Strange things you see in Dublin City Centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Someone tried sell methadone on westmoreland street. 90mls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

You people think Dublin is getting bad with drugs? take a look at Waterford, A small city with 50,000 people and you can still see these zombies walking around asking for change, begging for money. I think we have a huge problem in this country.

Junkie broke into a friends house in Waterford, robbed the handbags, went upstairs to take a piss, woke someone up flushing the toilet. Not a bother on him, didn't give a fuc k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Walking down a side street off Capel street a while back when some junky bird squatted and took a sh!t, cool as you like, in broad day light.

Céad míle fáilte go mbaile átha cliath!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Yawn, Dublin city centre is a kip overrun with junky zombies. Yada Yada Yada.

I'm sick of these threads in AH.

Why because it's not true, or you prefer to ignore it, or it is true but it just adds to the character of the kip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I was in TKMAX in the St Stephens Green shopping centre last winter, and there was a guy wearing a coat with large furry hood on it.

There was a puppy in his hood, looked like it was only a few of weeks old.

I had to leave the shop immediately. I mean I know there are fashion queens but I though this was ridiculous.

I remember an angry, outspoken old woman who used to patrol the north end of O'Connell Street at night with her trolley/basket, around about 10-13 years ago. A girl I was dating at the time was living on the northside, call her Lorraine, and we used to get the 16 back to Drumcondra from outside Dr. Quirkeys after a few drinks or some kind of outing in town. We were cultchies at college enjoying life in the city, that type of thing. So we'd be standing there in our own world waiting on the last bus, and next thing this old woman would just roll up and start flinging abuse at Lorraine...

"You should be a-fúckin-shamed of yourself young wan...You're nothing but a little tramp...what are you doing out galavanting at this hour?"

That sorta stuff, just out of the blue, as we were waiting there for the last 16 around midnight. Lorraine was no tramp. She'd be standing there huddled into me in her jeans and boots, wrapped in a warm jacket and scarf for the cold nights that were in it. I didn't exactly look like your average pimp either.

The first night this happened, we thought it was strange but it thankfully didn't shake Lorraine up. By the third time it happened, we could see that it was just this woman's thing and not personal at all. Once we'd just walk away from her, she'd then move on wagging the finger and flapping the jaw at the next young harlot she saw at the bus stop. It was actually amusing and weirdly a little endearing - despite having a vicious mouth, this old woman was clearly harmless and thankfully no one was abusing her in return. She was out late on O'Connell street in her slight, frail frame, just taking the fight to the people :pac:

Lorraine and I parted ways, but I did see the old woman one more time, and it wasn't as amusing for me. About a year later, I was out on a date with someone else and we were back at that spot waiting on the 16 out to Drumcondra. I heard that temporarily-forgotten but immediately-familiar nagging voice approaching from the dark, and turned to see the old woman rolling up towards me once again. She did her regular routine, and I just took my date by the hand and walked in another direction. "What the fúck was that?" the girl wondered, but I was gone off in my own world as I realised that the last time that happened to me, I was there with a girl I loved but didn't know I did at the time. Now it was too late to tell her, because she got bored waiting around on me to figure out if I wanted a relationship or not. And I did, so bad with her, but didn't know it until the ship had sailed. Angry Old Lady unintentionally helped me admit some truths to myself, some truths which were hard to admit but still had to be admitted.

I know for a fact that I'm not the only one who will remember her. I saw her do her thing with other couples, she seemed to be some kind of chastity-avenger. She looked very old and resembled someone who lived in some kind of poverty. This being around 2002-2005 I can't help but feel that she might have passed on by now, but I know she would have been one of those city characters that people who met her will remember. I haven't thought of her in ages, but the thread title triggered some memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    A couple of harmless zombie like folk outside Londis on the corner of Westmoreland Street harassing folk for change. With every rejection they quietly shuffle onto the next target. Extraordinary creatures altogether.

That's the Southsoide for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

learn_more wrote: »

she was only ever around during the day and confined herself to the area around where the spire is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

She was gas, always gave you a wry smile if you said hello to her as you walked past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Poor old Mary, all she did was sing and pray out loud as she danced and twirled around with flowers in her hand.
    Then one day I think her voice went and there was no more prayers or singing, but she kept on twirling and dancing with a big smile on her face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Poor old Mary, all she did was sing and pray out loud as she danced and twirled around with flowers in her hand.
    Then one day I think her voice went and there was no more prayers or singing, but she kept on twirling and dancing with a big smile on her face.

And she put a smile on the faces of so many over the years. I remember her well. Always dressed well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Junkie broke into a friends house in Waterford, robbed the handbags, went upstairs to take a piss, woke someone up flushing the toilet. Not a bother on him, didn't give a fuc k.

I love the fact that he was courteous enough to flush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

stankratz wrote: »
    I remember an angry, outspoken old woman who used to patrol the north end of O'Connell Street at night with her trolley/basket, around about 10-13 years ago. A girl I was dating at the time was living on the northside, call her Lorraine, and we used to get the 16 back to Drumcondra from outside Dr. Quirkeys after a few drinks or some kind of outing in town. We were cultchies at college enjoying life in the city, that type of thing. So we'd be standing there in our own world waiting on the last bus, and next thing this old woman would just roll up and start flinging abuse at Lorraine...

