Strange things you see in Dublin City Centre

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Once saw a junkie get hit by the car in front of me as I drove along the South Quays on the way home from work.

Stepped right out into the road and was tossed about 6feet into the air. She landed on the footpath with a sickening thump, that I more felt than heard, if you know what I mean. Was pretty sure she was stone dead.

2 minutes later she was up and had wandered off across one of the Liffey bridges before the ambulance, that my GF called, had arrived.

Funnily enough, the ambulance ended up bringing the driver of the car away. She was totally traumatized by the whole incident. Shaking and crying uncontrollably.

Weirdest thing.

Dublin eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Yawn, Dublin city centre is a kip overrun with junky zombies. Yada Yada Yada.

I'm sick of these threads in AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Yawn, Dublin city centre is a kip overrun with junky zombies. Yada Yada Yada.

I'm sick of these threads in AH.

You're right, but the city has become an absolute disgrace, back in 2005 it was fúcking clean, yeah a few muppets on the ha'panny bridge, but that was it! It's now 2016 and it's turning into NY in the 80's, Fúcking shíthole.

You know a lot of American websites advise people to travel to the west because Dublin is a kip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

You're right, but the city has become an absolute disgrace, back in 2005 it was fúcking clean, yeah a few muppets on the ha'panny bridge, but that was it! It's now 2016 and it's turning into NY in the 80's, Fúcking shíthole.

You know a lot of American websites advise people to travel to the west because Dublin is a kip?

Dublin is not a kip, the very city centre is a kip alright, no question.
    Something really needs to be done to get the junkies off the streets.
    The government and the Gardai need to get their fingers out and tackle this problem once and for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Is the homeless man with the rabbit still around? I didn't witness it but I remember being in the city the day a group of utter scum threw his rabbit into the Liffey and he dived in to rescue it.

I used to notice him still on the streets with the rabbit in the months afterwards. Always made sure to give them change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

The government and the Gardai need to get their fingers out and tackle this problem once and for all.

Not a chance that's going to happen, just pay your bank debt and whistle Dixie in the other direction.

Cyclists with a death wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Its been like that for years now. Absolutely no political will to solve the issue. Removing methadone clinics from the city centre would be a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

There was a hipster hairdresser cutting a homeless lad hair outside of McDonalds on O'Connell Street today too, good few people taking photos so will probably appear somewhere.

It was nice to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Saw some lad with what transpired to be a heavy parcel cable tied to a skateboard to transport it along the street with minimal effort. Ingenious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Kadser

A fella getting into the passenger side of a car in O'Connell St. He was holding a bowel of breakfast cereal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

You people think Dublin is getting bad with drugs? take a look at Waterford, A small city with 50,000 people and you can still see these zombies walking around asking for change, begging for money. I think we have a huge problem in this country.

I once saw a rangers jersey!
    I actually shook the fellas hand, brave man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Reminds me of something I read on the news last year about some poor lad getting jumped on by two guys in the toilet of McDonalds in O'Connell's Street. Not saying it was the same lads, but you're not safe anywhere nowadays. I've walked that area in the past as well.

Yes you are safe, in many, many parts of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

In 2005 Dublin was full of "junkies" as well.

Not sure it was as bad as it is now but the place was teeming with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Free haircuts on a high stool, and a sleeping bag/food bag after. That was at night and outside the GPO in full view of everyone. Natives and tourists alike.

Sorry, not a good look for anyone on the main street of the Capital.

The help could be given elsewhere really. Just a street away maybe. But NO, it has to be on the main street in full view of everyone.

The recipients are just actors in a play here for the directors. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Kadser wrote: »
    A fella getting into the passenger side of a car in O'Connell St. He was holding a bowel of breakfast cereal.

That is strange!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Anyone encountered a really mad English woman on and around Westmoreland St?, about middle aged and talking to herself all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Free haircuts on a high stool, and a sleeping bag/food bag after. That was at night and outside the GPO in full view of everyone. Natives and tourists alike.

The help could be given elsewhere really. Just a street away maybe. But NO, it has to be on the main street in full view of everyone.

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

dd972 wrote: »
    Anyone encountered a really mad English woman on and around Westmoreland St?, about middle aged and talking to herself all the time.

Blonde/white hair, massive drawn on eyebrows? If it's her, she's mentally ill, poor thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Speaking of English women what's the deal with the one who hangs around the GPO? Probably about forty, dark hair, claims to be doing something for charity. Doesn't look homeless or an addict but convinced she's pulling some scam or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,203 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

RasTa wrote: »
    I like haggling with the locals when buying tobacco from them on moore st. Today's brand was turner and 40g for €11, said it would be up to €12 once deco is back.

It was 50g for a tenner but it has being about 6 months since I bought any.

You do know that's not tobacco? Its bits of old tyres, grass and feck knows what else.

I would rather go without that touch that ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Is it not better than it was though? Been in city cebtre white a bit over the last while and on the last half dozen trips I wasn't accosted once. Was a while back and u couldn't walk for Junkies. A few walking deads up at the corner at Murray's but to the tourists they probably just looked Irish!
    On topic, saw a old women sitting on some steps in O'connell street looking dazed and confused one day. Few young fellas round her. You think the worst ..... but they were actually after picking her up/ helping her, waiting on the cops or ambulance. Others were thinking the same and trying to intervene. Nice to be proved wrong sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Its been like that for years now. Absolutely no political will to solve the issue. Removing methadone clinics from the city centre would be a start.

Move the clinics to where ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Move the clinics to where ?

Out of the city centre and away from main tourist drop off points. Creates a horrific impression of the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Out of the city centre and away from main tourist drop off points. Creates a horrific impression of the city.

Right and the multitude of support services provided for addicts on methadone , such as drop in centres, homeless accommodation, medical support, legal support and so on , where would you put them ?

Collie D wrote: »
    ?
    lawred2 wrote: »
    What?
    Translation: "It's thurrible how the tourists have to see our failure to tackle the homeless crisis; we should move the night-service somewhere less central, so the tourists won't see what we have done"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

prinzeugen wrote: »
    You do know that's not tobacco? Its bits of old tyres, grass and feck knows what else.

I would rather go without that touch that ****.

That's 90's hash you're thinking of. Not sure where you heard this story from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

RasTa wrote: »
    That's 90's hash you're thinking of. Not sure where you heard this story from.

Is there a contact address or phone number on the packs you buy??? I doubt it. Fake stuff from China.