, I think I could have given it a little more as I knew balloon was behind me and therefore I was coming in sub 1:50.. I did look back once :P.

Over the line and watch told me 1:48.36 which was just about what chip time came in at.. job done. Kids all there to see me and they ran along fencing to shout out. Got my fruit, medal and bag.. I was happy:D Body felt good.. if a little tired maybe but was able to walk along happily and Thank all the volunteers. Thanked my running partner.. his advice was fantastic!

So it was a long walk back to car now and change into dry clothes.. bit of a struggle but got it done. I was happy to drive too. Was not making swimming but daughter was not too fussed. We headed over to Airfield near us and got a feed.. I longed for a cold drink of Coke, but water was OK.. and a nice coffee!

Take aways..

Overall was happy enough. I guess its expected that we find it tough near the end and we set our pace according to the distance and what time we think we can do. Time did not drop off too much other than what would be expected on a long drag of a hill 1M from the finish of a 13M run..:eek:

I had thought I could do a 1:45 (I can reveal now I guess..) but figured the difference between a 1:50 and 1:45 might be injury that puts me out of action.

Maybe someone can help on whether the body was just able to do the 13M at the 1:48 or if I spread the faster pace out over the 13M then could I have got the 1:45.. or could I have just ended up using too much early on and possibly ended up coming in at 1:55? Again, this is the valuable info of learning pace and also going with the pacers.

Got up Sunday morning and all was good. Was out and about all day and then went out for a 3.3M/5k last night with no ill effects. Will get back on track for the easy 4M today.

Main aim now for Oct is to heavily focus in on diet and cut out any grazing and see can I get that extra few Kg off that will make such a difference for DCM... coupled obviously with keeping running on track and hopefully staying injury free!

The running journey is a great one and I am really enjoying it. There is a lot of planning and thinking to do now for DCM but that's the fun of it. Very happy with the performance on Sat and hard to imagine how I have got to this stage having just started into the running experience a little over a year ago, going thru an injury that had me out for 3-4 months and are over 3 stone lighter!

Thanks all for reading.. Cool Running to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

nop98 wrote: »

jameshayes had a harder day, with cramps preventing him from hitting his target. Does this happen to you on long runs? Maybe it's the warm-up, as suggested. Another thing to try are compression socks.

It happened to me at the end of the R&R half but never since or before.. it seems to be when I push at the LT for too long.

Going for a sports massage later so I hope that helps.. And not running at my LT would help too :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

They finally found my time from the HM.

1:46:58....

This is good news considering how much I had left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

The running journey is a great one and I am really enjoying it. There is a lot of planning and thinking to do now for DCM but that's the fun of it. Very happy with the performance on Sat and hard to imagine how I have got to this stage having just started into the running experience a little over a year ago, going thru an injury that had me out for 3-4 months and are over 3 stone lighter!

Thanks all for reading.. Cool Running to all.

Great reading there Paddy!

Whats your target for the big M?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

I really enjoy reading the race reports of the HM, well done to all of you!

jameshayes wrote: »
    Great reading there Paddy!

Whats your target for the big M?

Thanks James.. not sure yet. Its a decision between 2 sets of pacers and both are just around sub 4Hr.. :p

Don't want getting ahead of myself though as I just want to focus on getting the miles in over coming weeks, not taking any risks and trying to stay injury and illness free. I hit exactly what I wanted on Sat so learnt an awful lot in that about going out with reasonable expectations and executing the plan on the day.

The difference that 5-10 mins can make over an endurance race is massive in terms of what it can take out of you if not planned right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

I am still a bit confused about my last 2 weeks of tapering but I think with tiredness I was making it even more complicated and then not knowing what days I will be of - all I know is thank God but I am of the whole weekend of the race so will be of Saturday , Sunday and Monday - happy days

When I know my roster I will plan my days a bit better but now understand what you were talking about so will just change it about a bit from my plan.

Feeling all achy and tired this week - did a very short 5km yesterday - was meant to be 11 but just couldnt manage it - was in work all day and heading out straight from work but was just too tired.

