Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

All the training is fine and everything, but any time I visualise myself actually running the actual marathon, I become panic stricken. :pac:

I'm the same, and the thought of nearly 20,000 people running in a race sounds like chaos compared to the quite country roads and trails that I train on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Classic21

I'm the same, and the thought of nearly 20,000 people running in a race sounds like chaos compared to the quite country roads and trails that I train on.

Same for me, I ran between pacers in Athlone just for some peace on the road. This won't work in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,432 ✭✭✭crisco10

Wouldn't worry about that. First km or so might be a bit crowded, but to me that was kind of helpful; forced me to slow down and relax my way into the race. Just resist the urge to panic and chase you goal pace by ducking and diving in the crowd. #wastedenergy

By the time you hit the quays/Phoenix park it's already thinned out sufficiently that you can run your own race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

All the training is fine and everything, but any time I visualise myself actually running the actual marathon, I become panic stricken. :pac:
    Classic21 wrote: »
    Same for me, I ran between pacers in Athlone just for some peace on the road. This won't work in Dublin.

I live in a village in North Kerry and literally can do long runs where you see no one barring cattle in the field for a few hours. It's grand running with crowds, if anything you need to be careful as they are quite likely to make you run faster than you plan. The crowd on the roads dissipate pretty quickly after the first mile, you will have plenty of space to run your own race and then late on in the race if all goes well plenty of people to pass on the last few miles home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

nop98 wrote:
    kabuxa - good 12-miler done. Mind those legs, it's okay as long as they don't get any worse. You want to consider visting your physical therapist every week from now on (if the purse allows). But it sounds very familiar, my calfs were almost perpetually sore at this stage last week.

Thanks nop98! I plan to organise a massage... not sure if everyweek but as much as possible.

Today feel a better so hopefully they dont get as sore/tight.

Thanks again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

When you visualise yourself imagine feeling great, there are people cheering you on from the sidelines (king for a day) and you're out there doing your thing, achieving your goal. It'll be epic.

I'm not a fan of crowded races but actually DCM does this quite well. As crisco has already said in the early miles it will help you stick to you goal pace as those around you will be running similar paces to you. The crowds thin out reasonably quickly and the main thing is not to try and weave in and out of runners.
    Classic21 wrote: »

It won't be as bad in Dublin, I've run both Athlone & DCM, Athlone I found very crowded in the first few miles, narrow roads and the pace groups were packed. The pace groups in Dublin will be busy yes but once you're coming up the quays into the park you'll have far more space on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

nop98 wrote: »
    Run easy this week, novices! And a word of support to our class-members currently in the sick-bay, recover well, don't rush back!

Thanks nop. Just to clarify my plan for this week:

Mon: Rest
    Tue: Rest
    Wed (evening): 2-3m very easy. If I feel anything at all, the slightest niggle, in my shin I will stop straight away and scrap the rest of the week including DCHM.
    Thu: Rest
    Fri (morning): 2-3m easy. If I feel anything at all, the slightest niggle, in my shin I will stop straight away and scrap the rest of the week including DCHM.
    Fri (afternoon): Physio appointment for a final decision on DCHM
    Sat: If all above is good I'll run at LSR pace with the 2:10 pacers and I'll tell Joe at the start not to let me go faster :). Again, slightest niggle and I'll pull out.

Under no illusion about the importance of "the main thing". Every run this week, including DCHM if I get there, is being treated as recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

kin9pin wrote: »
    Thanks nop. Just to clarify my plan for this week:

Mon: Rest
    Tue: Rest
    Wed (evening): 2-3m very easy. If I feel anything at all, the slightest niggle, in my shin I will stop straight away and scrap the rest of the week including DCHM.
    Thu: Rest
    Fri (morning): 2-3m easy. If I feel anything at all, the slightest niggle, in my shin I will stop straight away and scrap the rest of the week including DCHM.
    Fri (afternoon): Physio appointment for a final decision on DCHM
    Sat: If all above is good I'll run at LSR pace with the 2:10 pacers and I'll tell Joe at the start not to let me go faster :). Again, slightest niggle and I'll pull out.

Under no illusion about the importance of "the main thing". Every run this week, including DCHM if I get there, is being treated as recovery.

Your plan looks pretty similar to mine but I'll have my test run tonight instead of Wed - that and the LSR pace, I'll be at the back of the pack minding the 2:30 pacers :D My physio apt is Wed so I'll know a bit sooner about DCHM :eek:
    Best of luck - keep on top of ice and heat therapy, it speeds up healing :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

diego_b wrote: »
    I live in a village in North Kerry and literally can do long runs where you see no one barring cattle in the field for a few hours. It's grand running with crowds, if anything you need to be careful as they are quite likely to make you run faster than you plan. The crowd on the roads dissipate pretty quickly after the first mile, you will have plenty of space to run your own race and then late on in the race if all goes well plenty of people to pass on the last few miles home.