"You should be a-fúckin-shamed of yourself young wan...You're nothing but a little tramp...what are you doing out galavanting at this hour?"

That sorta stuff, just out of the blue, as we were waiting there for the last 16 around midnight. Lorraine was no tramp. She'd be standing there huddled into me in her jeans and boots, wrapped in a warm jacket and scarf for the cold nights that were in it. I didn't exactly look like your average pimp either.

The first night this happened, we thought it was strange but it thankfully didn't shake Lorraine up. By the third time it happened, we could see that it was just this woman's thing and not personal at all. Once we'd just walk away from her, she'd then move on wagging the finger and flapping the jaw at the next young harlot she saw at the bus stop. It was actually amusing and weirdly a little endearing - despite having a vicious mouth, this old woman was clearly harmless and thankfully no one was abusing her in return. She was out late on O'Connell street in her slight, frail frame, just taking the fight to the people :pac:

Lorraine and I parted ways, but I did see the old woman one more time, and it wasn't as amusing for me. About a year later, I was out on a date with someone else and we were back at that spot waiting on the 16 out to Drumcondra. I heard that temporarily-forgotten but immediately-familiar nagging voice approaching from the dark, and turned to see the old woman rolling up towards me once again. She did her regular routine, and I just took my date by the hand and walked in another direction. "What the fúck was that?" the girl wondered, but I was gone off in my own world as I realised that the last time that happened to me, I was there with a girl I loved but didn't know I did at the time. Now it was too late to tell her, because she got bored waiting around on me to figure out if I wanted a relationship or not. And I did, so bad with her, but didn't know it until the ship had sailed. Angry Old Lady unintentionally helped me admit some truths to myself, some truths which were hard to admit but still had to be admitted.

I know for a fact that I'm not the only one who will remember her. I saw her do her thing with other couples, she seemed to be some kind of chastity-avenger. She looked very old and resembled someone who lived in some kind of poverty. This being around 2002-2005 I can't help but feel that she might have passed on by now, but I know she would have been one of those city characters that people who met her will remember. I haven't thought of her in ages, but the thread title triggered some memories.

Find her! Find Lorraine!! Please....

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

I don't know if that whirling evangelist ever approached people. There was another little old woman who was really small and always dressed in black and wore a black beret. She used carry a crucifix and was like a ghost of Cumman na mBan. She always approached people directly and was on a Catholic crusade. That woman might have been who that poster thinking of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Shint0 wrote: »
    I don't know if that whirling evangelist ever approached people. There was another little old woman who was really small and always dressed in black and wore a black beret. She used carry a crucifix and was like a ghost of Cumman na mBan. She always approached people directly and was on a Catholic crusade. That woman might have been who that poster thinking of.

Thats who I thought of too ...

Pic of her (and the crucifix) on the right on the page below:

http://newisland.ie/four-characters/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Right and the multitude of support services provided for addicts on methadone , such as drop in centres, homeless accommodation, medical support, legal support and so on , where would you put them ?

Seriously I don't know but there has to be a better way of dealing with this. The City Centre is tiny and full of tourists but at the same time is also teeming with junkies. A better way of dealing with this would be to rid the city of the drugs problem once and for all. The war on drugs seems to be an ongoing losing battle. Get tougher with the gangs.

The volume of drug treatment centres in around Dublin is staggering. Every few months we hear of a child getting pricked by a needle on the DART or Dublin bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,543 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

Is the homeless man with the rabbit still around? I didn't witness it but I remember being in the city the day a group of utter scum threw his rabbit into the Liffey and he dived in to rescue it.

I used to notice him still on the streets with the rabbit in the months afterwards. Always made sure to give them change.

I see him on Henry Street begging beside Arnotts. He still has a rabbit and now a dog too. Rabbit sits on top of a pull along shopping bag/trolley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Dublin is not a kip, the very city centre is a kip alright, no question.
    Something really needs to be done to get the junkies off the streets.
    The government and the Gardai need to get their fingers out and tackle this problem once and for all.

We could always get yer man, ya know who I'm on about, ah jaysus, yer man, the lad in the Phillippines, ya know, the lad wot kills all the drug lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Saw youngfellas in wetsuits jumping off a restaurant on North Wall Quay, into the Liffey. Voluntarily.

Saw two scummers giving abuse to a security guard outside Burger King on Grafton Street. They were shaping up as if they were gonna hit him. He stopped talking, stepped out towards one of the scummers and delivered a crisp jab to the nose. One scummer had to help the injured guy away. The security guard walked back inside, casually.

Saw a couple riding furiously in a bus shelter on Dorset Street. Romantic Ireland and all that.

I actually don't think it was, but reading that Journal article that lady sounds like quite a personality. No, the old lady I'm looking for wasn't as joyful as Mary Dunne :pac:
    Foggy Jew wrote: »
    Find her! Find Lorraine!! Please....