I am of tomorrow and Wednesday so will take it easy this week and my longest run is back to 22km I think ? so not so bad.

Quads feeling a bit tight so lots of foam rolling and might book in for some dry needling this weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Main aim now for Oct is to heavily focus in on diet and cut out any grazing and see can I get that extra few Kg off that will make such a difference for DCM... coupled obviously with keeping running on track and hopefully staying injury free

Great report Paddy. My sentiments are the same as you on the diet.
    I'm a shocking grazer and after loosing 20lbs in the first 2 mths off running I've barely dropped 3 in the next 5 months.So got to not allow running be an excuse to eat around me!! Be interested to see how you get on.

JackieChan wrote: »
    I'm a shocking grazer and after loosing 20lbs in the first 2 mths off running I've barely dropped 3 in the next 5 months.So got to not allow running be an excuse to eat around me!! Be interested to see how you get on.

The worst part is when the marathon is over and you aren't doing the big mileage anymore but your body is used to eating all around you.

That was my experience anyway but its fab to be able to eat almost anything and not put on weight,, not losing anything either mind.

joesoap5 wrote: »
    The worst part is when the marathon is over and you aren't doing the big mileage anymore but your body is used to eating all around you.

Simple solution to that: I intend to keep doing the big mileage. :D

Safrongirl wrote: »
    I am still a bit confused about my last 2 weeks of tapering but I think with tiredness I was making it even more complicated and then not knowing what days I will be of - all I know is thank God but I am of the whole weekend of the race so will be of Saturday , Sunday and Monday - happy days

When I know my roster I will plan my days a bit better but now understand what you were talking about so will just change it about a bit from my plan.

Feeling all achy and tired this week - did a very short 5km yesterday - was meant to be 11 but just couldnt manage it - was in work all day and heading out straight from work but was just too tired.

I am of tomorrow and Wednesday so will take it easy this week and my longest run is back to 22km I think ? so not so bad.

Quads feeling a bit tight so lots of foam rolling and might book in for some dry needling this weekend

Hey SFG - good decision to pull up after 5 of 11k yesterday. As you can see from the reports above, there are many tired bodies out there and sometimes the body just deserves a rest.

Okay, let's plan your final two weeks when you know your work schedule. I was going to recommend to definitely not do 19km 10 days out (on Thu Oct 20). A full 2 weeks out, the boards plan calls for a 14M/22km and HHN1 for 12M/19km. We'll have to adjust your final 2 weeks accordingly - let me know when your roster comes in. As was said already, it's just a matter of keeping the legs ticking over at that stage.

Glad to hear you have three days off, I hope you get some time OFF your feet on the Saturday (don't forget you have to collect your number in the Expo, too).

JackieChan wrote: »

Thanks JC.. weight is still coming off me slowly with all the running being done. I am hopeful I can get another few Kg off OK but its totally down to diet and I think plenty of water over coming weeks. If I keep up the miles on the program over coming weeks and cut out any evening eating on the couch then should be OK.

If the bad food isn't in the house then it cannot be eaten (this is very important when 3 young kids in the house.. 3 young grazers!) so I need to try ensure the wife is not down in Dealz getting jellies and I am not going to shops and picking up packs of Magnum's on half price!

I've looked at basic calculators and they reckon that 3-4Kg less for me could be 3min in a half marathon so needless to say that could make a big difference on marathon day!

Overall though its the lifestyle change that matters so if things keep going like they are then weight will slowly come off and times will come down. Anyway, would cost me too much in clothes to go back up.. they are all gone to charity!

Simple solution to that: I intend to keep doing the big mileage. :D

Yes, I would miss my 7AM LSR on a Sat morning..might not be so keen in dead of winter but come spring I will definitely want to be out enjoying it! Maybe not a 20M but would definitely be liking to do 15M. Think perhaps 25M a week is a good maintenance distance.. :P

Sorry Szilvike, number-swaps are against the registration conditions and rules, and a big no-no. I double-checked the FAQs on the official site, since it's oversubscribed this year, but the still restrictions are still in place. You can always contact them to triple-check.