Well said. Very easy to run too quick at the start of the marathon, as I know well, because of the crowds - both watching and taking part. Better to run a few seconds slower than target pace at this point, rather than flying out and paying for it later. Pacing is so important at the start of the marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Its Boards and HM for me so that's 2 rest days... actually I will run one of them as Monday is my running day off. I've got PT booked for tomorrow morning too for some remedial work to get checked over etc.

Can't believe I'm officially getting 2 days off running! Just as we finish Narcos season 2 .. guess I will be getting some early nights after all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Its Boards and HM for me so that's 2 rest days... actually I will run one of them as Monday is my running day off. I've got PT booked for tomorrow morning too for some remedial work to get checked over etc.

Can't believe I'm officially getting 2 days off running! Just as we finish Narcos season 2 .. guess I will be getting some early nights after all :D

2 whole days off . Party time . Hope all is good with Pt H . Is you cold better?

We Watched Narcos season 2 last week onto Power now and finding it good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

The Muppet wrote: »
    2 whole days off . Party time . Hope all is good with Pt H . Is you cold better?

Thanks T.. Cold running thru the house. Hasn't really been bad. The reading I did was that's if it's above the neck then fine to train. Didn't impact LSR at all. Glad of day off today as legs are feeling it a little now.

This is same PT I've been to a few times and it's always been precautionary and get the all clear.

Talking to a few friends, and marathon veterans etc, they are kinda saying to hold back a little on Sat as it's the main event that we are focussed on and maybe consider the Clontarf half for a better go at a HM time.. Unsure, will see what day is like and how I feel.

The Muppet wrote:

Thanks to Narcos and Power my husband doesn't mind me going out running. ;0))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭JackieChan

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Do you make your own? It's so easy! I make it in my nutribullet - I get the almonds in Lidl (unsalted roasted almonds), add a teaspoon of coconut oil, a pinch of salt, a spoon of nutella (for added yumminess) and blend it for about 3 mins until it's smooth. If you want it crunchy add another few almonds at the end and give it another quick blast. I get a massive jarful for under a fiver.
    Not tried to make it although I have thought about trying to. The Nutella sounds a very tasty addition!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Chaffing question - had a run in with it at the weekend. Previously I just used Vaseline on anything chafable. It worked fine (forgot to put it on sat). Does body glide (or other products I am not aware of) give you anything that Vaseline doesn't? Body glide appears to be a good bit more expensive than Vaseline so would only buy it if you guys think it has a value. Your expertise and experiences greatly accepted.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Week 12, HHN1

Tues: 4.06 mi. Time: 38:16. 9:26 min/mi Avg Pace. Was this the week of AirPods/EarPods? Yeah. Whatever.
    Weds: 8.04 mi. Time: 1:17:25. 9:38 min/mi Avg Pace. The hill component here felt a little better compared to the same stretch on the previous week.
    Thurs: 5.06 mi. Time: 49:09. 9:43 min/mi Avg Pace.
    Sat: 12.12 mi. Time: 2:10:43. 10:47. min/mi Avg Pace. Out the door at 8:40am. Down to Loughshinny again. Tide was mostly in, fewer seagulls. Passed a chap in a Tri Carlow t-shirt, around the corner was a chap who had already worked up a fair sweat. Not long after that is when I met groups of 5-8 runners to the point I thought there was something on and was expecting signage. Didn't see anything, so I'd say they were out for practice. All friendly. Had a Roobar energy bar at mile 8, similar to previous, no effects on the stomach. Around mile 11 is where the blister on the second toe on the right started to say hello again, even with Compeed. Crackin' morning for the LSR. Minor issues like blisters aside, I'm really enjoying the routine of the LSRs, or else it's the mostly quiet country lanes.

Mixed week on the sleep situation. Mindful of the posts over the last few pages, from injuries to FITZA's 'executive decision' about running on grass. Looking forward to the weeks ahead and October, but then it won't be long until Christmas jingles. Will have a funeral to attend at some point in the near future. I'm not experiencing the loss, just supporting the bereaved. That always puts things in perspective.

Off to pack my after work bag for tomorrow now. Looking forward to the HM reports, enjoy!

Week 11
    Week 10
    Week 9
    Week 8
    Week 7
    Week 6
    Week 5
    Week 4
    Week 3
    Week 2
    Week 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Chaffing question - had a run in with it at the weekend. Previously I just used Vaseline on anything chafable. It worked fine (forgot to put it on sat). Does body glide (or other products I am not aware of) give you anything that Vaseline doesn't? Body glide appears to be a good bit more expensive than Vaseline so would only buy it if you guys think it has a value. Your expertise and experiences greatly accepted.