Haha. Ah, I tried in my own 'sorry to bother you, but...' sheepish way, but it was too little too late. I let that year pass before telling her those things I should have a lot sooner. By that time she had moved on and was in a relationship. My own fault, I had her, but because I wasn't long out of a serious relationship at the time, I had myself convinced that although I really liked her, maybe I should not just jump straight into another relationship. I was young and stupid, as opposed to being older and just a little less stupid now :pac:

She's married now with a baba, I presume and hope she's happy. I'm soon to be married, hopefully kids aren't too far away, and the thoughts of Lorraine haven't stung me since about 2008!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Saw youngfellas in wetsuits jumping off a restaurant on North Wall Quay, into the Liffey. Voluntarily.

You mean like this? Seems to be a thing apparently. I used to have lunch at that restaurant when I was in NCI College.

Saw two scummers giving abuse to a security guard outside Burger King on Grafton Street. They were shaping up as if they were gonna hit him. He stopped talking, stepped out towards one of the scummers and delivered a crisp jab to the nose. One scummer had to help the injured guy away. The security guard walked back inside, casually.

Love hearing stories like this. Lightens my day when I hear about scummers getting their comeuppance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Seriously I don't know but there has to be a better way of dealing with this. The City Centre is tiny and full of tourists but at the same time is also teeming with junkies. A better way of dealing with this would be to rid the city of the drugs problem once and for all. The war on drugs seems to be an ongoing losing battle. Get tougher with the gangs.

The volume of drug treatment centres in around Dublin is staggering. Every few months we hear of a child getting pricked by a needle on the DART or Dublin bus.

Very generalised statement to say there's a staggering amount of drug treatment centres around.
    When you say drug treatment centres , are you talking about anything specifically bearing in mind services range from detox and after care right down to needle exchanges.

Without doubt the shock of a child receiving a needle stick injury is horrific, but the actual transmission rates for HIV are something like 1 in 300 of an blood exchange from the needle to the body with HEP C being slightly higher.

A bit disingenious of you to throw in a throwaway comment about children getting spiked.
    Through work I've lost count of the number people getting spiked including myself and none of contracted anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 mynameismud

stankratz wrote: »
    I actually don't think it was, but reading that Journal article that lady sounds like quite a personality. No, the old lady I'm looking for wasn't as joyful as Mary Dunne :pac:

Haha. Ah, I tried in my own 'sorry to bother you, but...' sheepish way, but it was too little too late. I let that year pass before telling her those things I should have a lot sooner. By that time she had moved on and was in a relationship. My own fault, I had her, but because I wasn't long out of a serious relationship at the time, I had myself convinced that although I really liked her, maybe I should not just jump straight into another relationship. I was young and stupid, as opposed to being older and just a little less stupid now :pac:

She's married now with a baba, I presume and hope she's happy. I'm soon to be married, hopefully kids aren't too far away, and the thoughts of Lorraine haven't stung me since about 2008!

Nevermind at least you can see clearly now Lorraine is gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

K.Flyer wrote: »

She was truly one of Bart's people.

That little icon of Jesus Christ in a glass box on Upper O'Connell Street is an interesting curio. It dates from the 1916 Rising.

Apparently after the Rising, for health and safety, items were removed from damaged buildings in the shops and commercial premises of O'Connell Street, and placed in the central island. The Christ icon was removed from a small chapel in The Gresham Hotel. Most items were claimed by their owners and taken away, but nobody came for Christ (his second abandonment).

The cab-drivers then made a little shrine of the figure, which is now ensconced in a glass cube, with a rather lovely inscription bearing really atrocious grammar & spelling, but all the more endearing for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

You're right, but the city has become an absolute disgrace, back in 2005 it was fúcking clean, yeah a few muppets on the ha'panny bridge, but that was it! It's now 2016 and it's turning into NY in the 80's, Fúcking shíthole.

You know a lot of American websites advise people to travel to the west because Dublin is a kip?

Why is everyone so put out by these junkies and homeless? I spend huge amounts of time in Dublin city centre and get on just fine. Im a small guy and soft spoken so theyre not scared of me, when they ask for change or food just say no sorry firmly and break eye contact. End of, they walk away every time without fail, get on with your day then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

wakka12 wrote: »
    Why is everyone so put out by these junkies and homeless? I spend huge amounts of time in Dublin city centre and get on just fine. Im a small guy and soft spoken so theyre not scared of me, when they ask for change or food just say no sorry firmly and break eye contact. End of, they walk away every time without fail, get on with your day then

It's bad for tourism, other big cities keep this away from the area's tourists visit, we invite tourists to have a look at them squatting for a shíte on the boardwalk, or look at them injecting in phoneboxes. I personally don't give a shíte about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It's bad for tourism, other big cities keep this away from the area's tourists visit, we invite tourists to have a look at them squatting for a shíte on the boardwalk, or look at them injecting in phoneboxes. I personally don't give a shíte about them.

How do other countries keep addicts out of sight of tourists ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Do they? I saw plenty of homeless and beggars in Rome, Paris, London, Budapest, Barcelona. And Dublin at least doesn't have the aggressive salesman at every corner hawking crap like those cities do. They made my holidays a lot more unenjoyable than any homeless or beggars did!