Best to remove or edit your post - as otherwise the mods will remove it.

Yes, I would miss my 7AM LSR on a Sat morning..might not be so keen in dead of winter but come spring I will definitely want to be out enjoying it! Maybe not a 20M but would definitely be liking to do 15M. Think perhaps 25M a week is a good maintenance distance.. :P

Yeah I don't have any solid plans yet, but I was roughly thinking of maintaining the mileage, but shortening the LSR and spreading the rest out over the week. It might allow me to do more runs as commutes too which is a time saving bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Yeah I don't have any solid plans yet, but I was roughly thinking of maintaining the mileage, but shortening the LSR and spreading the rest out over the week. It might allow me to do more runs as commutes too which is a time saving bonus.

Whether you decide to do 1500m-HM going forward, Hill Races, Cross Country, Track, Roads, Trail etc the mileage will stand to you.

While the marathon build up plan will get you to the stage where you will be best equipped to tackle the marathon come October it is only opening the door to your potential. It takes years of consistent work (doesn't always have to be marathon training but running in general) to get the very best from yourself which is why so many folks you will see here chasing PB's year in year out still manage to go one step further.

I would encourage you all to keep up the running and explore options after DCM there is plenty of different routes to find something for you in the sport no matter your ability or interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Whether you decide to do 1500m-HM going forward, Hill Races, Cross Country, Track, Roads, Trail etc the mileage will stand to you.

While the marathon build up plan will get you to the stage where you will be best equipped to tackle the marathon come October it is only opening the door to your potential. It takes years of consistent work (doesn't always have to be marathon training but running in general) to get the very best from yourself which is why so many folks you will see here chasing PB's year in year out still manage to go one step further.

I would encourage you all to keep up the running and explore options after DCM there is plenty of different routes to find something for you in the sport no matter your ability or interests.

I have a charity place for London in April so I've no choice but to maintain my fitness (and spend some time fundraising). Hopefully the lessons I've learned in the last 4 months will stand to me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

joesoap5 wrote: »

That was my experience anyway but its fab to be able to eat almost anything and not put on weight,, not losing anything either mind.

As the experts say, you can't outrun a bad diet :pac: as nop has said throughout his posts from the start, eat your greens :) try to have a reasonably healthy diet during training and don't use the 'I just ran 20 miles' excuse to pig out on rubbish, you're not doing yourself any favours. You wouldn't put kerosene in your petrol tank now would you (yeah okay, I had to google that....:rolleyes:). Considering you're finely honed athletes at this stage you should fuel your body with the best foods :) You also won't need to worry too much then about after the marathon ;) I'm not talking about zero treats but minimal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

Thanks nop98, just edited it! Pity though that this way I can't help :(
    nop98 wrote: »
    Sorry Szilvike, number-swaps are against the registration conditions and rules, and a big no-no. I double-checked the FAQs on the official site, since it's oversubscribed this year, but the still restrictions are still in place. You can always contact them to triple-check.

Best to remove or edit your post - as otherwise the mods will remove it.

Firedance wrote: »
    As the experts say, you can't outrun a bad diet :pac: as nop has said throughout his posts from the start, eat your greens :) try to have a reasonably healthy diet during training and don't use the 'I just ran 20 miles' excuse to pig out on rubbish, you're not doing yourself any favours. You wouldn't put kerosene in your petrol tank now would you (yeah okay, I had to google that....:rolleyes:). Considering you're finely honed athletes at this stage you should fuel your body with the best foods :) You also won't need to worry too much then about after the marathon ;) I'm not talking about zero treats but minimal...

I hope you're practicing what you're preaching FD :pac:

I'm not sugar coating my experience pardon the pun but for anyone like myself who eats their greens and also loves the
    munchies then its good to have an eye opener to how the weight can creep up on you afterwards so you can be prepared
    to cut back or keep up the mileage in Paddys case.