Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange things you see in Dublin City Centre

• 19-09-2016 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭

A homeless man just cycled by me with a jack russell on his shoulder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Two young idiots just attacked a auld fella outside Debenhams on Henry Street. Think (hope) the Gardai got them. Scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Once seen a Jack Russell cycling with a homeless man on his shoulder.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

A curious badger looked out from an apartment balcony, while eating a twix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

How did you know he was homeless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

me_irl wrote: »

He wasn't towing a house with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

He wasn't towing a house with him.

So you are saying all cyclists are homeless? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

me_irl wrote: »

He looked happy .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Random alcoholic standing with a can of devil's bit in a crowd waiting to cross at o connell street...big happy head on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

Random alcoholic standing with a can of devil's bit in a crowd waiting to cross at o connell street...big happy head on him

You mean alcoholics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

BLM protests with only 1 black person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

stevek93 wrote: »
    You mean alcoholics?

This fella stood out though,just standing there amongst normal people going about their business,with a big **** eating grin,like he discovered the secret of life,reminded me of this for some reason...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Culchies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

There's quare things in Dublin from Ringsend to Crumlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Cina

Homeless woman came up to me yesterday and asked for money.

I said no (I'd already given some to someone a few minutes before) and she replied "Yeh well I'd like teh fookin' see you homeless ya posh wee shi'e."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

A big fcuking spike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

TheNap wrote: »
    A homeless man just cycled by me with a jack russell on his shoulder

Unfortunately, the poor dogs are used now to attract your attention, and get ye parting with your cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

A couple of harmless zombie like folk outside Londis on the corner of Westmoreland Street harassing folk for change. With every rejection they quietly shuffle onto the next target. Extraordinary creatures altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Adventagious

A guy and girl in a phone box near Stephen's Green/Leeson street - girl had her trousers down around her knees and the guy was injecting her in the crotch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Walking drugged up zombies everywhere. Get it sorted Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭quad_red

A guy and girl in a phone box near Stephen's Green/Leeson street - girl had her trousers down around her knees and the guy was injecting her in the crotch.

Injecting her with what exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

An 'I heart Cork' sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,796 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

the only strange thing about that is that they were in a phone box.

quad_red wrote: »
    Injecting her with what exactly?

Greasy bell or maybe heroin...

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    A big fcuking spike.

It symbolizes needles, Dublin druggie capital of Europe, it's a homing beacon for junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭musiknonstop

Litter. So much litter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭ahlookit

A road that hasn't been dug up for the luas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

A street free from litter or puke is a very strange sight indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Two young idiots just attacked a auld fella outside Debenhams on Henry Street. Think (hope) the Gardai got them. Scumbags

Today? Did see someone lying outside that shop with a tissue over his cheek and two gardai standing beside him but they weren't saying anything to him.

I like haggling with the locals when buying tobacco from them on moore st. Today's brand was turner and 40g for €11, said it would be up to €12 once deco is back.

It was 50g for a tenner but it has being about 6 months since I bought any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Culchies

Takes one to know one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Foxhound38 wrote: »

Reminds me of something I read on the news last year about some poor lad getting jumped on by two guys in the toilet of McDonalds in O'Connell's Street. Not saying it was the same lads, but you're not safe anywhere nowadays. I've walked that area in the past as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Once saw a junkie get hit by the car in front of me as I drove along the South Quays on the way home from work.

Stepped right out into the road and was tossed about 6feet into the air. She landed on the footpath with a sickening thump, that I more felt than heard, if you know what I mean. Was pretty sure she was stone dead.

2 minutes later she was up and had wandered off across one of the Liffey bridges before the ambulance, that my GF called, had arrived.

Funnily enough, the ambulance ended up bringing the driver of the car away. She was totally traumatized by the whole incident. Shaking and crying uncontrollably.

Weirdest thing.

Dublin eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Yawn, Dublin city centre is a kip overrun with junky zombies. Yada Yada Yada.

I'm sick of these threads in AH.

Yawn, Dublin city centre is a kip overrun with junky zombies. Yada Yada Yada.

I'm sick of these threads in AH.

You're right, but the city has become an absolute disgrace, back in 2005 it was fúcking clean, yeah a few muppets on the ha'panny bridge, but that was it! It's now 2016 and it's turning into NY in the 80's, Fúcking shíthole.

You know a lot of American websites advise people to travel to the west because Dublin is a kip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

You're right, but the city has become an absolute disgrace, back in 2005 it was fúcking clean, yeah a few muppets on the ha'panny bridge, but that was it! It's now 2016 and it's turning into NY in the 80's, Fúcking shíthole.

You know a lot of American websites advise people to travel to the west because Dublin is a kip?

Dublin is not a kip, the very city centre is a kip alright, no question.
    Something really needs to be done to get the junkies off the streets.
    The government and the Gardai need to get their fingers out and tackle this problem once and for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Is the homeless man with the rabbit still around? I didn't witness it but I remember being in the city the day a group of utter scum threw his rabbit into the Liffey and he dived in to rescue it.

I used to notice him still on the streets with the rabbit in the months afterwards. Always made sure to give them change.

The government and the Gardai need to get their fingers out and tackle this problem once and for all.

Not a chance that's going to happen, just pay your bank debt and whistle Dixie in the other direction.

Cyclists with a death wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Its been like that for years now. Absolutely no political will to solve the issue. Removing methadone clinics from the city centre would be a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

There was a hipster hairdresser cutting a homeless lad hair outside of McDonalds on O'Connell Street today too, good few people taking photos so will probably appear somewhere.

It was nice to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Saw some lad with what transpired to be a heavy parcel cable tied to a skateboard to transport it along the street with minimal effort. Ingenious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Kadser

A fella getting into the passenger side of a car in O'Connell St. He was holding a bowel of breakfast cereal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

You people think Dublin is getting bad with drugs? take a look at Waterford, A small city with 50,000 people and you can still see these zombies walking around asking for change, begging for money. I think we have a huge problem in this country.

I once saw a rangers jersey!
    I actually shook the fellas hand, brave man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Reminds me of something I read on the news last year about some poor lad getting jumped on by two guys in the toilet of McDonalds in O'Connell's Street. Not saying it was the same lads, but you're not safe anywhere nowadays. I've walked that area in the past as well.

Yes you are safe, in many, many parts of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

In 2005 Dublin was full of "junkies" as well.

Not sure it was as bad as it is now but the place was teeming with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Free haircuts on a high stool, and a sleeping bag/food bag after. That was at night and outside the GPO in full view of everyone. Natives and tourists alike.

Sorry, not a good look for anyone on the main street of the Capital.

The help could be given elsewhere really. Just a street away maybe. But NO, it has to be on the main street in full view of everyone.

The recipients are just actors in a play here for the directors. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Kadser wrote: »
    A fella getting into the passenger side of a car in O'Connell St. He was holding a bowel of breakfast cereal.

That is strange!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Anyone encountered a really mad English woman on and around Westmoreland St?, about middle aged and talking to herself all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Free haircuts on a high stool, and a sleeping bag/food bag after. That was at night and outside the GPO in full view of everyone. Natives and tourists alike.

Sorry, not a good look for anyone on the main street of the Capital.

The help could be given elsewhere really. Just a street away maybe. But NO, it has to be on the main street in full view of everyone.

The recipients are just actors in a play here for the directors. Sorry.

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

dd972 wrote: »
    Anyone encountered a really mad English woman on and around Westmoreland St?, about middle aged and talking to herself all the time.

Blonde/white hair, massive drawn on eyebrows? If it's her, she's mentally ill, poor thing.