Vaseline doesnt work for me at all. I bought skin shield a few weeks ago in Elverys & my chafing issue is now gone. It cost a tenner but I think it'll last ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Vaseline doesnt work for me at all. I bought skin shield a few weeks ago in Elverys & my chafing issue is now gone. It cost a tenner but I think it'll last ages.
    Thanks P. I think I can stretch to a tenner. Much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Thanks P. I think I can stretch to a tenner. Much appreciated.

Bodyglide is absolutely worth the 12 is costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

kin9pin wrote: »
    Total 4 miles for the week :(

Four more than me, kingpin! I'm totally jealous of all of you, reading these reports.

I am religiously icing my knee & doing the exercises the physio gave me. It's too early yet to say if it's working. I went for a swim this morning, and enjoyed it, so I might go again later in the week.

I really miss the structure of following a plan, so I did myself up a little program of swimming, core strength work and rowing (all ok'd by my physio). Just so I have something to keep me going! I want to stay in the habit of getting up early to exercise, so if/when I can run again it's not too much of a shock to the system. I still have two rest days per week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

aceygray wrote: »
    Four more than me, kingpin! I'm totally jealous of all of you, reading these reports.

I am religiously icing my knee & doing the exercises the physio gave me. It's too early yet to say if it's working. I went for a swim this morning, and enjoyed it, so I might go again later in the week.

I really miss the structure of following a plan, so I did myself up a little program of swimming, core strength work and rowing (all ok'd by my physio). Just so I have something to keep me going! I want to stay in the habit of getting up early to exercise, so if/when I can run again it's not too much of a shock to the system. I still have two rest days per week.

Have you tried the Elliptical, they say its the closest you can get to running without the impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

joesoap5 wrote: »
    Have you tried the Elliptical, they say its the closest you can get to running without the impact.

I'm not sure it's the best idea, cos you still make running movements, if you know what I mean. Like, my physio told me not to do the frog-leg kick when swimming, because bending the knees puts too much pressure on them. So I can only do the straight-leg-up-and-down kick.

I use body glide and for me works. Never used Vaseline... Some people on the thread mentioned skin shield works very well as well. You can get BG in RunLogic and SS in Elverys (I think)... ot is terrible when you forget... Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

I cant run today because of a blister on the tip of my toe - hurts to walk!

I feel like David Haye making toe excuses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

You certainly have the right attitude G. Stick with it and hopefully you'll get some good news when you go back the the Physio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

To everyone on the injured list stay positive and trust what your physios have you doing....fingers crossed you will make a speedy recovery.

4 miles done before work this morning....did someone mention 2 days off....come on!!

Will probably be itching for a run by Thursday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

In a bit of a rush on my break so bashed out 4 miles @ 7:33

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Sun 18/9 - 3 miles @9:53 p/m.

An easy shuffle after Saturday's 16 miler.

Mon 19/9 - 3 miles @9:07 p/m.

Both of these were in Porterstown, today's being run anticlockwise. No need for heroics, this was more about getting rid of the dirty petrol following Sunday's All Ireland Final socials. Saturday week's going to be one crazy day!

Tue 20/9 - 4 miles @ 10:05 p/m

Did this one at lunchtime, as I will be attending college lectures most Monday and Tuesday evenings between now and April. The route took me from work along the quays and into the Phoenix Park, to the far end of the Polo Grounds, before turning around. There were a good few lads running around the Polo Grounds with their shirts off; I didn't think it was that warm myself! The time isn't really relevant, as it includes being stopped at junctions, trying to dodge around pedestrians along narrow paths etc. I did manage to get my 5 x 100m strides in; four in the Park and one along the quays on the way back.

And so, an almost unprecedented two days off in a row between now and Saturday :) good luck to all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Aceygray - your PMA is amazing and I am well impressed, as I am sure is the rest of the class.

You can rest assured that you are giving yourself every chance to still make the start-line. If DCM weren't to happen for you this year, it's not for lack of trying or doing exactly the right things when luck seems to go against you, from seeking (and sticking to) professional advice, to adapting your expectations, staying positive, and even coming up with an alternative non-running plan. I do realize that all the LSR reports and HM excitement must sting a little when you're on an enforced break (for you and the others in the sickbay).

So many kudos to your attitude..! I really hope you can resume running soon, we'll team up with the resident training plan experts FBOT and Murph, and design the last few weeks to suit your needs. Fingers crossed once again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭ddubs

Folks, I know that the race entry is closed, could someone give me advice on where I might pick up a late entry (donedeal etc.?) or is there awaiting list I can get on? Id expect there are many late drop outs due to injury. I hadn't expected to be in Dublin but circumstances have changed and Id love to take advantage.

Thanks in advance.

Apologies mod's if this is against the rules. I'm looking on advice on where I could go to purchase an entry as opposed to soliciting a swap here.